Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (104)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a modern Christmas story, simple and innocent
Cute, modern story about a dog named Olive who thinks he is "Olive the other reindeer" and thinks he should be up at the North Pole helping Santa. Story is short and innocent. This story is nothing like the video (see my separate review of that). There is no negativity in this book, no hurt feelings, no "bad guys", no threat of "no...
Published on December 27, 2000 by ChristineMM

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, not a fan of the format
I bought this for my son today for my IPad Kindle app. The writing is too small and you can't do a portrait view. It does highlight part of the words and make them bigger, but there is plenty of room to just make them all bigger in the first place. It's a idea that just fell flat. The book is a good book though and cute. It doesn't take away from it much, but makes it...
Published on December 6, 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a modern Christmas story, simple and innocent, December 27, 2000
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Cute, modern story about a dog named Olive who thinks he is "Olive the other reindeer" and thinks he should be up at the North Pole helping Santa. Story is short and innocent. This story is nothing like the video (see my separate review of that). There is no negativity in this book, no hurt feelings, no "bad guys", no threat of "no Christmas", (unlike the video). Olive saves the day: the problem is that there is a hole in Santa's sack and there are several times where toys or candy fell out of the sack and Olive helps retrieve them. A very happy little story. I recommend it for those looking for a cute, innocent modern story about Christmas. Illustrations are very unique and there is a lot going on in the illustrations. If you love the book, please preview the video before buying the video as the video is very different. If you disliked the video, give the book a chance as it is different in content and tone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny Christmas story for all ages, November 27, 1998
By A Customer
Olive, the Other Reindeer is a very funny Christmas story suitable for young and older children too. As an elementary school teacher, I picked out this book to read to my class, because it has so many interesting elements, from its computer illustrations to the many sound words it contains. It's a wonderful lesson on how individual differences can be an asset, and dog-lovers in particular will chuckle all the way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very cute, November 15, 1999
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Olive the so called raindeer is so cute. I'm eleven and Ilovethat book! So did my mom! I love the pictures.No matter how oldyou are and if you like dogs you need to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic story, great illustrations., October 26, 1999
By A Customer
What a pleasure to read a children's book that's as fun for the adults as it is for the children. The writing is superb and the illustrations are mod and colorful; my children clamor for this book to be read to them year round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice, cute story, December 17, 2001
By A Customer
My children and I found the book very enjoyable. I am not sure what book the person giving it one star (and said that it was too confusing) referred to because the book I read was about a dog who thinks it is a reindeer and goes to help Santa because that is what reindeers do. There is no mention of a postman or villian in the story and no reindeer are disabled. It is just a cute and straight-forward story of a dog that Santa allows to go along with him on Christmas Eve (along with all of his reindeer) and how that dog ends up being very helpful when then encounter some minor problems along the way. My children (4 & 7) loved the story, and I am sure that yours will too. It is cute, colorful, and heartwarming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, August 18, 2000
My daughter got this book and today and proceeded to read it to me. I can't resist it! Next thing I new we were both on the floor, reading it together and laughing! The illustrations are colorful and amusing. The story line is clever and hilarious! What more could you ask for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I laugh out loud every time I read this book!, December 6, 1998
By A Customer
I love this book! It has a style and humor all it's own. The pictures are wonderfully cartoonish and child-like. The story is about a dog named Olive who hears a Christmas carrol on the radio and thinks it is about him. I won't spoil the rest for you! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Olive the Other Reindeer, November 5, 2003
A Kid's Review
10/4/03
Olive the Other Reindeer, Vivian Walsh and J.Otto Seibold, Chronicle books
Have you ever wished that you could be something else for one day? Well in this fantasy story, Olive the Other Reindeer, a little dog named Olive gets to be one of Santa's reindeer. It all starts when she listens to a Christmas song and hears, "All of the other reindeer...", Olive thinks the song is singing, "Olive the Other Reindeer". She thinks she is supposed to be a reindeer so she goes to the North Pole to help Santa and his reindeer. Along the way Santa's toys fall out of the sleigh and scatter everywhere! Will Olive know what to do to save Christmas?
Olive is the main character, she is a small dog that is white and brown. When Olive sets her mind on something she does it, with no turning back. She is also very helpful and kind. Santa is a plump, jolly old fellow who made Olive's dream to be a reindeer real, he gave her a chance. The reindeer in the story were very curious about Olive becoming part of the squad of reindeer but they welcomed her and helped her as much as possible.
I would recommend this picture book to people who like cute stories and who like animals, because Olive the dog who is the main character encounters funny characters like Santa Claus and his reindeer. This book has some cute little twists that I'm sure would put a smile on your face. I really enjoyed the illustrations in this book because they have a cartoon feel and you can tell the story by looking at the pictures in it. This book is one that I'm sure a person of any age would enjoy, I know that I did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little Ones Can Do Big Things Too., December 16, 2003
By 
tvtv3 "tvtv3" (St. Louis Metro East Area) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This charming Christmas tale tells the story of Olive the dog. Olive seems to enjoy Christmas just as much as anyone else. However, after listening to the refrain in "Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer" over and over again (ALL OF the other reindeer), Olive becomes convinced that it's about her and sets forth to report to Santa for duty at the North Pole. Neither Santa nor the reindeer really know what to make of this strange little dog, but they agree to let her come along. They tie her tightly to one of the reindeer and off they go. Along the way, Santa and his crew find themselves in all sorts of situations and because of Olive, the problems aren't as problematic as they could be.
This is a charming little Christmas story. The illustrations are quite unique, reminding one of cutout pictures glued to a page. Kids love this story and it has a nice message about how even when someone or something seems insignificant, they can be of great importance. This story is rapidly becoming a Christmas favorite and it's a joy to read to any child. Look for the illustrations of people and animals inside things: rabbits sleeping in their hole, children sleeping in bed, etc. Merry Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Jack Russell Terrier's Christmas, February 11, 2002
By 
Olive, a beautiful, high spirited Jack Russell Terrier wanted to work for Santa. She was listening to "Rudolf, the Red-Nosed Reindeer" on the radio one night and misinterpreted the lyric, "all of the other reindeer" to "Olive the other reindeer" and immediately believed the song was about her. She travels to the North Pole and asks to pull the sled. Santa wisely notices that the little Jack was not a reindeer and that working on his team was very important to her. Taking his reindeer Comet aside, he asked his trusted reindeer to tie Olive to the sled extra securely so she could be part of the team.
A cute modification of the Rudolf story using a very appealing little dog, a Jack Russell Terrier. A good story for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Olive the Other Reindeer Deluxe Edition: Deluxe Edition!
Olive the Other Reindeer Deluxe Edition: Deluxe Edition! by Vivian Walsh (Hardcover - September 27, 2007)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.