Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: OXO SteeL Cocktail Strainer
Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Melvins Fire TV Stick Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro

Package Quantity: 1|Size: Set of 1|Change
Price:$6.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 6, 2009
I think what makes a 5-star strainer is one that's designed intelligently. Some strainers don't have tabs to keep it on top of the shaker, some have not enough holes, some have long handles (for some reason), some are flimsy, some have springs that stretch, some have cavities in the handle for water to sit... This strainer is the one to own and use. Ergonomic, thick metal, raised lip, smart design, dishwasher safe. Not snug in the metal half of my strainer, but doesn't need to be (it is snug in the glass half, if you prefer to pour from the glass). VERY hard to find in stores, I looked for a WHILE and could not fine ONE so I bought on Amazon and saved money off the retail price anyway. Oxo products are smart, cheap and stylish.
22 comments|45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2009
It's thick, like it was stamped from the soul of 1955 chevy pick-up.

heavy metal and short handle keeps the weight over the shaker so it doesn't want to jump out and or spill your hard earned cocktail ingredients over your bar and/or guests.

Sometimes my finger naturally finds that little rubber nipple like the divine bartending gods have inspired my hands with the mythical motions of magical mixology. and sometimes not, but I don't care.

It makes cocktails taste better.

Okay maybe not, but it is the best I've seen, if someone makes a better one that doesn't cost $100 I'll probably buy it, but then again this does keep ice out of my drink when I pour, so it might just be the last Hawthorne strainer you'll ever buy, go ahead just buy one.
22 comments|46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2012
Bar tending can be fun and if you set out bar tending tools at a cocktail party you'll get people trying their hand who've never mixed a true drink in their lives. It can give you some insight into which tools are well designed to do a job and which ones were designed to look good on your bar.

Well designed products are easy to use even for people that don't really know what they're doing because they've been designed in a way that makes them more difficult to use wrong than right.

I've seen a lot of strainers that come with long handles and look great sitting in a crock with your handled jigger and special stirring spoons, but watching people use them makes you realize how poorly designed they are. The long handle means people hold the strainer far from the glass. Not only does that make it a two handed job, but the long lever arm on the strainer makes it less stable and makes them more likely to slip it off and spill their drink.

A good strainer should be difficult to accidentally have slip off your drink when the spring is engaged inside the rim of the shaker glass. But the long handled strainers provide less of a hint about which side should face the glass because you can hold them just as easily with the spring out and the spring in.

The Oxo strainer doesn't have a handle (well at least not more than a nub) and the finger rest shows the user where they should be putting pressure to hold the strainer to the glass. By directing the user to face the spring into the glass and place pressure in the middle of the strainer to hold it to the glass, the Oxo strainer becomes much more difficult to use wrong (trying to hold it on by the handle nub would be incredibly cumbersome and turning it backwards would hide the finger indentation) than it is to use right. In my opinion thats just good design.

Beyond the design the strainer seems to be made from quality materials. The metal on the strainer's base is closer to the thickness of a bleacher seat or old tanker desk than it is to a tin can (laugh but I've held some flimsy strainers). The spring is stiff so it holds tight to your glass and holds up to being removed for cleaning. The finger pad is heat resistant and seems to hold up fine in the dishwasher.

Overall its a great little strainer.
Its easy to use
Its made from materials that will last
and when someone eventually nabs it from a party as a souvenir I'll be back to buy another
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2012
My only problem with the OXO strainer is that the spring is too small and does not fit securely on any of my boston shakers. This isn't so much of a problem if the shift is slow, but when i have to move fast it gets really annoying when the strainer does not sit properly on my boston shakers.

With the exception of the spring, the design is great, and strains well.

Go with the Bonny cocktail strainer instead if you're looking to spend this type of money on a hawthorne. SAME EXACT DESIGN but with a larger spring that allows a more secure fit.
11 comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2014
I traditionally use the Bonny brand Hawthorne strainer. It's the same design as this Oxo one, but it's made of a thinner metal, and is totally flat. I'm used to the flat design.

This Oxo strainer is made thicker and stronger than the Bonny. However, the front of the strainer (where the liquid comes out as you pour) has a raised lip. It's fine and I don't have a problem with it, but some people may have pouring techniques to help strain things like ice chips or little bits of leaves or whatever else is in the tumbler that a perfectly flat strainer is ideal, but this curved-lip Oxo strainer may let some bits through.

It's a must-try strainer for the fact that it's a great design and well-made. If you're used to the Bonny strainer, give this a try. If you're buying your very first Hawthorne strainer, I can't recommend this one enough!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2009
Nice quality and great feel to the metal, the finger rest and goes great with my brushed stainless shaker. I bought two, one to keep at my bar and one to bring along to parties. This is a quality item. I've even tossed it around a bit, either in the drawer or in my condiment bag and the springs are not bent or disfigured. Fine product for the price. I love the compact handle, too, not like one of those with a 6" handle at the end that you don't know what to do with. Five stars easily!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2015
This is a great strainer, hands down. The design is different than normal, but it makes you wonder why they all aren't designed like this. It's a tad more expensive than some, but OXO makes great, usable products without fuss

Pros:
-Strains large and small objects well without getting clogged
-Finger "holder" works remarkably well, and after the first use or two, you get used to it and wonder why all other strainers have that awkward handle
-Fits well into basic shakers and glasses

Cons:
-I've gotten my finger covered in the cocktail a few times due to the placement, but not a big deal
-I have a little larger than average female hands and could see a set of small hands having trouble using this one handed with a large shaker. This isn't a downside, though one may have to use two hands (I do occasionally out of habit and it's easy, just something to consider, though normal strainers would pose the same problem)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2015
Bought as a birthday present for my husband, this highly-recommended unit deserves to be highly-recommended. Well-made with good materials, this strainer seems durable and has an innovative comfy soft plastic thumb rest so it is less likely to slip away from you at an inopportune moment. It's a great price and miles above most of the flimsy ones I've considered in the past. Glad I did the research and bought this one!

Fits this Schott-Zweisel shaker wonderfully:
Schott Zwiesel Basic Bar Selection by Charles Schumann Boston Shaker, 28.7-Ounce
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2015
maybe i'm biased cause i'm an OXO fan, or maybe cause this product is just that good. it's definitely the latter. i've used a few cocktail strainers and this one is very good. i like the flexibility of the coil. you can't go wrong with it. the short handle is brilliant and the rubber spot where you place your fingers while you pour, prevent cold fingertips. if i ever needed another strainer, i'll be purchasing this very same one. no questioned asked. the price here is very good. i looked at other online stores and Amazon had the lowest price at the time i purchased this. i can go on but i don't want to look like an alchy LOL. the stainless steel makes it very easy to clean. i can hand wash it but i usually run it in the dishwasher and it looks as new as the day i opened it. it's a nice. if you're looking for a cocktail strainer, this is the one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2015
Must have for anyone mixing drinks. If you have ever been annoyed when your cocktail dribbles down the shaker and onto the counter while trying to pour from the built in strainer of the cocktail shaker then this is for you. simply pop off the top of the shaker (or the glass if you have a steel / mixing glass shaker), angle this strainer down front first into the top of the steel shaker, bring the back level and use your finger to press forward on the black silicon knob to bring the strainer as close to the edge of the shaker as possible, and pour. no more spilling!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 9 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.