Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Devastating and eye opening.
I was not ignorant of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. I have heard personal testimonies from friends, I have studied it in college, I have read on the issue. But after watching this film, to say I really knew much of anything is an overstatement. This film made me want to cry, to vomit, and to be very angry. But it also made me want to ask others to watch it. The...
Published on August 13, 2012 by ashlita

versus
11 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars C P Slayton
Myth and reality, legend and history; these are the obstacles to understanding the Arab-Israeli conflict. The title of the documentary, `Occupation 101' is aptly chosen. The film work is an instruction tool mimicking a basic-level class whose first goal is to overwrite the biased and fatalistic perception of Israel and replace it with reality with the aid of modern...
Published on August 6, 2011 by C P Slayton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Devastating and eye opening., August 13, 2012
This review is from: Occupation 101 - Voices of the Silenced Majority (DVD)
I was not ignorant of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. I have heard personal testimonies from friends, I have studied it in college, I have read on the issue. But after watching this film, to say I really knew much of anything is an overstatement. This film made me want to cry, to vomit, and to be very angry. But it also made me want to ask others to watch it. The atrocities that have been committed, and continue to be committed against the Palestinian people are unspeakable. That these acts have been committed in our (as citizens of the U.S.) name, and extensively funded our government -- are things we should be simultaneously outraged by and ashamed of. I believe everyone needs to watch this film. Bias is not the point nor the intention of this film, its intention is to document the sufferings of an entire group of people. Anyone who watches this should be able to come to their own conclusions. And anyone who watches this, who believes in any sort of human rights, if you do nothing else -- share it with other people. This story needs to be told, and be made visible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most important films of the CENTURY, December 21, 2010
By 
Dawn (MONTCLAIR, NJ, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Occupation 101 - Voices of the Silenced Majority (DVD)
This film is a must-watch for all Americans with a conscience. It is devastatingly eye-opening in its portrayal of the Palestinians in Gaza and the West Bank, who are being brutalized by oppression. This may serve as future historical documentation of the sad events unfolding in the Middle East. Our children and their children and so on might some day look to this film for answers to the big question: "Why are they still fighting?" THANK GOD this film was made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars many footages with grear impact, June 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Occupation 101 - Voices of the Silenced Majority (DVD)
I could feel the ordeal of the Palestinians more concretely than any other videoss. and books..
rachel Corrie's speech mad when she wa a child mames my heart moved by her brave tragic death..
tthe DVD also made me think human evil and the cuse of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great documentary if you want to understand the history of the cnflict., April 2, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Occupation 101 - Voices of the Silenced Majority (DVD)
This is by far the best documentary to detail the history of the Palestinian/Israeli conflict. No B/S just facts and testimonies from experts and political activists. Whether you are an expert on the Middle East or just heard about it today, this DVD will paint a very clear picture and show you the other side of the story! The Palestinian side and even through some Israelis' words, which is very rarely seen in the US. I highly recommend this DVD even to the pro Israeli lobby! I dare you to watch it with an open mind and for once ask your self this question; What if the Palestinians weren't the ones who started this whole conflict after all?????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful, challenges the conventional portrayal of this conflict, January 16, 2008
By 
This review is from: Occupation 101 - Voices of the Silenced Majority (DVD)
The interviews and testimonials were compelling, and more importantly, balanced. This DVD does not bias towards one side over the other. This is an extremely emotional topic for many people, and the filmmakers and producers did a tremendous job to be objective. The list of interviewees is impressive, as are their credentials. You can see why this film took over five years to complete. After watching the DVD, it will give you a better perspective on how this conflict is portrayed in the US media versus what is actually happening on the ground in the Palestinian territories. There are heart-wrenching scenes about the human tragedy unfolding to everyday people. The editing is superb and the 1 1/2 hours went by quickly. Anyone who regards themselves as fair-minded should watch this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exposes the Israeli crimes, July 21, 2012
This review is from: Occupation 101 - Voices of the Silenced Majority (DVD)
Great film that exposes the Israeli apartheid policies and human rights violations. America needs to wake up and realize the truth about the conflict. Please help spread the news and secure justice for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, April 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Occupation 101 - Voices of the Silenced Majority (DVD)
Learned a lot about the situation and am impressed with the video. That's all I have to say, don't force me to say more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must See., February 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Occupation 101 - Voices of the Silenced Majority (DVD)
A must see dvd that tells the other side of the story for a change and take you beyond the News Paper headlines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wake up America!, June 5, 2008
This review is from: Occupation 101 - Voices of the Silenced Majority (DVD)
This film is long overdue and should be a mandatory item in schools. It dispels the propaganda campaign that the pro-Israeli lobby has been so successful in creating since its military conquering of Palestine in 1947-1948. There is a great myth about how Palestine was an empty land before the recent flood of Jewish immigrants flocked to its shores. So how does one explain the 750,000 Palestinians forced to flee for their lives when the Jewish militias started destroying Palestinian villages?

Let the world hear the truth for once without all the filters of the Jewish-Israeli Lobby, then judge for them selves as to the who the real war criminals are. Desmond Tutu and Nelson Mandela have themselves said the Palestinians face a situation far worse than the black South Africans did under the racist white Apartheid system. Also, read Israeli historian, Illan Pappe's account in his latest book "The Ethnic Cleansing of Palestine" if you wish to know the facts of the creation of Israel and the simultaneous destruction of Palestine. Please see this film and read Illan Pappe' book...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Occupation 101 - Clarity regarding a difficult situation., September 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Occupation 101 - Voices of the Silenced Majority (DVD)
This is the sort of information Americans need to understand what actually has happened and is happening in Palestine/Israel. Certain political and often religious forces present false information or deprive most people of extant information for purposes of their own. We are led to support extreme, suppressive, deadly endeavors by an occupying force. That should always be contrary to American preferences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Occupation 101 - Voices of the Silenced Majority
Occupation 101 - Voices of the Silenced Majority by Abdallah Omeish (DVD - 2007)
$29.99 $13.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.