Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars big, but easy to carry
Took this for a medical mission and it was easier to carry than some other bags. Would have liked rollers, but that adds a lot of weight to the bag. This was allowed by the airlines, and was packed to 50 pounds.
Published 8 months ago by Soccer Coach

versus
22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice duffel - but SMELLY!
I actually ordered two of these to take on a family trip to Florida. We were planing on putting these on the roof of our car in the luggage rack. When the package was opened I could not believe the smell - nearly a stench! It was a strong sweet sickly plastic chemical smell. Understand that I am not one who writes these reviews much, but I feel compelled to writhe this...
Published 17 months ago by Trailblazerb


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice duffel - but SMELLY!, April 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I actually ordered two of these to take on a family trip to Florida. We were planing on putting these on the roof of our car in the luggage rack. When the package was opened I could not believe the smell - nearly a stench! It was a strong sweet sickly plastic chemical smell. Understand that I am not one who writes these reviews much, but I feel compelled to writhe this one. When I say it was a strong smell - I mean it - the whole house stunk like these bags in a matter of minutes. Put your face into the bag and it will gag you. Put your clothes in this and they will likely stink too!

I was initially prepared to return these to Amazon but they are pretty nice bags and I actually like them very much. I read a few other reviews (too late) and saw reports on what folks did to remedy this and then I set to work. First I stole some of my teenagers Axe body wash and fixed up a huge batch of hot soapy water, Then I took them into the garage and scrubbed them like they did in the olden days of laundry. Rinsed them again in warm water, and hung them up to drip dry. Now they smelled like a teenage boy in heat that was dipped in some kind of industrial chemical vat! Better, but still not good enough to put any clothes in. Two weeks outside on the porch is what finally did the trick. These things need to be aired out for a very long time!

The bags themselves are well made I believe (the wonders of modern chemistry!), and if it weren't for the stench initially, I would have given them 4-5 stars. They are HUGE - really HUGE bags and easily hold two weeks worth of clothes and supplies. Good hand holds, durable fabrics, and quality zippers. Colors are vibrant and after washing and weathering, still the colors were bold. I don't think they are as waterproof as they are advertised, maybe because of the washing I did, but they did not shed water like I had hoped.

If you buy one of these bags you will be impressed with the quality of the materials and workmanship, but plan on airing them out and scrubbing off the chemical stench. MINIMUM TWO WEEKS OUTSIDE IN THE ELEMENTS TO MAKE THESE USABLE!

My heart goes out to the poor people who work in the factory that produces these bags - I cannot imagine living with this smell all the time! The place that makes these bags likely has a hole in the ozone directly above it.

I hope this helps some of you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars big, but easy to carry, December 22, 2013
By 
Soccer Coach (Penrose, CO, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Took this for a medical mission and it was easier to carry than some other bags. Would have liked rollers, but that adds a lot of weight to the bag. This was allowed by the airlines, and was packed to 50 pounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Perfect, January 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is the jumbo bag I was missing. It comes wrapped in a small bag so you may carry on when not using. Good built material, not sure if it is water proof but seems to be water resistant. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got if as a photography bag, March 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I purchased this bag to carry our back drop stands, lights, tripods, and other misc equipment. I know this is not the intended purpose of the bag but it is super sturdy and has extra space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great big Duffle bag, July 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great sturdy bag. Used it to send my daughter to camp. I felt confident the zipper would hold which was a concern when looking at other bags.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Olympia 42 Ince Sports Duffel, January 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I received the 2 bags I purchased but according to the picture displayed in the item itself, the pink bag did not come with my purchase.

The bag are great and sturdy. They are well made. They are really big. I should have ordered a smaller size but will keep them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT DUFFEL BAG, June 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Larger than I expected, great thick/durable fabric and design! I bought it as an extra bag for my son to bring back all the extras from camp. Its spacious enough to put an under the bed container. Love it and will buy more of this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big for its Value, November 10, 2011
By 
Kahabi G Isangula (Shinyanga, Tanzania) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you are planning to travel and you have many items to carry with you..This is the RIGHT choice. Its 42 inch length, gives you more than enough space you need for your items
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Travel champion, May 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I recently traveled abroad with this bag full of items that included a shower curtain rod, a folding lawn chair, paint roller kit, clothing, canned food, hot water heater, cordless drill among many other items and the quality of the strength of the material held up, no tear, rips etc. Baggage handling is no gentle exercise and this duffel passed the test.

This is great for traveling on outdoor jaunts or camping. I am not sure when, but I will get another one since I had a friend that was very impressed by this one's sturdy built.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good for the price!, April 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I needed a big bag for my trip back home, in Brazil, since I have all my college stuff to take. I was not disappointed. The bag is really bag, but it has good quality at the same time. Great for long trips, camping etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Olympia  42 Inch Sports Duffel
$36.06 - $49.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.