Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Meat of the Western Mystery Magical Qabalistic Tradition, October 13, 2008
By 
Barry Geller (Sunland, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Occult Fundamentals and Spiritual Unfoldment, Vol. 1: The Early Writings (Paperback)
This book by Paul Foster Case is no less powerful and intense than my title states. But first I will tell you what it is not: a replacement for the 15-year course currently given by B.O.T.A.

The Occult Fundamentals, authored in 1924, was originally written by Paul Case as a guide for his students to accompany the actual ceremonial magical work practiced and performed by his School of Ageless Wisdom, which he started in the Autumnal Equinox of 1921 -- and which later evolved (after 1932) into the public name of Builders of the Adytum.

Between 1920-21 he was the head of the American Golden Dawn, New York Thoth Hermes Temple of Mather's Alpha et Omega, which Darcy Kuntz has written a book about, and which depicts Paul's movement into the formation of his own school and writing of this book.

The 15-year course which the other reviewer refers to is in fact the consummation of more than 30 years of the author's ceremonial magical practice, work, writings, books, and qabalistic research to enable any serious aspirant to learn what hard work is :-) and be able to open the Door and reach for the Ring -- without necessarily doing ceremonial work. So truly, Case's/B.O.T.A.'s "15 year course" is an entirely different matter. This book was indeed seminal, but not in any way a replacement, please.

What this book is to me, IS nothing less than the equivalent the BIG BANG of all 20th Century Qabalist and Magical Golden Dawn authorship. It is Nothing Less than the Nexus of the most urgent original Rosicrucian thought and practice overlayed with the vitality and essence of true Hebrew Mystical Qabalah -- while also utilizing the Westerm Occult discoveries of Golden Dawn and Qabalstic Magical Practice as purveyed by Allan Bennett, MacGregor Mathers, Moina Mathers, William Westcott, Brodie-Innes, Woodman and (I cannot leave him out) Aliester Crowley. In short, the Occult Fundamentals burns with its own internal flames of Light, becoming the internalized growth-synthesis of the marraige of a whole new level of Rosicrucian thought, Hebrew Mystical Qabalistic knowledge and consciousness, and Golden Dawn cermemonial practice.

This book heralds all of our basics for any form of Golden Dawn / Mystical Qabalah practice in our journey up the Rosicrucian Grades of Conciousness. (See Paul Case's True and Invisable Rosicrucian Order) And for good reason.

The current volume has taken the origins and vital essence of Christian Mystical Cabbalah and practice of 16th Century Hebrew Scholars Reuchlin, Pico della Mirandola, Cornelius Agrippa, Athanasius Kircher -- and later Knorr von Rosenroth's Kabbala Denudata, Dr. John Dee's revolutionary magical Hieroglyhpic Monad, and Dr. Rudd's practice of the Nine Angelic Keys.

I have discovered that even the essence of this book includes the "secret teaching" of ALL 19th Century Masonic and Occult orders like that of the S.R.I.A. which later was the formational (Yetziratic) basis of the Golden Dawn. So I cannot recommend this book highly enough.

To me, this book shows that Paul Foster Case's vision married all these occult principals and perceptions and visions into a practical understanding of true Qabalah and the Tree of Life which is accurately and easily (if you can hear it) in this book.

This book is the begining of his mystical conciousness development into veritable new dimensions of powerful occult thought and discovery. It further heralds a vital synthesis into our 21st Century, pronouncing the essence of 17th Century Rosicrucian thought of the Fama direction with ancient mystical Hebrew Qabalah dating back some 3000 years, and 20th Century Golden Dawn Magic. Amazing!!! Nothing less than Dion Fortune's greatest work!

This book will take you, the initiate, whether young or old, into the very Heart of the Tree of Life and Qabalistic teaching leading to the discovery of the One Self, beyond which has also been known as the Knowledge And Conversation of the Holy Guardian Angel, our Higher Self.

I gratefully want to thank the publishers for bringing such a fine edition of this long-lost work back into current public availability, as well to the future occult community, where the presence and insight of the Master (or Spiritual Contact) who worked through Paul Case can be felt by us all.

Indeed this is the right time in the evolution of Life for all of us to bring the essence of this Work back into our hearts.

No matter what Order or School you are with, this book will lead you to the essence of your life's Devotion to the One Self and consolidation of all Practice of WHO you are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Original Paul Foster Case, October 11, 2008
This review is from: Occult Fundamentals and Spiritual Unfoldment, Vol. 1: The Early Writings (Paperback)
This book is one that will change your life and your concept of the esoteric sciences. The inner work of Paul Case, who tirelessly created a system of initiation that takes one through the doors of adeptship, is now available openly to the public without having to take fifteen years worth of lessons. This book contains the root and core of Case's teachings which open up avenues of illumination to the new neophyte while at the same time having priceless gems for the accomplished Adept. Case explains, in a friendly and easy to read format, a whole system of practical esoteric science that one may implement in their life to create the changes necessary to be a conduit for the universal Will to Good. This book will fully explain to the modern man, the complex and powerful esoteric principles operating in their life today. Case will provide a roadmap that will allow the reader to create the subtle changes in their soul, mind and body that will bring about a true knowing of the operations of the universe. This is a must have for any student of esotericism and any earnest spiritual seekers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear Concise and Useable, November 17, 2008
This review is from: Occult Fundamentals and Spiritual Unfoldment, Vol. 1: The Early Writings (Paperback)
In this book, Case sets out his fundamental viewpoints about the Western Mystery Tradition in a clear and concise manner. He writes a series of "lessons" that taken together, form a substantial body of knowledge about the Western Mystery Tradition.

In one sense, this book is a condensed version of the same topics that Case covers in many years of lesson material through the BOTA (Builders of the Adytum [...]) curriculum. Thorough study of the lesson material is quite rewarding. In another way, these writings are a fresh look at the same subjects. It often happens that an author, writing on the same subject over the years, will use different metaphors and explanations at different times to promote understanding in the reader's mind about the topic. For that reason, this book is very valuable, because Case has provided different approaches to the subjects involved. For this reason, as a long-standing student of Case's work, I find the book helpful and informative.

I would imagine that a novice in the Western Mystery Tradition would also get a lot out of this book. The book is written plainly and simply about deep ideas and from the first lesson, the stage is set to understand the framework of Western Occultism and its core ideas.

What is unique about this book is that the writings are simple enough for a novice to have an overview, or broad treatment of the subject, while at the same time, sentence by sentence a deeper examination yields important insights to the experienced student.

My congratulations to the publishers for their efforts in extending this information to all who are interested in learning more from one of the foremost authorities on Tarot, Western Spirituality, and the Qaballah.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Occult Fundamentals and Spiritual Unfoldment, December 20, 2008
By 
Bruce Hanify (Washington State) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Occult Fundamentals and Spiritual Unfoldment, Vol. 1: The Early Writings (Paperback)
Whether or not you've heard of Paul Foster Case, Builders of the Adytum, or the True and Invisible Rosicrucian Order, this book has something for everyone interested in the Western Mysteries tradition. Many thanks to Dr. Paul Clark and Tony DeLuce for putting these materials together. The biographical description of Paul Case provided by Dr. Clark is worth the book's price.

While no substitute for the 15-year B.O.T.A. course, this collection of materials is a treasure trove of alchemical, astrological, Qabalistic, Hermetic references. A must for every student of the Western Mysteries.

More, please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Material!!! Highest recommendation!, July 8, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Occult Fundamentals and Spiritual Unfoldment, Vol. 1: The Early Writings (Paperback)
What can I say, having read my fair share of the major occult / hermetic type literature out there, this one (and it's Volume 2 companion) stands close to, if not at, the very top of the enitre heap. At least this is the way I felt after reading these volumes.

Perhaps never in any one book (and I'm counting the 2nd Volume as part of this review) has so much valuable & profound information been passed along -- most importantly of all, the writing is coherent, easy to understand (assuming to actually pay attention / focus), and is actually doable / achievable by average people -- yes you!

If I were to privde up my best overall description for this set, I would call them, "conscious changing." Indeed, simply reading through these textbooks can very much alter one's state of being (in a positive way, of course!)

One of the most stiking & greatest attribute to Paul Case's writing style (this one in particular), is his ability to provide you with a clear & fundamental understanding of the true, underlying meanings, reasons, and purposes for any given symbols, systems, or course work...I feel this enables one to truely comprehend, and thus achieve desiarable results in practice.

The way Case ties in teaching from Kabbalah, Tarot, Eastern Mysticism, Hermetics, and other occult teaching from several parts of the world, is at least to me, uncanny -- he does a marvelous job in demonstrating that all mystical teachings point to one and the same end. Case has a special emphasis on Tarot, which all I can say, if you enjoy Tarot, and haven't read Case, you owe it to yourself to do so.

The only thing I would say is a "negative" is that there are several grammatical errors which I feel should have been corrected, prior to release -- however, while occuring more than occasionally, I feel this is a minor annoyance which doesn't detract from the overall whole.

Highly, highly recommened for true occultists / seekers everywhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A HIDDEN MASTER NO MORE, November 25, 2008
This review is from: Occult Fundamentals and Spiritual Unfoldment, Vol. 1: The Early Writings (Paperback)
For many of us who entered the temple of the western mysteries during the second half of the 20th century the teachings of Paul Foster Case laid for us a firm foundation for what would become a lifetime spiritual endeavor. As a young man I passionately devoured his B.O.T.A Tarot and Qabalah correspondence lessons, which helped so many of us to develop the knowledge, skills and discipline necessary to pursue a life of esoteric study and practice. This wisdom, however, was for the most part reserved for the private edification of subscribers to his monographs. To the rest world Paul Foster Case remained a `Hidden Master.' I am happy to say this is changing. I offer Dr. Paul Clark, Steward of the Fraternity of the Hidden Light, my highest praise and deepest gratitude for bringing to light Case's marvelous heretofore unpublished early writings - perhaps his most advanced teachings. This is a treasure house of esoteric wisdom. I look forward to Volume II.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the Great Work of Paul Case, December 5, 2008
By 
S. G. Zermeno (Ventura, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Occult Fundamentals and Spiritual Unfoldment, Vol. 1: The Early Writings (Paperback)
this is an excellent representation of Paul Foster Case's early writings. it has much to offer to students new and old and is a piece of work that allows one to attune to the spiritual insights of Paul Case and his Teacher. It is a great service to Humanity that this work has been published by the Fraternity of the Hidden Light ([...]) and made available to those who seek out the method and path of the Great Work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paul Foster Case, October 12, 2008
This review is from: Occult Fundamentals and Spiritual Unfoldment, Vol. 1: The Early Writings (Paperback)
Paul Foster Case's Case's early writings were meant to prepare a new student for the Western Mystery Tradition. They give a solid background on the symbolic meaning of numbers, the Hebrew letters, and the Cabala as it relates to the Western Mysteries. Although written in an easy to understand manner for the beginner, the advanced occultist will find much to expand his current understanding. These collected works are clear and concise teachings that will benefit all students of the Western Mysteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Voice in My Head Lives at the Waldorf Astoria, February 5, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Occult Fundamentals and Spiritual Unfoldment, Vol. 1: The Early Writings (Paperback)
That's what Paul Foster Case revealed in the Biographical Introduction by Dr. Paul A. Clark. It actually was an Adept whose previous incarnation had been St. Germaine. It figures; in the 1920's the Waldorf was probably as close to Heaven on Earth as you could get.

This book is definitely worth reading. It is information that Case "downloaded" from the Masters to put in a form easier for most people to understand. Some of the sections, like the explanation of the meaning of each letter in the Hebrew alphabet, were tedious. But it all depends on each individual's reason for reading it.

Throughout the book he puts spiritual laws in a common sense perspective which makes it more readily applicable to our everyday life.

In the second section, Case explains the meaning of the cards in the tarot deck. If you don't have the cards handy, it makes this part more difficult to follow.

Nice book to keep around for reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, January 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Occult Fundamentals and Spiritual Unfoldment, Vol. 1: The Early Writings (Paperback)
I have struggled through much of the B.O.T.A. course which really stretches my mind, as it is supposed to do. It is hard, but then worthwhile things are hard, especially if they are to develop your abilities. How else would one develop themselves beyond where they are? TNSTAAFL.

These books, however, are written in a style which is far more understandable, in my case. Part of successful teaching is presenting information in a way that is most readily understandable to your particular student. Some learn best by what the see, and others by what they hear, for instance. For me, the perspective offered in this older presentation was far more comprehensible. My spouse, however, preferred the B.O.T.A. version.

I am very glad to see this material presented to the interested public. Some seeds will fall on fertile ground. Some will throw the book aside and then pick it up later and wonder why they did not see its value the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Occult Fundamentals and Spiritual Unfoldment, Vol. 1: The Early Writings
Occult Fundamentals and Spiritual Unfoldment, Vol. 1: The Early Writings by Paul Foster Case (Paperback - October 12, 2008)
$19.95 $15.08
Usually ships in 2 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.