Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Obama: The Historic Campaign in Photographs
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Recess Monkey Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars20
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon November 12, 2008
This beautifully produced photo book chronicles Barack Obama's presidential campaign. There are no official "posed" photographs. They all appear to be candids, all 150 of them. Dozens of photographers contributed, including the famed Annie Leibovitz. Her relaxed portrait of Obama is in the introduction to the book.

Topics range from the obviously historic to the small and intimate. Huge rallies are juxtaposed with a close-up of Obama's wrist wearing a bracelet of a soldier killed in Iraq. Here he is on a cell phone, on a Blackberry, with Bill Clinton, playing basketball. In a deep conversation with Hillary on a campaign plane. Delivering pizza to his staff and volunteers. One spread is nothing but magazines with the candidate's face on the cover.

The Obama family is well represented. The famous fist-bump with wife Michelle is shown over five frames. The future first lady glows in photos showing off her sense of style. Several shots feature the young Obama daughters, appearing at ease and relaxed.

This is a worthy keepsake of an unprecedented campaign.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2008
Obama: The Historic Campaign in Photographs is a wonderful photographic tribute to, and reflection on, the compelling, multi-faceted and spirited movement that elected Barack Obama as the 44th President of the United States. The 150 color photographs inspiringly selected by Deborah Willis, with smart textual narration by Kevin Merida, provide not just a glimpse of the president-elect and his political campaign but through the visual images, a studied insight into the phenomena that produced possibly the most transformative moment in American life on November 4, 2008. The photographs were taken by professionals as well as amateur photographers, on expensive cameras as well as cellphones, and of huge crowds as well as of the candidates and supporters in those rare quiet moments. The wonderful array selected by Willis, a MacArthur "genius" and the "dean" of American cultural photography, reflects her unique eye for capturing not only beauty but the depth of spirit that only photographs, unlike other media, can capture. This book captures that spirit not only of our president-elect but of the entire campaign.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2015
you'll be bored by this book.

Here's a picture book of "'Yes, we can' The Man".

Here are the visuals that got Hillary beaten in the primaries. Here are the visuals that gave us hope that an aged pseud-maverick would actually be voted down. (Even Palin didn't seem to clinch it for a lot of us.) And you know it had to be the visuals. How many Americans are going to vote for a law professor? Actors, failed businessmen, privileged rich scions, but a law professor? Well, we wanted to make SURE we didn't get another warlord ...

A book about Dole would have at least had a few good jokes.

I found this in the dumpster behind the Zero Public Library. After I'd leafed through it, I hauled back to pitch it back, but had it snatched away by the picker who sometimes lurks behind the Library as well. Evidently even "ex-library" copies can be sold on EBay. "You know, a lot of people, this was the first time they'd ever voted! So they want a memento!" Let 'em have it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2011
I enjoyed reading this book. The pics were great and made it easier to comprehend what is all involved in running for presidenct position. Very vivid and bold colors that ehance the contents of the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2008
This moving photo journey across the country with Barack Obama in his quest to become president is well worth the money. The photography is excellent and makes you feel as if you are there. Everyone who has seen my copy has wanted one and I have ordered numerous books for gifts because it is the kind of historical record that will be timeless. It gives me the satisfaction of knowing that I am not only personally loving thumbing through the pages over and over, but that I am gifting friends and family with something of unique value and significance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2009
Deborah Willis is a photo historian and photographer who is chair of New York University's tech school of arts: she combines forces with Kevin Merida, associate editor at the Washington Post, to gather a gorgeous photo memoir of the historical campaign of Obama this year. Any seeking a keepsake edition of the highs and lows of the 2008 campaign trail needs this: it pairs color photos with commentary on Obama's progress, and is an outstanding survey perfect for personal reflection and public library acquisition alike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2009
This book is delightful! It has amazing pictures that are bright, bold and candid! The book takes you behind the scene of the campaign and gives you background about President-Elect Obama's upbringing. It truly is a journey in pictures, but not just photos of Obama but of the people who helped make it happen, the Voters! I highly recommend this book, especially if you are a collector.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2009
Anyone looking for pics chronicling the Obama team during the primary season will enjoy this book. It is not the go to book for pics during the general election. It is a great book though, and any fan of Obama will enjoy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2008
This is a great collection capturing the entire campaign of Barack Obama. It is an important component of the record of a truly historic event in American political history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2009
I bought this book for my mother for Christmas. We both love it. The pictures are beautiful. Nice cover. It's a little piece of history. Well worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.