Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


84 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible for coin collectors
This book, simply put, is an absolute neccessity for all coin collectors. With Kenneth Bresset editing the book and Q. David Bowers narrating it, the book has to be awesome. It has, among many other things, The basic ANA Grading techniques, Key to official ANA Grading Standards: Circulation Strike Coins; Key to official ANA Grading Standards: Proof Coins, Advanced Grading...
Published on October 12, 2005 by Thomas K. Spangler

versus
27 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst book from Whitman ever
The black and white photo's look like photocopies of photocopies.
And to add insult to everyone, the book is printed in CHINA...
Whitman has sunk to a new low on this one.
Buy any other book other than this one if you really want to use it.
The poorest book that Whitman has ever offered, lets hope it's not their
standard for the future.
Published on February 22, 2009 by R. Savilonis


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

84 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible for coin collectors, October 12, 2005
This review is from: The Official American Numismatic Association Grading Standards for United States Coins (Hardcover-spiral)
This book, simply put, is an absolute neccessity for all coin collectors. With Kenneth Bresset editing the book and Q. David Bowers narrating it, the book has to be awesome. It has, among many other things, The basic ANA Grading techniques, Key to official ANA Grading Standards: Circulation Strike Coins; Key to official ANA Grading Standards: Proof Coins, Advanced Grading Techniques, A closer focus on certain aspects of grading and the official ANA grading standards for each coin type. From AG-3 to MS-70. It also has notes that warn you about different things to look for in certain types of coins. Buy this book, you definately will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANA Grading Standards, July 5, 2006
This review is from: The Official American Numismatic Association Grading Standards for United States Coins (Hardcover-spiral)
EXCELLENT book for those trying to learn to grade there coins. I HIGHLY reccomend this item. Details every grade, and what characteristics it take for the coin to make the grade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, August 13, 2010
By 
Elvis (Alive In Utah) (salt lake city, Utah United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Official American Numismatic Association Grading Standards for United States Coins (Hardcover-spiral)
This is a great book for grading and an absolute must for anyone looking to invest in coins. Especially, the circulated grades. I read the comment someone else wrote about the pictures. Actually, I had the same reaction the first time I saw this book and ended-up purchasing a photo grade book with great pictures. But the problem with photo grading books is that they do not go into as much detail regarding the grading. That is where this book comes in. I would highly recommend purchasing both a photo grading book and this book.

I'm sure everyone has at one time purchased a coin in a slab (PCGS, NGC, etc...) and thought, "How did they come-up with this grade? When I look at the coin, it looks like it should get a higher grade." Purchase this book and see if you still feel that way after checking the grade using the guidelines in this book. You will probably start to understand why the coin in the slab you are looking at received the respective grade.

Look at it this way: You can learn how to grade coins with the purchase of this book & a good photo grade book and a little experience. Alternatively, you can skip the book, make a few mistakes and learn through the cost of the mistakes. Either way, if you are going to become a serious collector, sooner or later you will purchase a book like this.

It is your choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Grading Guide, March 10, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Official American Numismatic Association Grading Standards for United States Coins (Hardcover-spiral)
Easy to understand and use. Photos extremely helpful. Essential tool for novice and experienced collector alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book Available On Coin Grading But Could Be Better, October 13, 2006
This is an excellent resource book for grading coins, however I feel that it would be far more useful if all of the photographs used in the description of coins, were in high definition glossy color. I realize that doing so would likely double or triple the price of the book, but it would be highly useful if the photographs of coins were of the same quality as is the description of them. I gave this book 5 stars because I believe that it is the best one available on the market, however, if another publisher comes out with an all color, high definition photograph coin grading book, this one would likely take a back seat to that one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A powerful grading guide that will be your best friend, January 14, 2010
This review is from: The Official American Numismatic Association Grading Standards for United States Coins (Hardcover-spiral)
I bought this book because I needed a really superior helper in grading coins. I have two other books, which I love and from which I derive a good deal of help. But this guide goes way beyond them. This guide shows you the primary and secondary focal points -- the areas you need to really watch and check for hairlines and marks, spots, etc. It tells you how many contact marks and what type are acceptable in all areas of grades. It tells you what sort of hairlines and how many are allowed, the type of luster or lack of luster and the eye appeal needed within each grade.

Moreover, it covers all grades, such as MS-70 thru MS-60 and all the AU and EF grades, etc.

This is a hardback spiral bound book, which makes it very easy to reference as needed. If you collect coins or invest in coins, you need this book. That doesn't negate your need for other references. But this is the holy grail and I highly recommend it.

I also recommend Grading Coins by Photographs, which will help you to quickly grade a coin, even if you're buying it online.

- Susanna K. Hutcheson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing but the best, May 29, 2007
If you want the true grade and able to judge the true value of a coin, you need to be able to grade according to ANA standards yourself. There is no better book than this, with clear explanations and pictures. I buy and sell a lot of coins, and I use this book many times a week and recommend it to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great., March 20, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Terrific book and an improvement over previous editions. Still, I think it is a SERIOUS oversight that 4 very commonly used grades, VF25, VF35, AU53 and AU58 are not covered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful guide to help you understanding how to grade a coin., March 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Official American Numismatic Association Grading Standards for United States Coins (Hardcover-spiral)
Very helpful guide to help you understanding how to grade a coin. Although still subjective it is very useful in giving an general idea on how to recognize a grade especially from good to Almost uncirculated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ANA Grading Standards for United States Coins, July 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Official American Numismatic Association Grading Standards for United States Coins (Hardcover-spiral)
this book was just what i wanted the only gripe i have was the pictures of coins was not taken with a digital camera and some of the decription they talked about was hard to see
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Official American Numismatic Association Grading Standards for United States Coins
$16.95 $14.40
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.