Customer Reviews
$O$


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zef so fresh.
They're not like the rest.
First of all, I love this group (duo? crew?). Not just their music, which is amazing and unique, but their personalities and the way they present themselves.
Ninja is an arrogant, no-nonsense rapper from the streets of South Africa. But he's also pretty wise and caring. His main article of clothing is a pair of boxers. He may or may...
Published on November 2, 2010 by J. Grill

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Skip the Booklet
The album is good, and I got this version instead of the cheaper version at http://www.amazon.com/O-Explicit/dp/B0045IZW9W/ thinking that the digital booklet might be cool. As near as I can tell, it is the CD insert. It's 6 pages long, with a couple of photos, plus the production credits. No lyrics, no "behind the scenes". Not worth it in my opinion, get the version...
Published on March 14, 2011 by M. Lococo


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zef so fresh., November 2, 2010
This review is from: $O$ (Audio CD)
They're not like the rest.
First of all, I love this group (duo? crew?). Not just their music, which is amazing and unique, but their personalities and the way they present themselves.
Ninja is an arrogant, no-nonsense rapper from the streets of South Africa. But he's also pretty wise and caring. His main article of clothing is a pair of boxers. He may or may not still live with his parents. Yo-Landi is short and sweet, with an iconic hair-style and an affinity for rats. They both claim they're "gangsta" and it's almost funny to watch to the untrained eye. Are they really this way? Are they performance artists putting on a show? Hearing their earlier group under the name "MaxnormalTv", it's a bit hard to tell who they truly are.
I'm not sure which answer I'd like more, but it doesn't really matter. I'm more than happy to go along with it.
Die Antwoord makes popular music today seem boring and typical. Everything Die Antwoord sings about is creative, random, just plain fun, and most have real personal meanings behind them which are usually surprising and interesting.
I've found that if someone doesn't like them at first, should they listen just a few more times, they'll find themselves loving every minute of it.
Not everyone is going to enjoy them, of course, but I'm personally glad they're around.
As far as this CD goes, I would've liked to have seen a few more songs on here, and I'm especially annoyed that they changed the CD release of "Evil Boy" for the worse.
Over all, it's a great CD for the price and they're a fantastic group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome duo, October 14, 2010
This review is from: $O$ [Explicit] (MP3 Music)
When i first heard 'enter the ninja', i was like 'WTF!@#$...?' but then i got to admit, they are quite good. Check out their music videos on youtube.. they are one of a kind - bizarre, strange, exceptional and incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh Futuristic Rave-Rap, December 26, 2010
By 
Compay (New Orleans, LA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: $O$ (Audio CD)
Even though Hip Hop's golden era is long over, once in a while someone helps to redefine rap. This album is a great example of what happens when artists are willing to take risks in music.

What first distinguishes Die Antwoord from other groups is their production, which is a hybrid of rap and electronic rave music. Most of the tracks are produced by DJ Hi-Tek, with a few co-produced by the group's lead artist Ninja. The other difference is the unique sound presented by Ninja and Yolandi Visser's South African accents, along with their high-energy delivery.

If you have a system in your car, you'll love the lows on songs like "Fish Paste", an addictive diss track with plenty of NWA references for old school rap fans. Ninja's a solid lyricist, and his material ranges from funny to dark, with Eminem-style ad libs. The majority of the tracks are in English, with at least one song (Doos Dronk) entirely in Afrikaans. The album concludes with the title song "$O$", a purely instrumental techno track produced by Hi-Tek.

Most of the tracks from this album were offered as a free download on the Die Antwoord website back in 2009. $O$ contains new music such as the 2010 track "Evil Boy", with guest artist Wanga rapping in the Xhosa language about ritual circumcision in South Africa. If I had any complaint about this album, it's that they excluded the addictive Afrikaans track "Wat Pomp" featuring Jack Parow.

$O$ is more an of an EP than a full-length LP, but it's a quality album from start to finish with no skits or weak filler. A digital download of the album on Amazon is only $5.00, less than what you'd pay for some combo meals. So if you're looking for fresh new music, definitely treat yourself to a CD or digital download of the album today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this s**t is off the hook....like no other., October 12, 2010
This review is from: $O$ (Audio CD)
WOW.....i love this cd, its like no other, love every track, if your looking for something that dose not sound like all the other cookie cutter rap and dance music, this is the real deal. The world is so ready for this group, once you hear it, you cant stop till you drop. I am down on my knees. its great. I AM A FAN. Take a chance on something new, also check out there videos on you tube. crazy, funny, great. LOVE THIS CD. CHECK IT OUT. cant say enough good things about it. you guys got me ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh Futuristic Rave-Rap, December 26, 2010
By 
Compay (New Orleans, LA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Even though Hip Hop's golden era is long over, once in a while someone helps to redefine rap. This album is a great example of what happens when artists are willing to take risks in music.

What first distinguishes Die Antwoord from other groups is their production, which is a hybrid of rap and electronic rave music. Most of the tracks are produced by DJ Hi-Tek, with a few co-produced by the group's lead artist Ninja. The other difference is the unique sound presented by Ninja and Yolandi Visser's South African accents, along with their high-energy delivery.

If you have a system in your car, you'll love the lows on songs like "Fish Paste", an addictive diss track with plenty of NWA references for old school rap fans. Ninja's a solid lyricist, and his material ranges from funny to dark, with Eminem-style ad libs. The majority of the tracks are in English, with at least one song (Doos Dronk) entirely in Afrikaans. The album concludes with the title song "$O$", a purely instrumental techno track produced by Hi-Tek.

Most of the tracks from this album were offered as a free download on the Die Antwoord website back in 2009. $O$ contains new music such as the 2010 track "Evil Boy", with guest artist Wanga rapping in the Xhosa language about ritual circumcision in South Africa. If I had any complaint about this album, it's that they excluded the addictive Afrikaans track "Wat Pomp" featuring Jack Parow.

$O$ is more an of an EP than a full-length LP, but it's a quality album from start to finish with no skits or weak filler. A digital download of the album is only $5.00, less than what you'd pay for some combo meals. So if you're looking for fresh new music, definitely treat yourself to a digital download of the album today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOTTA HEAR THIS, October 26, 2010
By 
Shannon Reitz "Shannon" (South Bend, IN United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: $O$ [Explicit] (MP3 Music)
I LOVE 7 of the tracks on here...I hear influence from the Beastie Boys, Black Eyed Peas, and Eminem set to this Euro Techno background that I've long been a fan of. These guys are making some freaky cool music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You think you've heard it all.., December 5, 2010
The first time i heard of these guys was by watching a youtube video. I was confused and a little scared. But these guys are genuinely refreshing and entertaining. The amount of cultural influence they bring with this album really comes off as fresh, odd, scary, and something you haven't heard ever before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Odd, sort of trippy, and very catchy., August 9, 2011
By 
Vampyre Mike (Lindenhurst, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: $O$ (Audio CD)
What do you get when you mix South African rap with techno beats, a Vanilla Ice look-alike who seems to have some sort of disorder, and a small blonde woman with a mullet who has a cute yet nutty appeal? Die Antwoord is the answer.

If you were one to catch these people via their videos on Youtube you most likely thought it was a joke. The songs come off very wacky, super catchy (especially Rich B****), and sort of vulgar but most of the time those vulgarities being in Afrikaans or some sort of South African slang means the joke is over us U.S. listeners heads. Quite a few times I had to Google terms from the tracks to realize what in the heck they were getting it.

That being said this album is like nothing I have heard before. My taste ranges from Rap, to Death Metal, Motown, Soul, and anything in between. The rapping can be a bit chaotic and not even rhyme, but in some way they make it work. The main man in the group is Ninja, who will constantly spell his name out for you in a quite a few of the songs, along while referring to Game Boy. The woman's name is Yo-Landi Vi$$er, she is a cute little pixie of a woman with a gold tooth, a mullet, and a whiny yet very catchy voice. Oh by the way, she also seems to enjoy eating and rapping about Nutella. And last but not least we have DJ Hi-Tek, the mix master of the group who seems to also be in on the satirical rap group known as Die Antwoord.

Each song has some sort of catchy hooks, random yelling or cursing, and a European sounding flavor. It's probably the most different yet refreshing music I have heard in a long while. The comedic style of these three along with their actual very competent abilities will hopefully produce more tracks from this group for a long while to come. This fun yet trashy kind of style known as "Zef" clearly has found it's fan base. Hopefully you can keep your mind open and give it a listen.

If you can kind of laugh at your music, not take it too seriously yet still want to bob your head and sing. This most likely will be for you. If you like serious music, weather it be singing about love or rapping about the streets. I would most likely stay back. After one album I can call myself a big fan of Die Antwoord, here's hoping Mike Patton can get in on this and do a Bungle/Antwoord album =). They seem like they would be the perfect fit!

Grade Wise: B (Would have been a B+ had they had one or two more tracks)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting fusion of techno, pop and rap. ..., July 14, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: $O$ (Audio CD)
An interesting fusion of techno, pop and rap. Yolandi's voice is hauntingly creepy and makes the songs so catchy that you can't stop singing them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say?, June 21, 2014
By 
Kirsten (Chatsworth, GA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: $O$ (Audio CD)
Either you like Die Antwoord, or you don't. If you don't, boo on you. I found out about them a little late in the game, but I'm loving all their CDs and can't get enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

$O$
$O$ by DIE ANTWOORD (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.