Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great addition to my TG-2
Works well, easy to adapt and setup. Have heard some issues with a small circle when zoomed out, and found the instructions bleak on this. However you can minimize this issue by going into set up and entering accessories or something like that and setup the camera with the use of this adapter lens, which reduces this issue and gives you greater zoom capabilities. I...
Published 7 months ago by Jesse naye

versus
80 of 87 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Warning: unless you are zoomed in, this makes everything a black circle.
I attached this lens to my Olympus TG-2 camera.

The lens works to double the amount of zoom that my camera has available to it. However, if I do not have my camera actually "zoomed in", then the lens makes the entire photograph a big black field with a tiny circle of image in the middle.

In other words: You can *only* attach this lens for the precise...
Published 13 months ago by Tony Fabris


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

80 of 87 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Warning: unless you are zoomed in, this makes everything a black circle., October 17, 2013
By 
Tony Fabris (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olympus Telephoto Tough Lens Pack (lens and adapter) for TG-1, TG-2, and TG-3 Cameras (Black with Red Adapter) (Electronics)
I attached this lens to my Olympus TG-2 camera.

The lens works to double the amount of zoom that my camera has available to it. However, if I do not have my camera actually "zoomed in", then the lens makes the entire photograph a big black field with a tiny circle of image in the middle.

In other words: You can *only* attach this lens for the precise moment when you want to take photos of distant objects. You must remove the lens at all other times. You cannot just leave the lens on all the time and zoom out when you want a wide shot. If you do that you'll just get a big black circle all the time.

To be even clearer: Here is the step-by step of what will happen when you buy this lens:

- Install the lens.
- Turn on the camera.
- Oh my God, it's just a big black circle. What's wrong?
- Zoom in.
- As you zoom in, the circle gets bigger and bigger until finally the entire picture is visible in the viewfinder.
- Ah, that's better.
- Turn off the camera.
- Turn it back on.
- Oh my God, it's just a big black circle. What's wrong?
- Repeat.
- Then you decide you want to take a picture of something that is nearby.
- Zoom out.
- Oh my God, it's just a big black circle.
- Remove the lens.
- Can take your close up picture.
... etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great addition to my TG-2, April 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olympus Telephoto Tough Lens Pack (lens and adapter) for TG-1, TG-2, and TG-3 Cameras (Black with Red Adapter) (Electronics)
Works well, easy to adapt and setup. Have heard some issues with a small circle when zoomed out, and found the instructions bleak on this. However you can minimize this issue by going into set up and entering accessories or something like that and setup the camera with the use of this adapter lens, which reduces this issue and gives you greater zoom capabilities. I recommend this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use, July 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olympus Telephoto Tough Lens Pack (lens and adapter) for TG-1, TG-2, and TG-3 Cameras (Black with Red Adapter) (Electronics)
This lens is just what I needed to get that extra close shot with my TG-2 camera. Simple to attach to the camera and then the camera has the settings to make that close up shot look great! I would recomend this lens & or camera as well As both to anyone thats on the go out in the eliments on a hiking or camping trip, or on the go with the kids on the baseball field. This is truly a great set up without the worry of the water, dust or an occasional drop leaving you without a camera. The TG series is truly a "TOUGH" Camera and this lens looks to be as tough as the Camera is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a zoom lens, but excellent telephoto, January 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olympus Telephoto Tough Lens Pack (lens and adapter) for TG-1, TG-2, and TG-3 Cameras (Black with Red Adapter) (Electronics)
I found that what other reviewers have said about this lens is true: it is a straight-up telephoto lens that must be removed for anything other than long shots. On the default angle width setting, it is like looking through a pin hole. The black margin is eliminated only as you zoom in; that said, there is a reasonable telescopic range over which the picture is excellent. The optics (clarity, distortion, brightness) are typical Olympus quality. As has been said, the adaptor ring provides a lens cap for the camera, which should have been part of the base camera but was not. Overall the problem with this lens is one of convenience because unless all your pictures will be zoomed, you'll be applying and removing it a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for long distance shooting., April 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olympus Telephoto Tough Lens Pack (lens and adapter) for TG-1, TG-2, and TG-3 Cameras (Black with Red Adapter) (Electronics)
I had originally thought this would work across the camera's entire zoom range, instead you have to zoom the camera itself in to at least 3x to get the peep hole ring of this add on lens to disappear. Really only makes the camera usable at maximum zoom, but honestly if you're going to use an add-on telephoto lens then you probably will be zoomed in all the way anyway. Really helps with taking photos of things that the base camera couldn't get without being closer. Personally I only ever use it with the base camera set at its max zoom of 4x which gives you an resultant actual zoom of 7x with the lens. The only thing I don't like about it isn't the lens, because that thing feels like a brick of steel and glass that would survive an impact perfectly, but the lens adapter that clips onto the camera and gives you the threaded socket to screw this lens one with. That little adapter clicks into place but still has some wiggle to it, doesn't seem to present a problem though. All in all I like it, works well for expanding my capabilities of the base camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Compact lens!!, November 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olympus Telephoto Tough Lens Pack (lens and adapter) for TG-1, TG-2, and TG-3 Cameras (Black with Red Adapter) (Electronics)
Carried this lens with me on a back packing trek to Philmont Scout Ranch in northern NM. I was fantastic for capturing far off wildlife, capturing the scouts as they did rock climbing. I have have also used it with the Macro setting with awesome results as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I see far! You should see my shots of the NYC skyline at a distance of 8 miles east. Fabulous colors., September 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olympus Telephoto Tough Lens Pack (lens and adapter) for TG-1, TG-2, and TG-3 Cameras (Black with Red Adapter) (Electronics)
Great accessory to a fabulous camera! It takes clear and sharp pictures in brilliant color. Easy installation. The lens provides 2 caps. One can be used on camera when lens is off since the camera comes without one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super clear lens and photos come out great, August 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olympus Telephoto Tough Lens Pack (lens and adapter) for TG-1, TG-2, and TG-3 Cameras (Black with Red Adapter) (Electronics)
Very well made lens, fits perfectly on my camera. Adapter is plastic, but its well made too. Gave my TG-2 a little more zoom power. Definatly the toughest lens I've ever had. Super clear lens and photos come out great. Good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A slight improvement, June 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olympus Telephoto Tough Lens Pack (lens and adapter) for TG-1, TG-2, and TG-3 Cameras (Black with Red Adapter) (Electronics)
This telephoto lens only gives a slight extension of the view. Not very powerful.
Cannot hurt though. Comes with the "wide angle" lens which is a terrible design and blocks the flash almost completely (the telephoto does not, but you do not use flash with telephoto anyway)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Works as expected, May 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olympus Telephoto Tough Lens Pack (lens and adapter) for TG-1, TG-2, and TG-3 Cameras (Black with Red Adapter) (Electronics)
Others have noted that it doesn't work well without being zoomed in most of the way. Knowing this going in, it works perfectly well for my needs, and seems to produce great images. At close range, I don't want the extra zoom anyway, and it's a very quick operation to remove or add the lens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.