Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!
I don't even know where to begin. I bought this camera to replace my Canon EOS 40D. Don't get me wrong, I loved that camera, but lugging it around got to be a pain in the neck. It was a heavy camera and with a Tamron 18-270mm attached to it, it was even heavier and clunkier. It was time to pare down. There were a lot of favorable on line reviews on the Olympus E-PL5, the...
Published 16 months ago by Linda

versus
37 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Technically great; operationally not so.
I believe the PEN E-PL5 to be a terrific camera that's offered at a reasonable price, but with a steep learning curve for even routine (non-Auto) operations--evidently not just for me--and weak associated support.

On the physical side, I found the E-PL5 to sit securely and comfortably in my relatively small hands for taking shots at waist-level while using...
Published 15 months ago by Jazzmandan


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice, July 6, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
good camera, handy and flexible for lens. need some time to learn the operation. once you get used to the interface/setting, it's so convenient. When pairing with Panasonic 20mm f1.7, the image is sharp and quality. The only complaint is the focus is slow which isn't camera's fault but the old lens. The Olympus 17mm f1.8 BLACK will release soon. Really looking forward to it. Highly recommend to ppl who want to start to learn photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Stills. Ok Video., June 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great camera for photography. Good build quality. Flip screen is handy. Would prefer more physical controls but manufacturers tend to reserve those for their more expensive models.

As for video, the codec is mediocre (no 60p or 24p, meager 20Mbps bit-rate). It's passable, but will pose a real pain if you try to get into movie making. Don't think you will? I didn't either. But film is such a powerful medium today and the tools are becoming so inexpensive, that you too may soon find yourself wanting to try your hand at it (just like you found yourself one day going for an interchangeable lens camera). Then you'll wonder why Olympus hampers such powerful hardware with such comparably weak video options.

Amazingly, it's not just the E-PL5 that offers lackluster video options, the same goes for the rest of the Olympus line including the OM-D (and even the up-coming E-P5!) Don't hold your breath for a firmware update either. Olympus customer care told me they have no plans to improve video performance via firmware.

Superb *photo* camera. I just wish Olympus would unleash the video performance of their hardware instead of crippling it with such wimpy codecs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great camera for beginners, June 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
After years of using point and shoot cameras I finally decided to upgrade to something a little more serious. I read a lot of reviews before buying this camera and I would have to say they were all spot on, this is a great little camera.
Being so small really helps on the hiking trips I take and with a wide variety of interchangeable lenses you have lots of ways to be creative.
The camera takes great pictures during the day, but I also like doing night shoots and it takes some pretty nice pictures there to. I actually bought this camera because it was recommended for night shooting.
The biggest issue with this camera isn't anything hardware wise, it's the interface that can really slow you down and take time to learn. I like shooting everything in manual and took a while to find all the setting to change it so I could control shutter speed, do bulb time and live time and turn on the super control.
If you want to do this I'll tell you how.
To turn on the Super control panel press the menu button, then navigate to the gear icon and then the display settings icon. After that select control settings and from here you can select the different modes and turn on the super control panel (marked Live SCP).
Now if you want to control the shutter speed and get to the bulb and live exposure settings you need to go into the menu, select the gear, then go to the button/dial icon. From there select dial function, go to the M and select shutter.
There is lots of other things you can do with this camera, so play around with the settings and find what you like best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compact but feature and performance rich. I love it!, January 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love this camera... it's an OM-D EM5 for the 'poor', only with no compromise on the picture quality!
I also have the EP-1 which has the previous generation 12mp sensor and WHAT A DIFFERENCE! Almost every aspect of the picture quality has improved. Nose, white balance, dynamic range... And now it takes a blazing 8fps instead of the EP1's 3 so you just can't not like it.
I'm looking forward for years of enjoyment with this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SLR flexibility, point-and-shoot portability, January 8, 2014
By 
Richard Allen (Kansas City, MO) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I adore this camera. It's small enough that I don't feel like a twerp taking it with me everywhere and the picture quality when paired with the right lens is as good as what you'll get from many SLRs. I highly recommend skipping the kit lens and buying the body and lens separately. My lens of choice is the Panasonic Lumix 14mm f/2.5 – an absolutely tiny lens with a great field-of-view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars E-M5 Image Quality at a lesser price and a more compact size, November 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A great camera that shines with great primes like the Lumix G 20/1.7 or m.Zuiko 45/1.8
The flip-out screen is exceptionally useful (shooting from the hips), and it's perfectly useable in bright days adding to its' usefulness as a take anywhere camera
It has the same sensor as the OM-D E-M5 but doesn't have the EVF bulge making the E-PL5 pocketable especially with pancakes primes like the Lumix 14/2.5 or the 20/1.7

The shallow grip, coupled with the LCD screen taking a large portion of the back, makes handling the camera a bit difficult especially with larger hands and longer lenses like the m.Zuiko 60/2.8 Macro
I would definitely recommend buying the Olympus MCG-2 Large Grip to improve the camera's handling, especially if you're coming from older PENs like the E-PL2 which had great handling ergonomics

Definitely a great choice as a second m4/3 body or as a relatively affordable entry into mirrorless cameras that gives you the same image quality as the higher end models
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect camera., May 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olympus E-PL5 Interchangeable Lens Digital Camera with 14-42mm Lens (Silver) (Electronics)
Bought for image quality. Fantastic little gem which can deliver 95% of what my Nikon D7000 is capable of. Remaining 5 are a tiny less dynamic range and a bit less noise capabilities. Nothing that matters in 95% of situations though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best camera I've ever owned, May 10, 2013
By 
Chris Lee (Silicon Valley, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olympus E-PL5 Interchangeable Lens Digital Camera with 14-42mm Lens (Silver) (Electronics)
I'm using this primarily with the 20mm f1.7 Panasonic "pancake" lens so far. The combination of this camera and lens is fantastic; I get pictures that look amazing, from a camera that doesn't look intimidating. And, even better... as much as I love tweaking the focus manually, setting the shutter speed and aperture by hand, etc, it is pretty great to be able to twist the dial to 'iAUTO', hand the camera to anyone else, and know that they'll get be able to get really nice pictures too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good things in small package!, April 6, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
i bought this as a backup to my OMD and i find myself enjoying it more than my OMD. the weight is perfect and i find when i switch back to my OMD how "heavy" it is in comparison to its little brother. it packs a punch and does just about everything my OMD does, a little more. the images from the EPL5 are fantastic. i mostly shoot jpeg (for personal use) so i appreciate the great olympus colors and output without having to spend extra time in front of the computer correcting/post-processing. SOOC photos are fine for what i'm doing. i love the tilt screen which is another reason why i chose this camera. i tried a panasonic g3 for the tilt screen but was disappointed with the OOC jpegs and returned it. i do wish the tilt screen would lift up a little higher so i can see all of the screen. a slither of the screen is blocked by the hot shoe and it's not the easiest thing to pull out and lift, but if pulled out "in order" it's fine for self-portraits. otherwise, the tilt screen is great and i use it for most of my photos. i don't care too much about the filters, but it's nice to have them for play. the grip makes it easy to hold, the buttons are nicely placed around the camera. if the OMD is not in your budget, this camera is an excellent option. i'm very happy with the camera and highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OM-D-like image quality, but with some twists, March 1, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The E-PL5 is a great affordable camera that brings specs from the flagship Olympus OM-D E-M5 micro four thirds camera. Same sensor and similar performance, though you're missing some of the handling of the bigger brother.

In my experience, I think that the white balance on the E-PL5 isn't as accurate as that on the OM-D, though a software update did improve that greatly.

Also, you're missing some controls for the camera if you're a manual shooter. For that, you'll probably need to step up to a bigger body, like the OM-D or the comparable Panasonic GH series.

This camera has great autofocus, though the autofocus speed seems to hunt a tiny bit more than the OM-D. It's not slow, but not as snappy as that on the OM-D.

Love this camera when paired with the new Olympus 17mm f1.8 lens with the snap to manual focus. Great camera that's jacket pocket-able.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.