Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The gold-standard OB/Gyn handbook, but could be better
I've used this book as a 3rd and 4th-year medical student and am soon to begin my OB/Gyn residency.

Pros:
-Primary care section covers the big topics you might see in a typical primary care setting.
-Outline format helps pack in information
-Helpful diagrams, such as those for pre-eclampsia and abnormal uterine bleeding
-ACLS section...
Published on June 29, 2009 by johnny4

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's pretty good.
+ Practical for residents that deal w/ Ob/gyn issues
+ comprehensive
- Appendix is not well layed out and has insufficient entries to find the topic you are looking for in a pinch
- Not really "pocket-sized"
- Overkill in terms of details for medical students and not enough background information to use as quick study guide for pimping preparation
Published on April 17, 2008 by Joshua Russell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The gold-standard OB/Gyn handbook, but could be better, June 29, 2009
This review is from: Obstetrics, Gynecology and Infertility: Handbook for Clinicians; Pocket Edition (Paperback)
I've used this book as a 3rd and 4th-year medical student and am soon to begin my OB/Gyn residency.

Pros:
-Primary care section covers the big topics you might see in a typical primary care setting.
-Outline format helps pack in information
-Helpful diagrams, such as those for pre-eclampsia and abnormal uterine bleeding
-ACLS section (includes neonatal resuscitation algorithm)
-Concise medical spanish section
-Some high-yield anatomical drawings
-The new REI section is quite extensive (also a "con")
-The operative reports section is great. For residents, this may be one of the best aspects of the book.

Cons:
-Excessively thick. This edition gained a lot of weight/pages because Dr. Lebovic's REI handbook was basically added on to the previous edition. The length and width pretty stayed the same, so the book just got thicker. The book is too thick to carry on you if you're just wearing scrubs, but can be fit in your white coat. Even so, it just feels annoyingly bulky and heavy.
-Not well-indexed. The index could be more extensive and intuitive. I have only used this book as a third- and fourth-year med student, but I can tell you that there were many times when I tried to look something up in the index, only to get frustrated and wish that I had just searched for it via UpToDate.
-The binding needs to be stronger, given the physical characteristics of the book. My book is split in half, only held together by the cover.
-The length of the REI section. It's roughly as long as the OB section. Given the scope of what OB/Gyn med students and residents experience, that much REI is too extensive for this type of book.
-Even though this book is jam-packed with info, there are many pages that have a lot of unused space. Which makes the thickness of the book even more annoying.

Should you buy it? If you're an OB/Gyn resident or a medical student with an interest in the field, yes. This is the gold-standard clinical handbook for OB/Gyn. If you're a third-year med student who probably isn't going into OB/Gyn, only get it if you think you'd really benefit from carrying a handbook that has a lot of information that you probably wouldn't need/use.

I hope that the next edition is slimmer. It could be made a bit wider and longer, and could be more concise in some areas and have less wasted space in others. With these changes, the book could easily be less than 300 pages. If this were the case, I'd buy it again in a heartbeat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Resource, September 3, 2007
This review is from: Obstetrics, Gynecology and Infertility: Handbook for Clinicians; Pocket Edition (Paperback)
This is a great book, especially for the price. It is too bad it has lost its "pocket size", but on the other hand you can actually read the font in this edition, and there are several important additions/expansions (actually it does fit in the coat pockets, it is just a little bulky). I would certainly recommend this book to anyone doing Ob/Gyn clerkships, Sub-I's or residency. Other than Up to Date and hospital-specific protocols, this is the most-used reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Quick Reference, April 22, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Obstetrics, Gynecology and Infertility: Handbook for Clinicians; Pocket Edition (Paperback)
This is a great quick reference book for clinical practice. Easy to read (despite small print) and to the point information. Another reviewer said this new edition was too big to fit in their pockets; apparently they have really small pockets because I have no trouble putting it in a lab coat. On the other hand, it won't fit in my scrub pockets, so perhaps this is what the reviewer is referring to. Either way, I recommend this reference manual to residents, nurses, nurse practitioner and midwifery students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!, January 23, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Obstetrics, Gynecology and Infertility: Handbook for Clinicians; Pocket Edition (Paperback)
Awesome edition - has everything you'll want to know as a med student, intern, ob/gyn resident, REI fellow, and even attendings. Lots of good info in this brick of a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's pretty good., April 17, 2008
This review is from: Obstetrics, Gynecology and Infertility: Handbook for Clinicians; Pocket Edition (Paperback)
+ Practical for residents that deal w/ Ob/gyn issues
+ comprehensive
- Appendix is not well layed out and has insufficient entries to find the topic you are looking for in a pinch
- Not really "pocket-sized"
- Overkill in terms of details for medical students and not enough background information to use as quick study guide for pimping preparation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great reference, October 24, 2011
By 
Erika S. Helgerson (Kansas City, MO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Obstetrics, Gynecology and Infertility: Handbook for Clinicians; Pocket Edition (Paperback)
As previous reviews state, this book is a great, detailed reference, especially for nights on Labor and Delivery. However, I wish there was a new edition that didn't include the Endocrine section; I'm a family medicine doctor and don't really need the Endocrine information in my pocket at all times. It would take some of the bulk out of it. But, still glad I bought it and will just deal with the extra few ounces weighing me down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars who, when and why, March 16, 2011
This review is from: Obstetrics, Gynecology and Infertility: Handbook for Clinicians; Pocket Edition (Paperback)
Who? Any intern md / obgyn / cnm / rn could benefit well with this simple pocket portable text
When? As early as possible
Why? It will make your practice better and is a very useful reference to have right at your fingertips
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very handy and concise, March 30, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Obstetrics, Gynecology and Infertility: Handbook for Clinicians; Pocket Edition (Paperback)
I refer to this book often and have found it to be very useful. Using it as a tool to help me dictate my procedures helped me a lot in becoming more efficient. I also like to look at the common algorithms presented in the book when I have some free time. Topics are easy to find and read through. I would definitely recommend this pocket book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Obstetrics, Gynecology and Infertility: Handbook for Clinicians; Pocket Edition (Handbook for Clinicians), July 28, 2008
This review is from: Obstetrics, Gynecology and Infertility: Handbook for Clinicians; Pocket Edition (Paperback)
Great, easy to read resource. A lot of info is packed into a very small space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, June 9, 2008
This review is from: Obstetrics, Gynecology and Infertility: Handbook for Clinicians; Pocket Edition (Paperback)
It was a really good decision to buy this book. You can find all you need as a ob/gyn resident.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Obstetrics, Gynecology and Infertility: Handbook for Clinicians; Pocket Edition
$19.95 $16.36
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.