Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powers my E-P3 like a champ!
I had a difficult time buying the OEM battery for my 18-month old E-P3, the BLS-1. I found a few OEM BLS-1 selling for absorbent prices and I suspect were old stock. Apparently the BLS-1 battery and its charger (BCS-1) are being phased out due to a Japanese law banning trickle charging (the low power topping off at the end of the charge cycle). So I bought a Sterlingtrek...
Published 17 months ago by P.K. Frary

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beware old stock batteries
I purchased two of these batteries in April 2014 from a third party seller and one has failed. It no longer holds a charge. I didn't notice this when I received the batteries, but the batteries have dates on them. One was dated Nov 2011 and the other was Oct 2012. The 2011 battery failed after less than 5 months of use, but past the 30 day return period and Olympus has no...
Published 2 months ago by Michael L


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powers my E-P3 like a champ!, July 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olympus BLS-5 Lithium-Ion Battery for Olympus E-PM2 (Electronics)
I had a difficult time buying the OEM battery for my 18-month old E-P3, the BLS-1. I found a few OEM BLS-1 selling for absorbent prices and I suspect were old stock. Apparently the BLS-1 battery and its charger (BCS-1) are being phased out due to a Japanese law banning trickle charging (the low power topping off at the end of the charge cycle). So I bought a Sterlingtrek BLS-1 clone but it shorted out within a week and nearly fried my camera (and hand!). After a little research I learned the newer BLS-5 battery is interchangeable with the BLS-1, the difference being the BLS-5 has an extra contact used by the charger (but not the camera). Unfortunately the official word from Olympus is it requires a charger with the 4th contact, the Olympus BCS-5 Battery Charger for BLS-5 Battery, so I bought a new charger as well. Luckily, the Amazon prices were pretty good for both items, about the same price as buying a single old stock BLS-1.

Not much to say other than the BLS-5 charged up fine in the Olympus BCS-5 Battery Charger and worked perfectly in my E-P3 as expected, yielding about 300 images per charge. But what a relief after the overheating Sterlingtrek BLS-1! Although the Amazon description warns the Olympus BCS-5 Battery Charger is only for the BLS-5 battery, my BLS-1 battery charges perfectly in it as well. Upon a little more testing, I found the BLS-5 charges fine in the older black BCS-1 charger. Glad I don't have to carry two chargers and having a backup charger is good. But, sheesh, why does Olympus say these batteries and chargers are not compatible when they all work fine together?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So far so good., July 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olympus BLS-5 Lithium-Ion Battery for Olympus E-PM2 (Electronics)
I purchased a cheapo Wasabi replacement battery 2-pack/charger deal before, and after a few months the battery stop working, puffed up and almost won't come out of my camera. The second battery never did work. So although this one cost more, it wasn't too bad and so far seems exactly the same as the original battery. Holds a good charge and I'm glad I went with the real deal. I would recommend the same to anyone who cares fro their camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works as expected., September 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olympus BLS-5 Lithium-Ion Battery for Olympus E-PM2 (Electronics)
Am using it with my Olympus EPL5. Works just like the battery that came with the camera which makes sense since it is the same battery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beware old stock batteries, September 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olympus BLS-5 Lithium-Ion Battery for Olympus E-PM2 (Electronics)
I purchased two of these batteries in April 2014 from a third party seller and one has failed. It no longer holds a charge. I didn't notice this when I received the batteries, but the batteries have dates on them. One was dated Nov 2011 and the other was Oct 2012. The 2011 battery failed after less than 5 months of use, but past the 30 day return period and Olympus has no warranty for batteries. I don't know if these batteries were used before, but at minimum they were old stock. The batteries must be dated for a reason and presumably because they have a finite life, whether used or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Battery is dated October 2010, September 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olympus BLS-5 Lithium-Ion Battery for Olympus E-PM2 (Electronics)
The date shown in the battery is October 2010. The product description should note that this is an old battery. The original battery in my camera was from 2013
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I do find that manufacturers products (batteries specifically) perform better than aftermarket ones, October 20, 2014
This review is from: Olympus BLS-5 Lithium-Ion Battery for Olympus E-PM2 (Electronics)
It's a battery. It works. What more to say?
I do find that manufacturers products (batteries specifically) perform better than aftermarket ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A spare is always needed, April 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olympus BLS-5 Lithium-Ion Battery for Olympus E-PM2 (Electronics)
Looks and works just like it should and mfg. by Olympus, should last like my other spare batteries I carry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reliable backup battery, April 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olympus BLS-5 Lithium-Ion Battery for Olympus E-PM2 (Electronics)
I wanted a second/backup battery and this holds a charge for as long as the original BLS-5 battery that came with the Olympus E-PL5 camera. Too bad original manufacturer batteries are relatively expensive, but that's the way it is. I've tried a couple of different third-party batteries with other cameras, and none of them come close to holding a charge for as long as original manufacturer-branded batteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BLS-5 Lithium, April 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olympus BLS-5 Lithium-Ion Battery for Olympus E-PM2 (Electronics)
Fast delivery and perform just as per my expectation. Have been using it for a month with no degradation. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The real deal, January 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olympus BLS-5 Lithium-Ion Battery for Olympus E-PM2 (Electronics)
Not easy to find, but if you want to honor your manufacturer's warranty to the letter, this is the battery to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Olympus BLS-5 Lithium-Ion Battery for Olympus E-PM2
$41.99 $15.70
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.