Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Obama's Four Horsemen: The Disasters Unleashed by Obama’s Reelection
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$3.30+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon March 2, 2013
The metaphorical “four horsemen are coming, and they are coming in the form of a national debt disaster, an epidemic of government dependence, an erosion of our world standing, and a nihilistic view about the value of human life.”

This short, two hundred-page book is divided into six major sections with numerous subchapters. In this case the titles of the sections give an accurate description of what the reader will find in those chapters. Chapter One: “Highway to Hell” has a subchapter “The Church of he Greater Good.” Chapter Two: “Free Stuff Now! (Slavery Later)” has subchapters such as “Sweet Julia, A Nation of Unemployed Students, War is Peace. Freedom Is Slavery. Giving is Taking, The 47 Percent (and Why They’re Never Going Away).”

Chapter Three is titled “Party like There’s No Tomorrow." Chapter Four is titled “Identity Crisis.” Chapter Five is “The Mortal Cliff.” Chapter Six is the last chapter and in titled “For Whom the Bell Tolls.” The two subchapters in that final chapter are, “It Tolls for Thee” and “Spread the Wealth.”

This is one of the first books to be published about Obama’s current agenda since he was re-elected and it’s not very comforting not only because of what it points out about an unfettered Obama and his plans for the world, but what it tells us about what the voters of the United States have become.

“Barack Obama’s reelection ensures we’ll be dealing with some level of social instability and economic calamity in the future. No, these calamities won’t transform us into Bangladesh, and won’t mean the United States will cease to exist. They will only mean that this particular iteration of the United States will be no more.” The author then goes on to supply the evidence he uses to reach the conclusions contained in this excellent and quick read. Naturally the book contains notes and an index to help the reader sort things out.
22 comments| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon February 28, 2013
"Big government makes us poorer; it does so by making us less moral. It undermines our work ethic; it rewards irresponsibility (through everything from mortgage bailouts to subsidized contraception); it promotes envy and greed; it creates enemy classes or groups (like the wealthy) and encourages us all to demonize them and take from them." - p. 54

The America I grew up is gone. When Barack Obama was elected President in 2008 he vowed to "fundamentally transform America". He sure has. Traditional American values such as individual freedom, equality of opportunity, religious liberty, self-reliance, competition and hard work have been replaced by a whole new ethos featuring crushing debt, increasing dependency on government, a President who props up our enemies and apologizes for America and an alarming culture of death. David Harsanyi is a nationally syndicated columnist who believes that the re-election of Barack Obama has set into motion forces that could well do irreparable damage to our nation. He has laid it all out for us in his disturbing new book "Obama's Four Horsemen: The Disasters Unleashed by Obama's Reelection". As you will discover, the challenges for those who oppose the Obama agenda appear to be overwhelming. The likelihood is that America will never be the same again.

So how did it happen? According to David Harsanyi there has been a fundamental shift, especially among young people, in how Americans view government's role in society that will be difficult, if not impossible to reverse. The dumbing down of America is now a reality. After years of indoctrination in America's elementary and secondary schools and in our institutions of higher learning it appears that a large percentage of our young people have bought the progressive agenda hook, line and sinker. Progressives have succeeded in embedding the entitlement mentality deep within our culture. For example, the author cites a 2012 report from the Congressional Research Service that found that welfare is now the single biggest federal expense--greater than Social Security, Medicare and National defense--with combined federal and state spending on welfare programs topping $1 trillion in 2011! Thank you Barack Obama! Today 1 in 7 Americans use food stamps. If you doubt that the Obama administration are the one's largely responsible for this you should know that in 2001 17.3 million Americans participated in the program. By 2011 that number had swelled to 46.2 million people. There is good reason to believe that there are now more Americans in the wagon than those who are pulling it and this is precisely what the progressives had in mind. The Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff Admiral Mike Mullen has declared that "the biggest single threat to our national security is debt." We have a President and a Democratic party that couldn't care less and perpetually chastise any Republican or conservative efforts to stem the tide as "mean-spirited".

Clearly the progressive agenda being espoused by Obama and his minions are being propped up by the lapdog press. Here is one example of the type of hard-hitting reporting we are getting from our friends in the mainstream media. Harsanyi reports that during a 2012 interview with Bloomberg's Al Hunt (a/k/a Mr. Judy Woodruff, my snide remark) Treasury Secretary Timothy Geithner was asked "Do you agree with Alan Greenspan (a/k/a Mr. Andrea Mitchell, ditto) that we ought to just eliminate the debt ceiling?" The incestuous relationship between big government and the media is everywhere. To these folks the debt ceiling is "an inconvenient truth" that needs to be marginalized and ultimately eliminated.

But there is a lot more to worry about than just debt and dependency (as if that were not enough). David Harsanyi spends a considerable amount of time focusing on Obama's rather unsavory foreign policy. Let's just say that with all of the bowing, apologizing and propping up of questionable regimes around the world one has to wonder just whose side this President is on. And how Barack Obama managed to get away with the events that took place in Benghazi on September 11, 2012 is simply unbelievable. We have a President who seems to be averse to due process, the rule of law and the U.S. Constitution. Once again, our media couldn't care less. Then there is the culture of death that Obama and the Democrats succeeded in accelerating during the 2012 Presidential campaign. Sadly, it would appear that this is what the majority of American voters seem to want. Throwing caution to the wind, Democratic candidates from Obama on down championed the right of American woman to free contraception and taxpayer-funded abortions. The sight of the likes of Sandra Fluke addressing the delegates at the Democratic National Convention was nothing short of breathtaking! What in the world has become of the Democratic party? Over the past 40 years more than 50 million abortions have taken place in America which author Pat Buchanan believes will ultimately result in the "Suicide of a Superpower".

Over the past couple of years I have read a number of books chronicling the misery that the Obama administration and their progressive allies in Congress are foisting upon the American people. "Obama's Four Horsemen: The Disasters Unleashed by Obama's Reelection" is the latest offering and while I would characterize it as a worthwhile read it is not among the upper echelon of the books I have read thus far. Having said that, "Obama's Four Horsemen" is still an extremely readable offering and relatively short at just 157 pages. Those who have not read a lot about these issues can get up to speed in just a few sittings. And let's face it, the more Americans who become aware of what is happening in this nation the better the chance we have of weathering the storm. A solid four star effort. Recommended.
99 comments| 92 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2013
While European Socialists are proudly call themselves as such, in the United States calling the so called Progressives, Democrats, Liberals Socialists or horrible dictu Marxists counts as slender. In reality, in the United States the socialists (progressives ,liberals, democrats or whatever fellow travelers) are more radical leftists than their counterparts in Europe not withstanding the name. What David Harsanyi's book describes is an Apocalyptic event, that leads us towards a cultural, social, economic and political destruction. As he said there will be a United States (although I am not so sure that it will be United for very long) but what kind of United States? What he tells us very elegantly, that we are right now in the middle of a revolution. We just don't think so, yet we are in the middle of a Earth shaking event just like the Bloody French Revolution, the Great October Revolution of the bolseviks, or the Nazi Revolution of 1933. David does not say it but all of them have come about in the wake of a great economic or political disaster just like now. Although, the recent one what this President is using was greatly exaggerated in order to use it more advantageously. David's book is pessimistic and unfortunately, rightly so, David's book is an honest intellectual approach of a horrific episode in our history. Maybe if young people would read this book they would see this situation in a different light and our dark future would not be so dark. The book is great read, when start to read it is hard to put it down.
1313 comments| 63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2013
As a fellow journalist, I've been an avid reader of and have followed David Harsanyi's intrepid career arc since his monumental debut--the exposé of government overstepping its boundaries--Nanny State back in 2007. Not only is Harsanyi's brand new opus he boldly calls Obama's Four Horsemen: The Disasters Unleashed by Obama's Reelection, an impeccable complement to Nanny State but it portrays in superb, vivid detail that the US of A is not only headed for a further oblivion of drowning in debt, endless wars and government as police state and de facto caretaker but we are already submerged in the quagmire of it all.
While Four Horsemen may be dismissed by the liberal elite as Fox News/Republican talking points a la Hannity, Limbaugh and the ass-clowns of that ilk, Harsanyi--one the country's young, bright libertarians who also possesses a P.J. O'Rourke-esque satirical bent--shows he no Conservative puppet and is lightning quick on calling out Dems and Repubs alike. That said, Obama's Four Horsemen: The Disasters Unleashed by Obama's Reelection provides a frightening yet revelatory and epic read, regardless of party lines.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2013
Remember the almost triumphant declaration of Bill Clinton that "The era of big government is over." In truth, he only half believed it. But the die seemed to have been cast. Now, Barack Obama has rebuilt the dependency state we once thought had gone by the wayside after the 1990's. And the American people have twice elected the man who offers the greatest threat to our freedom since Russia in the Cold War.

David Harsanyi makes a clear case how Barack Obama intends to put our country in perils of the sort that will allow him to set up a scenario where he may be able to truly transform America. This is a significant work which chronicles the means he is using to fulfill this horrid plan.

David Harsanyi is a true friend of liberty and a fantastic mind and excellent investigator. This is a worthy read for anyone who wants to understand what may be coming our way.
66 comments| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2013
I wasn't familiar with author David Harsanyi before getting this book, and I can't even remember what chain of connections led me to read him, but I'm glad I did. I thought given the apocalyptic title it might be extreme and over the top, but its not.

Harisanyi covers fairly standard conservative ground (and analysis of current America's dominant progressive culture), but through enough of a libertarian lens that I can get behind most of what he says. What he covers is a general but thorough recap of the past 5 years of Obama "leadership".

It's not a really deep analysis but it is clear and easy to understand, and his writing style is like this too; straight forward, to the point, and intelligent without being overly complicated, witty or wonkish. Basically what he defines as the "Four Horsemen" are our nation's culture of "debt", "dependency", "surrender" (a foreign policy of appeasement), and "death" (specifically as in abortion).

These are the forces which Americans are becoming increasingly (and rapidly) desensitized to, and which will combine to lead to a cultural collapse if they are not met head on. This is clearly a call to Americans (left and right, young and old) to recognize and strengthen traditional values of moderation, self-reliance, strength and respect for Life. It is not a call to return to the past as much as move forward in a more sane and balanced way.

It's a pretty simple polemic actually - in a nice and simple, short and easy to read package. (BTW, my book is only 200 pages long, not the 256 pages Amazon advertises.) The only thing thats really missing (and what keeps it neat and tidy) is any discussion of whats behind all this - of the masters behind The Horsemen if you will - the agenda of the New World Order and the effects of the Patriot Act for instance. This kind of discussion would quickly get messy because it would have to extend beyond Obama's administration to question the power of the executive branch itself, and the shadowy influences which control it....
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2013
Here again I had a hard time putting down my kindle and leaving this great read. This book also open my eye's to new information. I highly recommend this book to those individual's that are not fooled by the on going "Lie" about this current adminstration. Happy reading.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2013
This is by far the best and most accurate summation of the causes of the sub-prime mortgage and home value meltdown. Having been employed in the mortgage lending business, I witnessed exactly what this author experienced. With great consternation and frustration, I watched the establishment ,media and certain politicians with the bully pulpit report on every cause except the correct one, that being government policy. A great, completely understandable read!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2013
This book is about the kinds of things that make me lose faith in the America we learned to love growing up. That place is long gone and receding fast in the rearview mirror. The content of this book illustrates what is wrong with the country today. The Leftists will no doubt harangue that is was Bush that did this and (insert other neocon here) did that, and rate this book 1 star to drive the rating down. Well, they'll get theirs, in this life or the next. These topics are not necessarily the fruits of Obama, and the Republicans can certainly take their share of the blame. We have been traveling down this road for a hundred years now, regardless of who is in power.

The text comes in at right over 150 pages or so, and you could finish it in a sitting. And, although the wording is easy to read and not hard to digest for anyone over say a seventh grade reading level, well seventh grade when I was in school, this book is as brutal as it is informative. I fell into a kind of despair reading this book, not for me but for my kid. This book is like reading a post mortem for a beloved relative who is in critical condition.

The four horsemen are:

Entitlements - Not just the financial burden of these but I like how he also touches on the social cost of a society becoming psychologically dependent on handouts, and the way we have developed from a freedom loving meritocracy, to a risk-averse bunch of pansies. The true sign of America's demise. We thought we have been voting for Santa Claus and we will one day have to pay the bills for the credit we leveraged for these gifts we have blessed ourselves with.

Debt - the whole U.S. dollar is a giant ponzi scheme anyway, when there is no money, there is no money. We are worse than bankrupt, we need to find (and let me type it out for emphasis) more than $16,000,000,000,000 just to be broke. If we take the generally accepted approximation that earth is 4 billion or so years old, that is $4,000 dollars our country owes for ever single year since the formation of the planet. Or about $70,000,000,000 for each of the 236 years of U.S. existence. These numbers were made up by astronomers to try to wrap our feeble human minds around the sheer vastness of outer space.

A Foreign Policy of Shame - This is the one I place the blame squarely on Obama. He hates our allies and rubs elbows with our enemies, this confusion and uncertainty will no doubt harm our standing for generations - if America as we know it is still here by then. This is also starting to affect out domestic policy as well as DHS and police checkpoints harass law abiding citizens and erode the fourth amendment and they release prisoners early, and provide them with cable and internet during their incarceration. They are attempting to ban firearms among the general public while providing them (for free) to Mexican criminals.

The Assault on the Family - not necessarily Obama's fault the Progressives have been working toward this since, at least, FDR. But, they have certainly found their heroic warrior with his election. The book mostly uses the abortion issue, but it touches on the whole people as a virus theme. Death panels, free abortion, proliferation of homosexual values, and the indoctrination of our children in the public school system are all contributors, to this end and I do wish he would have touched a bit more on the other subjects, but he had to stop somewhere. (As should I)
22 comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2013
Book is truthful, tongue in cheek at times. These facts are helpful for deciding what steps to take to survive.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse