Customer Reviews


458 Reviews
5 star:
 (223)
4 star:
 (97)
3 star:
 (47)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (63)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


129 of 132 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works Perfect
It may have had some bugs before (which is probably why it has some low reviews) but the current version works smoothly with OS X Lion. I had no problems installing it or putting in the product code. Microsoft Word, Excel, and Powerpoint all work just like they do on windows and docs/presentations/spreadsheets can be transfered to windows computers. So far I've had no...
Published on November 5, 2011 by Kevin

versus
61 of 65 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stay with Office 2008
Office 2011 makes Office 2008 look good. The installation went OK, but then the problems began with many annoyances that prevented me from being productive. For example, in Word, it would not see embedded graphics created with earlier versions of Word, unless the graphics were saved in the earlier document with wrapping other than "in line with text". Another example is...
Published on March 22, 2011 by Polar Bear ME


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

129 of 132 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works Perfect, November 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Office for Mac Home & Student 2011 - 1 Pack [Old Version] (Software)
It may have had some bugs before (which is probably why it has some low reviews) but the current version works smoothly with OS X Lion. I had no problems installing it or putting in the product code. Microsoft Word, Excel, and Powerpoint all work just like they do on windows and docs/presentations/spreadsheets can be transfered to windows computers. So far I've had no problems with any of the 3 and am very pleased with my purchase. A must have for all Mac users.

Do note that it comes with Word, Powerpoint and Excel. If you want Outlook you need another version that includes it or you can but this version and buy Outlook later. This version will give you the Outlook icon when you install the other 3 and if you click on it you have the option to buy Outlook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 65 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stay with Office 2008, March 22, 2011
By 
Polar Bear ME (Brunswick, ME, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Office for Mac Home & Student 2011 - 1 Pack [Old Version] (Software)
Office 2011 makes Office 2008 look good. The installation went OK, but then the problems began with many annoyances that prevented me from being productive. For example, in Word, it would not see embedded graphics created with earlier versions of Word, unless the graphics were saved in the earlier document with wrapping other than "in line with text". Another example is that many formatting commands that are easily accessible in the toolbar and formatting palette of earlier versions of MS Office are not so in the ribbon of Office 2011. In addition, the toolbar in Word 2011 for no apparent reason grays out and is unusable forcing you to use the ribbon. If you want to use canned Microsoft templates, the ribbon is fine, but it is inflexible and hogs space on a small laptop screen. I finally threw up my hands, removed Office 2011 completely, held my nose and reinstalled Office 2008. When I really need to be productive, I still use Office 2004, which is better by far than the subsequent versions. Don't waste your money on the current version of Office and more importantly, don't waste your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use and familiar, November 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Office for Mac Home & Student 2011 - 1 Pack [Old Version] (Software)
I recently got a Mac, and had to make the hard decision of choosing Microsoft Office or iWorks. After downloading the trial of both products and trying them out the decision was clear, and I purchased Office For Mac 2011. They both have a similar template chooser which starts with the product (I disabled this, since I like going straight to a new document), and they both serve their purpose (Word, Excel, PowerPoint like programs). Office for Mac 2011 works really well, I have not had any bugs, or weird behavior (except the cursor blinks very slow, it sometimes seems to not be their, however you can change a PLIST file to speed this up). I like the ribbon interface, since I am using this now instead of Office 2010 for Window, I was quite familiar with it. The ribbon is very similar to the Windows version and the themes are quite similar (if not the same). If you are use to that pop up menu when you highlight items in 2010 you will not find it here (unless it is somewhere in settings), which is fine with me, since that always seemed to just get in the way. You can save in nearly all formats that Windows Office can (DOC, DOCX, PDF...) same for Excel and PowerPoint. My main decision to choose Office over iWorks is the inclusion of an Equation editor (which is available in Word under Document Elements) which allows you to enter an equation and use easy Structures or math symbols to create a professional scientific document with references and equations (something that costs extra in iWorks), this is identical to Office for Windows (2010) equation Tools. While that is my main reason for choosing over iWorks, I also want to mention that the familiarity you get from going from Windows to Mac Office is great. I can open any program (regardless of fonts or special items), this means documents from work (which all uses Windows) or school (also Windows) can be opened and edited on my Mac and vise versa with out fear of compatibly issues. The autocorrect options that work in the Mac in all Apple based programs are not used (from what I can tell) in Office, instead it resembles that of Windows Office with autocorrect items, and the little drop down to go back or change rules. When you want to edit something you can use the toolboxes (Media or Reference Tools) to import symbols, pictures, clip art or other items into Office for Mac, sort of the like the box that would appear in the right side of Office for Windows. Also, when you install this (or iWorks) you can start using preview to view Documents, Spreadsheets, and Presentations! Once a product that can read the files is installed you can hit SPACE after clicking a file to peak inside and see the entire file, however special characters or equations will not appear, after installing Office for Mac 2011 the Mac associated all files that Office can open with its respective program, super easy and now you can quickly view items to find the right one without opening each item.

In the end this software is easy to use installs easily (insert DVD, accept terms, install, then activate with product key), and gives you all the benefits of a Mac with the familiarity of Office Word, Excel, PowerPoint. I highly like this edition and do not see much difference from office 2010 (Windows) to this Office for Mac 2011; which is exactly what I wanted!!!!

To let you know I am using Office for Mac 2011 (Home & Student [Yellow Box], 1 pack). Using a MacBook Pro (early 2011) Quad Core Intel i7, 8GB of RAM, Mac OS X Lion (10.7.2). Just in case you need to know, when you install the software you also get Messenger and Remote Desktop Connection (I do not use these programs, but I thought you might like to know), also the installer places Outlook on the Launchpad and Dock, however, you cannot run it without upgrading. I do not use Outlook so I did not need it. This edition of Office for Mac comes with Word, Excel and PowerPoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just what it says on the tin, September 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Office for Mac Home & Student 2011 - 1 Pack [Old Version] (Software)
What can I say? It's Office. In fact, it's a fairly accurate Mac port of Windows's Office 2010. For those who became accustomed to the Mac-specific workflow in Office 2008, you may be disappointed to see that it was scrapped entirely and Office 2011 now has the standard ribbon interface and functionality. For those of you who had to use the PC Office at work, this may be something of a relief -- learned operations now cross over between platforms.

As of this writing (September 2011), Office 2011 does not have OS X Lion functionality such as full-screen and autosave. If you care, hold off on buying, as Microsoft has assured us that an update to add those functions will eventually be released. The program works just fine in Lion; it simply runs as though the OS was Snow Leopard.

The reality is that, as of today, iWork doesn't cut it for professional work. It can't do the heavy lifting. You can't write high-end academic work in it because its reference handling is woefully deficient, and you can't write anything that includes extensive tables and charts because neither Pages nor Numbers will render certain elements properly. So, despite being more elegant, intuitive, easier to use and more transparent, iWork isn't an option on the table. Right now, if you're doing serious publishing or spreadsheeting work and you don't want to drop a mortgage payment to get Pagemaker... your options are Office or nothing. It's tough to get paid while you're using nothing, so Office it is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


94 of 110 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BETA product at premium price, September 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Office for Mac Home & Student 2011 - 1 Pack [Old Version] (Software)
Having worked with Office 2003 for PC since beta, Word, Excel and PP 2011 feels more refined and a bit more cohesive...barely.

Word, Excel and PP are usable, and in some ways a touch more refined than Office 2003 for PC...perhaps that is just the Mac itself. Overall 2011 is, with only small variations, the same product as 2003. If you require Microsoft specific, detailed functionality then you are likely used to Microsoft and will get something that is all too familiar. If you are not a power user then you might want to try Pages and Numbers from Apple which will cause you much less pain for your effort and feel more like Mac products.

As of the latest updates at the time of this review there appears to be a memory leak in Word that causes it to freeze and requires a Force Quit. When restarted, the "recovered" document is 2 or 3 manual saves behind the actual saved document. So if this happens to you, check your saved version against the "recovered" version to see which is more accurate before assuming that the recovered file is doing you any favors. Having worked with Microsoft products for too many years I instinctively "save" my work with every 2 or 3 changes...like taking a breath between thoughts.

They have incorporated some of the Mac programming standards and ignored others. This doesn't make the software bad but it does provide a user experience that unintuitive at times for those used to a Mac workflow.

Formatting in Word appears to work more consistently, though Microsoft's anticipation of user intent is still very annoying and generally wrong....as seen with copy/paste, especially when bullets or numbering is involved. I generally turn off as much of this as possible and just update the formatting manually.

As I said before, Office 2011 is only a slight variation on 2003. All the apps in 2003 required some coding to mitigate the clunkiness of some routines....2011 has only improved mildly on this. Running a Microsoft application on a Mac highlights Microsoft's inability to design a user experience that is based on the "user"...especially different users. Microsoft's UI is typical of a developer/Microsoft centric view of functionality. The Ribbon menu system exemplifies this best of all. It is well organized, like a big walk-in closet that rigidly holds ALL of your belongings. But one shouldn't have to dig through a walk-in closet to get the TV remote control every time they wish to change channels. Microsoft, through the Ribbon, has forced their single use perception of organization on a product that has much more functionality than they seem to understand. Most users have routines specific to their jobs and therefore use only a subset of the menu items. The Ribbon design is unintelligent (not context sensitive) and would be better suited as a tool for aiding in the creation of user/task oriented menus than for actual day to day work. The Ribbon is overkill for the casual user and a tiresome pain in the arse for power users. I had read online that the Ribbon design was result of a legal effort to thwart knockoffs. That makes sense as those that copy usually copy only the good parts...I don't think Microsoft should ever fear others copying their Ribbon mistake.

VBA code that i have used for years with 2003 has transferred over nicely, though there are issues running the code on docs created with 2003. Docs created with 2011 haven't displayed any major issues.

Having only used the entire 2011 suite for a few weeks, I have not been able to put Excel and PP through any in-depth testing. I have used XLS files created in 2003 that contain tons of complex formulas and so far have seen no issues...though I have not tested any files yet that contain more rows than one should reasonably use in a spread sheet. Also, I have not tested the pivot table functionality. I read where someone was complaining about Pivot tables in 2011, don't remember details, but if you are using large amounts of data with a Pivot table you should seriously look into dumping the data to SQL Server or at least Access and not expect the Microsoft Pivot table to function like a full blown BI app.

If you are a long time Microsoft product user then you know that they have not refined as much as they have repackaged over the past 15 years or so. I was very excited about the release of Office 2007 because I had identified numerous things in Office 2003 that could easily be improved upon, then I actually used it...reality can suck at times. Word and Excel are probably the 2 most powerful office products on the market. Instead of refining, improving and innovating on a solid functionality that was released over 10 years ago Microsoft has chosen to just tart up the old product hoping that no one notices the lazy effort. They seemed to have created better products back when their competition was Wordperfect and Lotus 123. Unfortunately they have had very little serious competition for the Office suite since the late 90's. Most newer, web based products are watered down in functionality and fine for casual users. But if your job and tasks are more complex Microsoft Office is still the only game in town....for now. Hopefully Apple's swelling presence will force them to actually work on their Office products, innovate and improve them, not just repackage.

Overall, I can use Word, Excel and PP. I am used to being frustrated with Microsoft products and the 2011 release hasn't yet exceeded my exercized patience. As with all Microsoft products, save and back up your work frequently....Office 2011 doesn't take advantage of Lion's versioning capabilities. I typically work with Word documents that are 100 - 200 pages long, include tables, indexes, cross-references, bullets, numbering, header/footer content, etc. I work with Excel files that at times would be better suited for a database and/or some BI software. There are not a lot of choices on the market when it comes to meeting these types of demands. If this were Microsoft's 2nd or 3rd release I would give them 5 stars and highly anticipate their next efforts. Instead, this is a product that Microsoft started almost 30 years ago, and it leaves me feeling like Chief Dan George's character in The Outlaw Josie Wales when told to "Endeavor to persevere". If only I could attack.

NOTE: I tested Outlook 2011 for several weeks and found it to be completely incompetent. This was a major disappointment to me as I had high hopes for Outlook to have become more solid and refined vs the 8 year old version I was running on my PC. They finally ditched the PST files system (at least on OSX), and searches...when they worked...were very fast. But the folder structure is a bit disjointed and the UI didn't always acurately reflect the folder contents or actions that you selected from the menu. It is very disconcerting when you mail just disappears without the help of David Blaine. It became unresponsive numerous times. I tried Microsoft's steps for rebuilding the file DB but that only lost data....and the tone of the help file seemed to lean toward a fatalist outcome to begin with so there was no comfort there. Outlook 2003 had a useless search functionality if you retained email, notes and tasks to support your work. If your PST file was ever corrupted you would likely lose some something, though finding out what was lost was informed by chance. That said, if you need Outlook, user any other version than 2011....it couldn't handle the basics without crapping out and losing data. I'm not sure if the product manager for Outlook just didn't give a crap or Microsoft just needed some turd, any turd to put in a box and sell, but Outlook was a waste of my time and a disgraceful code release. Again, for casual users, there are tons of free options and what comes with Lion is more than capable.

UPDATE 10/20/11: Word still crashes often. Manual Saves are a must. I have found macros related to cross-references do not work with files created in Office 2003 compatible format....reformatting doesn't solve the the problem either. My other macros work...so far. And my cross-reference macros are highly specialized, but still there is some incompatibility that screws with the code. The issues with the macros seem to be related to memory management.....I suspect the crashes are related to memory issues as well.

UPDATE 12/02/11: Still no movement by Microsoft to stop the bleeding. CONSTANT memory problems. CONSTANT stream of reports sent to Apple and Microsoft.....though this is obviously not an issue caused by Apple. Word Locks up daily requiring a Force Quit, or it just crashes on its own. The "recovered" file is NEVER as up to date as the last physical save...again, seems to be memory issues. This is THE ONLY application on my Mac that crashes. I have down graded this to 1 star. It is usable as long as you manually save your document after every edit....and you don't mind the forced intermissions...and you can live with some of the other slights it provides. I design software for a living and have worked in IT for many years....this product should be an enormous embarrassment to all those that took it to market. This is obviously still a BETA product at best. With so many great applications being written for Mac you have to wonder if MS does this on purpose. I will continue to use Office because it is the only option at this time. But if you are not REQUIRED to use MS then I suggest you use any other product out there in order to save yourself some headaches.

UPDATE 12/15/11: MS just issued an update. Still having same memory/force quit issues with Word. The "Recovered" document seems to lag behind the last physical save....which at times doesn't work. This continues to be a BETA product. If you have a choice, purchase ANY other product. MS seems to have given up on producing quality controlled software.

UPDATE 05/29/2012: I assume the positive reviews for this product are based on casual usage....again, for that I would recommend OpenOffice.org or iWorks as one is free and the other is better integrated with OSX. Should you purchase MS Office have Force Quit at the ready for those times when Word refuses to crash and disappear on its own and instead displays the spinning wheel of death. It still locks or crashes completely everyday, generally when performing some copy/paste operation. MS PowerPoint seems to be the most stable out of the office family on Mac. I find it amusing that instead of fixing the current problems MS has elected to instead release a new version soon. I assume that, like bugs that have existed in SQL Server for many years, they they will just propagate old bugs to the new product and hope no one notices. Microsoft's lack of innovation and quality control are quite obvious over the last several years. Perhaps Bill Gates should do some humanitarian work with his own company and either revive it or put it out of its misery. I used to get very excited about new versions of MS products. Now I can't wait to remove them from my computer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


93 of 109 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy this software, December 30, 2010
By 
Karin Slaughter (Atlanta, Georgia, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Office for Mac Home & Student 2011 - 1 Pack [Old Version] (Software)
Running Word 2011 on a Macbook Air, I watched a 400+ page document turn completely into asterisks. Every single character. *********** I tried to undo typing with no luck (sometimes a word would show up, sometimes a sentence, but always the asterisks and never my entire document). I tried to copy and paste into a new document so I could reformat. I tried to autorecover--the entire Word 2011 autorecovery file was empty, though I've been using the update since it came out. I tried to use the auto back-up file from my desktop (for some reason, it only had data saved from two months ago). I called customer support (1-800 Microsoft), was disconnected twice, and finally emailed the pasted file to a woman who told me that the file was corrupted, that she had never heard of this happening before, and then she proceeded to lecture me about saving. When I told her that I hit save every five or ten minutes, back up to ME (cloud) twice a day, and that the data lost went back about an hour, she said maybe I should burn a disk as often as I can. And then I killed her. (Okay, I didn't kill her, but when I told her to have a good day, I didn't mean it BECAUSE I KNEW IT WAS NIGHT TIME IN INDIA WHEN I CALLED)

I am not normally the type to write product reviews, but I really felt compelled to warn others about this problem. I am back to my old Word program now. I don't trust 2011 not to crap out on me. This is absolutely the most frustrating and annoying thing that Microsoft has ever done to me. And that is saying a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


91 of 107 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unstable! Beware!, November 29, 2010
By 
RonAnnArbor (Ann Arbor, MI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Office for Mac Home & Student 2011 - 1 Pack [Old Version] (Software)
I don't know what happened between the last version of Office (which I hate, but use) and this new version (which I also hate, and ended up deleting and going back to old version) -- it is completely unstable.

This is not new to MS Office for Mac -- earlier versions (2004 etc) also crashed regularly, without saving your data, causing heartache and loss of data. That was generally fixed with MSO:M 2008 -- but guess what, the problem is back in MSO:M 2011 --

Very unstable - frequent crashes, and ultimately I had to delete this completely from my mac and reinstall my older versions of MS Office.

Not ready for prime time (even though it looks nice once you open Word or Excel). I would avoid this for now until we hear if this is fixed in future updates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Frequent Crashes, September 19, 2011
By 
Nico (Philadelphia PA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Office for Mac Home & Student 2011 - 1 Pack [Old Version] (Software)
-The Good: Nice visual interface, some new functionalities are good additions, great compatibility with PC-made Office files (the only selling point that forced me to buy it);
-The Bad: High price. Most people don't use 40% of all the functionalities yet they pay full price. If I did not need perfect compatibility with my PC-using colleagues, I would have gone with the Apple softwares, which are enough for me and cheaper.
-The Ugly: I have at least one crash every single day, losing data and/or wasting time cleaning up the "recovered files". It looks like it happens often when I am Copying & Pasting several times in a row.
Overall, is it worth $120+? Heck no.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Letdown, November 29, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Office for Mac Home & Student 2011 - 1 Pack [Old Version] (Software)
I eagerly anticipated the release of the new MS Office for Mac, but so far I have found nothing worth cheering about at all. In fact, the PowerPoint presenter feature doesn't work right at all on my MacBook Pro, and two universities' projection systems. I have been forced to use the old 2008 version which still works on those same said projection systems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No Analysis Tool Pack, December 3, 2010
This review is from: Office for Mac Home & Student 2011 - 1 Pack [Old Version] (Software)
I remember when live was beautiful, everything was easy and amazing and you can do many statistical analysis in Excel, need a ANOVA analysis, no problem my Excel can do it, a regression analysis, no problem I can do it, and histogram or a uniform distribution, don't worried I can do that too. This happy days happened a long time ago in 2004. Then Microsoft lunch Office 2008 without warning us about the elimination of the visual basic in the new Excel spreadsheet, so many of us buy it and suddenly find we can not use macros, solver and the analysis tool pack, in other words all the coolest things that make Excel spreadsheet better than Open Office or Numbers or whatever. Then we have no other choice to remove the 2008 and install 2004 again what a joke and a total disrespectful way to treated us. Then we wait a long three years to see the come back of the visual basic in Excel, many wait patiently and when finally Microsoft announce this magnificent event is the year 2011 and surprise, surprise this 2011 office DON'T HAVE THE ANALYSIS TOOL PACK!!!!!!!
Come on!!!!!!!!! What happen with you guys in MacBu unit, what are you thinking my God, is anyone there pay attention in what we want or we have to wait another 3 years to see now the come back of the Analysis Tool Pack, come on, are you kidding, is this a terrible and sickness joke? And don't tell me I can use the garbage piece of crap StatPlus:mac LE. I want a native Excel program that runs in Excel in the same workbook I been using, come on I so angry, we wait for 3 years and this is what we get!!!!!!!! What a way to screw your costumers, I want my money back!!!!!! Why you just can't do it right for once in your live?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Office for Mac Home & Student 2011 - 1 Pack [Old Version]
$149.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.