Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 10, 2013
This is a good general use camera with sharp images and very high resolution...it rivals my Canon 50D at one tenth the price. Waterproof for a pool or snorkeling. This sells at Walmart for $119.00 as a now discontinued model so do not pay more! My only disappointment is a very small battery which requires you to use the auto-off feature or it will be dead in an hour. Otherwise it would get 5 stars! You need an extra lithium ion battery if you do much shooting, probably $30 or so. The selling price of $448.56 must be a mistake so be careful.
11 comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2013
I have had this camera for one month and shot more than 500 pictures. While the TG620 can be used in fully automatic mode, it is very flexible in P-mode. Fiddling with the various shooting modes using the toggle and the LCD screen works, but is very slow, particularly under bright outdoors conditions, where the screen is harder to read. The only feature which I miss is exposure bracketing. The internal HDR mode (3 shots are combined in the camera in a very slow 15 seconds!!) is not worth the trouble. Almost all my shots this far were made in P-mode with -0.3ev exposure compensation, with sequence mode (5 shots per second at full resolution for up to 20 seconds!) enabled. Shooting with this camera (mine is black) can be very discrete: out of the pocket the first shot is captured in under two seconds, 5 more in the next second, and back into the pocket, all in less than 5 seconds. Try this with your cellphone or DSLR! Use your hand to keep direct sunlight from shining on the lens (window)to avoid the lens flair which appears to be typical of the periscope lens design.The image stabilization appears to be very effective.The battery is claimed to be good for 300 shots, which may be true. I bought a spare battery ($7), but this far have never used it. Shots at iso800 are perfectly usable, but also more frequently needed due to the f/3.9 aperture, a compromise for a shirt-pocket camera with the periscope lens design. When inspected at 200%, the image quality of side-by-side shots under bright out-doors conditions with the TG620 is a little below the quality achieved by my Panasonic LX5, but the LX5 rarely leaves my house. My LX5 shows much less lens flair.The LCD screen is very usable outdoors, but nowhere near as much contrast as that of my LX5. The processor and CMOS detector of the Olympus TG620, TG630, TG820, TG-2 and XZ-10 are the same, but the last two cameras have different and two stop faster lenses. Read [...] to get an idea of the TG620 image quality. I have not had a chance to test the TG620 under water.The seals on the two doors look OK, if they are kept clean. The quality of the seals of the other buttons is hard to assess, but I have not heard any complaints.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2013
this is a wonderful camera. i am what you might call a experienced enthusiast, having owned or operated a wide variety of cameras. canon, nikon, samsung, sony, panasonic, and olympus. everything from $70 point and shoots to $2,000 DSLRs and mirrorless compacts. i can honestly say this olympus TG-620 is capable of capturing stunning images and the weatherproof-lifeproof element is a bonus for a camera which can stand alone for its' image quality. all cameras have their limitations, even $2,500 professional DSLRs.(would you take your Canon EOS 6D out in a blizzard) . this camera has a place in every ones gear bag and i would recommend it in a heartbeat
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2013
The TG-620 is one of the smaller rugged cameras available from the better name brands. Afaik, the only rugged cameras slightly smaller are the Sony cyber shot TX line (super expensive) and some in the Panasonic TS line.

Photos in iAUTO mode have very good color saturation, but are extremely contrasty w/ undetailed blacks. However, the SCENE modes, and even P-mode, yield much better photos...but at the expense of color saturation.

According to Olympus, "This camera is not supported for UHS speed class"...meaning it has no high speed features a "Class 10" card can use. Despite the marking on the memory compartment, you also don't need an expensive XC card because the lowest XC is a whopping 64 Megabytes (holds over 15,000 12MB jpegs). $$ave by buying an 8 MB Class 6 HC card (holds almost 2000 12MB jpegs).

According to some reputable sources, the main difference between the TG-620 and TG-630 is the 630's upgrade from Truepic V to VI processor, which speeds up some of the camera's operational speeds. For instance, start up time should be slightly faster on the 630 and high speed movie modes are completely absent from the 620, etc. (it's a bit deceptive that Olympus alludes to the Truepic VI on their 620 web page...unless they ran out of TP5 chips and started putting TP6 in the last few 620's just before they were discontinued). Both models have the same CMOS sensor.

I took a star off because both the 620 and 630 have relatively short battery charge (the 630's being slightly longer)...although not enough to worry about unless you're filming video. I also don't like that you can't use the camera while plugged into the wall.

So, basically, if you find the TG-620 for an extremely low price and don't think you're going to need the 630's high speed video options and slightly longer battery life, then get the 620.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2013
the wheel for selecting different functions is too small, one very often presses the unintended direction and ends up in the wrong menu.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2013
This is a great little camera. It takes great underwater photos. Crystal clear definition. The only reason I rated this at 4 stars was the first one just quit working after about 5 days of use. I sent it back to the seller and they promptly replaced it. Hopefully this new one is better. The quality of the photos is wonderful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2013
I bough it specifically for snorkeling while travelling and it was prefect for that in the price range. Definitely better than relying on a cell phone for pictures. Sure there are better cameras, but at this price (little more than one hundred), I would recommend it as a low cost waterproof camera.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2014
This was a gift for our 6 year old daughter for a Caribbean cruise. She used it constantly, even under water, and it was - and still is - a terrific camera. Takes excellent pictures. This is great for younger, but creative and responsible kiddos.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2013
Good camera that gives you great pictures for the price. But I think is it very annoying that Olympus does not use standard things. For example the USB cable plug is CB-USB8 which I never saw before. I also had some problems with my old LI-50B generic batteries that would not fit correctly in my camera. They seemed a little too thin so the "hook" would not keep them in place.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2013
For the price, it does everything I need it to do well so far. Still haven't tried it underwater, but don't really intend to. Needed a "tough" camera to take on the road in areas where I didn't want to risk our higher end Nikons.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.