Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Getting to know a Leopard
Mac OS X Leopard For Dummies (For Dummies (Computer/Tech))

As in the past "Dr. Mac" LeVitus has written a basic, yet thorough, introduction to this latest version of OS X. Not only does it contain well organized information, but it is fun to read. Each section has clear instructions that are easy to follow when read through as a unit. My one reservation is...
Published on December 7, 2007 by John L. Dunn

versus
52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't be a Dummie and Buy It
I am a first time Mac owner, and I thought this would be just what I needed. IF the author spent less time on being cute, and more on being informative, it might work. There were so many things that were barely touched on including "Mail" that if you are a first time Mac user this book does little to make you feel comfortable with it. Spend a few more dollars and...
Published on January 20, 2008 by Leslie Curtis


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't be a Dummie and Buy It, January 20, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am a first time Mac owner, and I thought this would be just what I needed. IF the author spent less time on being cute, and more on being informative, it might work. There were so many things that were barely touched on including "Mail" that if you are a first time Mac user this book does little to make you feel comfortable with it. Spend a few more dollars and get the "The Missing Manual Leopard Edition. David Pogue takes up almost 900 pages to explain what you need to know as opposed to "Dummies" 450 pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Getting to know a Leopard, December 7, 2007
By 
John L. Dunn (Norwich, VT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Mac OS X Leopard For Dummies (For Dummies (Computer/Tech))

As in the past "Dr. Mac" LeVitus has written a basic, yet thorough, introduction to this latest version of OS X. Not only does it contain well organized information, but it is fun to read. Each section has clear instructions that are easy to follow when read through as a unit. My one reservation is that the index is not as complete as I would like. The "Dummies" books all add on the cover: "A Reference for the Rest of Us!". I find that topics that are actually available in the book are not in the index when one tries to look them up. With a better index this would be a much better reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Office 2008 for Dummies, June 25, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Office 2008 for Mac For Dummies (Paperback)
I found that the "Dummy" books were very helpful with my old Mac/Office software, and l purchased this book on that basis. So far, it has been most helpful on my iMac/Office 2008 setup, clarifying procedures and capabilities, and helping me in understanding the systems. I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Macs 4 Me, January 21, 2009
By 
This review is from: Office 2008 for Mac For Dummies (Paperback)
Ok. I bought the book before I bought Office 2008. I use the book for a cheat sheet for my Entourage. Yes I had to get rid of Outlook. Good read with a sense of humor. If you love to learn the little things, tips, etc. this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Reference, October 6, 2009
By 
Carlene Brown (Anchorage, Alaska) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Office 2008 for Mac For Dummies (Paperback)
"Office 2008 for Mac: for Dummies" was written by Bob Levitus, the well-known Mac expert often referred to as Dr. Mac. In describing the book he states "I don't think you're dumb - quite the opposite! My second choice for this book's title was 'Office 2008 for Mac For People Smart Enough to Know They Need Help With It'.

Mr. Levitus writes in straight-forward, everyday language, avoiding the technical jargon that causes most of us to roll our eyes and sends our brains into panic mode. The book is full of information and advice covering all the things you need to know about Office 2008 for Mac and includes timesaving tips, tricks, techniques, and step-by-step instructions with a bit of humor added.

"Office 2008 for Mac: for Dummies" is a good reference for both the first time Office user and the experienced Office user. Part 1 starts with the very basics, describing the three Office versions available to purchase, how to install them, and how to set them up. Then looks at the features that work the same in all four of the applications.

The book is then divided into specialized sections, one for each of the applications included in Office 2008 for Mac, starting with the most popular application, Microsoft Word. The author begins with very basic information explaining what a word processor is and does and continues on through all the procedures, tools and elements used in Word to help the reader master the use of the application. This section ends with subjects such as creating a Table of Contents, using the collaboration features, and how to create web pages.

Mr. LeVitus uses this same format in introducing each of the other Office 2008 applications, Power Point, Excel, and Entourage. He begins with an overview and a definition of what the product is and how it is used. Then covers the basics of the software so you understand the procedures necessary to use it and continues on with well explained how-tos for each of the tools and elements. Each section ends exploring some of the more advanced features of the application.

Office 2008 for Mac is my first experience with the Office products. I've used Macs for over fifteen years, but had never ventured into Microsoft Office till now. Consequently, this book, "Office 2008 for Mac: for Dummies", provides a great learning tool for me. The information is well written and easy to follow. The step-by-step instructions make it easy to understand and to try the procedure that is being explained. The book includes graphics on most every page that clarify the topics being discussed. Even though it is a computer instruction book, it is written in such an interesting manner that it is not boring. There is enough humor written into the book to cause you to smile as you read through the pages of useful instructions and information.

"Office 2008 for Mac: for Dummies: is an ideal reference even for experienced Office users. Besides the basics it covers what's new in Office 2008 for Mac, many tips and hints that make your Office experience easier and quicker, plus many how-tos for the advanced features. Both the Table of Contents and Index are well defined making it easy to find the topic or feature you are researching.

If you have procedural questions or want to get the most from your Office 2008 products I think you will find the answers and tips that will enable you to gain control of the Office suite of applications in "Office 2008 for Mac: for Dummies".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only if you are a beginner, November 28, 2007
By 
stingray (Covina, Ca. United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is an excellent book if you never had any experience with Macs. But if you have even a little , it is not worth it.

He barely covers any subject in depth, he touches on subjects that truthfully could be assess in Help. Every little tips, or shortcuts or insiders information- so for a true beginner, is a good book but for anyone else ,save your money and try Help in the mac menu.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very basic information, November 9, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Office 2008 for Mac For Dummies (Paperback)
I had bought this book strictly for the excel portion of it. I already have a pretty good knowledge base, but wanted extra help with graphing. Unfortunately, the book barley touches graphing (only 3 pages worth. For reference, the book spends 3 pages at the beginning of the section explaining what a spreadsheet is) and definitely doesn't give any help with advanced graphing.

If you hardly know how to use a computer and have never used any version of office, this book is great for you. If you are looking for more advanced/detailed information rather than a very basic overview, look someplace else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read!, December 11, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
this is a great read if you have changed from windows to mac. i learned a lot from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go Buy It, May 12, 2008
[...]

This is a fact. New user, or old time mac person. THIS is the book to get. This is my first for dummies book.
Very well written. All your questions are answered. Loaded with info that Apple should have given out with every new computer running leopard. Just buy it. you wont be sorry. Pay no attention to any bad reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good enough., July 11, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a good guide, very basic though. The writer talks like this is your first time with a machine. Very visual also. Perfect for perfect beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Office 2008 for Mac For Dummies
Office 2008 for Mac For Dummies by Bob LeVitus (Paperback - May 12, 2008)
$26.99 $18.28
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.