Prime Music
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Octet Sound: Complete Octet Studio Recordings
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Octet Sound: Complete Octet Studio Recordings Import

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, July 2, 2002
"Please retry"
$48.91 $52.89

Amazon's Count Basie Store


Image of album by Count Basie


Image of Count Basie


Count Basie Orchestra "Swinging, Singing, Playing"
Visit Amazon's Count Basie Store
for 627 albums, 5 photos, videos, discussions, and more.

Product Details

  • Audio CD (July 2, 2002)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Ocium
  • ASIN: B000062YMA
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #885,157 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. If You See My Baby
2. Solid As A Rock
3. Rat Race
4. Sweets
5. Neal's Deal
6. Bluebeard Blues
7. The Golden Bullet
8. You're My Baby, You
9. You're My Baby, You (Vocal Version)
10. Song Of The Islands
11. These Foolish Things
12. I'm Confessin'
13. One O'Clock Jump
14. I Ain't Got Nobody
15. Little White Lies
16. I'll Remember April
17. Tootsie
18. Howzit
19. Nails
20. Little Pony
See all 21 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Richard H. Bauer on July 19, 2008
Format: Audio CD
This is transitional Count Basie. Recorded in 1950 and early 1951, Basie was ending his recording tenure with RCA Victor and soon to sign on with Norman Granz. These 8 man units were an economical necessity as the big band 16 man units began to disappear. The first four tracks were the last recordings Basie made with RCA Victor. This first octet reflected his swing roots with Harry Edison, Dickie Wells and Freddie Green on board. Georgie Auld and Gene Ammons handle the reeds.
The next 13 tracks reflect a more modernistic trend as players like Buddy DeFranco, Serge Chaloff, Wardell Gray, Buddy Rich and Clark Terry provide the bulk of the solo spotlight. The solid rhythm of the Count and Freddie Green are solidly behind everything along with Jimmy Lewis on string bass and Gus Johnson taking over for Rich.
The last four tracks recorded in April of 1951 bring back the big band sound with new arrangements by Buster Harding and the promise of things to come. Basie would sign on with Norman Granz and the "New Testament" band would made their first studio recordings in January of 1952. This is the first cutting of Neal Hefti's "Little Pony" and features a swinging reading by Wardell Gray. Thanks to Ocium Records (Spain) for reissuing this material in a chronological order showing how Basie's small group thinking progressed in the short span of one year.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in