Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Great, I loved it!, April 28, 2014
This review is from: Of Permanent Value: The Story of Warren Buffett/2014 Endless Edition (Hardcover)
The definitive book on one of the world's richest men, and one of the most entertaining men, when you get to know him, and you will definitely get to know him after this read. The chapters are easy to read and understand, and the pictures are so well done, it makes you think you are part of the story. The author paints a story of Warren Buffett and the inner workings of how he accumulated so much wealth and managed to keep his integrity in a way that we can all relate to. The only complaint I had was from the mailman who delivered the book, at over 1200 pages and 2000 pictures, he thought it was a computer! You certainly get your moneys worth with Andy Kilpatrick's books. I love that you can pick up the book at any chapter and be entertained with a great story. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read!, May 11, 2014
This review is from: Of Permanent Value: The Story of Warren Buffett/2014 Endless Edition (Hardcover)
If you’re among the many thousands who have become fascinated with Warren Buffett and the multiple facets of his life, Andrew Kilpatrick’s recently published edition “Of Permanent Value” is something you should definitely not pass up. Or if you’re a Berkshire Hathaway shareholder, or Warren Buffett admirer, or currently a student of the investing methods of the “Oracle of Omaha” and have not yet acquired this most recent Buffett biography, I strongly urge you to do so. It is the all- inclusive story of Buffet’s life currently and in the past. This is not an investment book per se, very little is included regarding his financial methods. It is an accounting of the man himself, and the finest biography of him I have ever encountered.

It is a massive compilation of just about anything you would ever want to know about Warren Buffett, Berkshire or its acquisitions, Buffett’s unending array of friends, business associates, and family. It contains hundreds and hundreds of pictures covering everything about his life and the activities of his company.

The book is lengthy in content and extremely large in volume, hardly a thing you carry around to read during lunch break. It is guaranteed to prove fascinating to any reader as a result of both its diversity and the depth of the subject content. The style achieved by the author is highly entertaining and the presentation is clearly written in a style easily understood. Mr. Kilpatrick conveys to the reader his thorough understanding both of Mr. Buffett’s personal life and the true genius of his investment prowess. From the very first page of this masterful work, Andrew Kilpatrick’s unique style of presentation and his total understanding of the subjects are apparent to the reader. The book acknowledges Mr. Buffett’s several favorite authors, how he became fascinated with value investing, and how Benjamin Graham’s and David Dodd’s classic book, “Security Analysis,” literally became his personal Bible and “Value Investing” his guiding light as a preferred method, far and above the myriad of other available choices. By means of this work, in my opinion, he has produced the finest accounting of Warren Buffett and recorded history of the Berkshire Hathaway Corporation that is available anywhere today. It is a work meant to be meaningful, and of great value, to the sincere student of Buffett as well as to those who want merely to enjoy learning of his life through the vast quantity of fascinating pictures and captions throughout.

This large, single volume leaves the reader selfishly aware of a pride in ownership and in awe with a true feeling of gratitude toward the author for both its quantity and quality. The extent of research necessary and the effort required to compile a work of this magnitude is hardly imaginable. The Author’s style of presentation exudes his obvious concern for the total enjoyment of his readers. It is impossible adequately to thank Andrew Kilpatrick for compiling and publishing “Of Permanent Value” or adequately to praise the book itself for the wealth of knowledge and history contained therein.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, May 10, 2014
By 
R. M. Mayhew (St. Louis, MO USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Of Permanent Value: The Story of Warren Buffett/2014 Endless Edition (Hardcover)
So much of what made Warren Buffett successful was not a mathematical formula. It was his upbringing, his work ethic and his ability to make contacts, as well as his investment acumen. Read this book and get a great understanding of the real person behind the persona of The Oracle. Mr. Kilpatrick is as attentive to detail as Warren Buffett is to compounding, and that's saying something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ridiculously Complete, April 30, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Of Permanent Value: The Story of Warren Buffett/2014 Endless Edition (Hardcover)
True Buffett fans (and who isn't one?) will love owning this book, which can provide years of reading pleasure without fear of ever finishing it! It's almost like being with Warren Buffett in real time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for Warren Buffett and Berkshire Hathaway fans (Also avaliable on Kindle), July 18, 2014
This review is from: Of Permanent Value: The Story of Warren Buffett/2014 Endless Edition (Hardcover)
Of Permanent Value: The Story of Warren Buffett/2014 Endless Edition, written by Andrew Kilpatrick is a must read for all Warren Buffett and Berkshire Hathaway fans. Value investors (or anyone who is interested in investing in stock/business) will benefit greatly from this book. There are so many important and interesting things to learn from Warren Buffett and Berkshire Hathaway, and Of Permanent Value is a perfect way to learn them all. This book also covers important people around Warren Buffett which helps me understand how Warren Buffett become the person he is today: his philosophies, his views on life, and how he interact with other people. Over the years, Of Permanent Value, filled with Buffett's teaching and experiences, helps me to shape my investing philosophies, develop my competencies, and keeping things in perspective.

Kudos to Andy Kilpatrick for putting this book together and continue to update the story about the greatest value investor of our time. I also appreciate Andy Kilpatrick's and Warren Buffett's sense of humor.

This book is filled with lots of photos (mostly color) and also cover recent development that occurred in the past one year. The chapters are concise and gets directly to the point which makes it interesting and relatively quick (each chapter) to read. There are a lot of chapters which will give you year round fun things to read (read a couple chapters a day). This book will also make a great coffee table book. :)

Alternatively, if you want to read this book during travel, I recommend you to also purchase he Kindle edition although I am aware it is the 2012 edition (which is still a great book/edition):

Of Permanent Value: Kindle Edition Part I (2012 Odyssey Edition)
http://www.amazon.com/Of-Permanent-Value-Warren-Buffett-ebook/dp/B007YNH1M6

Of Permanent Value: Kindle Edition Part II (2012 Odyssey Edition)
http://www.amazon.com/Of-Permanent-Value-Warren-Buffett-ebook/dp/B007YNH126

Of Permanent Value: Kindle Edition Part III (2012 Odyssey Edition)
http://www.amazon.com/Of-Permanent-Value-Warren-Buffett-ebook/dp/B007YLFY1S

I hope you enjoy and learn from this book as much as I do.

Sidarta Tanu
"It takes 20 years to build a reputation and five minutes to ruin it. If you think about that you'll do things differently". Warren E. Buffet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BUILDING BERKSHIRE HATHAWAY...PART OF HISTORY...., May 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Of Permanent Value: The Story of Warren Buffett/2014 Endless Edition (Hardcover)
Of Permanent Value (2014 Edition) is the best and most up to date compilation of facts and information on the life of Warren
Buffett (The most famous investor of our time and perhaps the most unique individual) available under one cover!....The photos alone are priceless.....I would recommend this book to anyone interested in investing, business, or the study of specifically, Warren
Buffett....W.C.S.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Own for Value Investors and those who follow Warren Buffett, May 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Of Permanent Value: The Story of Warren Buffett/2014 Endless Edition (Hardcover)
The new edition of Andy Kilpatrick's fascinating biography of Warren Buffett, Of Permanent Value, is a large compilation of details about Buffett's life history. There are more than 2,000 pictures throughout the book that add interest to the well-written history of the man, his colleagues, family, and friends.

The author became fascinated with Buffett early on. He set out to document what he learned by writing it all down in this excellent book, adding new information every one to two years. Thus the new 2014 edition is named "Endless Edition" so that the reader is aware that much of what is found here is recent.

I heartily recommend Mr. Kilpatrick's book as an important addition to the reader's library. The reader will enjoy the lay-out, including the easy to read text, the arrangement of chapters, the many quips and conversations between Buffett and his acerbic partner, Charlie Munger, many new and interesting details about his rise to fame and fortune, and fully indexed notes.

I bought this book just before attending the Berkshire-Hathaway Annual Meeting in Omaha, May 2014. I began reading the book before arriving in Omaha and found the information contained within added so much more to my experience at the meeting. I learned that the author attends this meeting regularly and has done so for several decades. I met with him there and gained a new-found admiration for his work on documenting Buffet's life and for his dedication to teaching others through this fine book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Version yet, May 13, 2014
This review is from: Of Permanent Value: The Story of Warren Buffett/2014 Endless Edition (Hardcover)
I've read several of Andrew Kilpatrick's books on Warren Buffett, and this is my favorite so far. A perfect collection of chapters that tell their own stories. Like an almanac of Buffett and Berkshire history, but with funny stories and loads of photos and graphics to go with them. Buy it here so you don't have to carry it -- this is a BIG book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, September 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Of Permanent Value: The Story of Warren Buffett/2014 Endless Edition (Hardcover)
Another wonderful read by Andrew Kilpatrick! New stories and value added information with each yearly edition. Looking forward to next years book by Andy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.