Truck Month Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Bob Dylan Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Recreation SnS

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$16.07+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 20, 2008
I am a first time Mac owner, and I thought this would be just what I needed. IF the author spent less time on being cute, and more on being informative, it might work. There were so many things that were barely touched on including "Mail" that if you are a first time Mac user this book does little to make you feel comfortable with it. Spend a few more dollars and get the "The Missing Manual Leopard Edition. David Pogue takes up almost 900 pages to explain what you need to know as opposed to "Dummies" 450 pages.
0Comment|54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2007
Mac OS X Leopard For Dummies (For Dummies (Computer/Tech))

As in the past "Dr. Mac" LeVitus has written a basic, yet thorough, introduction to this latest version of OS X. Not only does it contain well organized information, but it is fun to read. Each section has clear instructions that are easy to follow when read through as a unit. My one reservation is that the index is not as complete as I would like. The "Dummies" books all add on the cover: "A Reference for the Rest of Us!". I find that topics that are actually available in the book are not in the index when one tries to look them up. With a better index this would be a much better reference.
0Comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2009
This book offers a beginners overview of the new Mac OS X Snow Leopard. Topics range from turning on the Mac to simple networking. Bob LeVitus does a great job touching upon most features of the new release. However the nature of the 'For Dummies' books are meant to be kept short and sweet. Some topics I felt could of been discussed in greater detail and some topics could of been slimmed down. He does constantly repeat that the built-in Help will answer most questions and that the Apple website offers a wealth of knowledge. I would liked to have read more on the security and less about the different ways to save a document. This book is very light on the technical workings of the operating system. Mr. LeVitus does include the keyboard shortcuts for everything though.

I am new to Mac's. I found this book useful. The chapter that discussed widgets I found was very informative. Two other chapters I thought were neat were chapter 22 - a list of useful Mac websites and chapter 19 - a brief chapter on how to troubleshoot hardware.
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2010
Usually the 'for dummies' series are good, clear, and easy to follow. This is an exception. The book starts off on a very beginners level, but once past the first chapter you will have many unanswered questions, and the text does not anticipate what your problems might be and supplies no way of tracing possible answers. A huge disappointment if you are trying to work out how Snow Leopard works.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2010
I have used many "for Dummies" books before and been very happy with them. I was disappointed in this one. It was not by the original author of many of the other books. I found it hard to follow because it didn't have many visual examples. I ended up buying the book "Teach Yourself Visually Mac OS X Snow Leopard," and found it much easier to follow. Diana E.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2008
I found that the "Dummy" books were very helpful with my old Mac/Office software, and l purchased this book on that basis. So far, it has been most helpful on my iMac/Office 2008 setup, clarifying procedures and capabilities, and helping me in understanding the systems. I recommend it.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2009
"Office 2008 for Mac: for Dummies" was written by Bob Levitus, the well-known Mac expert often referred to as Dr. Mac. In describing the book he states "I don't think you're dumb - quite the opposite! My second choice for this book's title was 'Office 2008 for Mac For People Smart Enough to Know They Need Help With It'.

Mr. Levitus writes in straight-forward, everyday language, avoiding the technical jargon that causes most of us to roll our eyes and sends our brains into panic mode. The book is full of information and advice covering all the things you need to know about Office 2008 for Mac and includes timesaving tips, tricks, techniques, and step-by-step instructions with a bit of humor added.

"Office 2008 for Mac: for Dummies" is a good reference for both the first time Office user and the experienced Office user. Part 1 starts with the very basics, describing the three Office versions available to purchase, how to install them, and how to set them up. Then looks at the features that work the same in all four of the applications.

The book is then divided into specialized sections, one for each of the applications included in Office 2008 for Mac, starting with the most popular application, Microsoft Word. The author begins with very basic information explaining what a word processor is and does and continues on through all the procedures, tools and elements used in Word to help the reader master the use of the application. This section ends with subjects such as creating a Table of Contents, using the collaboration features, and how to create web pages.

Mr. LeVitus uses this same format in introducing each of the other Office 2008 applications, Power Point, Excel, and Entourage. He begins with an overview and a definition of what the product is and how it is used. Then covers the basics of the software so you understand the procedures necessary to use it and continues on with well explained how-tos for each of the tools and elements. Each section ends exploring some of the more advanced features of the application.

Office 2008 for Mac is my first experience with the Office products. I've used Macs for over fifteen years, but had never ventured into Microsoft Office till now. Consequently, this book, "Office 2008 for Mac: for Dummies", provides a great learning tool for me. The information is well written and easy to follow. The step-by-step instructions make it easy to understand and to try the procedure that is being explained. The book includes graphics on most every page that clarify the topics being discussed. Even though it is a computer instruction book, it is written in such an interesting manner that it is not boring. There is enough humor written into the book to cause you to smile as you read through the pages of useful instructions and information.

"Office 2008 for Mac: for Dummies: is an ideal reference even for experienced Office users. Besides the basics it covers what's new in Office 2008 for Mac, many tips and hints that make your Office experience easier and quicker, plus many how-tos for the advanced features. Both the Table of Contents and Index are well defined making it easy to find the topic or feature you are researching.

If you have procedural questions or want to get the most from your Office 2008 products I think you will find the answers and tips that will enable you to gain control of the Office suite of applications in "Office 2008 for Mac: for Dummies".
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2009
Ok. I bought the book before I bought Office 2008. I use the book for a cheat sheet for my Entourage. Yes I had to get rid of Outlook. Good read with a sense of humor. If you love to learn the little things, tips, etc. this is the book for you.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 28, 2007
This is an excellent book if you never had any experience with Macs. But if you have even a little , it is not worth it.

He barely covers any subject in depth, he touches on subjects that truthfully could be assess in Help. Every little tips, or shortcuts or insiders information- so for a true beginner, is a good book but for anyone else ,save your money and try Help in the mac menu.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2009
I had bought this book strictly for the excel portion of it. I already have a pretty good knowledge base, but wanted extra help with graphing. Unfortunately, the book barley touches graphing (only 3 pages worth. For reference, the book spends 3 pages at the beginning of the section explaining what a spreadsheet is) and definitely doesn't give any help with advanced graphing.

If you hardly know how to use a computer and have never used any version of office, this book is great for you. If you are looking for more advanced/detailed information rather than a very basic overview, look someplace else.
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse