Industrial-Sized Deals Shop all Back to School Shop Men's Hightops Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Cecile McLorin Salvant UP3 $5 Off Fire TV Stick Grocery Shop Popular Services hog hog hog  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Gear Up for Football STEM Toys & Games


June 19, 2012 | Format: MP3

Song Title
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).

Product Details

  • Original Release Date: June 19, 2012
  • Release Date: June 19, 2012
  • Label: Martha's Music, LLC
  • Copyright: (C) 2012 Martha's Music, LLC
  • Record Company Required Metadata: Music file metadata contains unique purchase identifier. Learn more.
  • Total Length: 1:00:02
  • Genres:
  • ASIN: B0087240Z4
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (225 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #19,815 Paid in Albums (See Top 100 Paid in Albums)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

104 of 114 people found the following review helpful By Jack Tripper VINE VOICE on June 19, 2012
Format: Audio CD
Well Pumpkins fans, you can finally wave your freak flag proudly once again after the release of 'Oceania.' As a longtime fan of the band, and I'm sure some of you can relate, I'd started to lose faith after the cold, relentless bombast of 2007's (mostly) underwhelming 'Zeitgeist' and the ongoing, extremely hit-or-miss Teargarden project, of which 'Oceania' is supposedly a part, but I would still always list them as one of my two or three favorite bands out of some weird sense of loyalty. I didn't really have high expectations for this album, but the fact is, Corgan is reinvigorated here, with a renewed focus; the songwriting, lyrics, and vocals all at their best in years.

'Oceania' also feels like the product of an actual band, with backing vocals from bassist Nicole Fiorentino and drummer Mike Byrne, instead of the "million Billy choir" heard on much of 'Zeitgeist,' and this is a definite plus. Jeff Shroeder is treated as an equal when it comes to the guitar leads and solos, as opposed to Corgan constantly busting through the mix (Outta my way!), and proceeding to shred, he and his guitar catching fire from rocking so hard. Thankfully there are still plenty of impressive solos, but they seem to be divided equally between the two, with a few dual leads as well, which is refreshing, as Jeff has his own unique, fluid style that provides a nice contrast to Billy's "Guitar Hero" histrionics. Nicole seems to be given a lot more freedom to add her own flourishes compared to Corgan's past bassists, and she proves to be a dynamic player, at times even funky, which is new to SP.
Read more ›
12 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
27 of 32 people found the following review helpful By Grant Cousineau on June 30, 2012
Format: Audio CD
In a 2010 Rolling Stone article, Smashing Pumpkins' lead singer, guitarist, and songwriter Billy Corgan sat backstage before a show at Cleveland's House of Blues. Even he wasn't oblivious with just how removed the Pumpkins' fan base had become with everything they'd done over the past decade. When asked about their 2007 album, Zeitgeist, he said:

"That album sold over 500,000 copies, it went gold. But people didn't listen to it. ... We would go out and play the first song and I could tell [the audience] had not even listened to the first song. I don't view it as a gross disappointment. It's disappointing to me that what I was trying to communicate didn't get the chance to be communicated."

Believing the "traditional album" was dead in a world of Rock Band and iPods, Corgan replaced drummer Jimmy Chamberlain with some new blood in Mike Byrne, who was a Lego-eating five-year-old when the Pumpkins released Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness. Only Corgan remained from the band's 1990's lineup, and their first project became Teargarden by Kaleidyscope, a 44-track concept album to be released one track at a time as free online MP3s. Between 2009 and 2011, ten tracks were recorded and posted, but the industry didn't shift like he had expected. One day, he said, "F@#k it. I'll just make a kick-a$$ album."

(That might not be verbatim. His calm, benign demeanor makes even the sharpest curses sound like polite hugs from teddy bears.)

Oceania is that album, the next 13 tracks in his grand Tarot card story. It is unabashed progressive rock, with tinges of that signature "shoegaze" alternative sound he's known for, but it is absolutely, one hundred percent lean, finely textured Corgan beef.
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
46 of 57 people found the following review helpful By T. A. Daniel on June 19, 2012
Format: Audio CD
Is this a Smashing Pumpkins album? Or is this a Billy Corgan album? Jimmy Chamerlain, the band's only original member (asides from Corgan) left in 2009, and all of the original members have been replaced with a new band. Given that Corgan has been the leading creative force of the band since its inception, would it even make a difference if he were the only surviving member of the band? Nervous fans can relax -- this latest album, OCEANIA, is a return to form for the band and is better than 2007's ZEITGEIST by leaps. OCEANIA is compiled of tracks that came from the 44-track TEARGARDEN BY KALEIDYSCOPE project that Corgan has been working on, so this an "album-within-an-album" in many ways; even though this album is part of a larger whole, it is distinctly its own entity. This album feels more like a comeback album than ZEITGEIST ever did, and it's been worth the wait.

Opening track "Quasar" reminds us of "Cherub Rock" and its own blistering introduction. Many of the tracks on OCEANIA recall the past Smashing Pumpkins songs, but don't confuse that as being unoriginal. Instead, it feels like this album was made by a man who now embraces his band's past, unlike ZEITGEIST, which tried to blaze its own trail. The guitar instrumentation here is exciting, but Corgan keeps us on our toes by including a variety of instruments in the mix (synthesizers, cello, piano, acoustics, etc...) The addition of bassist Nicole Fiorentino proves to be a great addition to the band, providing a solid bass and a great harmony.

"Violet Rays" is a slow-burning synthesizer-tinged ballad that melts into its own fading distortion.
Read more ›
10 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?