Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Chi-Raq Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Knock snow out cold Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Winter Sports on Amazon.com SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 30, 2000
Don't let the (literally) clueless title turn you off. This is an impressive tour de force. The first half is a concise, entertaining, and enormously informative history of technology and its effects on our social customs and ways of looking at the world. Lane's grasp of mountains of material and his ability to concisely summarize it are awesome. Since I am in a related field, I intended to skim it, but was drawn into reading every word. The second half is more specialized, but is only tangentially devoted to "obscene profits" (that awful title looks like a publicists's handiwork). It poignantly conveys the ways the new technology reveals for the first time that men's obsession with pornography is of epidemic proportions.
0Comment10 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2000
This is an excellent book, written with a lawyer's research habits and a computer scientist's discipline. For anyone interested in the most profitable industry segment of the new economy, this is required reading material. It is interesting, entertaining, and informative. Pick it up, but know the following. Money doesn't mean power. It means freedom.
0Comment9 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2000
Ever since I was a little boy, I was interested in the world surrounding pornography business. Do they ever have an economic downturn or require a bailout? I have grown older and even more intrigued, it is amazing to find out how this cottage/back alley industry, has grown to be a major influence in today's society and economy. Obscene Profits neatly illustrates the hard changes the porn industry has had to make to last the distance and in the meantime fueling many would-be Hollywood actress's dreams. Even for people who are disgusted by pornography will be interested in this book's portrayal of an industry that has touched almost everyone and created its own entrepreneurs.
0Comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2000
Frederick Lane approaches the history of pornography with the eye of a scholar and the ear of a storyteller. Obscene Profits is both informative and entertaining -- no small feat considering its subject. From stag films to Jen-dave.com, Lane introduces the players and the controversies, backed by an informed look at the political, social and cultural happenings at the time. The result is an impressive debut that, above all, manages to "follow the money" while maintaining a lively perspective on one of the most contentious subjects in American society.
0Comment6 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2007
This book was not my cup of tea - to much law and stuff. I would love to have seen more advice regarding the adult biz but turns out this book is more of a history book and 2257 regulation book. But for people working in a law firm dealing with the adult industry I guess this book is perfect.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2001
I used this book as a reference for a graduate level sociology class, and it was invaluable. The information was rich and accurate. I really enjoyed the writer's perspective.
0Comment6 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2015
This book is very informative regarding the telecommunications industry and parts of the evolution of chat rooms and online pornography and the unbelievable amounts of money generated. I had this book years ago but misplaced it. This used copy was is excellent condition.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2010
Great coverage of this billion dollar industry- from the mom-and-pop business to the big-dog major players in the porn world. Quite a good book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2000
There is money in sex, lots of it, and this book is helpful to anyone who would like to understand more about this booming industry.
0Comment3 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2001
Obscene Profits is the first book to pick up when researching about or doing business with the adult entertainment industry. Mr. Lane seems to have an insider's point of view coupled with an academician's intellect...which makes for engaging reading. For those fascinated by the biggest moneymaking sector on the Internet, this is a must-read.
0Comment4 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.