Customer Reviews


583 Reviews
5 star:
 (403)
4 star:
 (87)
3 star:
 (35)
2 star:
 (33)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


146 of 155 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great ergonomics, but do NOT use with fats!
This is a clever, well designed measuring cup, but since it is made of plastic, do NOT use it with fats (oils, creams, yolks, etc.). Any substance that includes fat will chemically attract to the plastic in the measuring cup (and vice versa), making it VERY difficult to get completely clean. While I prefer this design to my trusty Pyrex glass measuring container, I don't...
Published on August 22, 2002 by The Bee Bee

versus
217 of 234 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Idea but Certainly Not Perfect
I will be the voice of dissent to all the raves here.

I've had my set of these measuring cups for several years and while they make a great adjunct to a solid set of glass measuring cups I wouldn't rely on them as my main set. On the plus side, the concept behind them is great, the handles are comfortable and easy to hold, markings are clear and readable. But...
Published on February 18, 2011 by Asa,


‹ Previous | 1 259 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

146 of 155 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great ergonomics, but do NOT use with fats!, August 22, 2002
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a clever, well designed measuring cup, but since it is made of plastic, do NOT use it with fats (oils, creams, yolks, etc.). Any substance that includes fat will chemically attract to the plastic in the measuring cup (and vice versa), making it VERY difficult to get completely clean. While I prefer this design to my trusty Pyrex glass measuring container, I don't like to have to think twice about using it with some ingedients. If they ever make a glass version of this cup, I'll buy two!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


217 of 234 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Idea but Certainly Not Perfect, February 18, 2011
This review is from: OXO Good Grips 3-Piece Angled Measuring Cup Set (Kitchen)
I will be the voice of dissent to all the raves here.

I've had my set of these measuring cups for several years and while they make a great adjunct to a solid set of glass measuring cups I wouldn't rely on them as my main set. On the plus side, the concept behind them is great, the handles are comfortable and easy to hold, markings are clear and readable. But the inside of mine have crazed and warped oddly, as if a thin layer of the plastic melted, and must be tossed. After calling Oxo they informed me these are not microwave safe and therefore cannot be used to warm milk, tea or melt butter in the microwave. I understand that certain oils are also not safe to use in them. Finally, though they are apparently dishwasher safe, they tend to come out with spots or a cloudy film on them and have to be cleaned by hand, the crevices inside the cups tend to collect dried residue, and because of the interior angles they are not very good for mixing (eg. beating a couple of eggs in the cup).

A higher quality plastic might improve them, but at the moment I simply don't think plastic has the versatility or resiliency of a quality glass measuring cup, and the small convenience of not having to measure at eye level is outweighed by that issue, at least for me. I have multiple sets of measuring cups and these are the last ones I reach for.

PROS: Clever design, comfortable handles
CONS: Not microwave safe, craze and warp, difficult to keep clean, plastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 61 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One MAJOR flaw!, June 28, 2003
By 
I have to admit I love this for the ease of measuring. The only draw back (and it's major for me) is that it doesn't pour well. The spout is too flat so the liquids just spill over the edge - ok if your pouring into a large bowl, but not if you need any degree of accuracy. I hope OXOs designers fix this soon, but I don't understand how they missed it in the first place. Such a major (and simple to fix) flaw.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


97 of 106 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Accurate measuring?, October 3, 2004
By 
D. Lizenbee (Oklahoma City, OK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I had seen this item many times on my trips to my favorite houseware stores and thought this was really a great idea. Well yesterday I finally decided to shell out the $7 to get one. I used my cup the first time this morning to make a loaf of bread in my bread machine.

After about 20 minutes of kneeding in the machine, I checked the consistency of the dough and found it very wet. So i got out the cup and my old pyrex cup and my metal cups and did a little checking, after measuring many times back and forth between the cups, i found that the OXO cup is off by quite, over an 1/8 of a cup, nearly a quarter. 1 Cup of liquid in this cup, measured almost 1 and 1/4 cup in the Pyrex. This messed up my bread and really irritated me.

I'm not one to normally write these type of reviews, but thought I should share this bit of information. So for those of you who need an accurate measuring cup, avoid this one. I'm taking mine back to the store and getting back my $7.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Truly Clever Design, May 20, 2003
Like other OXO Good Grips products, the handle is slip-resistant and comfortable to hold. What makes this cup better is that, in addition to the marks traditionally found on the outside of a cup, there are also marks INSIDE the cup!
Until I started using this measuring cup, I didn't realize how much effort it took to measure liquids. I'd pour something into a cup, bend down to look at the marks on the side, add or remove liquid, then bend down again to check the measurement. Measuring is so much more convenient with this OXO cup since you are able to view the inside marks from overhead.
Another reviewer mentions a problem with nesting. I have 2- and 4-cup OXO cups and haven't found this to be a problem: Just make sure the handle of the smaller cup is positioned adjacent to, not directly above, the handle of the larger cup.
The only reason I can't give it 5 stars is because it's plastic, which limits the types of liquids that can be used in this cup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, until . . ., December 3, 2003
By A Customer
Two days ago, I'd have given it 5+ stars because the ease is amazing (seems like such a simple idea, why didn't anyone think of it before?!). Then, yesterday, while measuring hot water it let out a huge crack sound, and sure enough the plastic has split (pretty much from the center of the bottom to 3/4 of the way up the side under the handle)! I'm disappointed because at this cost they certainly aren't disposable, but now I'm accustomed to their ease of use. I also have the 4-cup angled measure and it seems to be a much thicker plastic, thus perhaps (hopefully?) sturdier. Wish I could be more pleased (really want to like it!), but seems awfully fragile for a basic kitchen tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, December 27, 2008
This review is from: OXO Good Grips 3-Piece Angled Measuring Cup Set (Kitchen)
These are convenient and durable. I have used mine for 2+ years, with all liquids including oils, and I wash them in the dishwasher. They are as good as new and the numbers have not worn off yet! My measuring is definitely more precise with these. They nest nicely for storage. Get the mini ones too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Neat idea, bad material, July 1, 2002
By A Customer
It's a very neat idea for a measuring cup, but it's made out of VERY thin plastic. It won't take much to crack it (in fact, the first two I ordered came in cracked and had to be shipped back).
Would have got 5 stars if it were made of thicker/denser plastic, or even glass. But I don't expect it to last very long before it cracks....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love them!, December 26, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: OXO Good Grips 3-Piece Angled Measuring Cup Set (Kitchen)
I absolutely love these! I've had them for years with no problems. I find them extremely convenient.

The only "issue" is if you are measuring something somewhat sticky and you're going to need to scrape it out a bit, it can be more difficult with the angled cups, as they are not smooth all the way around. That is the only time I revert back to my glass, regular measuring cups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent design, but DO NOT use with fats!, December 4, 2002
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a clever, well designed measuring cup, but since it is made of plastic, do NOT use it with fats (oils, creams, yolks, etc.). Any substance that includes fat will chemically attract to the plastic in the measuring cup (and vice versa), making it VERY difficult to get completely clean. While I prefer this design to my trusty Pyrex glass measuring container, I don't like to have to think twice about using it with some ingedients. If they ever make a glass version of this cup, I'll buy two!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 259 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

OXO Good Grips 3-Piece Angled Measuring Cup Set
$19.99 $19.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.