Customer Reviews


197 Reviews
5 star:
 (125)
4 star:
 (58)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for backup, or a light pack.
The Olicamp Space Saver isn't a bulletproof, titanium cooking tool, but it is very affordable and adequate to its intended purpose.

The cup will hold 16 oz. of liquid with enough headroom to comfortably boil that amount. This is exactly the amount of boiling water required for a standard Mountain House 2 serving, freeze dried entree packet. Measurements from 4...
Published on July 25, 2011 by Satch

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars nope
mine are rusting after two times in the field. if not for that, i would be giving them a five as they perform as you might expect.
Published on September 28, 2011 by that guy


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for backup, or a light pack., July 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Space Saver Cup
The Olicamp Space Saver isn't a bulletproof, titanium cooking tool, but it is very affordable and adequate to its intended purpose.

The cup will hold 16 oz. of liquid with enough headroom to comfortably boil that amount. This is exactly the amount of boiling water required for a standard Mountain House 2 serving, freeze dried entree packet. Measurements from 4 to 16 oz. are embossed on the side of the cup, which is convenient.

The cup itself is strong enough to hold up to normal use, but the metal has some give. If you step on it by accident, you'll probably be short a container. The handles are a thick wire. They don't feel particularly sturdy at first, but when I tested the cup on a gas stove (see customer image), I was surprised to find that they work quite well. They are rigid enough to safely support 16 oz. of hot liquid, and thin enough to remain mostly cool to the touch. I could actually pour the liquid into another container without spilling a drop and without a potholder of any sort, an advantage which I had not anticipated.

A 32 oz. Nalgene bottle nests tightly into the cup (the cup is easily removed, but will not easily fall off). I was able to fit the bottle with the cup into the water bottle pouch on an old military backpack with a little care. Any pouch that's made for a 32 oz. Nalgene will most likely also accept the cup.

I'm satisfied with the purchase so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great product, May 1, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Space Saver Cup (Sports)
I'm a big fan of my Olicamp Nalgene Cup. My Nalgene one quart bottle nests perfectly into the cup, and that saves a lot of space. Briefly...

Pro:
-Very sturdy
-Nalgene nests perfectly
-Folding arms are sturdy and just long enough to make for a good handle
-The ounce gradations on the side can be seen both inside and outside the cup, so it's great for cooking

Cons:
-Heavy, but I guess that's a price you pay for having a durable cup that you can cook with
-The arms have a tendency to flop out, but since they can be taken off very easily, it's also very easy to bend them to make the arms hold their place a little more firmly.

Not sure if this would work, but maybe in the future Olicamp could magnetize the ends of the fold out arms so that they would stay folded in more readily?

Overall a great product. In my mind, four out of five stars is a great rating. Very few products are deserving of 5/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great camp cup!, August 12, 2010
By 
Cameron (Newport News, VA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Space Saver Cup (Sports)
Sells for about $10 at most camping/hunting stores (BassPro, Dick's, REI, etc).

(see customer images)

I use this with a recycled tomato can for my camp stove. The stove itself is a Pepsi can stove (google search it for many different plans). The empty tomato can serves as a windscreen and pot stand. Four holes punched with a can opener allow air flow at the bottom. The cup sits on a pair of tent stakes. It takes 30mL of denatured alcohol and six minutes to boil 500mL of water. I've neglected to time how long it will keep the water boiling, but I'd guess another 6-7 minutes. YMMV depending on the type of alcohol stove you have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid camp cup, October 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Space Saver Cup (Sports)
Solid quality polished stainless, made in India. Holds 16oz with about 1/2 inch remaining till the top. No lid, unfortunately. Weighs a hefty 165g / 5.8 oz. A single walled titanium cup of about the same size (like a Snow Peak 600) would weigh less than half this much, but it would cost three times more. Exterior dimensions including the folded-in arms: height 9cm x width 10.5cm. Interior dimensions if you want to make sure your water bottle fits inside: ~9cm height x 9.3cm width. The volume markings on the side are in ounces only, no metric measurements. The lines and numbers are stamped into the metal, so they are visible from the inside as well. This makes them more useful when filling, but it's also annoying for cleanup -- food can get caught in the little concave markings inside the cup.

---------
Update: I haven't seen it offered on Amazon, but if you search elsewhere you may be able to find an "Olicamp Space Saver Aluminum" cup. It's identical to this one except:
- The handles are riveted instead of welded, making it slightly harder to clean because the rivets penetrate to the inside.
- Because it's aluminum, the cup only weighs 98g (3.5oz), much lighter than this one.
- Despite the lighter weight, it holds 4oz more (20 oz total) with room to spare. The extra capacity comes from additional height; it's still the width of a Nalgene.

If you want to save weight and if cleanup isn't a big concern because you'll mostly be boiling water, this could be a great lightweight alternative. Assuming you're OK with aluminum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for Maxpedition bags with Nalgene pockets., July 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Space Saver Cup (Sports)
I bought this hoping it'd fit in the water bottle pocket on my Maxpedition Sitka Gearslinger.

Not only does it cup a 32oz NALGENE Tritan Wide Mouth BPA-Free Water Bottle perfectly, it slides in and out of my bag easily as well.

It's super durable and relatively light. I really couldn't justify buying a titanium cup/pot at $70...as the weight isn't that big of a difference.

The little handles stay together well, unlike some other's I read reviews of and I love the fact that there are measurement markers on the sides. Overall, a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It fits the bill., July 24, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Space Saver Cup (Sports)
Single Wall Stainless Steel which means you can boil water in it, Fits over the bottom of a 1L Nalgene bottle for seamless storage, good price, free shipping...

Can't beat it, get one for your 1L Nalgene bottle you wont regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars nope, September 28, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Space Saver Cup
mine are rusting after two times in the field. if not for that, i would be giving them a five as they perform as you might expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works awesome., October 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Space Saver Cup
I love it. It's a bit heavy but it's darn tough. I cooked rice on the stove with it and it holds up. Then I took all the rice out and put it back on the stove dry. There was no warping to speak of and it got red hot. Overall I'm very pleased and it has passed the test to be part of my gear I'll stake my life on when I need something to cook with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good cup., June 22, 2011
This review is from: Space Saver Cup (Sports)
This cup is extremely durable and I love it. It's great to boil water in. I drink a lot of tea so I use this alot even when I'm not camping just to boil a cup of water. I also made my own lid so it boils a little bit faster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice little camp cup, May 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Space Saver Cup (Sports)
This camp cup is the perfect size for a penny stove or a canteen stove. It's single-walled stainless steel, so it's easy and safe to boil water in it. The cup has measuring lines on the outside so you can be precise. No more gross soupy oatmeal because you decided to eyeball it!

The handles fold around the cup for storage, and since they're open wires instead of solid pieces of metal, they don't conduct heat directly into your hand. It fits nicely around one of those Nalgene 32oz bottles, but if you're cheap, it also fits around a 32oz powerade bottle. Once you have this cup nested around a water bottle, the whole thing fits nicely into a Maxpedition or ModGear water bottle holder for a compact mess kit.

Another review said that it was heavy, but unless you're REALLY into ultra-light camping, you should be fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Space Saver Cup
Space Saver Cup by Olicamp
$9.50 $6.95 - $27.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.