Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT LENS CAP. FITS ORIGINAL 14-42mm kit lens.
Most people are under-rating this cap because they don't realize that they bought the NEW VERSION of the 14-42mm lens. The NEW VERSION comes with some versions of the E-PL2 and newer models of the E-PEN series, in which case the lens they had with the kit is the "14-42mm II" or "14-42mm II R" which is the NEWER VERSION. The original has a front tread of 40.5mm. THEY ARE...
Published on January 21, 2012 by Michael

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Does not fit Olympus 14-42mm
Maybe they changed the size of the Olympus 14-42mm at some point. If so, this cap fits the "old one" - - not the kit lens that comes with E-PL2.
Published on July 28, 2011 by Morgan Witthoft


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT LENS CAP. FITS ORIGINAL 14-42mm kit lens., January 21, 2012
This review is from: Olympus Pens LC-40.5 Front Lens Cap for Olympus 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6 Zuiko Lens (Electronics)
Most people are under-rating this cap because they don't realize that they bought the NEW VERSION of the 14-42mm lens. The NEW VERSION comes with some versions of the E-PL2 and newer models of the E-PEN series, in which case the lens they had with the kit is the "14-42mm II" or "14-42mm II R" which is the NEWER VERSION. The original has a front tread of 40.5mm. THEY ARE LOOKING FOR A 37mm LENS CAP. SO, in summary THIS LENS CAP IS FOR THE ORIGINAL 14-42mm ZOOM KIT LENS. IF YOU HAVE "37" ON YOUR LENS, THEN THIS IS THE WRONG CAP. LOOK FOR ANOTHER WITH 37mm ON ITS TITLE. People, READ the title and description before you buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hopefully this will help somebody, March 3, 2012
This review is from: Olympus Pens LC-40.5 Front Lens Cap for Olympus 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6 Zuiko Lens (Electronics)
This lens cap is for the Mark I micro 4/3 Olympus 14-42. The filter is 40.5 mm. In fact, any 40.5mm lens cap will fit on this lens.

It will not fit on a Mark II micro 4/3 Olympus 14-42 lens. That filter size is 37mm. Any 37mm lens cap will fit on the Mark II.
It will not fit on the 4/3 Olympus 14-42 lens. The filter size there is 58mm. Again, any 58mm lens cap will fit.

Moral of the story, when you're looking for a lens cap, look at the filter size, not the name of the lens. The filter size is all that matters, and when there is more than one version of a lens, screw ups happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fits just right, November 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olympus Pens LC-40.5 Front Lens Cap for Olympus 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6 Zuiko Lens (Electronics)
I bought this for my Olympus E-P1 camera (M.Zuiko Digital 14-42mm lens) and it fits perfectly. Couldn't be happier with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Does not fit Olympus 14-42mm, July 28, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olympus Pens LC-40.5 Front Lens Cap for Olympus 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6 Zuiko Lens (Electronics)
Maybe they changed the size of the Olympus 14-42mm at some point. If so, this cap fits the "old one" - - not the kit lens that comes with E-PL2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I hate wasting money!!, November 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olympus Pens LC-40.5 Front Lens Cap for Olympus 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6 Zuiko Lens (Electronics)
After going nervously weeks without a lens cap I finally found what I "THOUGHT" matched up with the replacement cap on Amazon.
All the specs matched up with the original box that I still have when I purchased the EP3! How am I suppose to know what's new & what's the old model or whatever and blah-blah-blah!?
Total waste of money as I shouldve gone to the original place of purchase to buy a generic cap in the first place, had I known that had generic caps. Oh well I guess I can always use it as a mini-frisbee.
Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This lens does not fit the Olympus 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6 Zuiko Lens, August 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olympus Pens LC-40.5 Front Lens Cap for Olympus 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6 Zuiko Lens (Electronics)
I wish I knew the correct lens cap for the Olympus 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6 Zuiko Lens.

This cap is too big.

==== More news from Olympus web site ====
It turns out that I have the M.ZUIKO DIGITAL 14-42mm f3.5-5.6 II. The "II" was not marked on the lens you just have to know!

[...]

The M.ZUIKO DIGITAL 14-42mm f3.5-5.6 II was introduced as the kit lens for the Olympus PEN E-PL2. It retains the versatility of its predecessor and features three additional benefits. This lens is designated MSC (Movie-Still-Compatible), which means it utilizes a nearly silent focusing technology that is all but imperceptible when recording HD movies. It also has an increased autofocus speed when capturing still images. Finally, the lens supports M.Zuiko conversion lenses and optional Ý37 mm filters, all of which attach to the lens via a bayonet mount located underneath the decoration ring at the end of the lens. This lens is narrower and lighter than the original with a diameter of 2.2 inches (56.5 mm) and a weight of 3.9 oz (112 g). When retracted, this lens is 1.9" (50 mm) in length.

The following Olympus accessories are compatible with this lens:
* LH-61C and LH-40 lens hoods
* LC-37B front lens cap
* LR-2 rear lens cap
* PRF-D37 Ý37 mm Protective Filter
* MCON-P01 Macro conversion lens
* WCON-P01 Wide-angle conversion lens
* FCON-P01 Fish Eye conversion lens

The M.ZUIKO DIGITAL 14-42mm f3.5-5.6 II R was introduced as a kit lens option bundled with the E-P3, E-PL3 and E-PM1. The specifications of this model are identical to its predecessor, and it accepts all of the same Olympus accessories, including the lens hoods, M.Zuiko conversion lenses and Ý37 mm filters. However, exterior elements were redesigned in order to match the more modern look of the new trinity of Olympus PEN cameras. The textured grip features narrow horizontal bands around the circumference of the lens barrel, rather than the vertical bands of varied widths that run lengthwise along the barrel of the M.ZUIKO DIGITAL 14-42mm f3.5-5.6 II and M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 14-42mm f3.5-5.6. Also, the lens is a solid color (black or silver), where the previous version had a silver mount on the black-bodied lens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't fit, March 23, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olympus Pens LC-40.5 Front Lens Cap for Olympus 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6 Zuiko Lens (Electronics)
I ordered. When it came, it looked good, but despite what the product description claims,If you have a Pen Mini it will not fit your camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect fit, September 15, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olympus Pens LC-40.5 Front Lens Cap for Olympus 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6 Zuiko Lens (Electronics)
Bought this to replace the lost lens cap for the 14-42 lens on my E-PL1. I lost the first one because it never fit properly (despite it being the cap that shipped with my camera) - it kept falling off while I was walking.

This lens cap seems thicker, and I believe it has a different latching mechanism than my original (but I can't recall exactly how the first one worked). It fits very securely and doesn't need any jiggling to attach. Hasn't fallen off once, and I walk around with my camera on my hip (and the lens extended) a fair amount.

I bought my E-PL1 with the 14-42 kit lens in April of 2010, in case the lens has changed since then (as another reviewer mentioned was possible).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olympus Pens LC-40.5 Front Lens Cap for Olympus 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6 Zuiko Lens (Electronics)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars lenses capped, menses wrapped, July 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olympus Pens LC-40.5 Front Lens Cap for Olympus 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6 Zuiko Lens (Electronics)
Yes, it works!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.