Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who knew?
Talk about hidden gems : this collection of 1963-1969 LP tracks and single B-sides is a real eye-opener. The concept is A-side could-have-beens & it works, as well as makes you want to seek out the original albums. The early tracks give good competition to the 4 Seasons' actual Top 10 hits, the later tracks rival even the Beach Boys late 1960s work in harmony &...
Published on May 20, 2001 by R. Riis

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let down by Sound Quality.
It was great to discover songs never before heard by myself, these songs alone are catchy & rememberable treasures. On their own are worth 5 stars, but the remastering has left them damaged.

Some tracks are recorded on what seems like two channels, music on one - voices on another. Other tracks have annoying distortions at times when the Bass & drum peak...
Published on December 22, 2004 by Bryan Fletcher


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who knew?, May 20, 2001
Talk about hidden gems : this collection of 1963-1969 LP tracks and single B-sides is a real eye-opener. The concept is A-side could-have-beens & it works, as well as makes you want to seek out the original albums. The early tracks give good competition to the 4 Seasons' actual Top 10 hits, the later tracks rival even the Beach Boys late 1960s work in harmony & creativity. Track listing : Big Man's World, Seems Like Only Yesterday, Cry Myself to Sleep, Huggin' My Pillow, Funny Face, Danger, Marcie, Comin' Up in the World, Everybody Knows My Name, Beggar's Parade, Around and Around, (I Dig You) Dody, Good-Bye Girl, I'm Gonna Change, Let's Ride Again, Raven, Heartaches and Raindrops, Saturday's Father, Something's on Her Mind, Genuine Imitation Life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what could have been, February 9, 2003
By A Customer
This CD just shows what could have been for Frankie and the Seasons...They have sold over 100 million records but could have sold double that if only they had been on a major label that could have ,would have promoted them better..The main reason they are just a notch below the Beachboys ,Beatles ,Stones as far as popularity is the music labels they have been on..This CD proves it wasn't the quality of the music as EVERY cut here could have been a hit single..The fact is that from 1962 to today F.Valli and the 4 Seasons have never been promoted by what ever label they have been on..Vee Jay signed them in 1962 but was a small local label out of Chicago that also was the first to sign the Beatles but quickly ran out of money ,could not pay either group their royalties much less promote them and quickly lost both groups..Phillips was mainly a easy listening label with the likes of the Swingle Sisters and the Singing Nun..never really knew how to promote a main stream rock act like the Seasons..released many of their albums with no promotion..dumped many into the cut out bins within a year of release..signed with Motown and got no support at all ..Just one album released (barely) with no promotion..Other great recordings just shelved..On to Private Stock another small label with little resources..Curb records...some releases on Warners aome on MCA but still not really part of the major label..just the small Curb label which had a distribution deal with the majors...Of course the labels spent the big promotional dollars on their own rosters of artists..They are still signed to Curb which is 95% a country music label..But again this is primarily just a distribution deal..The partnership completes the album on its own and turns it in to Curb for distribution..(one left on the deal)..Anyway the point is that Frankie and the Seasons are just as good as almost any artist out there..They just "don't get no respect"..These are hidden gems that should have been hits..If only the group could have signed with a major label..things would have been much different..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Criminally Ignored, May 19, 2001
This CD is meant to compliment the release of their "In Season" double CD anthology of their popular songs and for me it works. The compositions (mostly by keyboard player Bob Gaudio) are very strong and you'll find some of these mostly b-side singles would have worked very well as a-sides ("Cry Myself To Sleep", to mention one song). There are some classic album tracks here as well ("Saturday's Father", a song lyrically along the lines of the Beatles' "She's Leaving Home").
If you're a fan of the Four Seasons, you'd be cheating yourself from not checking this CD out. And if you're not you just might find yourself converted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is unbelievable!!!, April 27, 2005
By 
Anthony V. Piscotta (Hamilton Square, NJ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For anyone who's a Seasons fan - or just an American Rock and Roll Fan in general - this CD is amazing! Just received it today and it's like getting a new release from one of your favorite bands (which the Seasons are).

The liner notes say it's not a "best of the rest" type of album and that is so true! Had the band not been as big as they were, this album could've stood alone as one of the great albums of the 60's. As it is, it's almost a recorded history of that period - the shadows of Dawn or Walk Like a Man are all over the early songs like "Big Man's World" or "Funny Face". On a song like "Everybody Knows My Name", you can easily hear Sonny and Cher singing it (minus Frankie's soaring vocals of course!)

"Cry Myself to Sleep" is as good as any of the big hits and there are at least a half dozen others on this collection that stand up to the "classics" that oldies radio loves so much.

Even the latter tunes - while not huge commercial successes - show just how far the guys could go and how they could fit in to the particular period with little problem (if you're lucky and open-minded enough, check out Streetfighter from the early 80's or the dance album the band made in the late 90's to see just versatile Frankie is).

The song that most impressed me on this album was Beggar's Parade. The political answer to the now glorified protest songs of people like Dylan, CSN, and the like, the song says in it's own way what so many people were thinking during that period - and stands as a response from the "silent majority" that is all but whitewashed out of history by the "academia" of today.

Frankie, unlike all the Woodstock devotees, makes a stand for the common man.

I literally can't say enough about this CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Find!, August 24, 2005
I have been a Seasons fan ever since I can remember. The thing I like most about them is the fact that for basically a doo wop group these guy were not afraid to experiment with diffrent stuff. Frankie Valli has one of the best falsettos out there, and this collection gives you a chance to hear such gems as "Big Man's World" who for the life of me can't understand why it wasn't a single? But songs like "Dody" "Goodbye Girl" and "Raven" make this Cd a must for any 4 Seasons fan. These Jersey Boys are gonna really surprise you when you hear these gems, and maybe just maybe they will get the preps so long over due
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pricey, But Worth It, October 5, 2001
Put out for people who buy the Anthology, enjoy it, and wish to hear what the 4 Seasons sounded like on LP tracks and B-sides. Almost all of these songs are off the "Rag Doll", "Working My Way Back To You", "New Gold Hits" and "Genuine Imitation Life Gazette" albums. The songs are from 1964 thru 1970. All of these songs are highly melodic and well-produced, and some could have been hits if fate had been kinder to them; the outstanding "Huggin' My Pillow" was slated to be released on 45 but then the guys outdid even themselves and came up with the all-time classic "Rag Doll". So basically, this CD is an optional add-on to the Anthology. Lastly, this CD serves to destroy a huge myth among the general public that the 4 Seasons were merely a "singles" act.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So you really want rare Seasons...?, April 1, 2002
Find, beg, borrow, steal these...
"Chameleon" circa 1971-72, Mowest Records, with great cuts "Sun Country" and "Love Isn't Here", "Touch the Rain Child", "A New Beginning" and "The Night". The last two are on that Rarities CD mentioned by a reader below.
Find the "Electric Stories" single. I'm awfully surprised the powers that be had not included it on this CD. It is on the Anniversary Collection. And the Ace production of "The Genuine Imitation Life Gazette"...
To it's credit, here on this CD is "Coming Up in The World" and "Everybody Knows My Name" from the Philips LP originally entitled "Working My Way Back to You". That LP, like I stated in another review, has the original "Can't Get Enough of You, Baby" recently made famous by SmashMouth. "Sundown" is another criminally ignored cut from this great LP.
Find any of Frankie Valli solo albums. Curb has put out a Frankie Valli greatest Hits CD, that is okay, but only whets the appetite. The first FV solo project "Frenkie Valli Solo" has a cut called "Ivy" that I'd say truly should have been included on this collection. It's a jazzy easylistening piece that finds Valli in a mode where ("I can't say I'm not sorry and yet, if you try you can help me forget, Ivy, its not too late, say you love me and I'll go on loving you") the lyrics puts a punch in the song. I'm surprised this ain't on here, either.
Find "Helicon". Of the Polci/Paiva Seasons. Find "Hope and Glory", Curb Records early 90's.
There's not much wrong with this collection if you are a novice to the FV/FS scene...it's a good place to srart your search for some of those cuts that were as good as gold but were not played as much on the radio as some of the others were...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars other flip sides too!, February 1, 2003
By 
Don Mull (Panama City Fl USA) - See all my reviews
This CD has alot of good records on it but i feel there are alot of there songs they have overlooked! They need to put out another set to include their early flips from Vee Jay and Phillips records, like Christmas Tears, Little Angel, Searching Wind and some others from their endless supply of songs,I'm sure there are alot of people that feel the same way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply awesome..., March 10, 2004
By 
I became a Frankie Valli & The 4 Seasons fan during my last year in jr. high. At that time I had only heard the popular hits "Sherry", "Big Girls Don't Cry", "Walk Like A Man" etc. but when I saw this CD at the music store I knew I had to get it. By the time I was done listening to it I had fallen more deeply in love with the magical, colorful & terrifyingly comical world of Frankie Valli. This CD takes you beyond "Can't Take My Eyes Off You" but you're able to enjoy the familiar sound of Frankie's falsetto-style voice, the drums & hand-claps in the background. I'd have to say "Huggin' My Pillow" is a breath-taking song that every 4 Seasons fan will love but "Marcie", "Funny Face", "Raven", "Danger" and "Something's On Her Mind" should be among your favorites list as well. This compilation is full of fun surprises for the "newbie" 4 Seasons fan. I bought "Off Seasons" in 2000 (my freshman year of high school) and to this day I highly cherish it. If you love 60's music or are just another 4 Seasons devotee you won't ever regret having bought this CD. "Off Seasons" is a MUST-HAVE!
~Frankie forever~ *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Hits on the B-side, July 18, 2013
I collected their hit singles but never played the B-sides. Then this album came out so I decided to purchase it because I had all of their hit records. Well, this album is great. As said by the previous reviewers, these tracks could be not only A-sides but Top 10 hit records. The Beatles and Beach Boys always put out double sided singles with hits on both A and B sides. This could have happened for the 4 Seasons as well with the proper promotion by the label. They would have broke all kinds of records (no pun intended) with a string of double-sided hits. This album is great. What other group or recording artist can claim that they put out an album of just B-sides besides the 4 Seasons?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.