Customer Reviews


645 Reviews
5 star:
 (230)
4 star:
 (105)
3 star:
 (73)
2 star:
 (39)
1 star:
 (198)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


494 of 510 people found the following review helpful
The manufacturer commented on the review below
4.0 out of 5 stars To Rent or To Buy...?
For those that don't know Office 365 is basically a 1 year lease of "Office Professional", with some bonuses (80 Skype minutes, an additional 20G of sky drive space, and Office on Demand). They want people to go to a leased model - and who can blame them. It provides a steady stream of revenue, and they only have to maintain the "latest" version. If everyone is on the...
Published 19 months ago by M. M. Strauch

versus
109 of 119 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Touch interface, faster performance, business subscription may have better value
It has been 10 years since the new versions of office documents (docx, pptx etc) were introduced. For better or worse, Ribbon interface is here to stay. Is there something new that Microsoft can bring to the table?

I write as a sole proprietor who has been using Office 365 Enterprise for half a year. I installed Office 2013 RTM (i.e. final version) about a...
Published 19 months ago by Mr. Queensway, the "right...


‹ Previous | 1 265 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

The manufacturer commented on the review belowSee comments
494 of 510 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars To Rent or To Buy...?, February 1, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For those that don't know Office 365 is basically a 1 year lease of "Office Professional", with some bonuses (80 Skype minutes, an additional 20G of sky drive space, and Office on Demand). They want people to go to a leased model - and who can blame them. It provides a steady stream of revenue, and they only have to maintain the "latest" version. If everyone is on the latest product, no one has to maintain security updates and patches for software that was released years ago.

Also by dangling the "5 license carrot" this product becomes very appealing - especially to those of us that want the additional software such as outlook / publisher / one note. This breaks down to less than $2 per month per computer - Giving "Free" a run for it's money.

If you are looking for the 'core' office items (Word / Excel / PowerPoint) to use on one or perhaps two PC's - Simply buy Office Home and Student.

PRO's of 365:

1. Price - If you are comparing 365 to the Office Professional then spending $100 VS $400 (or even $219 for Office Home/Business) is tempting. What really adds to the temptation of 365 is that you can install it on 5 machines as opposed to one machine on the other platforms. So if you need office on your home computer, laptop, and the kids school computer - office 365 may be the route to take; And you would still have 2 licenses left. If you make full use of the 5 licenses you are only paying $1.66 per month per computer.

2. FULL office suite. Your get all 7 software pieces found in Office Pro - Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook, OneNote, Publisher, Access.

3. Virtual Office - If for whatever reason you don't have your computer with you, you can access 'office on demand'. This will stream a copy of office to any internet connected machine and you can access your files via sky drive. Nice if you are at someones house / public internet terminal.

4. No longer cloud only - In the past 365 was a cloud only app - the software had limited features and capabilities compared to the full desktop versions, and if you didn't have an Internet connection you didn't have Office. No more though, you run the real software on your machine locally - so if you are on a plane, or without internet you can still use the product.

5. "Free" Upgrades - With 365 you are leasing the latest version. So as long as you maintain your subscription, in a few years when the next version comes out you will be able to upgrade without having to 're-buy' office.

Cons:

1. You are 'locked in' - Every year you must renew your lease if you want continued functionality. You will still be able to view your documents and notes, but if you don't renew you loose the ability to edit them.

2. Tablet support - 365 works well on Win 8 tablets, but no support yet for Android or Apple.

3. Price - There is no price guarantee, what is $100 this year may be $149 next year. Although I don't see Microsoft pulling any "Gotchas!" with this product. They already know there is some pretty stiff free competition by Google and Open Office. I think the $100 price point is here for at least 2 years perhaps 3, then we will see a sales pitch to "renew early and avoid the price increase to 119".

------Bottom line:

The bottom line is this, Office 365 is a good product that runs quite smooth, 365 is now a solid product. It feels more streamlined than office 2010, and it can really reclaim those people that switched to the free software. At less than $2 per month per computer its a good deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

 
stem
The manufacturer commented on this review(What's this?)
Posted on Dec 6, 2013 11:39:09 AM PST
Thanks for your review. We appreciate the feedback. Your information about the subscription model will hopefully help people in making their purchase decision.

-The Office Team
 
 

109 of 119 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Touch interface, faster performance, business subscription may have better value, January 29, 2013
This review is from: Office 365 Home 1yr Subscription Key Card (Software)
It has been 10 years since the new versions of office documents (docx, pptx etc) were introduced. For better or worse, Ribbon interface is here to stay. Is there something new that Microsoft can bring to the table?

I write as a sole proprietor who has been using Office 365 Enterprise for half a year. I installed Office 2013 RTM (i.e. final version) about a month earlier than the official release in late January 2013. My review will answer 1) why and who should upgrade to Office 2013 and 2) which version (Home & Business, Pro, Office 365 Home Premium, Small Business or Enterprise) to choose.

For Q1 (who should and why upgrade), my short answer is: upgrade if you are: a) using a touch computer; b) you own several computers and use all of them to edit the same documents; c) you are running on a slow computer and wants some extra speed. Otherwise there is no need to upgrade from 2007/2010. 2003 users will have to decide whether they want to make the switch to Ribbon.

1A - Using a touch computer
I own a Samsung ATIV Smart PC Pro, a Windows 8 Pro tablet. Office 2013 automatically recognizes the touchscreen and increases the spacing between icons for me. Frankly the increased spacing is not much use on my 11.6 inch display as mis-clicks are still frequent. I still resort to the built-in pen for clicking the small icons (Save, undo etc).

More importantly, the new version supports gestures such as pinch to zoom and flicking the screen to scroll. This, together with Windows 8 Pro, make touch experience almost bearable on a PC.

Of course, to truly take advantage of Office 2013's touch function, you also need Windows 8. The on-screen keyboard in Windows 8 is simply better than the one in Windows 7. The most important improvement is the maximize icon next to the X button of the keyboard. Press it, and the keyboard becomes "one with the taskbar". The app will not occupy the space beneath the keyboard and make itself inaccessible (because the keyboard floats above it).

Word now supports a Reader mode, which is HUGELY useful and makes me want to convert all my ePub to word documents. The idea is simple: Word reflows the text to single column/double columns while maintaining certain formatting like italic, fonts, highlighting etc and discarding others (tabs, line spacing for example). This is similar to what we experience from other eReaders (Amazon Kindle, ePub readers etc). The great thing about reading document in Word 2013 is that you can save your annotation directly on the file - there is no need to worry about syncing annotation. Contrast this to reading ePub - each software saves its own annotation file that cannot be easily read by another software.

1B - Multiple computers, one document
Having multiple computers is both a blessing and a curse. Nothing beats turning off your office computer and take an early leave, knowing that whatever you failed to complete can be finished at home. However it is a nightmare to learn that the document (or the newest version of it) is not available when you arrive at home.

There are many ways to transfer files from office to home, from the tedious (USB, manual or software assisted) to the care-free (dropbox automatic sync). Your organization may or may not allow USB drives (for good reasons). Dropbox requires administrative privilege which 99% of the working force do not have. With Office 2013 you have a third option - save to your own Skydrive. If you purchase the non-subscription version, you get 7GB space of Skydrive, Office 365 Home Premium gives you 27GB. For the business version, storage depends on the base subscription and add-on plans. Skydrive is like a USB stick that connects to your computer through the Internet. You can create folders, save files, read files, delete files just as you would on a USB stick. The difference is that it is always available as long as you have connection to the Internet.

To save to Skydrive, you must first have a Microsoft Live account. If you have a Hotmail/outlook.com email account, you already have one. You can also register a Live Account with any email you own (gmail Yahoo university mail). You then login to this Live account from within Office, you only need to do it once for each computer, and you can do it in Excel/Word/etc. After you have logged in, you can Save the document to Skydrive by pressing the icon linking to your skydrive, and you will be prompted with your Skydrive's folder structure - just as what you would see if you were to save on C drive. To open a file, choose Open, then press the icon to your skydrive, and viola - your file is there. A little icon called Office Upload Assistant on bottom right area next to the clock (the notification area) tells you whether all documents have been uploaded.

I also like the fact that opening Word 2013 shows you a Welcome screen with built-in templates AND YOUR OWN TEMPLATES (provided they are saved in Skydrive/locally). No longer do you need to go through layers of folders before finding the template for Invoice etc. You can also "pin" your favorite templates so that they are one-click away from being created. You can of course still create new documents from templates the way you would in 2007/2010.

1C - Performance
Performance is BIG thing nowadays. Finally Microsoft saw the need to reduce the footprints of its software and make them more suitable for the "average" machines. It used to be the case that business machines are evaluated by how many Internet Explorer and Microsoft Word can be opened simultaneously while running on Windows Vista!

Having used the RAM-eating Office 2007 and the atrociously slow Office 2010, Office 2013 breathes new life to my 4 years old Dell Latitude E4200 (running on an ultra-low voltage dual-core Penryn processor). I used to uncheck Outlook when I re-installed Office 2007/2010 because they start up painfully slowly. The speed of Outlook 2013 is almost tolerable (about 7 seconds). Outlook 2013 also does not cause my notebook to stutter.

The re-sizing on Word has also been improved. It no longer draws accurate snapshots of the document as you zoom. Instead it "blurs" the document as you zoom, and after you have settled on the zoom level, it draws a final, accurate snapshot. It may not seem much, but coming from a computer-engineering background, I suspect this reduces CPU workload (and thus energy use) significantly.

Saving, opening, and switching between Ribbon tabs now feel instant even on my crappy 4 years-old laptop. On my new Samsung tablet (sporting the newest Intel processor), starting Word is instant and outlook takes a mere 2 seconds to show. The whole experience is very much like using an iPad, where every app loads instantaneously.

New features
I can only comment on Word, Onenote and Outlook 2013, which I use daily. I will let my more knowledgeable fellow reviewers comment on the rest.

Word 2013
New features include the reader mode, touch-icons, touch gestures (mentioned above).

Track Changes is now infinitely more useful as it shows comments like a conversation. The new Office Store allows you to install third-party apps (such as Merriam-Webster Dictionaries) to increase functionality. You no longer need to "hunt" for plug-ins as you would for all previous versions.

You may or may not need the add pictures from an online location function. The ability to embed YouTube video is also of dubious use - I prefer saving the youtube video offline, convert it and send it as an attachment to the word document. This way my client won't ring me at 2am complaining they cannot view the clip (whether it is due to their connection to YouTube or some technical problem I do not care to solve), but this is just me.

The much-touted PDF manipulation is trash. It seems that whatever PDF file I open using Word 2013, formatting is heavily messed up. Apparently Microsoft tries to convert PDF to DOCX first before you can do any meaningful operation. You are better off with a software that treats PDF as a PDF, such as the cheap but excellent PDF-XCHANGE software suites.

OneNote 2013
I could not be bothered to compare the feature sets between OneNote MX (free with Windows 8) and OneNote 2013. It suffices to note that MX has fewer features but a more touch-centric control.
OneNote still does not get the degree of formatting control like Word. You cannot make multi-layered lists or format text (and change formatting) using an umbrella category (like the Body, Heading 1, Heading 2). Still, I enjoy jotting notes with OneNote much more than with Word. Lists just indent to the proper place EVERY SINGLE TIME and there is no need to deal with page breaks.

I cannot think of any new features that are worth mentioning. Onenote 2010 already had some sort of integration with the predecessor to Skydrive (called Live Drive). The auto-correct still does not correct Recognise to Recognize etc (as Word 2013) does. You can still add Online picture as you do in Word 2013. There is also a new helper software that sits on the Taskbar and help you get screen capture quicker. I always turn off the helper software because it adds unnecessary complexity to my taskbar.

Outlook 2013
Microsoft has not gone enough to change Outlook 2013. Just as 2007/2010, it is extremely difficult to change account settings such as whether to download headers only or full text (with or without attachments). The data file (OST or PST) still reside in the elusive place of C:\User\(user name)\AppData instead of your own "My Document" folder. Sure you will forget to back that up as you re-install windows? You also cannot see all emails using an "Unified Inbox" as you would with a 2-year old android phone/iPhone without using a script (search unified inbox vba if you really want to know)

Outlook has always struggled to find a proper interface. I still recall using Outlook 2000 and being greeted with a Today's screen which shows some of my unread emails and upcoming appointments in extremely small fonts. Outlook 2013 is better, when you start it shows you the Inbox, and you can quickly switch to appointments/contacts from the bottom left huge icons.

One new feature is integration with Facebook/other social networks. The idea is to merge your contacts with Facebook's contacts. I only connected about 20% of my friends because Outlook doesn't know Charles Jeremy Moore in outlook is really Charles Moore on Facebook. You can of course manually link them as you could in the People app in Windows 8, but I cannot be bothered.

Assuming you have linked facebook contacts with Outlook, you can see a snapshot of your friend's profile while reading his email. Useful? I doubt it. It is not often the case that your business associates will write something you absolutely must know business-wise (gossiping is another matter). If there is some blogs/feeds you must read, the recommended course is to setup an RSS feed and read it regularly. Stumbling upon someone's relationship status only distracts you from the current work.

It may or may not be a new feature, but pinning Outlook 2013 to your taskbar allows you to create tasks/appointments quickly. Right-click the icon (not left click) and you will be greeted with a short-cut for New Appointment/Email/Contact/Task/Meeting. What is best is that using any of the above will not launch Outlook 2013, not the whole program at least. It is extremely handy for adding new appointments etc when you are talking on phone. The ability to quickly add appointment from Outlook 2013 is one of the reasons I ditched Google in favour of my Office 365 Exchange account for storing calendars and contacts. (note: Outlook 2013 cannot sync with Gmail's Exchange ActiveSync as of now, Outlook blames Google for not having the newest Exchange version).
WARNING: do not use the New Email function from the right click menu. After you have typed your email, it is stored at the Outbox but NOT send out. You have to launch Outlook to send it. I cannot understand what Microsoft is thinking...

2 - Comparison
I have been using Office 365 to host my business email address and website for half a year, so I am familiar with the subscription model.

Feature-wise Office Pro and Office 365 is the same (but note the difference in Skydrive storage). Simple math tells us that the price for Office Pro equates 4 years of Office 365. The catch for purchasing Office Pro is that you are limited to 1 PC while Office 365 covers 5. If you own more than 1 device, Office 365 is a no-brainer, or so it seems.

The reason why I gave Office Pro 5 stars while Office 365 Home Premium 3 stars is solely based on Price alone. If you are a sole proprietor/small business, you are better-off with the Office 365 business plans (as I am subscribing). If you are a Home User, as the name Home Premium suggest, I make the following assumptions: 1) your company pays for the office licence in your work computer(s) and 2) you do not have more than 1 home computer that needs Office. Under this assumption the 5 PC advantage practically falls away. The remaining question is whether you will upgrade in 4 years and whether the extra storage matters.

4 years is a bit longer than 1 product cycle (see 2003 - 2007-2010-2013). If you will buy/subscribe Office 2016/2017 (if there is one) when it is released, then subscribing to Home Premium will present better value. If you will skip one product cycle (i.e. skipping 2016/2017 and purchase 2020/2021), then Office Pro is better value. I think most home users can afford to lag behind more than 1 product cycle. New products are not always better, often the new features are useless to a home user and the new interface just spells frustration.

I think Office 365 HP is only appeal to users who match every criterion below:
1) You need Outlook/Access/Publisher
2) You have more than 1 computer
3) You plan to receive the next Office as it becomes available
4) You are not benefitted by Office 365 business versions

Regarding 1) above, most home users need Word/Excel/Powerpoint only, and their needs are well served by the cheaper Home versions. Please note that if you do not use Outlook now, you probably won't need it in the future. It is an overkill for checking gmail etc. Access and Publisher require you to sit down and learn, possibly taking 1 month each before you fully appreciate their use and advantage over Excel/Word. There is no point in going for Office Pro or Office HP just to get all software and be "future-proof" if Office Home Student/Home Business is good enough.

If you are willing to pay so much for the extra software (Outlook/Publisher/Access), but doesn't receive a free licence from your company, chances are that you work at a SMB. SMBs stand to benefit A LOT from Office 365 business (see below), and even though you may not implement all the features, Office 365 business is still worth considering.

Office 365 Home Premium is expensive compared with Office 365 Enterprise. At $20/Month Office 365 Enterprise gives you all Office software, your own exchange email account, Sharepoint and Lync (basic) servers. The website shows Office Professional Plus 2010, but you can download Office 2013 RTM from TechNet and use your Office 365 login name to get the software running. That was how I got Office 2013 a month earlier than the general public.

I wish only to add that regardless of whether you use Office 365 HP or Office 365 Ent, Office Web App is trash. The idea of being able to edit document from a web-browser (running on an iPad maybe) is attractive, but unrealistic. The reasons are: 1) Web App only supports DocX etc formats, but not the old formats; 2) more importantly, formatting is often MESSED UP when you use Web App.

More coming: the benefit of having your own exchange account and more importantly sharepoint server (in the coming week) and why it is much better value to sole proprietor/small business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


The manufacturer commented on the review belowSee comments
241 of 275 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't support an inferior product & terrible customer support, March 8, 2013
"Purchased" Office365 and was mislead from the start. Login was corrupt and spent hours trying to solve it and after speaking with seven, yes seven Microsoft customer support individuals, they could still not explain the problem but confirmed I had an account. Two hours later without a solution, a logical explanation or an apology for wasting my time, I got so frustrated that I asked for a refund. Next hour was a process of being transferred to the cancellation department (each time I was transferred information was not forwarded to the next agent so groundhog day each time and the whole story had to be retold each time!) Oh, by the way, the person who cancels, can't refund! What idiot created this system? Transferred yet again to another department: refunds, and agent said I was not entitled to a refund since I had been issued an active account (the previous agent promised me that she would transfer me to someone who would provide a refund). Explained the whole situation again and had the same sentence about "an active account" parroted back to me each time with a mechanical lack of caring or concern for the customer. End result? No solution, no refund, but thank goodness no year contract with paying for unusable and inferior services. BUYER BEWARE!!! Microsoft does not have their act together, has customer service that makes cable television companies look good, and will not be able to compete with iCloud or Google in this arena. Review written not by a casual user, but an IT professional that runs a business with multiple MS licenses and an Exchange server. This is the first review I have taken the time to write, so accept this as a barometer of my frustration: category five on its way...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

 
stem
The manufacturer commented on this review(What's this?)
Posted on Dec 23, 2013 10:33:35 AM PST
Thank you for sharing your experience. It's great customer feedback that has helped us make several improvements to the product and the service since this review was posted.

We always appreciate hearing from customers. Please send us feedback directly here http://msft.it/officefeedback. You can also reach us on our social channels: facebook.com/office & twitter.com/office.

-The Office Team
 
 

The manufacturer commented on the review belowSee comments
126 of 147 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lousy customer support, March 14, 2013
By 
David (Lexington, Macau) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
O'k, I made a mistake and hit the wrong key on my e-mail address when I registered the product. I deserve to pay for that. I have talked to seven different people on the help desk, 5 level 1's and 2 level 2's. Keep in mind that each call takes at least 45 minutes and their wait-time music/static is torture. I have been given 4 different problem codes. They have promised to look into it and call me back in 3 days, 3 times - they do not call back on the day they say they will. Twice they have given me times as in - between 12 and 2pm CST. The first time they called back at 2:30pm, the second they didn't call back at all.

It has been two weeks since this mess started, and they still cannot give me a copy of the software. But they have "escalated" the problem three times. The e-mail address I gave them is off by one letter, it does not exist as an e-mail address. This should not cause two weeks of fruitless research on their part.

MicroSoft has become too big to succeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

 
stem
The manufacturer commented on this review(What's this?)
Posted on Apr 1, 2013 3:11:18 PM PDT
Dear David,

We are very sorry to hear about your experience with Office 365. We would be happy to provide further assistance - please contact officems@microsoft.com at your earliest convenience. We will ensure you are contacted by a Premium Support Professional who will stay with you until your issue has been resolved. Please contact us via this email address by April 30, 2013. Thank you for your feedback.

-The Office Team
 
 

The manufacturer commented on the review belowSee comments
31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars for Installation Woes, February 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It took MS support 2 hours remote controlling my computer to get the install done. Final solution seemed to be the only way to uninstall copy of Microsoft Click-to-Run was to boot up in Safe Mode and then the fixit program was successful in uninstalling all old office products. I'm not even sure how click-to-run got on my computer in the first place. I recently installed Windows 8.

After removing in Safe Mode rebooted in normal and the installation was successful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

 
stem
The manufacturer commented on this review(What's this?)
Posted on Dec 23, 2013 9:57:34 AM PST
We're glad you're now up and running. If you need further assistance on this particular issue, or any other Office related issues, we would be glad to assist you. We can be reached here http://msft.it/virtualchat or on our social channels facebook.com/office & twitter.com/office.

-The Office Team
 
 

The manufacturer commented on the review belowSee comments
86 of 101 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Failure, March 14, 2013
By 
I purchased this Microsoft Office 365 Home Premium 5 installations, 1 year. It won't download, then to make matters worst, it won't let me do anything with another computer saying that it can only be installed on one computer. That's not the end. I called Microsoft to inform them of the difficulties I was experiencing. They left me online for over 15 minutes. Then, after I called back three times, I finally got someone online, who then transferred me and I had another super long wait till the next voice came on, but it was a recording which told me to leave my phone number and they will call me back.

I did, I left my number and when the call was returned it was a recording, trying to verify that I had contacted them. Once I confirmed that I was indeed who I was, they gave me a "wonderful" recording that said "this call cannot be completed". That played about six times before I hung up.

This product is a fail and so was the Philippino Customer Service Center.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

 
stem
The manufacturer commented on this review(What's this?)
Posted on Apr 1, 2013 3:05:41 PM PDT
Dear Dianne,

We are very sorry to hear about your experience with Office 365. We would be happy to provide further assistance. Please contact officems@microsoft.com and we will ensure you are contacted by a Premium Support Professional who will stay with you until the issue is resolved. Please contact us via this email address by April 30, 2013. Thank you for your feedback.

-The Office Team
 
 

43 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Solution To Office On Several Computers, May 5, 2013
This review is from: Office 365 Home 1yr Subscription Key Card (Software)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Most of us have had the experience of installing software on a computer and then having to later re-install it because we bought a new computer, replaced a defective one or re-installed Windows. It is very annoying to have to contact the software company to re-install your software on the same machine. Too often the response is "I'm sorry that software has already been installed, you'll have to buy a new one".

Office 365 takes all the annoyance out. You install the entire Microsoft Office on up to 5 computers (Mac or PC, or combo of both). Here is what is great. If you install it on a new computer that turns out to be defective, you can deactivate that installation of Office so it never counts against the 5 which you are allotted. I recently had the experience of installing Office 365 on 2 new but defective laptops...no problem. Microsoft allowed me to deactivate both installations. So I still have my 5 allowed installs. This is a great feature.

The software here is familiar to most...Word Excel, Powerpoint etc. The gem in all this is OneNote, which most people who buy Office seem to ignore even though it has been around since the 2003 Office. OneNote is a great note, outline, personal and business keeping software. It lets you keep information in notebooks which are organized into Sections and Pages (so 3 level deep outline organization to start with. If you then create an outline on one of these pages you can have many more layers of outline depth.) I find it great to run a law practice with. Others may find it great for whatever work they do to store that information in an organized manner so you can retrieve it easily. It is a great place to store all those personal things in your life (health information, travel reservations, tax info, recipes, etc. - whether in cut and paste, pdf, word, email, etc.) With Office 365, you can save these Notebooks to Skydrive if you wish. This allows you to access the information on any other computer, by signing into your Skydrive. You can even access the Notebooks on Skydrive from an Iphone or Ipad with the OneNote app. (which is free).

Word, Excel and the other programs are also well integrated with Skydrive. So you can save files to your local drive on your computer, or on Skydrive. Once in Skydrive, you can access these files from your other computers.

Access and Publisher are also included in Office 365 which are programs that most people were unfamiliar with when they bought the prior Home and Student editions of Office. Access is a very deep relational base database. This by far the most difficult program to master. But most people will have little use for it.

The various programs have basically the same features as the prior 2010 Office. Some programs have added Ribbons, or changed the organization of the Ribbons. But basically it is otherwise similar as the prior programs in functionality.

I should add that I have done 4 installations of Office 365 on Windows 8 machines and had NO installation issues. It went smoothly every time.

Office 365 is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


The manufacturer commented on the review belowSee comments
55 of 64 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Some great ideas, some poor execution. DO NOT BUY, April 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I really like the idea of office 365. 5 computer licenses, SkyDrive space, automatically saving documents to the cloud, simple integration with my phone. I really like the new design tab in the office programs. I like the new shortcuts for excel.

But then there are the flaws. Office will not open a document after downloading it from the web. I have to first start the program and then select open from the menu within the program to open a document. Office will not save into the SkyDrive folder. It crashes on saving. So you are left guessing how much of your work will be recoverable. Because of this almost omnipresent error I have to save to my computer, open my file explorer and then move the document into my skydrive. I quickly switched all of my docs back to dropbox. Also, i have had a document save successfully to the computer and sky drive, only to load an older version of the document until i went to the skydrive website to download it. ALSO (there are a lot of alsos I guess) I have successfully saved a file to SkyDrive, and when I come back to work on it some more, the program tells me there are two copies, the one on the computer, and the one on SkyDrive. The two don't match. Which one should I keep? I have no way to see which document has my most recent changes, so I have to blindly play Sophie's Choice, and I usually choose wrong. There is no auto save to automatically save your changes as you go. This is a glaring omission.

Wow, after writing all that out, I am downgrading my rating until these issues are fixed. I was going to give it 4/5, but I just can't. I want to like it. It is like an abusive live in parent. You kind of have to live with it even if it treats you like crap. Maybe I have Stockholm syndrome.

Also, I should note, I installed this on a new build Windows 8 machine with 8GB ram, 256GB ssd. So I know it is the program having problems, not the computer.

***UPDATE 6/10/2013***

After spending an hour trying to update an excel spreadsheet using the data tab -> refresh all, (to update data pulled from an external website - Yahoo Finance) I feel I need to update this review. Excel WILL NOT update my data anymore. This is appalling! I use excel to track stocks, FOR MY PROFESSION, and now it will not update the data from external websites. The program stalls indefinitely until I force close it. It never updates. This software is unacceptable and I do not recommend that anybody purchase it. I am downgrading my rating from 2 stars to 1. Excel, the singular program that is responsible for Microsoft's market position, does not work. Unacceptable. For shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

 
stem
The manufacturer commented on this review(What's this?)
Posted on Dec 19, 2013 2:57:22 PM PST
We appreciate your feedback, Brian. Input from our customers helps us continually improve the Office experience. We continue to work hard to make Microsoft Office the best productivity suite for our customers, and we're thrilled to see the results. We have had several updates since your original post:

* Now all Office Web Apps users working in SkyDrive and Office 365 will have real-time co-authoring capabilities, auto-save and new features: http://msft.it/realtime_coauthoring and http://msft.it/office_and_skydrive_1

* Office 2013 has many helpful new features. See more here http://msft.it/WhatsNew and http://msft.it/whatsnew_office2013

* How to connect external data to your workbook: http://msft.it/excel_externaldata.

If you have additional suggestions or feedback, we would love to hear from you here http://msft.it/officefeedback or on Twitter @Office.

-The Office Team
 
 

45 of 52 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware data loss, April 15, 2013
By 
Gene "genesp" (Elmsford, NY USA) - See all my reviews
I've never had a program save a corrupt file, and not be able to recover it, until office 365.
The software is very nice. It looks good, and allows you to perform a lot of activities.

I'm getting used to OneNote and may like it better than evernote (not sure yet).

However, one third of the files I've created with Word have failed to reopen. They're not lost, it's just that my system crashes when I open them.
I'm going to try recovery through the online versions, and other software, but I really shouldn't have to.

One star for a significant amount of lost time and work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Office 365 Home Premium: Fast and functional, September 30, 2013
By 
This review is from: Office 365 Home 1yr Subscription Key Card (Software)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
For most of us, Microsoft Office is the de-facto standard of office suites, with Word being the predominant program. It wasn't always this way, as those who have been computer users for some years will remember well. In fact, we may have all been running WordPerfect Office with its affiliated programs if it wasn't for some strange twists in computer history beginning in the 1990s.

There are a number of variations of this Microsoft Office suite that can be found here, but this review is specifically focused on Office 365 Home Premium. This version is is a one-year subscription downloaded from 'Net by entering a product key card, and is licensed for up to five users on PCs, Windows 8 tablets, and Macs (with some limitations - see the specs). It offers the current versions of Word, Outlook, Excel, PowerPoint, and OneNote. Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Publisher, Access and more.

Please note: I had previously installed the Office Home & Business 2013 Key Card 1PC/1User version on a Window 7 PC notebook, and that version had worked quite well. The annual subscription to Office 365 Home Premium became a worthy option for a new PC running Windows 8 as a development/test system for both hardware and software, so when it came to making a decision as to which suite to go with, curiosity won out.

Here are the highly-subjective likes and dislikes found so far with this installation of the new Office 365 Home Premium suite for those looking for just the key points, then followed with some expanded details.

◆ Likes:

+ Very smooth installation; simple directions, easy to follow, almost effortless
+ Clean interface; smooth and minimalist, ribbon can be collapsed as needed
+ Operates on five PCs or Macs; license for single household with multiple users
+ Excellent Outlook integration; works well with Outlook.com, Gmail and private email
+ SkyDrive; allows for access of files on the cloud, file sharing when needed
+ Easy customization once installed; make it work your way

◆ Rants & Irritants:

- Full ALL CAPS menu tabs; don't like having the Metro-style jammed down my throat

◆ Installation:

The setup is simple and easy to follow. Included in the small box are the directions and a 25-character Product Key card. Go to the Microsoft Office site as indicated, enter the characters from the card as noted, then sign into or create your Microsoft account. Users who already have an Outlook account (possibly converted over from Hotmail) can start with that. Then it's a simple scenario of following the on-screen directions, and the entire installation should be finished in under 30 minutes.

Found the interface to be much cleaner than my older Office 2007 running on another older computer, and with the exception of the CAPS ON menu tabs noted above, it was a good improvement. Though I did not do any precise stopwatch timings, Office 365 seemed to load faster and smoother. The ribbon menu can be collapsed or expanded as needed. When you open up Word, Excel, PowerPoint or Publisher, you'll find a selection of templates on the left side of the screen instead of just a blank document, which is just an extra click away.

What follows are some subjective notes about the various components found within this Office 365 Home Premium suite. I won't attempt to go too heavy into each of these as one could write a full review on most of the modules by themselves, but consider these as observations found from a few weeks use.

◆ SkyDrive:

I like SkyDrive and have been using it for some time. This has been integrated quite well within Office 365 Home Premium, and has built in resilience against jittery Internet connections. Should you should lose your connectivity while working on a file opened from a SkyDrive account, Office 365 saves it temporarily on your local hard drive before synchronizing with SkyDrive at a later point in time. And what is good is that it syncs quite well so that you can retrieve/edit documents (or images) from other computers once you're logged in.

◆ Word:

The features for Word have remained largely the same as those in Office 2007 and those that I've found working on clients' Office 2010 installations. Documents often need to be edited after they are written, and Word 2013 makes the editing process easier with such new features such as the ability to edit PDF files. Previously, you needed to install third-party software, such as Adobe Acrobat. This was available to those of us who have been running Word for Mac 2011 where it does a respectable job, but is new to the PC version. Have not had much time to play with it, but if it works as well as the Mac version, then this will be a big help.

Among the new additions that I've found are that you can watch embedded videos right there within the document, and without having to go to a different application. If you work with collaborative documents, you can reply within comments and those replies will be displayed in threaded conversation style.

◆ Excel:

On a personal note, I have had a love/hate relationship with spreadsheet programs in general since the days of Microsoft Multiplan and Lotus 1-2-3, both of which are distant history now. That being said, Excel has been a program of choice for years now, and one that I've used to input table data into Word and as a flat file database for quite some time. Entering data into spreadsheets can be a tedious and boring chore, so the downward fill feature in Excel that allows you automatically fill the cells in each row with the same number by dragging down has been an ally.

But now there's a new Flash Fill feature that recognizes patterns in your data functions, then automatically fills in the rest of the spreadsheet, and complex formulas are not necessary. You can make it automatically format names the same way (such as last, first, middle initial) just by giving it some examples. Phone numbers can be converted to a uniform format, such as (212) 555-1212, and restore the leading zero to zip codes is a breeze. Look for the Flash Fill button on the Data tab and try it. It's well worth it.

◆ OneNote:

This is probably one of the most overlooked and underrated components of the Office suites. First encountered it in Office 2007, and it became a handy way to keep simple notes and such, but it was limited. The new version will allow you to embed Excel spreadsheets and see the preview within your note. When you update the spreadsheet, the preview automatically updates, as well. Searching within OneNote is better, as you can now search for words that are embedded in graphics files.

◆ PowerPoint:

There's a new, cleaner look to PowerPoint. You can start a new presentation using a theme, a template, an older presentation or a more recent one, as well as a blank one. New users should find PowerPoint 2013 to be more intuitive than older versions, and those who are experienced PowerPoint pros will find that everything seems to go smoother. I pulled up some old presentations, including one that was from the late 1990s, and found that doing a few edits was a very smooth process. The themes now come with variations, so tightening up on the look you want is simpler.

◆ Outlook:

There's an openness to this upgraded version. Outlook is a powerful module, but it will take new users a bit of time to learn to navigate among all of the functions and to understand the numerous toolbar icons, as I found out when showing mine to a colleague. I've been using Outlook under Office for Mac 2011 on a MacBook Pro, and never had an issue with Outlook on the OS X platform. I'm currently trying to sync the two versions as much as possible.

◆ Publisher:

I personally use Publisher infrequently at this point. Like the other modules in Office 365, you'll find a selection of templates on the left side of the screen instead of just a blank document.

◆ Access:

The Office Access relational database management system was a product that at one time was a favorite when I was converting over from dBase III many years ago. Speaking honestly, I have not accessed this module, and pardon the pun.

◆ Annoyances & Irritants:

My primary gripe with the new Office suites has to do with the full ALL CAPS menu tabs, and I'm trying my best to see if I can learn to adapt or if I'll change it. As noted earlier, I don't like the "new" Microsoft Metro style being jammed down my throat without the option to change it easily. It's essentially the same one that we find on the Office pages on the Web. There is a workaround, but it must be done in each individual Office 2013 module that you use: go to File > Options > Customize Ribbon, then use the Rename button on each one of the main menu items listed in the right pane under Customize the Ribbon. Instead of changing the name, however, add a space to the end of the name, and then click OK. When you return to the Home tab, the ribbon menu items will be displayed in a title case, with only the first letter capitalized. You can also go back to the ALL CAPS default by resetting them.

◆ Suggestions:

Putting this simply, if you're happy with Office 2007 or 2010, you may want to weigh your choices between the various versions here, read some of the reviews that best apply to your own needs, then decide whether you wish to keep the earlier version or go for the upgrade. My decision to try Office 365 was based on the fact that it was going to be a 'clean' install on a new Windows 8 PC and that I had a year to use it and see if it was worth the subscription, or if it might be better to go with a 'regular' license for another version. My installation went smoothly and it works well; your results may differ from mine.

I have not tried an installation on a Windows 7 PC to date, but have been largely impressed with how well it runs on a standard, out-of-the-box Windows 8 PC. Please note: this review will be dynamic in that as I find experiences worth sharing, be they pro or con, they will be appended to this review. Other findings or additional resources may be listed in the comments.

◆ Summary:

Office 365 Home Premium as a one year subscription for five users/computers has proven to be an interesting choice for my needs as noted in this review. Please keep in mind that with such a program, your needs and mine may differ, as we each use such office suites in different fashions. Currently I'll rate this suite at a solid 4-star product that can be recommended on the Windows 8 platform.

9/30/2013
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 265 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Office 365 Home 1yr Subscription Key Card
Office 365 Home 1yr Subscription Key Card by Microsoft Software (Mac OS X, Windows 7 / 8)
$99.99 $63.23
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.