Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helping hand
Good for looking up words if you already have an idea of what tiles you want to use. I play online and it's a good helper, but I think it would waste time looking for words during a board game.
Published on January 30, 2010 by Bob Evans

versus
79 of 79 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Listless Word-Finder
This was an extremely frustrating book to read. There were many gaps in the word lists. The two letter word list only contained 85 of the 96 acceptable two letter words. It was missing ag, ex, hm, mm, mo, mu, ne, uh, um, wo, and xu. All of those words are contained in The Official Scrabble Players Dictionary (1995) but not contained in this 1998 edition based on...
Published on February 10, 2000 by BJWHEELER@PRODIGY.NET


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

79 of 79 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Listless Word-Finder, February 10, 2000
This was an extremely frustrating book to read. There were many gaps in the word lists. The two letter word list only contained 85 of the 96 acceptable two letter words. It was missing ag, ex, hm, mm, mo, mu, ne, uh, um, wo, and xu. All of those words are contained in The Official Scrabble Players Dictionary (1995) but not contained in this 1998 edition based on that dictionary. The Three Letter Words from Two Letter Words also had many gaps. The very first two letter word (AA - cindery lava)only listed BAA, and totally missed AAH, AAL, and AAS. This is just one of many, many, omissions through out the book. The only benefit I found in having the book was in finding some words which contain a particular letter in the middle or the end of the word. But even these lists were incomplete. This book is not worth the investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 61 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars less than one star, February 22, 2000
By 
Renee Hauser (Utah, United States) - See all my reviews
This was an extremely useless book. It lacked many words and was very hard to use. I wish I had read the other reveiw before I bought it. How can this be called "Official" when it is lacking in so much information? For example, DA is listed as a two letter word in the book, but was actually removed from the official dictionary in 1998. And, many words that ARE acceptable in the dictionary are not listed at all. This can really mess a player up. If you want to lose at the game, use this book. Otherwise, just don't buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A great idea... but..., May 23, 2003
By 
James Conley (Sunnyvale, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is a good idea badly executed. The two major flaws are that (1) it is nearly impossible to look things up in it because of a lack of header/footers to tell what section you are in, and (2) it is woefully out-of-date with even the two-letter words being incorrect. I found this out the hard way playing "da" a few too many times.
Fix those two things and include the actual 3-word letter list and you've got a useful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Beware, April 24, 2001
By A Customer
I, too, wish I had read the reviews before buying this useless book. I purchased it thinking it was a different book, an excellent one I recall from the 1980s, that actually had useful lists. In addition to the problems mentioned by other reviewers, I warn that the print in this book is very tiny, jammed together, and somewhat blurred.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not helpful, January 4, 2003
By 
I found this book to be close to useless--extremely hard to figure out how it's supposed to be organized, close to impossible to find anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this book, November 13, 2002
By 
Benjamin Good (Pittsburgh, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'll add to what's already been written, in case some people are still considering buying it. There's too many legal words missing. Additionally, the author recommends you memorize all the three-letter words, but he doesn't actually list them (except those formed from 2-letter words, and of course his 2-letter word list is inaccurate), as if we're never going to need to make 3-letter words in a game.
Don't let 'Official' in the title fool you either, this book is not endorsed by the makers of Scrabble or any kind of Scrabble players' organization.
Given what else is out there, this book is to be avoided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Listless Word-Finder, February 10, 2000
This was an extremely frustrating book to read. There were many gaps in the word lists. The two letter word list only contained 85 of the 96 acceptable two letter words. It was missing ag, ex, hm, mm, mo, mu, ne, uh, um, wo, and xu. All of those words are contained in The Official Scrabble Players Dictionary (1995) but not contained in this 1998 book based on that dictionary. The Three Letter Words from Two Letter Words also had many gaps. The very first two letter word (AA - cindery lava)only listed BAA, and totally missed AAH, AAL, and AAS. This is just one of many, many, omissions through out the book. The only benefit I found in having the book was in finding some words which contain a particular letter in the middle of the end of the word. But even these lists were incomplete. This book is not worth the investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dissappointed, June 26, 2009
unfortunatly when I ordered this product I understood it was a full word finder for scrabble, but it is not, it does not have all words starting with vowels e.g.e a i o u in fact it doesnt have any catergory at all with words starting with vowels very dissappointing , secondly i only ordered one copy and recievied 2 which I had to pay for and cant get any one to but it even as a second hand book, as the old saying goes once bitten twice shied and I am $57.00 (nz) up the creek

Gus Thomas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helping hand, January 30, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good for looking up words if you already have an idea of what tiles you want to use. I play online and it's a good helper, but I think it would waste time looking for words during a board game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor, March 4, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is not user friendly. I was hopeing for more. Better books for Scrabble out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Official Scrabble Word-Finder
The Official Scrabble Word-Finder by Robert W. Schachner (Paperback - May 1988)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.