Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Twenty pages should be enough"
A key point made by Betsey McCaughey is that there is no reason for a health care bill to be roughly two thousand pages long. "Twenty pages should be enough," declares the former lieutenant governor of New York. This relatively short pamphlet is of great value to those who need to quickly get a handle on the current crisis. We have the best health care of any large...
Published on June 27, 2010 by David Thomson

versus
44 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This booklet doesn't deliver on the title's promise
I purchased this booklet because I was impressed with Betsey McCaughey's passion for the subject in TV interviews. I hoped it would provide facts to share with friends and family about how much of our freedom and privacy has been sacrificed in the name of reform. The text tiptoes around these issues, but it lacks focus; it deals with just two of the law's provisions, the...
Published on August 14, 2010 by Michele Defilippo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Twenty pages should be enough", June 27, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A key point made by Betsey McCaughey is that there is no reason for a health care bill to be roughly two thousand pages long. "Twenty pages should be enough," declares the former lieutenant governor of New York. This relatively short pamphlet is of great value to those who need to quickly get a handle on the current crisis. We have the best health care of any large country in the world. The medical professionals living in the United States also lead in the effort to develop new medicines. ObamaCare threatens our freedoms---and ultimately the health of our loved ones. We will also be financially bankrupt. Everyone should heed McCaughey's great advice. It might also behoove you to purchase a number of copies to give to your relatives and friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This booklet doesn't deliver on the title's promise, August 14, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I purchased this booklet because I was impressed with Betsey McCaughey's passion for the subject in TV interviews. I hoped it would provide facts to share with friends and family about how much of our freedom and privacy has been sacrificed in the name of reform. The text tiptoes around these issues, but it lacks focus; it deals with just two of the law's provisions, the changes to Medicare and the individual mandate. Unless you've been living under a rock, you won't learn anything new from this booklet. It isn't even close to a complete summary of the major provisions of the law. By sheer coincidence, I received an 8-page document from my insurance company the day this booklet arrived. It offered a much more complete (and worrisome) year-by-year description of the law's provisions, for free. I can't say whether the book was poorly written, destroyed in editing, or both, but it was a complete waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good book if you care about your mother or grandmother, January 15, 2012
This book stresses the impact of the Obama health law on the elderly, and is superb for anyone concerned about the meaning of Medicare budget cuts, Medicare Advantage cuts, rules governing Medicare payments, and the enormous shift of funds from Medicare to Medicaid, what McCaughey terms "robbing Grandma to spread the wealth."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A BRIEF CRITIQUE OF "OBAMACARE," AND A COUNTER-PROPOSAL, September 19, 2012
By 
Betsy McCaughey is a constitutional scholar, and founder of the Committee to Reduce Infection Deaths, as well as the author of Decoding the Obama Health Law: What You Need To Know and Government by Choice: Inventing the United States Constitution.

She says early in this 2010 booklet, "Under the new law... Doctors will be instructed on what the government deems to be cost-effective and appropriate care. The result is that doctors will be forced to choose between doing what their patient needs and avoiding a government penalty." (Pg. 3-4) She adds later, "Obama health law's across-the-board reductions in funding for Medicare won't simply reduce end-of-life care; they will also reduce care for patients who are perfectly capable of surviving their illnesses and going on with life." (Pg. 12)

She argues, "Amazingly, the president crisscrossed the country claiming that the new health law is 'paid for' and 'reduces the deficit.' He omitted to say that it was paid for the raising taxes by $500 billion AND eviscerating Medicare." (Pg. 24)

Concerning a proposed "value-added-tax' (VAT), she asserts "although the phrase 'value added' has a positive connotation, there is nothing positive about it. In the U.S., a VAT should be called a Vanishing America Tax, because it would erode our freedom and standard of living." (Pg. 25)

There are much longer and more detailed of the President's health care proposals available, but this one includes a lot of argument within a compact space."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Senior citizens--heed!, November 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Because I have a clearer understanding of this so-called health care and how as a senior citizen I am not important for quality care--because DC will decide if what my doctor decides is really worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent source of information about this expensive and unworkable law, July 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book provides an accurate and concise synopsis of the 2500 page law that already has 10,000 pages of additonal rules since it was signed into law. As several Congressmen on both sides have said, "This law is a trainwreck!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Worth Nothing, February 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not enough information to fill up a thimble, even for a pamphlet. Dated and incomplete...not at all what was expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Obama Health Law, December 31, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Seller is a Fast shipper. Quality Merchandise. Large print makes it very easy to read. I am anxious to read it but I Haven't had a chance to yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not too informitive, June 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It was not as informative as I expected
I was hoping to learn a lot about Obama care but did not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST SOURCE FOR OBAMACARE INFO, May 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Betsy McCaughey has done her research, and she presents an educated and informed view of this terrible mistake taking over our health care system. More Americans need to get busy and start educating themselves instead of sitting back and "letting it happen."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Obama Health Law What it Says and How to Overturn It
Obama Health Law What it Says and How to Overturn It by Betsy McCaughey Ross (Paperback - January 21, 2013)
Used & New from: $29.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.