Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


124 of 126 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Wonderful (cinematography) Horrible (transfer) of Olympia
Olympia is a piece of sport history coated in a magnificent art form. The superlatives aren't enough to describe this documentary; a veritable time machine traveling to an amazing and Orwellian future Valhalla called Nazi Germany.

1936 Olympiad was also well renown for the first to be broadcast on a form of television. This DVD sadly has an image quality...
Published on July 2, 2006 by D. C. Hociota

versus
102 of 105 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Be Honest
The original, as I viewed it on public television perhaps twenty years ago, was spectacular.

But the problems in this version are not just superficial and are not simply ones that some hyper-purist would notice. They include tiling, caused by extreme compression; scratches and blips galore; grey tonal quality converging on nil, and sometimes making it seem...
Published on December 1, 2006 by Baron von Munchhausen


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

124 of 126 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Wonderful (cinematography) Horrible (transfer) of Olympia, July 2, 2006
By 
This review is from: Olympia: The Complete Original Version (The Leni Riefenstahl Archival Collection) (DVD)
Olympia is a piece of sport history coated in a magnificent art form. The superlatives aren't enough to describe this documentary; a veritable time machine traveling to an amazing and Orwellian future Valhalla called Nazi Germany.

1936 Olympiad was also well renown for the first to be broadcast on a form of television. This DVD sadly has an image quality comparable to what the citizens of Berlin saw on those twenty five large screens scattered along the City's main boulevards 70 years ago. Having seen some excerpts from "Olympia" in the documentary `The Wonderful Horrible life of Leni Riefenstahl" on DVD, I had great expectations concerning the image quality of this new release. What a disappointment! No one bothered to digitally remove the annoying scratches not mentioning the total absence of any timid tentative of restoration of a decent audio sound. Everything seems like a low resolution transfer from a cheap VHS . Let's hope that some day Criterion Collection will do this film the justice it deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


102 of 105 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Be Honest, December 1, 2006
This review is from: Olympia: The Complete Original Version (The Leni Riefenstahl Archival Collection) (DVD)
The original, as I viewed it on public television perhaps twenty years ago, was spectacular.

But the problems in this version are not just superficial and are not simply ones that some hyper-purist would notice. They include tiling, caused by extreme compression; scratches and blips galore; grey tonal quality converging on nil, and sometimes making it seem like one is looking through a duststorm; ridiculous cropping of the image, often even cutting off the heads of the subjects. The audio's flaky, too, especially noticeable in the sometimes lurching, but always tinny rendition of the orchestral scoring.

Weirdly, the package seems to have been conceived well, with nice features included. How is it possible, then, to have messed up the technical execution so badly?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


126 of 135 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Classic Film / Horrible transfer, July 6, 2006
This review is from: Olympia: The Complete Original Version (The Leni Riefenstahl Archival Collection) (DVD)
I have been waiting for Criterion to release this for 4 years now. With the technology of restoration of older films vastly improving I must say this is the worst transfer that I have seen of an older film released in the last two years. Don't spend your money on this edition and hope that Criterion will release this in our lifetime!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Optical quality?, December 10, 2006
This review is from: Olympia: The Complete Original Version (The Leni Riefenstahl Archival Collection) (DVD)
I have long owned a VHS copy of Olympia, and it wasn't visually bad, but of course I longed for the improvement a DVD version might bring. This release was a surprise - it seems to be not an optical transfer, but a DVD of the VHS version, horizontal analogue scan lines and all, and visually a disappointment. I realise that a total restoration is expensive and that the market for this kind of thing is relatively small, and I'll live with what I can get, but if Criterion ever releases a restored version, I'll be first in line. Until then, concentrate on the hypnotic, iconic content. As an avowed curmudgeon, I'm offended by yahoo patriots at international sporting events chanting USA!USA! from the bleachers. There they were, in 1936, chanting for Jesse Owens as he won four golds - then and there the patriot war cry seemed right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The photography lures you, action holds you., November 14, 2009
This review is from: Olympia (DVD)
Part I
The film opens up with a film tribute to the history of Greece and the games. We get to see the names of the nations at the time that the torch passes through as it reached Berlin. A much more realistic torch than today's is ran into the stadium with a few pauses to let everyone see just before the final dash to the Olympic torch at the stadium. It would be great to recapture this in the present day. Some of the tribute leads me to believe that our athletes are overly clothed for the sports.

Part II
By now watching Part I, "Festival of the nation" spoiled you. Again this film starts out with the ideal and surrounded by Leni's signature clouds. List is leading you to "field hockey, soccer bicycling, equestrian, aquatic and gymnastic events. Highlights are the Pentathlon and the Decathlon." Remember that some countries were still using horses in the military.

It may be unique reasons that brought you to this point such as Leni or photography, or interest in history, or, or, or. But once the action starts you feel that you are there and get lost in the "who will win what and how." Even being aware of the outcome does not prepare you to "not bite your nails" as you watch each athlete barley besting the next until it is over too soon. I noticed that instead of placing medals over the winners, they used laurel wreaths.
Any way you cut it, this movie is worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just another Horrible transfer!, August 8, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
When I found this dvd on Amazon, I was delighted to see Riefenstahl's classic had been updated with this 2009 digital transfer. I quickly ordered it from Amazon.com. When I viewed this dvd, I could have cried. The digital transfer was just horrible. Also, this dvd's running time is listed as 300 min. The correct running time should be 204 min Please be wise and don't waste your money on this dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money, January 24, 2007
By 
Danny Leopard "Leopard" (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Olympia: The Complete Original Version (The Leni Riefenstahl Archival Collection) (DVD)
This disk is terrible. It is obviously cheaply digitized from a poor master tape. Don't purchase products by Pathfinder Home Entertainment, if this is an example of their business practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Olympia...All versions are created equal, February 18, 2009
This review is from: Olympia (DVD)
Olympia is a movie that resides in the Public Domain. Every version I have ever found is of the same quality and this version is no different. The DVD offers no frills but when you buy this movie, it is not for the frills, it is for the movie.

It was the 1936 Berlin Games that introduced the opening ceremony, the torch relay, the three-tiered presentation ceremony, and the overall sense of lavish, religious spectacle. In a way these are the first modern games. Does it worry you that most of the stuff we most fondly associate with the Olympics originated with the Nazis? It doesn't worry me: the Nazis' moral sense may have been deplorable, but their aesthetic sense was not nearly so bad as people like to pretend.

The greatest thing about this movie is that even though the subject matter is repugnant, the film is done in great taste and Leni Riefenstahl is a genious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible quality, January 6, 2008
By 
This review is from: Olympia: The Complete Original Version (The Leni Riefenstahl Archival Collection) (DVD)
Very disappointing. The images are washed out: no definition, no crispness. Even as a reference copy it would be a strain on the eyes. Hard to understand why such a well known documentary was released in this poor condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 5 for the movie 1 for this product, August 1, 2009
Be aware the movie itself is great, 5 stars definitely, however this version is awful; nothing about the picture quality has been improved, there are no special features. It's literally just an overpriced version of the original material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Olympia: The Complete Original Version (The Leni Riefenstahl Archival Collection)
$29.98 $19.49
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.