Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Crown the Empire Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 22, 2001
The stories here cover the gamut from true crime to truly incredible. The "Black Museum" and "Crime Classics" do an excellent job of recreating true life crime stories. "Escape" and "Suspense" provide exactly the type of entertainment their titles suggest.
One really interesting story from the "Suspense" cassette was 'Ghost Hunt', which anticipated "The Blair Witch Project" by approximately fifty years. 'The House on Cypress Canyon Road' served up suspense, pathos, and paradox in equal helpings, and is probably my favorite story of the entire collection.
Arch Oboler's "Lights Out" provides three excellent stories, one suspense, one supernatural, and one ('Murder Castle'), with a seemingly preposterous premise. The seemingly silly premise was, however, based on the career of a true life serial killer. "Murder at Midnight", "The Sealed Book", and "Weird Circle" all have campy introductions but creditable stories.
"Mystery in the Air", starring Peter Lorre, was a summer replacement show that dramatized classic stories. "Quiet Please" turned in a couple of good efforts with 'Pathetic Falacy', about a "thinking machine", and 'Red and White Guidon', which started off looking like a misplaced Western but ended up a quite satisfying tale of the supernatural.
The last tape in the collection, "The Whistler", had three excellent stories with captivating surprise endings. In each episode the narrator trumpeted the fact that the story would have a surprise ending, and in spite of that the stories never failed to surprise and delight.
There are some sour notes in the collection, but all in all, I had sixty hours of listening pleasure from this anthology.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 11, 2002
I can't recommend this one highly enough. From Suspense's "Ghost Hunt" (listen to this one with the lights off and see if the chill bumps don't grab you), to "The Uninvited" (which was made into a movie that's just as creepy as this story), to all 3 of the Inner Sanctum Mysteries - there are just too many good ones to highlight them all. I really haven't found a better collection like this yet, and I think you'll love it too. If you haven't been introduced into how good OTR used to be, then this is a great way to be introduced to it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2003
What a great medium for travel or just to pass the time.I bought this series after listening to old time radio program replays when i could catch them on my car radio.I am from Oklahoma and it was interesting to find that one of the programs that i really enjoyed originated in Oklahoma City.I also enjoyed the commercials which are humorous in todays context but give such a wonderful feel of the bygone era of my parents and grandparents.One commercial concerns sending cigarettes to veterans in a Muskogee,Okla. veterans hospital.I would recommend this series to anyone.It certainly makes a long drive enjoyable and is so much more stimulating and vivid than television.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2005
This deluxe boxed set is the Audio Cassette edition of Radio Spirits' release of "Old-Time Radio's Greatest Mysteries". It's a well-packaged collection of OTR (Old-Time Radio) programs, and is a veritable gold mine of classic radio mystery shows.

Some of the many series that are included on these tapes are: "Quiet Please", "The Shadow", "Inner Sanctum Mysteries", "Lights Out", "Escape", "Murder At Midnight", and, in my opinion, the greatest of all OTR "mystery" shows -- "Suspense". Of the three "Suspense" episodes included in this package, one in particular rises to the top of my "Best Of" list. And that would be a 1950 "Suspense" broadcast entitled "On A Country Road" (which stars Cary Grant). It's a beauty. Remember to turn ALL the lights off before cueing up that one in the cassette player.

This set includes ...............

>> 20 Audio Cassette Tapes (90 minutes each). Each tape includes three episodes from one specific OTR series.

>> 60 total radio programs (all uncut with excellent audio quality).

>> 30 total hours of OTR programming.

>> Plastic-case packaging. It's a "book" type of package, with each tape fitting firmly in its own recessed section of the case.

>> Handy fact-filled booklet, packed with information on all programs in this collection. This nice little booklet is 64 pages in length, and also includes many, many top-quality black-and-white photographs.

>> User-friendly and very easy-to-reference list of programs and episodes conveniently shown on the back side of the plastic case (complete with full episode titles and original air dates). This type of useful "on the box" list of shows means you don't have to search through the lengthy booklet in order to quickly find a particular show you might want to locate.

Here's a complete roster of the 20 different radio series that are represented within this nice-looking boxed set...........

Tape 1 -- "The Black Museum"

Tape 2 -- "The Clock"

Tape 3 -- "Crime Classics"

Tape 4 -- "The Crime Club"

Tape 5 -- "Dark Fantasy"

Tape 6 -- "Escape"

Tape 7 -- "The Haunting Hour"

Tape 8 -- "Inner Sanctum Mysteries"

Tape 9 -- "Lights Out"

Tape 10 -- "The Molle Mystery Theatre"

Tape 11 -- "Murder At Midnight"

Tape 12 -- "The Mysterious Traveler"

Tape 13 -- "Mystery In The Air"

Tape 14 -- "Quiet Please"

Tape 15 -- "The Sealed Book"

Tape 16 -- "The Screen Director's Playhouse"

Tape 17 -- "The Shadow"

Tape 18 -- "Suspense"

Tape 19 -- "The Weird Circle"

Tape 20 -- "The Whistler"

------------------------------

This stellar collection of Old-Time Radio mystery programs will appeal to any fan of the "bygone days", when whole families would sit together and wait to be entertained by just the sounds coming from their great-big, furniture-sized radio receivers. And 60 entertaining reasons to "go back in time" to the "Radio era" are assembled right here on these Radio Spirits' cassette tapes.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2013
This is a fine collection of the mystery genre's golden radio days. How nice it is to excite the immagination!
Highly recommended for any person who appreciates classic radio and great story telling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2015
I have not listened to these because I bought them as a present for a friend. He's 71 and has bad sight in one eye so reading is not always possible. He told me has listened to quite a few of the tapes since he received them and says they are very good. Great gift for anyone with sight problems or just wants to listen to some good, old radio programs.
MHD--Texas
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2002
I cannot recommend this product enough! I bought it because I've never heard an old time radio program like they used to put on before tv existed. It was amazing how the shows could come alive in your imagination without the aid of a television screen. The actors are skilled and the sound effects are wonderful. I wish they would bring back radio shows based on the mystery shows of the past. Its perfect for me because I can crochet and keep my eyes on my work while listening to the radio mysteries. Whether you're cooking in the kitchen or driving to work, you can still be entertained with these shows!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2001
I got this from the local library. My favorite is Suspense. Those were great. I loved the Orson Wells Black Museum. I'm too young to have ever listened to shows on the radio but this really gives you a feeling for the nostalgia.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2000
I think I listened to nearly all 60 shows back to back. But ehen again Radio Mysteries have been my favorite since I was a child. The accompaning book is a nice read as well.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2011
Its Orson Welles, not Wells. Idiots.
Anyway, this collection is one of the best ive ever come across.
I got this for my birthday years ago, and ive been listening to OTR obsessively ever since.
Very highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse