Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Interesting Volume
Reading Hutton is always interesting, as he is such a pivital individual in fencing's transition from the nineteenth to the twentieth century. "Old Sword-Play" gives us a look at fencing's early stages of develpment. For the fencer, it is good to know one's origins. As the author of "The Art and Science of Fencing," and "The Inner Game of...
Published on June 26, 2002 by Anita Evangelista

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for the beginner user.
I am glad that I got this book. Beware that this book does not teach techniques congruent with standard competition European fencing. This book has a focus that one will not find in a traditional European Fencing class or club. The book contains many of the wood-cuts inspired by the "old-world" masters. I was pleased to find such topics as Two-hand sword; Rapier and...
Published 24 months ago by kzinger


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Interesting Volume, June 26, 2002
By 
Anita Evangelista (Springfield, MO USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Old Sword Play: Techniques of the Great Masters (Dover Military History, Weapons, Armor) (Paperback)
Reading Hutton is always interesting, as he is such a pivital individual in fencing's transition from the nineteenth to the twentieth century. "Old Sword-Play" gives us a look at fencing's early stages of develpment. For the fencer, it is good to know one's origins. As the author of "The Art and Science of Fencing," and "The Inner Game of Fencing," and the editor/publisher of FENCERS QUARTERLY MAGAZINE, I recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REAL old school fighting, January 13, 2009
By 
This review is from: Old Sword Play: Techniques of the Great Masters (Dover Military History, Weapons, Armor) (Paperback)
Here are sword techniques of the sixteenth, seventeenth, and eighteenth
centuries for everyone. Hutton addresses the common techniques of these periods clearly and in enough detail that someone with even a basic knowledge of fencing can follow him. The two-handed sword, rapier and dagger, broadsword and buckler, rapier and cloak, dagger and cloak, the case of rapiers, and a variety of techniques for disarming a swordsman are described in detail.

I'm somewhat interested in the two-handed sword, the pairs of weapons, and the blade and shield arrangements, but the disarms are very interesting. They could be better illustrated, but the text is clear enough to follow the movements.

A note for kendoka; the section on two-handed sword techniques might be familiar to you. I find it very interesting how closely the European techniques mirror the Japanese techniques.

Unlike Hutton's earlier work Cold Steel: The Art of Fencing with the Sabre (Dover Books on History, Political and Social Science) this book would have little if any benefit for modern fencers. But any one interested in older sword technique, or someone who is looking to broaden their horizons in combative disciplines could enjoy it.

A great piece of history, and potentially some fun in the salle d'armes or dojo.

E. M. Van Court
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for the beginner user., March 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Old Sword Play: Techniques of the Great Masters (Dover Military History, Weapons, Armor) (Paperback)
I am glad that I got this book. Beware that this book does not teach techniques congruent with standard competition European fencing. This book has a focus that one will not find in a traditional European Fencing class or club. The book contains many of the wood-cuts inspired by the "old-world" masters. I was pleased to find such topics as Two-hand sword; Rapier and dagger; Rapier and cloak; and particularly "the Case of Rapiers." This book is for the person with the experience to decypher the techniques stated, and put to use in a Renaissance combat situation. This book is not for stage-play; re-enactments; or a competition fencer. This book is a direct reprint of Alfred Hutton's 1892 work and requires swordsmandship experience to apply. I'm glad I got it, but would be hard pressed to recommend it to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brisk, Practical, Glossy, November 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Old Sword Play: Techniques of the Great Masters (Dover Military History, Weapons, Armor) (Paperback)
Alfred Hutton's Old Sword Play, I would describe as a gloss of duelling styles as they changed over time with the change of the duelling weapon. While it's useful for quickly and efficiently ingraining the basics of the weapons and their play with spartan pragmatism compared to, say, Castle's Schools and Masters of Defence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars nice sorce material, September 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Old Sword Play: Techniques of the Great Masters (Dover Military History, Weapons, Armor) (Paperback)
as an avid Case of Rapiers practitioner, I was only expecting to utilize a small portion of this text. But in no time at all I found myself looking into every chapter and using it to help my friends further their own studies. It breaks down the styles into fairly easy to follow terms (as much as any other manual I have seen) and is easy to learn from. I really have no complaints other than wishing it were a bit more in depth, but it is perfectly fine as it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Look At History, October 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Old Sword Play: Techniques of the Great Masters (Dover Military History, Weapons, Armor) (Paperback)
Capt Alfred Hutton was one of a handful of men of his day who had an abiding interest in the techniques of historical swordsmanship. He was a sabre fencing instructor in the Royal Army and a member of the Bartitsu club along with Egerton Castle and Arthur Conan Doyle. The work of Hutton, Castle, and men like them were forerunners of today's worldwide interest in what are now being referred to as the 'European Martial Arts.' This book is a good place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This gift was a hit!, December 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Old Sword Play: Techniques of the Great Masters (Dover Military History, Weapons, Armor) (Paperback)
Bought this as a gift for my boyfriend, who is very interested in sword making and sword fighting. It turns out that this is a book he was considering downloading on his Kindle! He loves the illustrations of specific stances!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I got this book as a gift, the Receiver loves it, August 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Old Sword Play: Techniques of the Great Masters (Dover Military History, Weapons, Armor) (Paperback)
I thumbed through this book and admit it is very interesting and has very detailed old illustrations that teach excellent swordplay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, November 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Old Sword Play: Techniques of the Great Masters (Dover Military History, Weapons, Armor) (Paperback)
Is a gift but looks good to me thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb resource for SCA rapier fighters, November 10, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Everything it claims to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Old Sword Play: Techniques of the Great Masters (Dover Military History, Weapons, Armor)
$9.95 $8.78
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.