...Of Wariwulfs And Bluotvarwes

March 25, 2011 | Format: MP3

Also available in CD Format
Song Title
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to Amazon.com (US).

Product Details

  • Original Release Date: March 25, 2011
  • Release Date: March 25, 2011
  • Label: Massacre Records
  • Copyright: (C) 2011 Massacre Records
  • Total Length: 47:16
  • Genres:
  • ASIN: B004NP9QN0
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #246,901 Paid in Albums (See Top 100 Paid in Albums)

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Chikan on June 9, 2011
Format: Audio CD
This album straight up smokes! Wizard have been a very dependable (if somewhat cheesy) pure METAL band for the better part of 20 years now, but the last few albums have seen them experiment more with tempos/moods/concepts in their songwriting. "Of Wariwulfs..." is again a concept album, based on the writings of a German fantasy author. The story is unimportant here; what one listens to Wizard for is the performances. And they deliver in spades. Again. The title track opens the album in typical Wizard fashion: fast, in-your-face, anthemic and powerful. "Undead Insanity" is in similar fashion, but with a less memorable chorus. "Taste of Fear" begins with a keyboard part, then quickly changes pace into a fast, heavy, typical Wizard song where vocalist Sven D'Anna does his best Tom Araya impersonation during the verses. From there we get the two best songs on the album, the aggressive "Bluotvarwes," with its addicting, heavy riffs, powerful chorus and great solo. The album slows down a bit for "Messenger of Death," a fantastically written song with a fantastic 'pound your fist and yell' chorus. Great stuff. "Sign of the Cross" it enjoyable, yet a bit weaker than other songs here. It would fit seamlessly on Dream Evil's "Dragonslayer" album. Up next(and featuring the same intro as "Taste of Fear") is "Fair Maiden Mine," another favorite of mine, though they overutilize the pinch harmonic sounding thing here. The last four songs are in a similar vein and, though there may be a passage or two of less than stellar composition, they work wonderfully with the rest of the album.

The dual guitar approach Wizard are now using with the return of Michael Maass is paying off big time, as they trade off solos and riffs and really complement each other.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Justin G. TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on October 29, 2011
Format: MP3 Music
If you've run across any of my other reviews you probably gathered that I love metal. I particularly love power metal. Even more specifically, I love German power metal. Helloween, Gamma Ray, Primal Fear, Iron Savior, Powerwolf, Brainstorm - I've reviewed a ton of this stuff. So how is it I've never heard of Wizard, a band that's been around since the mid `90s and apparently has done concept albums about Thor, Odin and Battling for Metal??? Better late than never, I guess, but I totally missed the boat on this band, which is a shame since they're definitely playing my kind of metal.

Of Wariwulfs and Blutovarwes (try saying that five times fast) is the band's ninth album, and it's apparently a concept album based on a series of European horror novels. Horror + metal has been an awesome combination since Black Sabbath, and in the power metal world bands like Iced Earth (see: Horror Show) and Powerwolf have incorporated horror themes quite well. Wizard does it quite well, mixing tales of werewolves and other blood-sucking monsters with fist-pumping, headbanging melodic metal. Wizard definitely shows more teeth (how appropriate) than the Helloween/Gamma Ray style bands, sounding like a mix of the classic Judas Priest traditional metal sound, Primal Fear's heavier power metal and the rhythmic stomping Powerwolf. It's a great combination, and one that definitely makes an impression!

I hate that it took me so long to discover Wizard, but after hearing Of Wariwulfs and Blutovarwes I'll definitely be checking out their earlier albums. If you're already a Wizard fan, you probably already know this is an album worth getting. It's absolutely an album fans of Powerwolf, Primal Fear, Iced Earth and Judas Priest will want to hear.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again