Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: OPPO BDP-83 Blu-ray Disc Player with SACD, DVD-Audio, and VRS Technology (2009 Model)
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 6, 2009
This is my second high definition player. I bought a Samsung BD-UP5000 when they were first released since it played both HD DVD and Blu-Ray discs. Poor support, lack-luster performance and the end of HD DVDs left me wanting something "better". I found what I was looking for in the Oppo BDP-83.

Oppo is a customer-driven company and conducted an extended beta test to uncover bugs. The beta testers had to accept the state of the player before it could be released! I've emailed Oppo support a few times and they are prompt to respond with real answers not just an automated or canned response - usually the same day. I can't say enough good things about the company.

The '83 is rock solid. It has not frozen or even hiccuped once. It plays all the discs I've put in. (The 5000 had trouble with some and often required the discs to be fingerprint free and occationally locked up requiring restart to even eject a disc.)

To me, one of the important features of a disc player is SD DVD upscaling. Standard definition can look pretty bad on a HDTV. Even the networks and cable channels often do a marginal job up-converting. My 5000 had a very good upconverter (Reon) but the '83 is better - something you'd expect from a company that focused on SD DVD players long after the introduction of HD DVD and Blu-Ray. Sometimes I forget I'm watching SD material!

Most high def players are sluggish, acting more like underpowered computers than audio/video gear. Boot and disc load times often exceed 30 seconds. Not the '83 - it's responds more like a DVD player than a computer. The tray opens in under 3 seconds from pressing the eject button (with power off) and playback begins in under 10 seconds (for SD DVD). For Blu-Ray, play start does depend on what enhancements the content provider loads before playback can begin (custom menus, etc.). (Remember Blu-Ray discs allow the content provider lots of control over the player and playback of the content.)

The '83 decodes all advanced audio formats: Dolby TrueHD, DTS HD Master Audio, etc. So the lossless audio is available via 7.1 analog outs as well as PCM over HDMI. You don't need an A/V receiver that includes decoders for these formats - the player does the work. Speaker management provided by the '83 makes the 7.1 analog outputs usable, but with some limitations: The bass management frequency is fixed at 80 Hz, and there are limitations to speaker distance delays.

The user manual explains things so that the user/installer can make important setup and usage decisions. For example, there is a section that explains the various output resolutions and which is best for various scenarios; and another that helps choose the correct "zoom" for various disc and TV aspect combinations.

So often, modern computer-based A/V gear is released without a complete set of features with the promise of adding them later. Again the '83 was released fully featured so there's little to wait for. But Oppo realizes there will be bugs to fix and new features to add as well as new disc behavior to support. They've provided THREE separate ways to upgrade firmware: via a network connection, via CD/DVD or USB memory.

I use a universal remote to control all my A/V gear and thanks to a document provided by Oppo, I was able to program my remote prior to receiving the unit. Most of the commands use the same data as their previous players so I was able to start with the configuration for an older mode. Oppo provided an Excel file with all the control codes in a format that can be imported into Universal Remote Control and Pronto remotes (maybe others). I've never seen this level of support from any other consumer electronics company and this material existed BEFORE product release. Where documentation was lacking, customer support provided the missing information.

There's been one (public beta) firmware update and a user manual update since the '83 was released at the beginning of June 2009. The firmware update was fast and painless (via USB memory).

My one compliant of the BDP-83 is it's power cord. It uses a 2-pin connector resembling an IEC connector found on many pro and prosumer equipment, however there is not sufficient holding tension and the cord has unplugged itself from the unit twice. I had to wrap the cord around one of the feet to prevent it from happening again.
2626 comments| 356 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
From the moment you unpack the Oppo BDP-83 Universal Blu-Ray player you realize that this is going to be a truly unique experience. Wrapped in a reusable carrying bag, shipped in a double-thick cardboard box, the fit and finish of the Oppo BDP-83 matches the quality of the packaging. And the good thing is that unlike many Blu-Ray players, the best-in-class experience continues from the time you power it on to daily use.

I was lucky enough to get in on the Oppo pre-order in late May, after reading the early reviews of beta units, and knowing the reputation of Oppo's upscaling DVD players. For me, the Oppo BDP-83 offered the promise of super-fast load times, outstanding video quality, and the ability to play high-resolution audio (my SACD library).

A bit of background - I have a pretty high-end system configuration (Marantz SR-8002, KEF Reference speakers, Mitsubishi HDTV, Sony ES SACD player, Bang & Olfusen turntable). And I have pretty demanding standards especially for audio.

I waited to buy my first Blu-Ray Player (the very good Panasonic DMP-BD55K) until a standalone player offered quality and load times at least *close* to the PS3. And, although its load times and DVD playback are good, it still didn't quite meet my standards.

From the moment I connected the Oppo BDP-83 to my system, I was blown away by the experience. Extremely easy to setup (I literally unplugged my Panasonic and plugged in the BDP-83 using the same HDMI and component cables), very very easy on-screen instructions and setup. The remote is definitely much better than average with large backlit buttons of different sizes.

The speed of the Oppo BD-83 certainly grabs your attention:
- BluRay load times are about 2x faster than the Panasonic BD55K it replaced
- BluRay menu navigation, etc also very fast and responsive
- SACD and DVD (Audio/Video) load times are nearly instantaneous

The SACD load performance really stunned me. My high-end Sony ES SACD player (remember, Sony co-developed the standard) can take 1-2 minutes to load a hybrid SACD. On the Oppo any SACD (stereo, hybrid multichannel, etc) loads in under 2 seconds.

But it is the video and audio quality of the Oppo BD-83 that truly sets it apart:
- BluRay video performance is outstanding, but you come to expect that from the format. (I can't say I notice a difference here from my Panasonic which is also excellent.)
- DVD video performance is stunning - a noticeable upgrade in quality on your HD set. This is where you start to see the benefits of the embedded AnchorBay processor.
- High resolution audio quality will blow your socks off.

I personally didn't notice a difference in high-res BluRay formats such as DTS-Master and DolbyTrue HD, but to be fair my Panasonic player is also excellent in this area.

For SACD, the improvement offered by the Oppo BDP-83 is simply stunning! My Marantz receiver can decode DSD over HDMI, and the audio quality is dramatically better than the analog 5.1 output from my high-end Sony ES SACD player. I didn't think the standard could be elevated, but was pleasantly surprised by this.

DVD-Audio performance is also outstanding. I never had a DVD-Audio player, so I've used this opportunity of having a truly "Universal Player" to stock up on high-resolution multi-channel titles that were never released on SACD (eg. Crowded House, Seal, Queen, Yes...)

There are other very nice touches:
- BluRay Profile 2.0 with 1GB of onboard storage (my Panasonic made you buy an SD card for this)
- two USB 2.0 ports (one front covered by a flat rubber port, another in the rear), neither port is recessed, so you can use standard USB memory sticks/adapters
- analog 7.1 audio out
- supports simultaneous HDMI and component video output (eg. you can send high-res audio over HDMI and video over component)
- support for NTSC and PAL format DVDs, but they must be unlocked (this is a region-locked player, unfortunately)
- IR in and IR out ports
- optional RS-232C control port for professional installations
- very heavy-duty removable power cord; even heavier gauge than the one Marantz shipped with my $2000 receiver!
- nice onscreen menu system graphics and easy-to-use interface

What could be improved?
- well, first of all, Profile 2 support is only through hard-wired ethernet (no WiFi)
- speaking of Profile 2.0, the interactive services aren't particularly fast, but I have yet to find a BluRay title that actually has compelling Profile 2.0 content
- no support for streaming services like Netflix, although there are rumors that the hardware *might* have the capability to support through a firmware update - I wouldn't count on this though
- the BluRay and DVD player are region locked unfortunately. (CD, SACD, and DVD-Audio discs are by definition region-free)

I personally couldn't be happier with the BDP-83. Certainly the best $500 I spent! It not only compares but blows away high-end players costing 4-6x greater.
2020 comments| 244 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2009
A year in the making, OPPO has finally released the BDP-83 Blu-Ray Player - their first entry into the market. They have produced some of the finest upscaling standard DVD players, including the exceptional DV-983H. Thankfully, the BDP-83 uses the same Anchor Bay chip as the DV-983H, so your standard def DVDs will look as good as possible. On the Blu-Ray side of things, the audio and video quality are exceptional; on par with the best Blu-Ray players available. The BDP-83 also plays back DVD-Audio and SACD discs, making it a truly universal player. Anyone familiar with first-generation Blu-Ray players is all too familiar with their slow disc-loading times. Recent players have made great strides in this area, but the BDP-83's loading time is the fastest I have seen.

OPPO chose to forgo the trendy conveniences of YouTube, NetFlix, and Amazon Videos on Demand. I find these all to be quite convenient, but can't fault OPPO for sticking to their mission to create the best and most universal Blu-Ray player. Adding these features would have inevitably detracted from the performance of the machine.

OPPO has included all of the connections you may want. Along with the HDMI interface (which supports 1080p HD video output (with 24p), and TrueHD audio), the BDP-83 has 7.1 channel analog audio out, a dedicated stereo output, and both digital optical and coaxial outputs.

The BDP-83 also includes two USB ports (one in front, one on the back) to play back video and image files. It will even play PAL-formatted DVDs and convert them to NTSC on the fly. It also includes IR in and out ports to integrate into home theater control systems. Finally, the remote is a step up from previous OPPO models and easy to use with its back-lighting.

Bottom line: this is the best Blu-Ray player available. The image and sound quality is unparalled, the load times are fast, and it's ability to play any format of disc is a wonderful convenience. I can finally retire my dedicated SACD player!
11 comment| 103 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2009
Before I purchased this Blu-ray Player (the Oppo BDP-83) I owned a PS3. I also have several friends who own various Blu-ray Players including Samsung and Panasonic. Before I start the review let me say that all of these were connected to the TV with Monster HDMI 1000 cables into Sony XBR series televisions. I am writing this review mainly to assist those comparing current models - primarily those who own or are thinking of buying a PS3.
First and foremost, now that I have been operating this Oppo player almost daily for the past 3 weeks I can make the following blanket statement: This Blu-Ray player does indeed live up to its promise in terms of visual quality; however, it also has more than enough small quirks to annoy those who were hesitant towards the $500 price tag. Is it better than the PS3? Visually - Absolutely. Performance - Hit or Miss. Here's where I will break this down into sections:

Visuals: When I first purchased this player I changed the settings for 1080p, 16 x 9 ratio and made sure the settings were accurate as I went through the included manual. Then I put in a standard definition dvd. And...I was initially disappointed. The upscaling on newer films and older films including Ghostbusters, Batman Begins, Mad Max, and Harry Potter Order of Phoenix looked exactly the same as my PS3. My tv visual settings were left on Vivid for both players. After my initial shock, I came to the conclusion that at least it wasn't any worse. Then I put on a few cartoons for my daughters including: the Ducktales series and Dumbo. The colors and contrast were ABSOLUTELY PHENOMENAL. The colors were much richer and vibrant than those that had been displayed through the PS3. The outlines on characters were much bolder and the quality of the original tape was so well represented that I could actually see tape defects on older cartoons from the transition to dvd. After much more comparison I have found that upconversion for most standard dvds is very similar to the PS3 although anything with bright visuals (most noticeably cartoons) stands out amazingly when placed side-by-side.
As for Blu-Ray playback I used Coraline, I am Legend and Band of Brothers. On all accounts the Oppo excelled, offering richer colors, greater depth and more accurate image representation. In some scenes, such as the lions in I Am Legend, the Oppo clearly showed a well defined computer generated animal whereas the PS3 was unable to generate the image to such a degree. The Panasonic and Samsung showed nowhere close to the same quality that this Oppo produces. Some images are so glass-like that it makes my tv look more fragile! Therefore, visually, if you want a stand-alone Blu-Ray player, go with the Oppo. However, if you will not be watching as many cartoons and still do not own a large Blu-Ray collection, the PS3 is not a bad choice.

Hardware: The Oppo does have a few glitches in this category I am sure they will eventually work out. The company seems to have incredible support and customer service as I will later talk about. Several times I have tried to turn the player back on and no image is sent through HDMI. It seems that if you stop playback at certain locations (menus within menus i.e. special features) or at certain parts of the credits before the dvd loops, the player is unable to read back the disc. This has happened three times within three weeks and I have had to eject the disc, turn off resume, and reload the disc. The signal was sent properly thereafter. In addition, the audio between some menus and general playback is occasionally at very different sound levels even with DRC on (Dynamic Range Compression). I have tried having it on and off to no avail. It seems that they are encoded differently - I cannot figure it out. This is not a huge issue, but it is something that the PS3 did not do. The third point I would like to STRESS is that the "award winning upconversion technology" also pulls in a few extra frames from time to time in its upconversion process that leave one image stuck on the screen for a fraction of a second longer than other images in series. It looks like the dvd is sticking for a second and then resolves itself. I find this more often in cheaper produced dvds (never in blu-ray discs), but it is still something the PS3 did not do. At first I was annoyed, but then I realized that 1 small glitch in an opening title was still ok given the enhanced colors in the cartoons. It IS something you will notice from time to time on Standard dvds and almost always occurs during a transition from one shot to the next or a jump cut. Furthermore, as another reviewer stated, the fast-forward is somewhat slow on 1x, 2x and 3x. However, it goes to 5x, which seems to be about the same speed as a 2x or 3x on any other player. This is more than enough to fast forward within a scene because Blu-Ray has scene forward and back. Use the two in combination and you will not have any problem finding your location. In addition, keeping time on the outside of the unit makes things amazingly simpler. Load times are EXACTLY the same as PS3, almost always instantaneous although you will find a 5-10 sec load from time to time. This is MUCH better than the other aforementioned players. Despite these shortcomings, the picture quality is fantastic for a standalone player. If you wanted to play PS3 games, however, the only performance issue I had was an occasional game freeze (which never occurred on dvds).

Presentation: The Oppo REALLY shines in its presentation. The entire unit is made from an etched black metal and feels very sturdy. The Led light on the front for time display also has a dimmer that with High, Low and Off for your preference. The remote is backlit and has several great features including zoom processed by the player itself for tvs that do not have that feature (or to use in combination with the one your tv has to enlarge a picture without cutting as much off). The zoom levels and automatic 16x9 are fantastic and do AT LEAST as good of a job as the PS3, although I believe it is somewhat better. The only problem I have found with the remote is that the LARGE buttons on it are somewhat difficult to press and must be depressed in the center for the player to read them. Pressing a button off to the side will turn on the backlight, but will not register with the Oppo even when directly in front of the unit. The unit also comes in a double thick cardboard box built specifically for the Oppo. The manual looks like what you would expect from a VERY HIGH CLASS startup company and features thick glossed paper and very explicit well versed instructions. The package also includes all necessary cables, standard AV and HDMI (although I already had Monster) and a tv/ bluray calibration disc for home theaters. I spent 9 hrs going through all settings with this disc, however, only to find that the standard settings on my tv seemed better. However, I admit that if you have a "professional" do this for you, then it may work correctly. I didn't think that $300 for a professional was necessary after seeing the quality I already had.

All in all, from the time you get the Oppo in the mail until you view your first Blu-Ray you will be presently surprised. The system does have great visual, although a few minor problems keep it at a 4, in my opinion. More specifically, I would give this unit an 8.5/10. A very good choice now that I decided I would no longer be playing PS3 games, but not the "PLAYER TO RULE ALL PLAYERS" as some reviews have made this out to be. Please Note that through firmware upgrades, some problems may be remedied in the future. I have called customer service twice - both times I went directly to a representative who spoke clear English, sounded very professional and knowledgeable, and helped me without question. Never put on hold and never transferred through an automated service. That in itself was enough to make me decide that this was the Player to keep.
1212 comments| 77 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2009
I have owned this player since March. I was 1 of the 1st 50 that was chosen as a part of Oppo's Early Adoption Program. I had the player for about a month and was ask to vote on whether or not to expand the Early Adoption Program. The vote required a 70% super majority, but received and overwhelming vote of 96% with 2 owners not voting. Because of this overwhelming vote the EAP was expanded to 300 additional people as opposed to 100 as Oppo had previously stated. The 350 EAP participants had to vote again after several weeks of use. The 2nd EAP vote yielded a 92.2% (only required 70%) acceptance with 69 participants not voting. This vote led to eventual release the player to the general public.

The Early Adoption Program allowed Oppo to flush out most of the bugs and compatibility issues due to the diverse setups of the early adopters. This was a highly visible and bold move by Oppo to expose their product to the general public prior to release. This program worked to perfection allowing Oppo to flush out most of the issues prior to public release. What other manufacturers would expose their product to this kind of scrutiny? NONE!!!!!

My basic premise for wanting this player is because of my previous association with Oppo DVD players (DV-980H, DV-981HD & DV-983H) and their outstanding customer service department which left an impression upon me. I know blu-ray playback for the most part is very similar, but DVD playback can be night and day from player to player and the Oppo has one of the best solutions in the VRS by Anchor Bay ABT-2010 under the hood. I own several SACDs and DVD-As; over 100 blu-ray discs and over 600 DVDs and I want the best (though subjective) 1 box solution that I can afford. I also own 2 Pioneer BDP-51FD and a JVC XV-BP1 blu-ray player all of which are fantastic players and serve different purposes throughout my house. I've also owned players from Samsung, Panasonic and Sony.

First Impressions (Impressive)
-Player protected by a black cloth bag (nice touch)
-Spears & Munsil High Definition Benchmark Blu-ray Calibration Disc (video)
-AIX Records Audio Calibration Disc HD Music Sampler (Audio)
-Back lit remote (Alkaline batteries)
-HDMI Cable
-Composite cables
-Owners Manual (Best written manual that I've experience)

My Setup:
-Pioneer Elite PRO-950HD (sit 6' - 8' from the screen)
-Denon AVR-3802
-Speakers: BIC Venturi DV62s (fronts) /DV62CLR-S (center) /DV52si (surround & surround backs)
-Velodyne Subwoofer
-Atlona HDMI 1.3b cables
-Analog cables from Monoprice
-Media Players: BDP-51FD, Oppo BDP-83, JVC XV-BP1

BLU-RAY PLAYBACK
I used the blu-ray discs the Dark Knight and Hellboy. The playback was excellent. The colors looked natural and the picture was not unusually sharp or overly vibrant. Some players at their default settings seem a little too sharp or bright in my viewing. Some may refer to this as the picture having more pop. The Oppo has the most neutral or natural picture of the players that I own in my opinion. Others have also expressed the neutrality of the Oppo. Blu-ray playback should be similar amongst most players for the most part. I would be skeptical of anyone seeing a night and day difference in blu-ray playback.

DVD PLAYBACK
For DVD playback I 1st used the disks from Star Trek The Next Generation Season 1. I chose this disc because I know is doesn't have the best rendering. I wanted to challenge the up-converting of the Oppo. The Oppo did a good job with this disc definitely improving the video. While it wasn't night and day there was definitely a visible improvement to my eyes. The picture was smoother with less noise. I also looked at other DVDs and the Oppo did a fantastic job with those also. The BDP-83 will squeeze the very last ounce of picture quality out of your DVD collection. I was initially going to replace some of my favorite DVDs with their blu-ray counterparts, but that number has dropped significantly with the addition of the Oppo.

AUDIO
I'm using the analog connections of the Oppo since my AVR is pre-HDMI. The playback of SACD and DVD-A is outstanding in my opinion. Also, multi-channel analog surround sounds very good decoded by the Oppo. I have not used the Oppo or any of my players for 2 channel audio since I have a dedicated CD transport that I am quite happy with. There are those who don't think very highly of the Oppo 2 channel audio or have another 2 channel analog solution, but the consensus seems to be that the Oppo 2 channel analog is very good. Also, listening to audio is too subjective given the various setups and room acoustics. Last, the Oppo uses the same DACs (Cirrus Logic CS4398) for their 2 channel audio that are found in the Marantz models SA8003 and SA-KI-PEARL SA-CD. Both are CD/SACD players. The DAC info is strictly for informational purposes only.

OTHER
The multiple zoom settings for both SD DVD and Blu-ray are fantastic. The "Full" zoom mode removes the black bars from the top and bottom of the video while maintaining the correct aspect ratio. You do lose a minimal amount of the picture, but not enough to be concerned about in my opinion. I know the video purist don't like this, but I do. Also, all the audio outputs are active all the time. This allows you to change the audio from your AVR or Pre/Pro without going into the setup menu. You can also make adjustments to the setup on the fly without stopping the player. There are a host of other features like being able to choose sub-titles or change the movie soundtrack on the fly. There is also a "Demo Mode" which splits the screen allowing you to make on-screen real time picture adjustments and see the results before accepting the adjustments. Last, there is the back lit remote which is laid out nicely and logical in my opinion. The player is very easy to setup right out of the box and you can have it up and running within 10 minutes if you are using an HDMI cable. For those looking to get everything out of the video you can tweak until your hearts content.

FINAL THOUGHTS
For those who have commented about whether or not this is truly a universal player; Oppo never marketed it as such. If you go to their website it clearly states that it is a "Blu-ray Disc Player W/SACD & DVD-Audio". I guess the inclusion of SACD & DVD-Audio led to it being called a universal player on the various forums.

When the term "Universal" was introduced several years ago it meant a 1 box solution that played all the different types of media discs (DVD, CD, SACD and DVD-A). Now "Universal" loosely means BLU-RAY, DVD, CD, SACD and DVD-A. For this player to be a "Universal" player in the true since of the word, then it would need to play HD-DVDs. There are other current and future releases by Denon (DVD-A1UDCI & DBP-4010UDCI) and Marantz (UD9004) that are being advertised as "Universal" players, but have this same shortcoming.

If you're just looking for a plain vanilla blu-ray player and If your only criteria is PQ for blu-ray and DVD, then there are several players from other manufacturers that will do a very good job with blu-ray and DVD playback. However, if you need the additional features and media support, faster load times, GREAT customer service, SACD and DVD-A support just to name a few; then the Oppo is a bargain at $499.00. The only other players with this feature set that I am aware of begin at $1,999.00.

I've occasionally read where some think the Oppo is "over-hyped" which is phrase I don't particularly care for. I would say that there is a lot of "enthusiasm" from the owners of this outstanding player. I also find that most of this "over-hyped" speak are from those who have never owned the player. We refer to these people on the various threads as "trolls". These are individuals who have comments that are mostly negative about equipment that they have no hands on experience with.

There have been over 20+ reviews of this player and the overwhelming consensus is that the player is worthy of all the "Hype" or "Enthusiasm" that has been bestowed upon it.

Do you think the Oppo would be receiving all these glowing reviews and comments by owners if they were not impressed or satisfied? Remember people are forking out $499.00 when there are capable players for basic blu-ray and DVD playback available for less than $100.00 on sale. If the masses were unhappy with this player, then we would all know about it; especially in this economy. (lol) I know of several people who have bought this player for strictly blu-ray and DVD playback, because the feature set outside of blu-ray and DVD playback is that good.

This player is not perfect, but it is the closet to perfection that I've had in my setup. If you're skeptical take it for a test drive. If you are not happy then the most you'll lose is $18.00 shipping (I live on the east coast) if purchased directly from Oppo.
55 comments| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2009
Beautiful video and audio. In addition to advertised formats, plays DivX as well(not specified in description/manual for some reason).

I have a stereo system - so when playing CDs, SACDs, DVD_A, etc, I use analog output - the sound is better this way than when using an HDMI for music. The sound (even for 2-channel) is absolutely amazing for SACDs and DVD-A. Dark Side of the Moon on SACD will blow you away. CDs sound very good too, may be slightly inferior to my Marantz stand-alone CD player ($300) but it is difficult to tell the difference. If I had the OPPO earlier, I would not buy Marantz at all.

DVD upconversion is very good. I was especially impressed with the sound quality of standard DVDs (HDMI connection). Blu-ray is as good as it gets.

I did not have any technical problems so far - played HDCD, DVD-A, DivX, SACD, CD, DVD (PAL, NTSC), Blu-ray. Very happy with this purchase.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2009
My wife just got me one of these for my birthday. From opening the box to having it fully set up (not just hooked up, but also set up) took maybe half an hour, probably less. Incredible picture quality. Incredible sound quality. Makes me understand why SACD was invented. I've had a Pioneer DVD/SACD/DVD-audio player for several years after SACD had been strongly recommended to my by someone at a local stereo store. While nice and a little better than standard CD, I never really understood why he'd been so positive about the format. Now I know. Extremely easy to hook up as it sends all audio through HDMI. The other BD/universal players on the market are between 7 and 10x more expensive. Yes its a little more expensive than many of the BD players on the market, but it is absolutely worth it. If I could give this unit more than 5 stars on a 5 star scale, I would.

Pros:

Extremely easy set up.
Owners manual that is easy to understand and actually answers your questions.
You probably won't need the owners manual to get the unit set up and running.
Top notch customer support.
Easy firmware upgrades as they become necessary.
Loads of connectivity: HDMI, component video, composite video,COAX audio, optical audio out, five/seven channel analog out

Cons: None so far.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2009
Even before playing the included HD calibration disc, I could see that this company put some thought into quality. It was shipped in a double-thick cardboard box, molded black styrofoam packing (not peanuts), and a nice black box to hold the cables.

The owners manual is several levels of detail better than any consumer manual I've seen. Every function is explained to give the owner an understanding of the concept, with an appropriate number of clear diagrams and figures to show what's needed. The manual itself even contained an extra clear first page as a protective inside cover. Nice touch.

The cabling- AC power cord and HDMI cable are well built. There's no feeling of skimpiness here. Except for the the AV composite cable (Red / White / Yellow), which they probably threw in just to get you started.

The Oppo boots up with a friendly "Hello" on the display. From there, it loaded all my discs very rapidly. The remote is well designed and easy to use.

From a performance perspective, I have very demanding requirements for both audio and video. This box rocks. It's got the high-end processors that are better than a lot of things out on the market. In a nutshell, I'd agree with Paul Christensen's review of July 6, 2009. I was pleasantly surprised that I could go into the setup menu (it's an overlay on what's playing) and make changes in real time. Sweet.

From a construction perspective, it's solid. Aesthetically, I think it looks nice.

For a higher price relative to a "standard" Blu-ray only player, you get a single player that replaces separate CD / SACD / Blu-ray players, with high-end audiophile / videophile quality to boot. To me, this is a bargain.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2009
I got mine directly from Oppo before the announced rollout. Same price as Amazon is asking now. I replaced a very nice Panasonic BD-35 player that loaded fairly quickly and had a good picture and good sound. The Oppo is so much better that even my wife ("why are you buying this?") gets it . Tray opens within 1-2 seconds. The same for closing. Menus come up very very quickly. The stupid "loading" forever issue is not an issue here. You can power up, put in a disc, navigate the menus, and be watching a movie in 30 seconds or less. It even will memorize where you are on a disc and, if you remove it and then reinsert it, come back to your last watched spot (only some BDs allow this). It's like a modern SD deck only it's a BD deck. Sound is incredible. My SACDs and HDCDs bitstream to my Yamaha receiver, and the quality makes me very happy indeed. DVD-A's play fine. My AVCHD's play fine. It even plays PAL (Region 0) discs in addition to NTSCs. It comes with a disc to calibrate your display. You can calibrate the player as well. This is the player we've all been waiting for. And the price point is, well, worth it. If you want the best player out there for less than the cost of a good used car, get this one.
22 comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2009
With the hype surrounding a lot of new products in this fast-paced digital era, it's not uncommon to be disappointed by units that are hastily released into the market with bugs even from reputable manufacturers. But this OPPO BDP-83 really stands out in that it is cheap for an audiophile/videophile product while it provides state-of-the-art performance.

You've already read about all the attributes: Fast load times for all disc formats along with great audio and video quality. I personally would buy this player just for the sound and picture qualities alone. The quick loading time is just very nice icing on the cake.

The upscaling and de-interlacing performance on DVDs leave nothing to be desired. Connected to my Panasonic 50-inch G10 plasma, I find DVDs have very good clarity from my normal viewing distance (15 feet) even after being spoiled by Blu Ray movies and documentaries. Of course, with Blu Ray, this player really shines, especially when the player can display movies at their native 24P frame rate. When you see an image that looks real enough to touch, you know the OPPO is a keeper.

Although I haven't fully explored the audio quality with my collection of CDs and SACDs, I'm sure I won't be disappointed because OPPO has already earned a reputation for consistently outstanding quality.

If there are any features that are missing, they would be the ability to play VCDs and an S-video output. For most users, these are non-issues. But to me, universal compatibility is important and an S-video output would be preferable when transferring non-copy protected DVDs onto tape for relatives who still feel comfortable with their VCRs. Using the composite video output leads to unavoidable moire affects on certain video clips. For this reason, I still have my OPPO 980H universal DVD player connected to the system because it includes an S-video output and it can play VCDs.

In any case, the OPPO BDP-83 gives digital-age consumers the same thrill that analog consumers got when they purchased a Nakamichi 1000 cassette deck back in 1973. Just as Nakamichi did back then, OPPO provides the winning ingredients of stellar packaging, presentation, and documentation along with accessories: The nice carry bag for re-packing the player, the extremely thorough multi-lingual users manual, big black box with high quality power cord and HDMI cable, remote with well-arranged and shaped buttons and switchable remote codes for existing owners of OPPO products (OPPO knew they'd have repeat customers), and of course the inclusion of a Blu Ray calibration disc for adjusting the TV adjustments for optimal viewing of the BDP-83's stellar images...the receipe is complete.

Love it!
44 comments| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 14 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.