Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-written and highly accessible.
Greg Everett is the king of coaching Olympic weightlifting, and the author of Olympic Weightlifting: A Complete Guide for Coaches and Athletes... but unless you're really into the sport, you probably won't make it through that 423-page tome. Olympic Weightlifting For Sports, however, is a sleek 120 pages jam-packed with useful information on the lifts and highly...
Published on June 16, 2012 by Yael Grauer

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pony-up for other Everett Text titled "Olympic Weightlifting"
To be fair, one of the reasons why I gave this such a poor rating was because Everett's other text was/is so good. Where Olympic WEightlifting is an easy-reading practical physician's reference for the Coach/CrossFit Affiliate Owner set, the 'For Sports' variant is little more than a pamphlet that serves as an advertisement for the more comprehensive 'Oly Weightlifting...
Published 18 months ago by Tyler B


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-written and highly accessible., June 16, 2012
By 
Greg Everett is the king of coaching Olympic weightlifting, and the author of Olympic Weightlifting: A Complete Guide for Coaches and Athletes... but unless you're really into the sport, you probably won't make it through that 423-page tome. Olympic Weightlifting For Sports, however, is a sleek 120 pages jam-packed with useful information on the lifts and highly accessible to coaches and athletes of all stripes.

This book is not for competitive weightlifters (his other book's for that), but that level of detail isn't exactly essential for the rest of us. If you simply want to learn the Olympic lifts (or variations thereof) to improve your athletic performance in a different sport, this book has everything you need.

Olympic Weightlifting For Sports begins with an explanation of the benefits of Olympic weightlifting, including kinesthetic awareness, knee and hip extension power (aka explosiveness), the ability to effectively decelerate or oppose force (which is really useful for anyone in a sport where you need to "stop, change direction or absorb the force of colliding opponents") chief among them.

Everett, who works as the head coach of the Catalyst Athletics weightlifting program as well as the director of training at the gym, takes the reader through his 9-part learning progression for the lifts with clear and concise descriptions, step-by-step instructions, and great photographs, so you can learn what you need to without any unnecessary detail -- and even refer to the bullet points for the fundamental information.

My favorite thing about the book is that it's entirely devoid of hype, which leaves room only for information which is useful for the reader. Instead of stating that ALL athletes need to learn ALL the lifts, Everett encourages coaches to look at all the variables in each specific situation--availability of equipment, time considerations, starting competence, and so forth. Not all athletes need all lifts, and it's refreshing to come across a book that doesn't read like ad copy.

What else is in it? Everett also included a nice dose of error correction, touches on flexibility, and has a section on program design, which includes a 2-day template, 3-day template, and a sample 12-week training program. And that's it. Really great, concise information on the lifts and their variants in language that anyone can understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From the Olympic Lifting end, June 21, 2012
Greg's book, Olympic Weightlifting for Sports, is unique in that it is written from the perspective of a weightlifting coach. Although for years, it has been acknowledged that the Olympic lifts were beneficial in the enhancement of athletic performance, most of the material published on this topic has been written by coaches and authors from the strength and conditioning community. Greg's is one of the very few that provides a perspective on the lifts that can only be developed through years of coaching in the gym and carefully noting the changes in athleticism of his lifters.
Coupled with a well thought out teaching progression for coaching the lifts, and a sound background of understanding the impact of these movements on the athlete's body is a layout and organization that is palatable to the many coaches anxious to incorporate these movements into the training regimens of their athletes. This should be on the shelf of every strength and conditioning coach anxious to perfect his or her craft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pony-up for other Everett Text titled "Olympic Weightlifting", June 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
To be fair, one of the reasons why I gave this such a poor rating was because Everett's other text was/is so good. Where Olympic WEightlifting is an easy-reading practical physician's reference for the Coach/CrossFit Affiliate Owner set, the 'For Sports' variant is little more than a pamphlet that serves as an advertisement for the more comprehensive 'Oly Weightlifting book. Buy-up - the money spent is well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for those who aren't competitive weightlifters, June 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have purchased both editions of Olympic Weightlifting: A Complete Guide for Athletes & Coaches. They are wonderful for learning and coaching the lifts. They have everything you need to coach the lifts. What I liked about this book is that it assumes that not everyone who wants to do the lifts wants to be a competitive lifter. Many people just need to learn how to properly get the bar from the ground to the shoulders or overhead in the most efficient manner so they can translate it to their sport. I have plenty of athletes who come into my gym without any lifting experience. I can now use this guide for progressions, as well as encourage them to lift properly without putting themselves in less than ideal positions for the sake of completing the lift. Greg also points out the importance of the lifts, safety involved with them, as well as the technical difference for athletic training vs competitive weightlifting. As with his other books, Greg has great instruction, pictures, and detail that other books do not contain. I recommend this book to any athlete that wants to include the lifts into their program but unsure of how to go about introducing them. I also suggest that every coach should get this book so they can understand so much more about the lifts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great instruction, easy to follow, September 26, 2012
By 
Todd C (Chicago, IL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
First, I'm an artist. I'm not an athlete, but I wanted to improve my strength, coordination, and general ability to do stuff. This book is great for someone like me with little past experience with weightlifting. The instructions and cues in the book, as well as the illustrations, are easy to follow and presented in a way that's easy to remember. Greg makes it easy to coach yourself. The coaching points he gives are easy to keep in your head as you're setting up for the movements. So anyway, here's an endorsement from a novice. It's great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pamphlet!, August 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is not a book but a mere pamphlet that's not worth the money. You can get better and much much more detailed instructions in YouTube! But, if you have a few bucks to spare, buy his 'Olympic Weightlifting: A Complete Guide for Athletes & Coaches' instead of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars clear, concise, complete, February 24, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Short but complete. Very high quality, complete, useful and reliable information. Good black and white photos for every point. Zero filler. Every sentence is short, clear and to the point. Every point is explained. Very helpful is the list of bullet points. I wrote the bullet points in my iphone and review after and during each workout. It also breaks down each lift into parts which can be practiced and mastered separately. The complex olympic lifts are presented as step by step parts which are gradually combined until you have the complete lift. I can see myself rereading this book for a long time to come. No book or DVD can replace a human coach. I learned the lifts in Crossfit training and I'm using this book to review the many points of good technique. Crossfit training moved very quickly and having this book as a reference is very helpful to me. If you want to learn the lifts on your own (not recommended), I think that watching youtube videos together with this book might be pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Resourse, September 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this book for my husband who utilizes a lot of Olympic Lifting in his fitness program. He has loved this book! He finds it useful, insightful, easy to read and full of great suggestions and instruction. This book has been used every day in some capacity since I purchased it. We couldn't be happier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In a Nutshell - Awesome!, June 15, 2012
By 
G. Flores (Foster City, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Olympic Weightlifting for Sports by Gregg Everett demystifies the art of sports
strength training and how to achieve it when using the Olympic lifts.

Long unknown to many trainers and their athletes is the fact that the Olympic
lifts and their progressions make fantastic additions to an athlete's strength
and conditioning program.

But what are the lifts and their progressions?

What exercises give the athlete the most bang for his/her buck?

What are the subtle nuances of hand, foot, and hip positions?

How do you program these lifts into workouts, and into an already busy athletic program?

All the answers are found in this book. I highly recommend it to coaches in all
sports who have wanted to delve into using the Olympic lifts for their athletes,
but didn't think it could be done quickly and easily.

But now it can, in Olympic Weightlifting for Sports by Greg Everett!

Gil Flores
Owner ItsPersonalPT
Foster City, CA
ACE/CPT HKC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding book for young sports players, August 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My son is a big kid who plays tough, strong-guy sports like football and rugby. Coaches in those sports like to see big numbers in several specific lifts: squat, bench press, and power clean. Most important among these is the power clean, because it requires strength in all the important body parts, as well as quickness and coordination that the other two lifts do not. I purchased "Olympic Weightlifting for Sports" precisely for the instruction it provides in the power clean. Olympic weightlifting seems to be mostly about technique. I imagine those guys look down on the power clean as one-half of a military-style clean and jerk, but for us it was very difficult, until I read Coach Everett's book. (I take a big part in my son's gym training by force of circumstances.) Everett's text and photos portray proper technique for the clean and jerk (and other lifts) exceptionally well. I had sought help from many gym rats, including three "personal trainers," all of whom seem dedicated and skilled and were most helpful, yet Everett taught us the necessary moves for the proper power clean. Reading this book led me to "You Tube" exhibitions of Olympic lifts of the clean and jerk, etc., as well as power cleans. (Those Russians are nutz.) Altogether, my son, who is coming off an injury and was "re-establishing" himself in the weight room after a long lay-off, added 100 pounds to his power clean in just 6 weeks, using our new-found techniques. (That is an unusual circumstance, and no beginning lifter should try or expect to realize that gain! Please don't try!) My point is that proper technique can add a lot. Our use of "You Tube" clearly illustrated the effect of Everett's static text. I was amazed by what I saw, and nobody in our gym uses that proper technique for the "catch." A short book that has made a great difference in my son's performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Olympic Weightlifting for Sports
$19.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.