Customer Reviews


335 Reviews
5 star:
 (182)
4 star:
 (81)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


196 of 198 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a rashguard, not a shirt
This is a rashguard, and it fits like a rashguard is supposed to. If they sized them like shirts, no surfer would wear one because it would be horrible when used for its original purpose.

The reason so many people are having size problems is that rashguards were originally made to wear under a wetsuit. They were to prevent rubbing and chafing, which can be a...
Published on November 5, 2011 by G. Robertshaw

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sizing difficulties
I am 6'3 and of athletic built. I usually wear L, but just to be on the sure side I ordered XL with this. It arrived within two days, the material is super nice, very soft and gentle on the skin but the opening on the neck is kind of tight and around the waist and hips it is way too tight, so I sent it back.
It was not possible to just exchange it for another size,...
Published 17 months ago by Evangelina


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

196 of 198 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a rashguard, not a shirt, November 5, 2011
By 
G. Robertshaw (Central California USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a rashguard, and it fits like a rashguard is supposed to. If they sized them like shirts, no surfer would wear one because it would be horrible when used for its original purpose.

The reason so many people are having size problems is that rashguards were originally made to wear under a wetsuit. They were to prevent rubbing and chafing, which can be a problem with long days of surfing, and they also help improve the warmth to some extent. They need to be very tight, as no one wants to be paddling out and have a loose shirt moving around and creeping up to your armpits, under your wetsuit. The sizings are correct if you use them under a wetsuit. I wear a medium shirt and can wear a medium rashguard just fine, but if you're buying this for a sunshirt or a beach shirt, even if you're playing around in the water, do what everyone suggests and buy one that's a lot larger. If you want it for surfing (even if you're in tropical water and are just using it as a sun protection top) buy the size it lists, or you're likely to find it won't stay down in place, even if you use the loop to fasten it to your trunks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars O neal basic skin, October 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: O'Neill UV Sun Protection Men's Basic Skins Long Sleeve Crew Rashguard (Sports)
I bought the Oneil Wetsuit Basic Skin Long Sleeve Crew Black, Large for UV protection in the water. I love it. It keeps off the sun without making me hot. Research shows that Black and darker colors provide added UV protection in addition to the UV protection of the material. I bicycled to the pool in it then went swimming in it...excellent performance. I purchased a Large based on the size chart... next time I would go 1 size up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Product is designed to be tight fitting!, June 14, 2012
By 
Matt S. (Raleigh, NC USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you're a big guy trying to hide your body and keep from getting a sunburn, this is not the item for you! I'm 5'10" and 240lbs, and I bought a 2XL. It's so tight I seriously have trouble breathing when wearing it. The quality of the item is flawless, please just be aware that by nature this is supposed to be a tight fitting product. If you are considered an overweight individual, buy 2 or 3 sizes above what you normally would purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liked it so much I bought another color, March 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I swim laps daily in an outdoor pool and use a rash guard to reduce my sun exposure during the day or the breezy chill at night. I want a snug fit to minimize extra drag. I've had a hard time finding a rash guard that fits me snug in the waist without being too short (6'3" 190Lb). This is the perfect rash guard for me because a size Large fits snug, stretches without sagging, and it's still long enough in the sleeves and torso. I like the colors and styling too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nice rashguard, buy larger size, August 31, 2011
This shirt is a nice basic skin rashguard. It is made from comfortable material and fits nice. The reviews are true that you have to buy a larger size. To help you decide what size I am 5'11" 178lbs,I have a 32" waist and 42" chest. I decided to go with an XXL and it fits perfect. It is a comfortable snug in the chest/arms and loose but snug fit in the waist. Length is fine. I have not worn it yet in the water but other reviews say it loosens up more when wet. I gave this shirt 5 stars because I think the bad reviews are decreasing it's overall rating. That being said I still believe this shirt to be a 4 or 5 star rating just make sure you get the right size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Size up by two, December 18, 2011
By 
T. Larson "tl" (Ferguson, MO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Based on other reviews I bought TWO SIZES up from what I would normally buy.

I am 165pounds 34 inch wast suit size 39... When I buy T-Shirts, sweatshirts and such, I buy MEDIUM.

But for this product I bought an Extra-Large. And it fits snuggly with sleaves that are slightly long. I can't imagine getting into a Large or Medium based on how the Extra Large fits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sizing difficulties, March 31, 2013
By 
Evangelina (Albany, NY USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am 6'3 and of athletic built. I usually wear L, but just to be on the sure side I ordered XL with this. It arrived within two days, the material is super nice, very soft and gentle on the skin but the opening on the neck is kind of tight and around the waist and hips it is way too tight, so I sent it back.
It was not possible to just exchange it for another size, so sent it back and ordered XXL instead. Came within two days but still too tight. The sleeves felt longer but otherwise it was the same fit. Did not see any difference between XL and XXL, so I sent it back again. Will look somewhere else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great BUT does run very SMALL...even for a rashguard..., June 2, 2012
By 
L. M. Maggio "May Maggio" (South Central FLA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Bought this for my husband to wear as a rashguard. Thankfully I took the reviews to heart and bought him an XXL. He is normally an XL. I am considering buying him a second one but wish I could get itin a XXXL. He really is not that big of a guy but I promise you we had tears in our eyes from iuncontrolled laughter as he sang "Fat guy in a little coat". Do yourself a favor and buy one size larger than normal. That said it is a great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars too tight, July 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Shirt was as described, but O'Neill runs small, so I had to return it for a different size. In the duture I will buy a bigger size when buying this brand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome rashguard! Get one size larger at least, August 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The rashguard feels great as long as you buy it one or two sizes larger! My only complaint is that it does tend to ride up on your back if you don't tuck it into your shorts. Do not machine wash!!! I repeat, do not machine wash! It doesn't require that much attention, just hand wash with a hose in the yard to get out all the salt water then hang dry in the sun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.