Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Olympus 228045 SP-610Uz Digital Camera (Black)
To those people who might think or who thought that the zoom button doesn't work while taking a video, well that was a false observation. The camera can zoom during video if the audio is DISABLED. The microphones will capture the sound of the zoom motors.
Published on July 28, 2011 by Joe

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too small
This camera has decent optics but unless your hands are small, forget about trying to hold it comfortably. Better to spend another 75 bucks on a larger point-and-shoot with superior stabilization. This is more of a kid's first camera than a backup for more experienced photographers.
Published 8 months ago by Sunshine Bibliophile


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Olympus 228045 SP-610Uz Digital Camera (Black), July 28, 2011
This review is from: Olympus SP-610Uz Digital Camera (Black) (Old Model) (Electronics)
To those people who might think or who thought that the zoom button doesn't work while taking a video, well that was a false observation. The camera can zoom during video if the audio is DISABLED. The microphones will capture the sound of the zoom motors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT CAMERA, June 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olympus SP-610Uz Digital Camera (Black) (Old Model) (Electronics)
This camera is great! I would rate this camera 4 1/2 stars, not 4 stars.
PHOTO QUALITY: The photo quality is spectacular, but only under significant lighting, or while using the flash. When I got this camera at first (a graduation present), I tested the photo quality at Juniors (a resturant). The lighting in Juniors was very weird, and the photos require good lighting, otherwise they turn out blurry. And that was my first result with this camera: blurry photos. I even used the flash when at Juniors, but to no avail. BUT when I later tested out the camera (outside), the photos were GREAT! Overall, tie photo quality deserves 4 stars, because it is SPECTACULAR, but only under good light.

VIDEO QUALITY: Even though it advertises 720p HD video, the video (in my experience) is blurry, and you can't zoom in video mode. If you were hoping for this camera to be good at both photo AND video, you will be dissapointed. The auto-focus is very good, but doesn't work well in video. It will focus very well on a subject in video, but will not focus from one item to another when in video. Overall, the video quality deserves 2 stars because it focuses well, but will not refocus on an object, thus making long movies, or objects moving from far away to closer difficult to film.

SCREEN SIZE: The screen is a great size because it gives a great viewing experience, but doesn't feel to small, nor does it feel as if the back of the camera is all screen. The color is crisp, and you can zoom in on a photo without getting a blurry image. Overall, screen size deserves 5 stars because i wouldn't want it to change in any way!

BUTTON LAYOUT: Very annoying! They made this thing on the back where it is both a wheel you can turn to go from one image to the next, and also click the sides of it as if they were arrows. This is annoying in some ways, for instance: if you zoom in on a photo (one that is already taken and is being viewed), and you want to move to a certain part of the image, you must use the arrow part of the scroll wheel. BUT if you accidentally TURN the wheel, it goes to the previous or next photo, zoomed in. Then you must turn the wheel in the opposite direction of that it was previously turned so you are on the photo you want to be on, zoomed in. BUT WAIT you are not zoomed in on the part you want to be zoomed in on, so you must go through the experience again, taking the risk of turning the wheel and going to the next or previous photo. Overall, button layout deserves 4 stars because the movie record button is just there instead of it being a separate mode; the buttons are layed out very creatively (if you push the button of the scroll wheel, that is also the delete button!); but the scroll wheel is annoying in certain situations. The scroll wheel is the only thing i would change (traditional arrows are much easier!)

ZOOM: The zoom is very good. The object you zoom in on is very clear. One problem: it doesn't go as far as I'd hoped. If you want a super zoom camera, than this camera still fits into that category. The only problem is that if there was a minimum super zoom and a maximum super zoom, this would be the minimum. You can't choose a zoom speed. No matter how slow or fast you push the zoom tab, it will always be the same speed. The speed isn't too fast, but its not slow! Overall, the zoom deserves 4 stars because it doesn't live up to its 22X name. That is only because the lens is wide-angle.

FLASH: The flash works great! You have to flip it up manually, which your hand, instead of pushing a button. That is fine. But one thing i have noticed: when the flash is necessary, it lights the center of the photo, but leaves the sides just a little dark. It is no big deal. In fact, it makes the photo look pretty damned cool! Overall, the Flash deserves 5 stars because there is nothing i would change about it!

OVERALL: This camera has its ins and outs, and its ups and downs, but it takes great images, and at a GREAT price! Everything about it is manageable. The only problem that sticks out is that you need good light for a good picture. But the light doesn't have to be THAT good, just okay lighting and use of the flash will solve that problem. Overall, this camera is great, and I'd definitely recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Point and Shoot, April 6, 2012
By 
R. Brooks (Arizona United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olympus SP-610Uz Digital Camera (Black) (Old Model) (Electronics)
Our old Olympus C640 got fried because I put Lithium AA batteries in it. Cooked the processor immediately. DO NOT PUT LITHIUM AA BATTERIES IN THIS CAMERA EITHER. They warn you but in small print in the back of the user manual. I called Olympus to double check and they told me this processor would burn up also on Lithiums.

But I must tell you, I am almost glad the old one died. This camera is so easy to use. You ALMOST do not need to read the manual (glad I did). Nice bright display, easy menu. My only compaint might be it does not have bracketing ability. The old C640 could shoot 3 or 5 shots at varying shutter speeds and bracketing widths, you know that one will turn out perfect.

But it has other features the old one did not. The carrying case is perfect, not too big or small yet offers protection and 2 pouches for extra batteries.

Olympus makes great point and shoot cameras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too small, February 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olympus SP-610Uz Digital Camera (Black) (Old Model) (Electronics)
This camera has decent optics but unless your hands are small, forget about trying to hold it comfortably. Better to spend another 75 bucks on a larger point-and-shoot with superior stabilization. This is more of a kid's first camera than a backup for more experienced photographers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Picture Perfect!, February 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olympus SP-610Uz Digital Camera (Black) (Old Model) (Electronics)
Bought this for my 15yr old daughter and she loves it! Perfect for an advanced beginner looking to take the next step. Features of an SLR in a point and shoot. Great quality and price for what the camera offers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great zoom, November 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olympus SP-610Uz Digital Camera (Black) (Old Model) (Electronics)
I have had this camera for a couple of months now. I am very happy with it. I find it easy to use. It has a decent flash. The best feature is the zoom. It is truly amazing. It was well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great camera, October 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olympus SP-610Uz Digital Camera (Black) (Old Model) (Electronics)
This camera takes high quality photographs. The zoom feature is nice but the photos become grainy if you zoom in far. Also, at dusk, the pictures become blurry if you move the camera slightly. So if you are taking picture in low light, use a camera stand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, October 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olympus SP-610Uz Digital Camera (Black) (Old Model) (Electronics)
The camera is amazing, the photos are very good and the design is very nice, I'm very happy with it, you have to enjoy all of its features to make the most of, the only thing that would improve indoor shots are not as vivid HOWEVER through its functions is accomplished to improve them, in short is an excellent camera for its price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I expected much more from this brand., December 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olympus SP-610Uz Digital Camera (Black) (Old Model) (Electronics)
Autofocus in smart mode (iAuto) is not good. The quality of the photos is normal compared to other brands of cameras in this price band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bests super best camera!, October 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olympus SP-610Uz Digital Camera (Black) (Old Model) (Electronics)
This camera is great! I would rate this camera 4 1/2 stars, not 4 stars.
PHOTO QUALITY: The photo quality is spectacular, but only under significant lighting, or while using the flash. When I got this camera at first (a graduation present), I tested the photo quality at Juniors (a resturant). The lighting in Juniors was very weird, and the photos require good lighting, otherwise they turn out blurry. And that was my first result with this camera: blurry photos. I even used the flash when at Juniors, but to no avail. BUT when I later tested out the camera (outside), the photos were GREAT! Overall, tie photo quality deserves 4 stars, because it is SPECTACULAR, but only under good lightsuper super maximum best best best best best best best best digital camera!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Olympus SP-610Uz Digital Camera (Black) (Old Model)
$229.99 $124.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.