Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sleuths, Suspense, Scifi, the Supernatural, March 22, 2001
By 
George R Dekle "Bob Dekle" (Lake City, FL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Old-Time Radio's Greatest Mysteries - Including "The Shadow", "Escape", "Inner Sactum Mysteries" and "The Mysterious Traveler" (Audio Cassette)
The stories here cover the gamut from true crime to truly incredible. The "Black Museum" and "Crime Classics" do an excellent job of recreating true life crime stories. "Escape" and "Suspense" provide exactly the type of entertainment their titles suggest.
One really interesting story from the "Suspense" cassette was 'Ghost Hunt', which anticipated "The Blair Witch Project" by approximately fifty years. 'The House on Cypress Canyon Road' served up suspense, pathos, and paradox in equal helpings, and is probably my favorite story of the entire collection.
Arch Oboler's "Lights Out" provides three excellent stories, one suspense, one supernatural, and one ('Murder Castle'), with a seemingly preposterous premise. The seemingly silly premise was, however, based on the career of a true life serial killer. "Murder at Midnight", "The Sealed Book", and "Weird Circle" all have campy introductions but creditable stories.
"Mystery in the Air", starring Peter Lorre, was a summer replacement show that dramatized classic stories. "Quiet Please" turned in a couple of good efforts with 'Pathetic Falacy', about a "thinking machine", and 'Red and White Guidon', which started off looking like a misplaced Western but ended up a quite satisfying tale of the supernatural.
The last tape in the collection, "The Whistler", had three excellent stories with captivating surprise endings. In each episode the narrator trumpeted the fact that the story would have a surprise ending, and in spite of that the stories never failed to surprise and delight.
There are some sour notes in the collection, but all in all, I had sixty hours of listening pleasure from this anthology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some of the best of the old radio shows, June 11, 2002
By 
This review is from: Old-Time Radio's Greatest Mysteries - Including "The Shadow", "Escape", "Inner Sactum Mysteries" and "The Mysterious Traveler" (Audio Cassette)
I can't recommend this one highly enough. From Suspense's "Ghost Hunt" (listen to this one with the lights off and see if the chill bumps don't grab you), to "The Uninvited" (which was made into a movie that's just as creepy as this story), to all 3 of the Inner Sanctum Mysteries - there are just too many good ones to highlight them all. I really haven't found a better collection like this yet, and I think you'll love it too. If you haven't been introduced into how good OTR used to be, then this is a great way to be introduced to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than TV, January 3, 2003
By 
Terry L. Funburg "funny" (Checotah, Oklahoma United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Old-Time Radio's Greatest Mysteries - Including "The Shadow", "Escape", "Inner Sactum Mysteries" and "The Mysterious Traveler" (Audio Cassette)
What a great medium for travel or just to pass the time.I bought this series after listening to old time radio program replays when i could catch them on my car radio.I am from Oklahoma and it was interesting to find that one of the programs that i really enjoyed originated in Oklahoma City.I also enjoyed the commercials which are humorous in todays context but give such a wonderful feel of the bygone era of my parents and grandparents.One commercial concerns sending cigarettes to veterans in a Muskogee,Okla. veterans hospital.I would recommend this series to anyone.It certainly makes a long drive enjoyable and is so much more stimulating and vivid than television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 20 Tapes; 60 Programs; Includes 20 Different Mystery Series!, April 6, 2005
By 
David Von Pein (Mooresville, Indiana; USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Old-Time Radio's Greatest Mysteries - Including "The Shadow", "Escape", "Inner Sactum Mysteries" and "The Mysterious Traveler" (Audio Cassette)
This deluxe boxed set is the Audio Cassette edition of Radio Spirits' release of "Old-Time Radio's Greatest Mysteries". It's a well-packaged collection of OTR (Old-Time Radio) programs, and is a veritable gold mine of classic radio mystery shows.

Some of the many series that are included on these tapes are: "Quiet Please", "The Shadow", "Inner Sanctum Mysteries", "Lights Out", "Escape", "Murder At Midnight", and, in my opinion, the greatest of all OTR "mystery" shows -- "Suspense". Of the three "Suspense" episodes included in this package, one in particular rises to the top of my "Best Of" list. And that would be a 1950 "Suspense" broadcast entitled "On A Country Road" (which stars Cary Grant). It's a beauty. Remember to turn ALL the lights off before cueing up that one in the cassette player.

This set includes ...............

>> 20 Audio Cassette Tapes (90 minutes each). Each tape includes three episodes from one specific OTR series.

>> 60 total radio programs (all uncut with excellent audio quality).

>> 30 total hours of OTR programming.

>> Plastic-case packaging. It's a "book" type of package, with each tape fitting firmly in its own recessed section of the case.

>> Handy fact-filled booklet, packed with information on all programs in this collection. This nice little booklet is 64 pages in length, and also includes many, many top-quality black-and-white photographs.

>> User-friendly and very easy-to-reference list of programs and episodes conveniently shown on the back side of the plastic case (complete with full episode titles and original air dates). This type of useful "on the box" list of shows means you don't have to search through the lengthy booklet in order to quickly find a particular show you might want to locate.

Here's a complete roster of the 20 different radio series that are represented within this nice-looking boxed set...........

Tape 1 -- "The Black Museum"

Tape 2 -- "The Clock"

Tape 3 -- "Crime Classics"

Tape 4 -- "The Crime Club"

Tape 5 -- "Dark Fantasy"

Tape 6 -- "Escape"

Tape 7 -- "The Haunting Hour"

Tape 8 -- "Inner Sanctum Mysteries"

Tape 9 -- "Lights Out"

Tape 10 -- "The Molle Mystery Theatre"

Tape 11 -- "Murder At Midnight"

Tape 12 -- "The Mysterious Traveler"

Tape 13 -- "Mystery In The Air"

Tape 14 -- "Quiet Please"

Tape 15 -- "The Sealed Book"

Tape 16 -- "The Screen Director's Playhouse"

Tape 17 -- "The Shadow"

Tape 18 -- "Suspense"

Tape 19 -- "The Weird Circle"

Tape 20 -- "The Whistler"

------------------------------

This stellar collection of Old-Time Radio mystery programs will appeal to any fan of the "bygone days", when whole families would sit together and wait to be entertained by just the sounds coming from their great-big, furniture-sized radio receivers. And 60 entertaining reasons to "go back in time" to the "Radio era" are assembled right here on these Radio Spirits' cassette tapes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, October 21, 2002
By 
Miss Laura (Miami, FL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Old-Time Radio's Greatest Mysteries - Including "The Shadow", "Escape", "Inner Sactum Mysteries" and "The Mysterious Traveler" (Audio Cassette)
I cannot recommend this product enough! I bought it because I've never heard an old time radio program like they used to put on before tv existed. It was amazing how the shows could come alive in your imagination without the aid of a television screen. The actors are skilled and the sound effects are wonderful. I wish they would bring back radio shows based on the mystery shows of the past. Its perfect for me because I can crochet and keep my eyes on my work while listening to the radio mysteries. Whether you're cooking in the kitchen or driving to work, you can still be entertained with these shows!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of fun, May 21, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Old-Time Radio's Greatest Mysteries - Including "The Shadow", "Escape", "Inner Sactum Mysteries" and "The Mysterious Traveler" (Audio Cassette)
I got this from the local library. My favorite is Suspense. Those were great. I loved the Orson Wells Black Museum. I'm too young to have ever listened to shows on the radio but this really gives you a feeling for the nostalgia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great selections., February 8, 2000
By 
This review is from: Old-Time Radio's Greatest Mysteries - Including "The Shadow", "Escape", "Inner Sactum Mysteries" and "The Mysterious Traveler" (Audio Cassette)
I think I listened to nearly all 60 shows back to back. But ehen again Radio Mysteries have been my favorite since I was a child. The accompaning book is a nice read as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars otr at its best, January 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Old-Time Radio's Greatest Mysteries - Including "The Shadow", "Escape", "Inner Sactum Mysteries" and "The Mysterious Traveler" (Audio Cassette)
Super service, excellent price, good quality package and materials. We enjoy otr at home and on the road and these provide a great assortment of terrific shows
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this!, September 8, 2011
This review is from: Old-Time Radio's Greatest Mysteries - Including "The Shadow", "Escape", "Inner Sactum Mysteries" and "The Mysterious Traveler" (Audio Cassette)
Its Orson Welles, not Wells. Idiots.
Anyway, this collection is one of the best ive ever come across.
I got this for my birthday years ago, and ive been listening to OTR obsessively ever since.
Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gift, January 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Old-Time Radio's Greatest Mysteries - Including "The Shadow", "Escape", "Inner Sactum Mysteries" and "The Mysterious Traveler" (Audio Cassette)
Was a great gift. Receiver of gift liked it very much. Have not heard any further feedback on this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.