Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic + a Great Lost Album!
The British 1960's band the Zombies seemed to have all what it took to be a success. Two unsually gifted songwiters in Rod Argent and Chris White and two outstanding singers, Colin Blunstone and Rod Argent (again). What they may have lacked was a little more "edge" to balance their melodic music and "nice school-boys" image.

They actually did have early...
Published on April 3, 2004 by Morten Vindberg

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An odessey for sure
Time of the Season is the stand out song on this album. The other songs are fine but nothing close to as good as Time of the Season. I was just hoping for better from the other songs. Not a bad album but not the classic I had heard it was.
Published 8 months ago by KSArnold


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic + a Great Lost Album!, April 3, 2004
This review is from: Odessey & Oracle (Audio CD)
The British 1960's band the Zombies seemed to have all what it took to be a success. Two unsually gifted songwiters in Rod Argent and Chris White and two outstanding singers, Colin Blunstone and Rod Argent (again). What they may have lacked was a little more "edge" to balance their melodic music and "nice school-boys" image.

They actually did have early success with their 1964 single "She's Not There". But in spite of several strong singles were recorded and released during 1965-66, they somehow were not able to follow-up their early success.

So in early 1967 the band had not had a hit-record for more than two years, and it seemed that their time was over. They decided to record a final "real" album before they'd split up. The result was the highly acclaimed "Odessey and Oracle" which they recorded during the second half of 1967.

Of course they had hoped that one of the two first singles taken from these recordings "Friends of Mine" and "Care of Cell 44" would bring them back into the charts. And since this did not happen they assumed their time was over, so they disbanded before the album was actually released in April 1968.

Another single was chosen to promote the album, and the succeeding big success of "Time of the Season" in America came as a complete surprise. The album itself also reached the lower parts of the charts in the States.

Their music has proving its viability over the years, and this album contains some of their finest moments, with great tunes from both Argent and White.

After their unexpected 1968 "comeback" effort were made to secure a Zombies re-union. But Rod Argent and Chris White were already deeply involved in gathering a new band, which eventually would become "Argent".

In this transition period Argent and White were persuaded to do a final "Zombies" album which was given the title "R.I.P."

The album was supposed to consist of earlier out-takes and demos, ( with new overdubbings ) combined with new recordings.

This 12-songs "new" album was for release some time in 1969 but the album which had been given the title "R.I.P." was never released.

This was a big shame, as it would have been a great album.

In recent years this album has actually been released in Japan and all songs have been released released on various compilations. Here among the bonus-tracks you'll 11 of these songs of which most equals on the actual album. The box-set "Zombie Heaven" contains all 12 songs.

6 of these "R.I.P." songs are original Zombies recordings from 1964-66, featuring Colin Blustone on vocals. He was called in to record new vocals to "Walking in the Sun" which is the earliest track, from late 1964, but he is not involved in any of the "new" 1968 recordings. Rod Argent, who is also an incredibly fine singer, takes over the vocals on these tracks. All these 1968 songs / recordings are great. "Imagine the Swan", "Smokey Day", "Girl Help Me", "I Could Spend the Day" are outstanding songs. "Imagine the Swan" was released as a single and was a minor hit in America.

The earlier recordings featuring Colin Blunstone are equally strong. "If It Don't Work Out" was written for Dusty Springfield in 1965. The song was also released as the Zombies' final single in July 1969.

So apart from the one missing song ( "I'll Keep Trying" ) this highly recommed CD contains two great Zombies albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crystal clear quality., August 7, 2002
By 
James Totton (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Odessey & Oracle (Audio CD)
This CD is in effect two LPs on one CD - 'Odessey and Oracle' and the 'RIP' project.
The former was the Zombies classic (and final) album. It is seemlessly produced. It was actually recorded at the famous Abbey Road studios - and it sounds it. Despite the rushed recording schedule, Odessey is smooth, slick, pop-psychodelia.
The melody hooks are memorable - check out 'Maybe After He's Gone,' 'Friends of Mine' and the irresistable 'Care of Cell 44.' (Careful - it'll get stuck on your brain!)
There are a few moments of experimentation (as per norm circa 1967), however they fit into the entire picture of the LP comfortably.
Odessey & Oracle is an album that grows nicely on you with repeated plays - it's a work of quality. (and it won't 'burn quickly').
The bonus tracks (Get this - 16 of them!) are a combination of Zombies 'leftovers,' late 45s and songs that the band Argent recorded under the name 'Zombies.'
It was originally intended to release this selection of songs as an LP called 'RIP.' However no dregs here. The songs are good!
'If it Don't Work Out' was originally recorded by the Zombies as a demo for Dusty Springfield. Their version is fresh and the later overdubs improve instead of hinder. 'Walking in the Sun' predates ELO's harmonies by several years. 'Smoky Day' is beautfully eerie.
I am a fan of audio - but I must say I was stunned at the crisp sound quality on this release (recordings over 32 years old!)
And to cap it all off - included is the rare 1965 single 'I Want You Back Again.'
Great, enjoyable stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goosebumps, June 16, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Odessey & Oracle (Audio CD)
There's nothing I can say about this record that hasn't already been said, but that won't stop me from raving about it. Odessey and Oracle continues to give me chills. The songs are simple and beautiful, perhaps the most melodic I've ever heard. Oftentimes, the band uses angelic vocal harmonies in place of mere guitar chords that give the album a unique feel. And the lyrics are beautiful... more than once, they've brought tears to my eyes. Once you've heard it, you'll never forget it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Oracle" tells all, February 5, 2005
This review is from: Odessey & Oracle (Audio CD)
Many bands (the Beatles, the Beach Boys) at least dabbled in psychedelica, but the Zombies are often overlooked. For the 30th anniversary of "Odessey and Oracles," the Zombies' best album was rereleased in a new form, proving that their enchanting psychedelic pop has aged exceeedingly well.

The Zombies were unusually good at taking perky, sweet, lush music and wrapping it around a more serious song, such as the upbeat "Care of Cell 44" (guy writing to his jailed girlfriend), or the lovely "A Rose For Emily," a poignant little song that tells of a lonely woman doomed to stay lonely. "And as the years go by/she will grow old and die/The roses in her garden fade away/Not one left for her grave..."

But the Zombies aren't all sadness wrapped in happy music. There are perky songs about being happy in love, losing a love and hoping she'll return, and reminiscing about "golden days and golden summer nights." The album ends on a reassuring note with the laid-back "Time of the Season," which sounds like the ultimate hippie anthem.

I have no memories of the 60s, since I was only born in the eighties. But "Odessey and Oracle" gives a rosy glow to that era,. Psychedelic flair minus the hazy, and every song is a gem. Though "Time of the Season" was the sleeper hit from the album, it's not the best or catchiest song on here -- it's just one of many excellent ones.

Rod Argent was definitely an outstanding songwriter. He was able to create atmospheric and beautiful songs with very simple writing ("Brief candles in her mind/bright and tiny gems of memory"). Perhaps his finest moment here is "I knew he when summer was her crown/and autumn sad/how brown her eyes," as a kick-off to a colorful look at a woman compared to all the seasons.

Colin Blunstone's vocals were well-suited to the music: a bit husky, quite pleasant and mellow. The music itself was generally based on guitar, gentle drums, pretty piano, and wavering Mellotron, with a bit of accordian coming in in one song. There's a rich interweaving of many instruments, in all sorts of pop music. Some is almost classical in tone, some is uptempo stuff that is perfect for the radio.

The Zombies were in peak form in "Odessey and Oracle," churning out some of the purest pop music ever. As sweet and exquisite as it was in the 1960s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most under-rated band ever, December 27, 2004
By 
Mark Dolislager (San Diego, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Odessey & Oracle (Audio CD)
I don't understand why The Zombies aren't up there with The Beatles and The Beach Boys. I love listening to them for the same reasons I love listening to The Zombies: First of all, the music is just fantastic with no explanation needed at all - it's just fantastic. And Second of all, for the fun, clever, beautiful melodies and masterful harmonies. The Zombies are still uniquely original with there smooth cool vocals, jazz influenced style, there own version of production perfection, they've got Rod Argent on the keyboards, I don't know, the album speaks for itself. I've put the CD on for different people and because it's so timeless they thought it was some new band that was bringing a new sound or something. I think that timelessness is possibly the best trait a piece of music can have. And this totally has it.

This version of the album is the best I've found. Or the Zombie Heaven box set. But if you're not into the whole demo version thing, this CD and Begin Here with the German bonus tracks is a great combo and gets all the released tracks pretty much covered. That's a fantastic CD too. Both are musts, but Odessey & Oracle is a must more. No. Wait. Get both. But get Odessey & Oracle first. A greatest hits won't do. You would really miss out if you just got one greatest hits CD. Each song is truly great. That's something that's really rare. The album itself is a masterpiece and the bonus tracks are a must have. You'll understand when you get the CD. The more you listen to The Zombies, the more you fall in love with their music. Eventually you'll run out of Zombies songs to individually obsess over and you will be sad. But then you'll remember that you have both Begin Here and Odessey & Oracle with all these bonus tracks and you will be happy once again. The end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank You For Recording This Album, November 6, 2003
By 
This review is from: Odessey & Oracle (Audio CD)
Simply, one of the best albums ever to be released. The Zombies were always a good band but during this period they were at their very best. Just listen to the bonus tracks here included which are outtakes and tracks for a future album that wasn't released. The quality of songwriting and performance is just as good as the original album. "Care Of Cell 44", "A Rose For Emily", "Brief Candles", are some of the best tracks. Some of the bonus tracks highlights are "Going Out Of My Head" (never heard a better version than this one), "I'll Call You Mine", "How We Were Before".
Anyways, I'm just mentioning some songs. You will enjoy the WHOLE ALBUM and Bonus Tracks included.
To finish my review I will just say that this is the kind of albums that while you are listening to, it will make you think that there's no better album than this.
Another important thing to know is: You'll never get bored of it.
Buy It, Enjoy It, Love It ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An odessey, February 20, 2005
This review is from: Odessey & Oracle (Audio CD)
Many bands (the Beatles, the Beach Boys) at least dabbled in psychedelica, but the Zombies are often overlooked. For the 30th anniversary of "Odessey and Oracles," the Zombies' best album was rereleased in a new form, proving that their enchanting psychedelic pop has aged exceeedingly well.

The Zombies were unusually good at taking perky, sweet, lush music and wrapping it around a more serious song, such as the upbeat "Care of Cell 44" (guy writing to his jailed girlfriend), or the lovely "A Rose For Emily," a poignant little song that tells of a lonely woman doomed to stay lonely. "And as the years go by/she will grow old and die/The roses in her garden fade away/Not one left for her grave..."

But the Zombies aren't all sadness wrapped in happy music. There are perky songs about being happy in love, losing a love and hoping she'll return, and reminiscing about "golden days and golden summer nights." The album ends on a reassuring note with the laid-back "Time of the Season," which sounds like the ultimate hippie anthem.

I have no memories of the 60s, since I was only born in the eighties. But "Odessey and Oracle" gives a rosy glow to that era,. Psychedelic flair minus the hazy, and every song is a gem. Though "Time of the Season" was the sleeper hit from the album, it's not the best or catchiest song on here -- it's just one of many excellent ones.

Rod Argent was definitely an outstanding songwriter. He was able to create atmospheric and beautiful songs with very simple writing ("Brief candles in her mind/bright and tiny gems of memory"). Perhaps his finest moment here is "I knew he when summer was her crown/and autumn sad/how brown her eyes," as a kick-off to a colorful look at a woman compared to all the seasons.

Colin Blunstone's vocals were well-suited to the music: a bit husky, quite pleasant and mellow. The music itself was generally based on guitar, gentle drums, pretty piano, and wavering Mellotron, with a bit of accordian coming in in one song. There's a rich interweaving of many instruments, in all sorts of pop music. Some is almost classical in tone, some is uptempo stuff that is perfect for the radio.

The Zombies were in peak form in "Odessey and Oracle," churning out some of the purest pop music ever. As sweet and exquisite as it was in the 1960s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The top of the top, May 6, 2001
By 
Adrián Amerio (Mar del Plata, Buenos Aires Argentina) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Odessey & Oracle (Audio CD)
Sure I'll say nothing but obvious things, but I'll say it one more time. This is one of the five top albums of all time. Everything here is so beautiful that it almost hurt my ears and soul. From Colin's haunting vocals (he's one of sixtie's best singers) to the group's perfect instrumentation (a great use of mellotron) Oddesey and oracle creates an atmosphere that few other records can emulate. It's a must for avery fan of sixties music and (if you don't have the Zombie heaven box set) there's a lot of bonus tracks. Buy it, enjoy it and be changed forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Baroque Pop Masterpiece, January 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Odessey and Oracle (Audio CD)
For those that love the blend of Baroque sounds with psychedelic pop of the late 60's, this is the perfect album for you. Amazing that this album isn't more known. Thanks to Amazon for helping me find this hidden gem. Though "Time of the Season" is their big hit on this album, there is a whole lot more great songs here. There are no fillers on this cd. My favorites include "Care of Cell 44", "Maybe After He's Gone", "Brief Candles", Friends of Mine, A Rose For Emily, and my favorite being "Hung Up On a Dream." Other great albums I think you would like include anything from the Beatles starting from "Rubber Soul", Beach Boys "Pet Sounds", Moody Blues "Days of Future Passed", Pink Floyd "Piper at the Gates of Dawn", Bee Gees "Odessa", The Left Banke "There's Gonna Be a Storm: The Complete Recordings 1966-69", Camel "The Snow Goose", King Crimson "In the Court of the Crimson King", The Kinks "Village Green..." Koyaanisqatsy "From the Yearning..." And Procol Harum's self-titled debut. Any suggestions for other great hidden gems would be appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Albums I have Heard, November 23, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Odessey and Oracle (Audio CD)
'Odessey and Oracle' is becoming one of my favorite albums. The audio quality of the album very much surprised me. I have come across this clarity only few times in my audiophile life: once, when I listened to Tom Petty's 'Full Moon Fever' and another time when I played The Beach Boy's 'Pet Sounds' remastered album. I can't explain how they make it sound so incredible (I'd love to read a book about the recording sessions of some of these bands) but I am happy that it sounds the way it does.

This album mixes the 'Beatles' style of psychedelia with the harmony style of 'the Beach Boys'...all while creating a great set of lyrics for each individual song.

I'd list my favorites, but each song has its own perfection. The mp3 album cost, as of now (11/23/09), is $5.00...very much worth the price of this excellent album which defines 'The Zombies'.

5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Odessey and Oracle
Odessey and Oracle by The Zombies (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.