Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this olive oil
I didn't purchase this at Amazon but have bought it elsewhere and love it. I tried many brands of extra virgin and the flavor was often bitter and overwhelming to whatever I was cooking. Olivari is not strongly flavored or bitter like some extra virgin olive oils so you can use it to cook anything. I use it for salad dressing and sauteing. Love the pop up cap.
Published 17 months ago by Charlotte Whitaker

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Is it even olive oil???
When I got this product home, I noticed it was yellow--not the greenish color you expect from olive oil. I then tasted it; it has no resemblance in flavor whatsoever to olive oil. I have contacted the store where I purchased this (the 51 oz size), and they have agreed to let me exchange it. I have also left a message with the producer (Sovena Inc) and hope they return...
Published on August 27, 2011 by Maggi


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Is it even olive oil???, August 27, 2011
This review is from: Olivari Mediterranean Olive Oil, Classic, 25.5-Ounce Bottle (Pack of 3) (Grocery)
When I got this product home, I noticed it was yellow--not the greenish color you expect from olive oil. I then tasted it; it has no resemblance in flavor whatsoever to olive oil. I have contacted the store where I purchased this (the 51 oz size), and they have agreed to let me exchange it. I have also left a message with the producer (Sovena Inc) and hope they return my call. I will not buy Olivari olive oil again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this olive oil, September 3, 2013
By 
Charlotte Whitaker (Morro Bay, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Olivari Mediterranean Olive Oil, Classic, 25.5-Ounce Bottle (Pack of 3) (Grocery)
I didn't purchase this at Amazon but have bought it elsewhere and love it. I tried many brands of extra virgin and the flavor was often bitter and overwhelming to whatever I was cooking. Olivari is not strongly flavored or bitter like some extra virgin olive oils so you can use it to cook anything. I use it for salad dressing and sauteing. Love the pop up cap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Leaky bottles, February 27, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olivari Mediterranean Olive Oil, Classic, 25.5-Ounce Bottle (Pack of 3) (Grocery)
Just like the previous reviewer, the bottles I received were also leaking. The bottles have the so called "pop-up pourer" that leaks when the bottle is placed on its side. Unless the bottles are shipped upright, I don't think the leak can be prevented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars improve packaging, January 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olivari Mediterranean Olive Oil, Classic, 25.5-Ounce Bottle (Pack of 3) (Grocery)
The price I paid was very reasonable but I always look for bargains. One bottle had a seal leak so there were greasy bottles. Nothing major but they should have been separated better so they did not bang together during transit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mine leaking, too - will it affect quality and shelf life?, March 15, 2011
This review is from: Olivari Mediterranean Olive Oil, Classic, 25.5-Ounce Bottle (Pack of 3) (Grocery)
Perhaps I should've waited to post my review until AFTER I tasted and cooked with the oil, but the leaky factor was too hard to ignore. I thought I should share my two cents given 2 of 2 previous reviewers had the same problem.

My husband bought two 25.5 oz bottles of Olivari olive oil at a local grocery store this morning. Knowing him as well as I do, I'm 99.5% sure he wouldn't put greasy bottles into his shopping cart, so I assume they tipped over in the grocery sack on the way home. I also suspect BOTH bottles leaked, because each is oiliest around the cap's seal with a finer film of oil coating the top third of the bottle; the lower two-thirds of each bottle aren't greasy at all. In both cases, the film is fine enough not to be noticed by sight - just by feel. The seal on each bottle appears tight and intact around the cap and neck of the bottle.

ON THE PLUS SIDE: Unlike many distributors of olive oil, the folks at Olivari stamp the expiration date on the label. That's a big plus to me.

*UPDATE* 08 May 2012

Even though the seal on each bottle was tight and intact, upon opening we found the lid was not screwed on all the way - both bottles had this problem. The next time I saw this product at the store, I picked up several to see if any other bottles had the same oily film. They ALL did! Also, their lids were loose though the plastic safety wrap was tight. I no longer think the leaking of our two bottles was caused by tipping over in the car trunk, as the ones standing upright on the store shelves had the same problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.