Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Stephen Kellogg All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Amethyst Jewelry Create an Amazon Wedding Registry Amazon Gift Card Offer jstfd6 jstfd6 jstfd6  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Winter Sports on Amazon.com SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 4, 2004
We used this book to get a clear view of the offshore outsourcing landscape. Making rational decisions regarding offshore outsourcing has become very complex with multiple business models, processes, countries, and vendors. Everyday the landscape is getting more difficult to follow (let alone create a strategy for) as new capabilities, partnerships and developments are brought to market.
We used this book to establish a foundation of basic understanding for the management team. This book is an excellent introductory guide that is easy to understand. The examples and case studies illustrate the key points well.
Highly recommend this book to companies who are beginning to think about offshore outsourcing. After reading this book you will be in a better position to evaluate various options.
0Comment7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2004
As a faculty member of a major university, I am constantly being asked about Offshore Outsourcing and its impact on post MBA career opportunities in Information Systems. As a result of this explosion of student interest in this topic, I recently decided to include a module about Offshore Outsourcing into my Information Systems course.
The challenge was finding the right book that gave the MBA student the managerial perspective of what's going on. I wanted a book that covered the impact of offshoring on different business processes such as Finance and Accounting, Customer Relationship Management and Human Resources. Most of the books in the market are either too shallow and don't really cover the basics well.
This book by Robinson and Kalakota, the duo that brought us the classic: E-Business 2.0 -- Roadmap for Success is perfect for MBA and Executive MBA students. The book begins with a clear analysis of the different offshore business models and the landscape of business processes that are candidate for offshoring. It then expounds on each business process in the right amount of depth for students.
Highly recommend this book as a supplement for MBA and Exec MBA students. This book certainly solves my problem of having to copy a lot of newspaper and magazine articles and putting them into a student packet.
0Comment8 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2004
I found this book to be much more packed with information than I had anticipated. I think the title is misleading in the sense that it is not just about offshore outsourcing but really more about business process outsourcing (such as finance and accounting, human resources and call centers).

There is a strategy chapter that lays out the decision-making process and project management steps involved in outsourcing. There is also a chapter on vendor sourcing and selection that is very in-depth. The book also devotes a whole chapter on country options such as China, Mexico, the Philippines, India, Canada, Russia, Ireland and South Africa.

The business model chapter explains options for outsourcing such as BOT (build, operate, transfer) or joint ventures. It explains the delivery options such as onsite, nearshore and offshore that companies can explore.

Overall I would recommend this book to anyone who wants a better understanding of business process outsourcing or offshore outsourcing.
0Comment8 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2004
As a manager of a call center, I used this book to gain a better understanding of business process outsourcing. This book presents a thorough description of what processes are being outsourced, to where, and who are the leading vendors. It also includes information on the strategy methodology for outsourcing, selecting a vendor and choosing a country.
One of my favorite chapters is the business model chapter. We currently outsource some of our call center work to Canada and are considering making changes. This chapter was helpful in understanding the choices and nuances of the different outsourcing business models.
Although I was most interested in the customer care chapter, I also found the other chapters on specific processes very informative (IT, HR, F&A, and transaction processing). The book has numerous case studies that are very helpful and interesting.
Highly recommend this book to companies who want to understand offshore outsourcing.
0Comment8 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2004
This is a balanced book that not only informs, but provides examples of what and how companies are offshoring. In spite of all the hype surrounding offshore outsourcing, and the negativity, there is no denying the fact that laws of economics will always play out in the global marketplace, which we have embraced.
A good informative book, easy to read too!
0Comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2004
This is a balanced book that provides a solid overview of business process outsourcing. It provides both the good and the bad about offshore outsourcing. It also has many useful examples of companies that are outsourcing.
The book is well organized and provides in-depth information about HR, F&A, call centers, and back office outsourcing. There is also helpful details on calculating ROI. The authors provide a vast amount of useful information in about 300 pages.
If you are like me and trying to understand offshore outsourcing, this is a great book to read.
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2005
I agree with S Gardner. I ended up having to buy another selection on Outsourcing to get what I really needed. This is a great historical and statistical reference manual, but it will not ready you to successfully outsource.

If you're looking for instruction to get you off the block in your outsourcing initatives, move on to other books on the subject.
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2010
This book presents a business process centric view of offshoring which is useful to a mid-level manager, junior managers or even students. If I am an IT manager what can i offshore? If I am a finance person or HR person what do I offshore? The value of the book is more conceptual (how to organize the chaos) than practical hands-on knowhow "what do i do tomorrow?"

It is also a perspective of more where we were (mid 2005 and earlier) than where we are today (mid 2010). To be fair to the authors a lot has happened in this area in the past 5 years. Talent in developed countries is more readily available (5% unemployment to 10% unemployment). Wages are stagnant and much lower (adjusting for inflation).

In fact, offshoring is no longer a one way street. Firms are bringing back certain jobs back to the U.S (homeshoring or backshoring). Certain cities in the U.S. - Indianapolis, Louisville, Kansas City -- are quite competitive with fully loaded costs of India or China. The infrastructure is infinitely better.

Interestingly, near shore operations like Canada are not very practical anymore. The Canadian dollar is worth more than the U.S dollar. Amazing. The labor laws in Canada make it challenging to flex your workforce like the U.S.

So managers need to think a lot more about this cost reduction strategy - what worked 5 years ago as a no-brainer is not working as effectively today. With the economic downturn and new normal, I doubt that strategic advantage can be gained from offshoring anymore.

Economics of offshoring is constantly shifting. We saw a different pattern every decade -- 70s - Japan; 80s - Japan, Korea; 90s - Mexico, Ireland, Malaysia, China; 2000s - China, India, Philippines, Vietnam; 2010s - Africa??
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
At best, this is a compilation and one-off set of the business journal articles of two & three YEARS ago.

Perhaps in 2003 it was the book to get - but now there are too many other great outsourcing books to choose from.

Like other critical buyers have said, "Not worth the cover price". You'll be disappointed you didn't expand your search for more complete and current outsourcing selections.
0Comment6 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2005
Given the hype and fuzziness over offshoring, and sourcing work to offshore locations, any book that has "Offshore Outsourcing" should sell... or that is my guess.

Having just finished reading the book by Ms. Robinson and Kalakota, I began scanning the review comments on Amazon. Though most are overly positive, a few are not. I would tend to agree (though not entirely) with some of the points brought out by S Gardner in his review of the book.

The book is a good primer on offshoring and one should definitely read it if looking forward to '20,000 view of sourcing strategies'. For managers, executives and decision makers looking to research beyond the `overview', there definitely are better sources.

- Mohan Babu
0Comment5 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.