Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want wicked good sunglasses?
This are high quality, polarized, brown sunglasses. They work really well and are easy to clean with just hand soap and water. They are my third paid and the quality is amazing. They can take a beating.
Published 16 months ago by MAC

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oakley Please Update
These glasses arent quite what you would expect from Oakley. I own a few pairs of Frogskins along with many other pairs of Oakley's and other high end sunglasses such as Spy, Oliver Peoples, Rayban, and Von Zipper. The Frogskins are by far the "cheapest" looking and feeling glasses that Oakley has to offer.

The Frogskins aren't as advanced as a normal...
Published 4 months ago by Brennen A.


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oakley Please Update, July 19, 2014
This review is from: Oakley Frogskins Polarized Sunglasses (Eyewear)
These glasses arent quite what you would expect from Oakley. I own a few pairs of Frogskins along with many other pairs of Oakley's and other high end sunglasses such as Spy, Oliver Peoples, Rayban, and Von Zipper. The Frogskins are by far the "cheapest" looking and feeling glasses that Oakley has to offer.

The Frogskins aren't as advanced as a normal pair of Oakley's would be. Starting with the box, even the box is just a plastic see-through box. This feels cheap. The glasses themselves are completely different from all other Oakley's as well. For example, they don't have serial numbers or writing on the inside of the arms. They also lack that signature Oakley "Click" when opening the arms up. The hinges are just basic ball and socket hinges that are featured in the cheapest of sunglasses. I feel that the Frogskins are the most "basic" Oakley's you can get because of this.

The lenses are also not as advanced as the majority of other Oakley shades. The lenses do NOT feature the High Definition Optics (HDO) that almost all other Oakley's come with. They also don't feature the "Three Point Fit" system. The lenses feel cheaper and on the Iridium models I have had problems with the finish chipping off the edges of the lenses. I can understand that Oakley is trying to stay close to their roots with their first highly popular pair of sunglasses, but in all honesty, they haven't updated much since they came out in the 1970's. The only bigger difference is the O-Matter frame, which is a nylon plastic. This helps with durability.

In conclusion, these Oakley's are the base pair of sunglasses and are not worth as much as other more advanced Oakley models. They need a update in order to justify the price. I would only consider getting these glasses if you can find an Authentic pair for under $65.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Style but Cheap Quality, December 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought these sunglasses for my brother-in-law..They have a great shape & fit very well. I am disappointed with the quality of the plastic, they feel like they could have come from a gas station...cheap quality :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want wicked good sunglasses?, July 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This are high quality, polarized, brown sunglasses. They work really well and are easy to clean with just hand soap and water. They are my third paid and the quality is amazing. They can take a beating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 120% worth purchasing if you understand what you are buying for your money., July 2, 2014
This review is from: Oakley Frogskins Polarized Sunglasses (Eyewear)
I have owned numerous pairs of A grade Sunglasses, and I can certainly say these are the best pair I have purchased to date. The HD Polarised lens's are outstanding, even on the sunniest of days you can see more clearly with them on than you can without them on a dull day. As for people whining about a 'flimsy' frame, don't be deceived.. the frame is extremely agile and designed for wear and tear as Oakley is a sports brand from its roots. The frame is made up fro O'matter which isn't any shoddy plastic.

One final point, Oakley have only released 3000 pairs per model.. so they technically are limited.

Definitely recommend, you are paying for quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love 'em, November 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
These are probably the most perfect sunglasses you could buy. They're extremely durable and fairly scratch resistant. They're also extremely light and they fit me very well-apparently my head is usually too small for most mens sunglasses, but these fit great. Definitely recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Feel flimsy, June 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I purchased these because my trusty pair of vintage Frogskins finally bit the dust. These frames felt flimsy in comparison and the lense was not very dark at all. Ended up returning them immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frogskins Polarized, March 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great product, exactly what we expected. My husband loves them. They are just like the ones from back in the day, except they are polarized.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Sunglasses by Oakley, July 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
These are my second Oakley sunglasses ever. The other ones are Plaintiff Rounded Polarized, both pairs have top notch lenses and great material construction. Even though I own two RETROSUPERFUTURE pairs -and I love them as well-, these Oakley shades feel like you want to use them even to sleep, they are really comfy to wear and stylish enough to use them every day. The seller has the good reputation out of selling the best and genuine products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars meh, February 22, 2012
By 
C.HOUSE (KANSAS CITY, MISSOURI, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The rootbeer/brown lenses didn't block enough light in bright conditions.

frame seemed incredibly weak for a $100+ sunglasses.

cool design, just not for me.

returned immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love, May 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I Love them. They are so much more comfortable than Ray Bans and look so much better. I Definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Oakley Frogskins Polarized Sunglasses
$170.00 $150.00 - $160.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.