Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learn by Example
The strategies and patterns mentioned in the book are really helpful. They improve the object think. The examples explain the author's point of view clearly. This book complements other books in OOAD and patterns by Craig Larmen, GoF, Martin Fowler etc.
One interesting point is that the author shows how same strategy or pattern helps in design in various problems...
Published on February 14, 2001 by Radha Murali Vundavalli

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good reference book.
This book presents a different way for analysis and design of information systems. It would be better if models had been presented using UML.
Published 8 months ago by José Orlando Reyes Martínez


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learn by Example, February 14, 2001
The strategies and patterns mentioned in the book are really helpful. They improve the object think. The examples explain the author's point of view clearly. This book complements other books in OOAD and patterns by Craig Larmen, GoF, Martin Fowler etc.
One interesting point is that the author shows how same strategy or pattern helps in design in various problems. Most of the books do not show this. For beginners, it is often difficult to grasp a strategy or pattern with just one example.
One drawback is it uses UML notation very less. But Coad notation is simple and we can easily grasp to understand the diagrams in the book. If you want to learn from solid examples, this is a good choice. If you are very new to OOAD, this is NOT the one you can start with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for object-oriented programmers, October 12, 1998
By 
It's 5.41 a.m. I did not sleep last night I was so jazzed after reading 45 pages of 'Object Models: Strategies, Patterns, & Applications'.
This book outlines a methodology that it also *shows* working -- and working in real-world applications. Definitely something for every object-oriented programmer's reference library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A valuable asset for anyone doing OO development, October 13, 1998
By A Customer
This book is a big hit -- a very valuable asset for anybody doing object-oriented development. I really like the new strategies and notation, especially for scenarios. The work on scenarios is extremely valuable. The business and real-time applications really help developers learn how to object model. Very cool!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I keep coming back to this book, October 14, 2007
I have struggled a bit with Peter Coad. Nonetheless, I always felt that I would get to grips with his somewhat unusual style and that it would be worth the effort. Indeed it has been! This book was well ahead of its time in terms of its approach to OO design. Chapter 7 presents 148 strategies that guide you in your design effort. It also has a number of analysis patterns which are very useful. Personally, I had no problem with the notation he used, in fact, I found it more intuitive that UML. The material in this book is refined in Streamlined Object Modelling (Nicola, et al) and Java Design (Coad, et al) but this is it's starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat dated, but still valuable, March 21, 2006
This review is from: Object Models: Strategies, Patterns, and Applications/Book and Disk (Yourdon Press Computing) (Hardcover)
Published in 1995, this book suffers from the affliction of coming into being before the Unified Modeling Language (UML) was defined. Inside the front cover, there are three instances of the Object Model, one in Coad notation, the second in Booch notation and the third in Rumbaugh notation. Having worked in UML since it was developed, I found the trip back to the before time to be unnerving. I spent some time going over the diagrams and found the differences in notation so significant that it took me awhile to equate the three diagrams.

The inside of the book is easier to understand, largely because understandable applications that are represented. They are:

*) Connie's convenience store (a point-of-sale application).

*) Wally's warehouse (a warehouse application)

*) Ollie's order center (an order-entry application)

*) Dani's diverters (a soft real-time application)

*) Andi's autopilot (a hard real-time application)

Each is developed from the beginning, the first step in all cases is "Identifying system purpose and features." From this, the objects are identified and defined, followed by a section on applying patterns. Coad and his group was one of the earliest to include patterns as a fundamental component of their development strategies, so this book is secondarily a textbook on what patterns are and how they are used.

This book has worn better over the years than many of the others written about object models. Coad notation is used throughout and it is very similar to UML. This makes it much easier for people experienced in UML to read and understand what is being done. For this reason and because the applications are so well developed, I can recommend this book to all modern developers using object-oriented design strategies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent set of real applications, November 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I think the authors did a great effort creating object models for several real life application. It is often pretty hard to explain in written text how you are modeling with objects. Here is pretty nice explained.

For each example, the book start identifying the features and purpose of the system that is going to be modeled. It presents this as interviews/talks between the developer and the domain expert. The objects that belongs to the domain are identified based on the understanding of the system. Then the object that belongs to the front end, the data managment and the objects that deals with other external systems. You will find object models, class diagrams and also sequence diagramas to understand better the interaction between the objects. Each important decision about modeling with objects is captured in what the authors calls, pattern. You won't find source code in this book.
I would preffer to see some more details about the interaction between the objects that model the domain and the objects dealing with the data managment. But that is probably for a next edition :).

I strongly recomend this book for developers who knows the object oriented paradigm and have experience with that. Because you can compare your own solution and agree or disagree with the solutions provided by the authors. And, of course, learn from that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Software Design Classic!, August 18, 2010
By 
Juan Gomez (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was surprised to see how few reviews this book had, so I felt compelled to write my own, specially since I've yet to find a good modern software design book that fails to reference this one. Even after so many years this book keeps being relevant and helps you shape your mind from that of a mere developer to that of a true OO designer.

I love Peter Coad's writing style, what he calls "learning by example". He creates these imaginary projects, with very real problems and then sets off to solve them in front of your very own eyes. Reading his books sometimes feel like a master-apprentice exercise where you get to work with one of the most experience and highly listened object modelers of his time.

The bulk of the Pattern Community gives Peter less credit than he deserves as far as being a strong force of the whole pattern movement, but as I mentioned, you'll always find this book (or Coad's earlier paper that inspired this book) on the reference pages of the greatest patterns and design books, written by the likes of Martin Fowler, Robert Martin, Frank Buschmann and it's even referenced with high anticipation on the appendix of Design Patterns: Elements of Reusable Object-Oriented Software.

Although it's a pre-UML book, you'll find Coad's notation very straight-forward and intuitive and if that weren't enough it is also helpfully explained in one of the appendixes. It's also laid out as a Duplex Book, where the first few chapters are written as narratives to learn about the design process, the patterns and strategies and how to apply them on real projects; and the second part as a reference catalog where you can easy get the details of a pattern or strategy for daily use.

In a sentence this book belongs on the shelf of every thoughtful software designer. It'll give you a new insight on the modeling process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learn by Example, February 14, 2001
The strategies and patterns mentioned in the book are really helpful. They improve the object think. The examples explain the author's point of view clearly. This book complements other books in OOAD and patterns by Craig Larmen, GoF, Martin Fowler etc.
One interesting point is that the author shows how same strategy or pattern helps in design in various problems. Many authors do not do this. For beginners, it is often difficult to grasp a strategy or pattern with just one example.
One drawback is it uses UML notation very less. But Coad notation is simple and we can easily grasp to understand the diagrams in the book. If you want to learn from solid examples, this is a good choice. If you are very new to OOAD, this is not the one to start with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good reference book., November 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book presents a different way for analysis and design of information systems. It would be better if models had been presented using UML.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Quantity of Strategies and Patterns, June 18, 2001
By A Customer
Shows you how to create object models (analysis models) through indepth examples and guidance by presenting strategies and patterns as you need them as you work through the examples. The strategies tell you how to approach a task such as how to select objects. Strategies are short, focused. For example, a strategy may have three or four one-sentence things to do to accomplish a goal. The patterns present template objects and their typical interactions.
The examples are relevant to business analysts.
After working through even just one example, you will be able to create object models and using the strategies and patterns.
Includes reference section containing all of the strategies and patterns.
The book uses COAD notation to present the examples, so for people familiar with UML it takes a little getting used to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Object Models: Strategies, Patterns, and Applications/Book and Disk (Yourdon Press Computing)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.