Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
26
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$8.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 17, 2015
great to have a pocket size book to refer to, when into a serious baseball game, and wonder what the official rules REALLY say about a play,that might need a second glance! Small book, hence small print, but worth the purchase!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2014
This is a great little book. One thing I like is that it is about the size of my palm which makes it easy to fit into a pocket to take on games. It also reads very straightforward. It is arranged logically and offers lots of good examples of how a rule in question is interpreted. The construction of the book including a high-gloss cover and heavy stock pages make it a durable manual to last the entire season. A nice resource!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2014
As a little league Knothole umpire who plays in accordance with MLB rules this is exactly what I needed.
Sorry, I accidently clicked on the wrong star rating at first. I meant to give it 5 stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2014
This is probably the most poorly organized and written publications; on top of which, it is extremely short and sketchy, giving very few interpretations of how the rules are to be applied in the innumerable different ways issues can come up in games.
Nevertheless, it is what it is, and as it is the most current official MLB rule book, I recommend that you buy it.
But if you want an plain-language explanation of the rules and how they apply in virtually every conceivably circumstance--one that is extremely well-organized and written, and is also an official MLB publication--I recommend very strongly that you also purchase the "Major League Baseball's Official Rules and Interpretations plus League Umpire's Guide and Instructions," nicknamed, for obvious reasons, "Make the Right Call." It is available on Amazon.
For some unfathomable reason, MLB only published this classic sporadically--as far as I can tell, most recently in 2001. But that edition is almost impossible to obtain. Amazon sells the 1994 version, the next most recent.
Aside from the new rules about video review of certain umpire calls and the earlier rules about performance-enhancing drugs, the essential rules of the game have not changed since 1994. So this 1994 official MLB publication, "Make the Right Call," is an invaluable gem that will teach you more about every detailed aspect of the game than you could ever find elsewhere. Buy it, it's cheap, you can buy it used, you won't regret it, it will be one of the best purchases you have ever made.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2014
I finally got what I was looking for when I got this rule book. These are all the rules that are in MLB at this time. As a baseball junkie, I love this book!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2014
Updated to include the recent rule changes involving instant replay, collisions, and interference. Handy size--fits easily into a pocket. Essential for any umpire, coach, or student of the game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2014
Yeah, there are all kinds of books out there about the rules of baseball, but regardless of which one you want, you still need to get the REAL book of baseball rules.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2014
It's a rule book. Hard to find answers many times because I never know where the answers are hidden. But all the answers are there if you know where to look.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2014
This is the book to get to answer any questions you have about baseball rules. Small booklet size but perfect to keep handy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2014
Excellent. The OBR is a must have for all umpires to have in their library. A go to reference for all baseball enthusiasts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.