Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seamless and Authoritative Narrative
I've checked out a few of the other OWS books. This stands out because it is a seamless, insiders account, of the most momentous occasions of the initial months of the movement. I highly recommend this fantastic book!
Published on April 5, 2012 by Suasponte

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 99% of what?
I really wish the OWS supporters would stop being presumptuous enough to think they actually represent 99% of anything.
They don't speak for me and they are fools to expect others to believe that they do!
It's called equal opportunity, NOT equal outcome.
Published 10 months ago by Mom's Kitchen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seamless and Authoritative Narrative, April 5, 2012
This review is from: Occupying Wall Street: The Inside Story of an Action that Changed America (Paperback)
I've checked out a few of the other OWS books. This stands out because it is a seamless, insiders account, of the most momentous occasions of the initial months of the movement. I highly recommend this fantastic book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE STORY OF THE EARLY DAYS OF THE "OCCUPY" MOVEMENT, August 9, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Occupying Wall Street: The Inside Story of an Action that Changed America (Paperback)
The Introduction to this 2011 book states, "This book is an account of the first months of the Occupy Wall Street movement (OWS). It is the result of a collaborative process that began a month after OWS had its first official action on September 17, 2011... dozens of interviews were conducted with a diverse range of people in and around the occupation. It is on this basis that we call this the 'inside story' of the action."

On October 1, 2011, the book records that "as marchers swarmed the roadway, chanting, 'We are the 99 percent!' 'Banks got bailed out! We got sold out!' and 'Whose bridge? Our bridge!' the police quickly regrouped and established a barricade using the increasingly ubiquitous orange mesh fence." (Pg. 36)

They note, "four days earlier, he had suggested to an interviewer from CNN Money that those who criticized the movement for lacking demands were missing the point---OWS was seeking a conversation about the current state of the country, not presenting a finite list of goals. 'Making a list of three or four demands,' he asserted, 'would have ended the conversation before it began.'" (Pg. 81)

Once, when police were evicting some protesters, some of them "called on the police to join them: 'They're stealing your pensions too!' some shouted. But within a matter of minutes police had reclaimed Broadway." (Pg. 182-183)

This is an excellent book, that really gives a "feel" for what participation in the original phases of the OWS movement was like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Voices From the Ho polioi in culture, April 1, 2014
By 
This review is from: Occupying Wall Street: The Inside Story of an Action that Changed America (Paperback)
Having the original 'Voices From the 99 Percent' autographed and (as being edited) by Lenny Flank, I find this book to be very accurate. The question is, "what do we have for a future?" We live with headline after headline capturing attention, for the moment, but as we may realize, little changes. Sited from page 78:, from the book 'A Promise to Methuselah' Wesley Clark recounted conversations that The Secretary of Defence has outlined the distruction of seven countries. The seven countries are Iraq, Syria, Lebanon, Somalia, Libia, Sudan and Iran.
The political muse continues:

"The budget should be balanced,
The treasury should be filled,
Public debt should be reduced,
And assistance to foreign lands
Should be curtailed,
Least Rome become bankrupt.
People must again learn to work,
Instead of living on public assistance."
Cicero 55 B.C.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What was Occupy about? Ask the Occupiers themselves!, February 24, 2013
This review is from: Occupying Wall Street: The Inside Story of an Action that Changed America (Paperback)
This book casts aside the distortions of the mainstream media's portrayal of Occupy Wall Street and tells the story---from the perspective of participants---of what it meant in its heyday. OWS rapidly spread across the country and marked a watershed moment in the re-emergence of mass struggle and radical politics. It quickly captured the sympathy of the majority of the population and thousands of occupations popped up all over the country in protest of a political and economic system dominated by the 1%.

Now that we're a few years out, we need to collectively assess this experience so that, the next time mass struggles erupt, we will have digested the lessons learned from our successes and failures in Fall 2011. This book is a key contribution to that ongoing process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars an interesting and unique perspective, December 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For someone who wasn't able to keep track of events during the occupy movements, this book serves as an excellent executive summary. It also includes several slice-of-life stories that bring the movement into a clearer focus that perhaps wasn't observable with traditional media.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 99% of what?, February 21, 2014
This review is from: Occupying Wall Street: The Inside Story of an Action that Changed America (Paperback)
I really wish the OWS supporters would stop being presumptuous enough to think they actually represent 99% of anything.
They don't speak for me and they are fools to expect others to believe that they do!
It's called equal opportunity, NOT equal outcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ooh Puhlezze, May 2, 2013
This review is from: Occupying Wall Street: The Inside Story of an Action that Changed America (Paperback)
Ridiculous book written by self absorbed so called liberal thinkers. Comes across as a bunch of spoiled snot nosed kids and one old hippie want to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Occupying Wall Street: The Inside Story of an Action that Changed America
Occupying Wall Street: The Inside Story of an Action that Changed America by Lisa Montanarelli (Paperback - April 3, 2012)
$16.00 $11.09
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.