Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Portrait of an unprecedented campaign, November 12, 2008
By 
Julie Neal (Celebration, Fla.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Obama: The Historic Campaign in Photographs (Hardcover)
This beautifully produced photo book chronicles Barack Obama's presidential campaign. There are no official "posed" photographs. They all appear to be candids, all 150 of them. Dozens of photographers contributed, including the famed Annie Leibovitz. Her relaxed portrait of Obama is in the introduction to the book.

Topics range from the obviously historic to the small and intimate. Huge rallies are juxtaposed with a close-up of Obama's wrist wearing a bracelet of a soldier killed in Iraq. Here he is on a cell phone, on a Blackberry, with Bill Clinton, playing basketball. In a deep conversation with Hillary on a campaign plane. Delivering pizza to his staff and volunteers. One spread is nothing but magazines with the candidate's face on the cover.

The Obama family is well represented. The famous fist-bump with wife Michelle is shown over five frames. The future first lady glows in photos showing off her sense of style. Several shots feature the young Obama daughters, appearing at ease and relaxed.

This is a worthy keepsake of an unprecedented campaign.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Exceptionally Smart and Compelling Collection of Visual Images, November 11, 2008
This review is from: Obama: The Historic Campaign in Photographs (Hardcover)
Obama: The Historic Campaign in Photographs is a wonderful photographic tribute to, and reflection on, the compelling, multi-faceted and spirited movement that elected Barack Obama as the 44th President of the United States. The 150 color photographs inspiringly selected by Deborah Willis, with smart textual narration by Kevin Merida, provide not just a glimpse of the president-elect and his political campaign but through the visual images, a studied insight into the phenomena that produced possibly the most transformative moment in American life on November 4, 2008. The photographs were taken by professionals as well as amateur photographers, on expensive cameras as well as cellphones, and of huge crowds as well as of the candidates and supporters in those rare quiet moments. The wonderful array selected by Willis, a MacArthur "genius" and the "dean" of American cultural photography, reflects her unique eye for capturing not only beauty but the depth of spirit that only photographs, unlike other media, can capture. This book captures that spirit not only of our president-elect but of the entire campaign.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent View of the Obama Campaign, November 29, 2008
By 
L. Green "Pisces" (San Francisco Peninsula) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Obama: The Historic Campaign in Photographs (Hardcover)
This moving photo journey across the country with Barack Obama in his quest to become president is well worth the money. The photography is excellent and makes you feel as if you are there. Everyone who has seen my copy has wanted one and I have ordered numerous books for gifts because it is the kind of historical record that will be timeless. It gives me the satisfaction of knowing that I am not only personally loving thumbing through the pages over and over, but that I am gifting friends and family with something of unique value and significance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding survey perfect for personal reflection and public library acquisition alike, January 14, 2009
This review is from: Obama: The Historic Campaign in Photographs (Hardcover)
Deborah Willis is a photo historian and photographer who is chair of New York University's tech school of arts: she combines forces with Kevin Merida, associate editor at the Washington Post, to gather a gorgeous photo memoir of the historical campaign of Obama this year. Any seeking a keepsake edition of the highs and lows of the 2008 campaign trail needs this: it pairs color photos with commentary on Obama's progress, and is an outstanding survey perfect for personal reflection and public library acquisition alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, January 10, 2009
By 
T. Tyson (Greenville, NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Obama: The Historic Campaign in Photographs (Hardcover)
This book is delightful! It has amazing pictures that are bright, bold and candid! The book takes you behind the scene of the campaign and gives you background about President-Elect Obama's upbringing. It truly is a journey in pictures, but not just photos of Obama but of the people who helped make it happen, the Voters! I highly recommend this book, especially if you are a collector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, January 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Obama: The Historic Campaign in Photographs (Hardcover)
Great. Would definitely recommend this book to be added to your library and reading. An inspiration for all for years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Photographs, January 2, 2009
This review is from: Obama: The Historic Campaign in Photographs (Hardcover)
Anyone looking for pics chronicling the Obama team during the primary season will enjoy this book. It is not the go to book for pics during the general election. It is a great book though, and any fan of Obama will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book, it has character, January 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I enjoyed reading this book. The pics were great and made it easier to comprehend what is all involved in running for presidenct position. Very vivid and bold colors that ehance the contents of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Obama - A pictoral review of the Campaign, December 24, 2008
This review is from: Obama: The Historic Campaign in Photographs (Hardcover)
This is a great collection capturing the entire campaign of Barack Obama. It is an important component of the record of a truly historic event in American political history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pictures Of History, January 6, 2009
By 
This review is from: Obama: The Historic Campaign in Photographs (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my mother for Christmas. We both love it. The pictures are beautiful. Nice cover. It's a little piece of history. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Obama: The Historic Campaign in Photographs
Obama: The Historic Campaign in Photographs by Deborah Willis (Hardcover - October 28, 2008)
$26.95 $18.46
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.