Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'fangs, claws and domination between the sheets'
I was browsing at EC one day and saw this hunk, I mean book, and had to get it. I know you really shouldn't buy a book based only on the cover, but this turned out to be a very good read for me. And the cover model was actually a good representation of the hero, Diskant Black.

This hero is a 6'6 hunk of muscled goodness, and he's got big, bad and dangerous down...
Published on October 8, 2011 by S. Richards

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Decent premise fell apart (editor needed)
For this reader, too many typos, some really wonky sentences, and reams of graphic sex diminished a promising plot. The publisher, Ellora's Cave, can do better, and I wish they would show the exact imprint (Romantica or Blush, whatever) with the title or on the cover.

For comparison, Midnight Man (Midnight), by Lisa Marie Rice, is ALSO "A Romantica® erotic...
Published 18 months ago by Mountaineer


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'fangs, claws and domination between the sheets', October 8, 2011
This review is from: Omega Mine (Kindle Edition)
I was browsing at EC one day and saw this hunk, I mean book, and had to get it. I know you really shouldn't buy a book based only on the cover, but this turned out to be a very good read for me. And the cover model was actually a good representation of the hero, Diskant Black.

This hero is a 6'6 hunk of muscled goodness, and he's got big, bad and dangerous down pat. He's also very dominating and in charge. I loved that he was so very masculine, and the heroine was small and delicate. I love to see that hardness contrasted with feminine softness. And Diskant is not your average shifter. He was born a wolf-shifter, but when he reached a certain age, he underwent a very rare change for a shifter. A mark appeared on his arm, much like a tattoo, signifying that he would be more than an Alpha; he would be an Omega, able to call on many animal spirits, being able to shift into a grizzly bear, wolf, jaguar, lynx, falcon, just to name a few. So this means he is very powerful and can kick azz like nobody's business.

He rescues the heroine one night from some vamps in a dark alley, and, as the case in most shifter romances, it's one sniff and Diskant has found his mate. He doesn't know Ava's name, so he calls her 'Pinkie' because of her short blonde hair with the pink streaks in it. She's only 5 feet tall, and he towers over her; his hand can actually encompass her entire throat. He's gentle with her, but he does love her up rough. And is it good. The man is hot, and the sex is scorching. You have to love a man who thinks, 'he would be the only one who would ever touch her, taste her or f--- her into oblivion.' The dude is sex on a stick.

There is a lot of erotic sex, as a mating heat and bloodbonding ensue, but there's also a good story along for the ride. This is a new to me author, under either pen name, and I was really pleased with how the story read and how the characters felt. This is a paranormal romance that gives us the expected characters: shifters, vamps, warlocks, shifter hunters, and so on, but this author does make these characters interesting and sexy.

There is a lot of potential here with the overall story of shifter vs. Shepherd hunters, not to mention the many characters we meet in this first story. I'm looking forward to the wolf Alpha, Trey, meeting his mage vamp mate, Sadie, soon in his own story. I'm also completely in love with Kinsley MacGregor; black hair, green eyes and a sexy Scottish accent, what's not to love? I'm also eager to see what's up with the vamp Aldon Frost, and most of all, I want to see if Ava's brother Thomas will redeem himself at some point. There is just a lot here to look forward to.

Omega Mine gives us a sexy taste of the many characters and stories that are still to come. All in all, it's a very good start to a hot, new PNR series that can go in many different and interesting directions. As for Diskant and Ava, there is so much chemistry and sex appeal in this story. Diskant is one delicious hero. He tells Ava, 'There is nothing more important in this world to me than you and there never will be. Not our children. Not any of the packs or prides. Only you,' proving that no matter how big and tough a man is, all it takes is one woman, the right woman, to bring him to his knees. And if this is how this author writes her heroes, I'm in for a very good time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, October 13, 2011
This review is from: Omega Mine (Kindle Edition)
First off, JA Saare is one of my favorite authors. I have thoroughly enjoyed the books she has written as her alter ego, Aline Hunter, but Omega Mine is by far my favorite under Hunter. It is the beginning of a new series and what a beginning it is! It has everything you could want in a book: Strong hero and heroine with great chemistry (HOT), the plot is complete with mystery, conflict, action and heartbreak and it leaves off with you wanting more but with a satisfying conclusion to Diskant and Ava's story. I cannot wait to read more about Emory and Trey, and to see how Ms. Hunter resolves the overall conflict.

This was a fantastic read and highly recommend it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Your Conventional Series Starter, April 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Omega Mine (Kindle Edition)
I was a little skeptical when I first started reading this, I love erotica but I tend not to like books where the authors use extreme language for anatomy, but my chagrin was dumped by the wayside as I got into the story - and what a story! This is a perfect book for a series opener-most authors try to cram too much into the first book and they do it too soon; taking away important story time from both the characters in the first book and their story. But this author did it perfectly in my opinion. This author waited until about 50% of the book was done to start letting trickles of 'set-up' information come through and just information enough to really pique ones curiosity.

Diskant is the Omega for the northern east coast of the United Stares. Diskant can change into many forms and has absolute rule over all the Packs and Prides around. One night he comes upon what he thinks is a child being accosted by two vampires and when he goes to help he realizes that it is a woman. Actually it is THE woman. The one woman that can tame all his inner animals. Ava (Pinkie as Diskant has come to think of her) is a telepath and one who is on a mission. When she awakes in Diskants bed things come to pass and they have fabulous sex (of course they do, it's erotica right?) and much to Diskants utter annoyance she escapes. As the synopsis says, the timing cannot be worse since there are Shepard's in town. These are human's who have vowed to cleanse the earth of the Demons of which the shape-changers are one.

The sexual aspect was flaming; right in keeping with the amount and types of encounters an erotica fan want to find in their books. Finely detailed with nothing overly aggressive on either characters parts. No BDSM. Of course Diskant being Omega and an alphic type character is quite demanding of his partner, and Ava eventually learns to be demanding in her own right. No forced seductions in this book!

This was so much more than just a sexy book, it has a great action packed and emotionally charged story, one that will be ongoing. It was very well written, something not all erotica can boast. The characters are fully fleshed, the narrative is engaging if a little overly dramatic at times. Diskant is not too over-bearing and Eva certainly comes into her own and is really no push-over. I would compare Ms. Hunter style to Christine Warren before Ms. Warren left Ellora's Cave and went more mainstream.

I can see this author has talent and she will most likely go mainstream at some point. Another great thing is that it is a very long book so you certainly get a great long read for your outlay.

I have already bought the next book in this series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Omega Mine, July 24, 2013
This review is from: Omega Mine (Kindle Edition)
I love shifters!! This slightly original start to a new series has many things a fan of the genre looks for. It's sensual, exciting, mysterious and fun. A definite must read for paranormal romance readers!

Ava is an intelligent, beautiful and strong willed female that is on a bit of a mission to get a family heirloom back within the family where it belongs. After her brother decided to pawn it off to someone. She feels it's a must. (No good brother of hers!) One thing she does not expect to find is an irresistible Omega along her path to get the heirloom. What an Omega he is!

Diskant is the local Omega. He has the skill to shift into various animal forms. A rarity and highly respected position among shifters. He's on route on day and finds a woman being attacked by vampires. Deciding to save the damsel in distress. He steps up and chases them away. He also finds one person he never thought he'd lay his eyes upon. His mate!

I absolutely LOVED the build and chemistry between these two. I felt it all as if I was one of the characters, right there going through the experience(s) (awesome!) I look forward to much more from this author :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Decent premise fell apart (editor needed), March 16, 2013
This review is from: Omega Mine (Kindle Edition)
For this reader, too many typos, some really wonky sentences, and reams of graphic sex diminished a promising plot. The publisher, Ellora's Cave, can do better, and I wish they would show the exact imprint (Romantica or Blush, whatever) with the title or on the cover.

For comparison, Midnight Man (Midnight), by Lisa Marie Rice, is ALSO "A Romantica® erotic romance from Ellora's Cave" -- filled with sex from the get-go. I loved Midnight Man, but not Omega Mine. Midnight Man is more polished, and personally, I found Midnight Man more tastefully done.

Yet, Omega Mine has a better premise to start with, especially since I love shape-shifters. The problem / suspense is promising and the characters interesting and varied, with shifters, vampires, witches, and magi. However, there are some weak spots in the story itself, and the resolution is abrupt and disappointing.

Diskant Black is an alpha wolf, but he is also an omega, and in Hunter's world, that means he can shift into any type of animal. I thought that was pretty cool.

But it's also confusing, to say a character is both an alpha and an omega. They are opposite traits, in whatever dictionary you check. Of course, Hunter is the author and can do whatever the hay she likes, but as the reader, I can feel however I want.

Just for one comparison, in Patty Briggs' Alpha and Omega Series -- see Hunting Ground (Alpha & Omega, Book 2) for example -- an omega wolf is not inclined to aggressively jockey for pack position. The omega wolf does not cater to the alpha, but is uniquely placed outside the pack hierarchy, to be a neutral voice. Strong? Maybe. Protective? Yes. Wise? Always. An omega is treasured by the pack, bringing harmony, comfort, and peace to tortured souls.

Speaking of tortured, some of Hunter's sentences are exactly that. Tormented. Wonky. Like this one:

"Thinking about the circumstances that brought her to this dangerous location incensed her further and she vented her frustrations via the fingers that adjusted the strap attached to the leather messenger bag draped across her chest."

**What the helicopter was that?!!**

Or this one:

"Pretending it wasn't an issue was like ignoring a rabid, child-eating circus elephant dressed in a pink tutu that was coming right at you."

**Laughing my asparagus off!**

The promising plot got lost in the sex. Some of the smexy scenes were >7 pages long. I knew it would be sexy, and wanted a hot read, but after a while ... skim, skim, skim. I was into the plot, finding it interesting, but then, bam! Right in the midst of danger, she'd bend over and he'd pull out his tool. ツ

To me, the sex felt hardcore, especially at first, because I didn't sense emotional intimacy. For example, during the first sex scene, he didn't even know her name (because he didn't ask). Also, they didn't use protection. She never thought of it until after several mating sessions. (Good thing shifters cannot be diseased, huh?)

I did gradually buy into the relationship between Diskant and Eva (his Pinkie). By the end, I was almost in ♥ with Diskant, because he was protective and tender when needed. But!! He is also too possessive, too bossy.

My budding relationship with Diskant and Eva was weakened every time Hunter shifted the POV to one of several other characters, including Emory, Trey, Mary, Sadie, Craig. Too much head hopping. Hunter really took a chip out of the main story by creating all these other relationships and spending time in their heads, mostly to catch our interest for sequels, I assume.

TYPOS. The bloody glitches jump out at me. Sometimes I feel harassed by the dam* things. Hunter needs a new editor. This book has numerous typos (mainly commas, some words).

Also, Hunter consistently capitalizes "alpha" but never capitalizes "Bible," even though it is standard practice when referring to the book ("...a bible in one hand and a cross in the other..."). With a plot that depicts Christians as evil extremists, you gotta wonder if she has a bias. (Probably just an easy trope.)

These varied errors and wonky sentences do not impede the story (much). However, if I pay for a book, I can overlook a handful of typos, but not this many.

Strong Language Advisory: More than 120 F-bombs, several dozen instances of profanity, numerous encounters with graphic language like pussy, etc. The language was a bit extreme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Shifter Paranormal Romance Story, October 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Omega Mine (Kindle Edition)
This shifter story was a little different from other shifters novels. The one of the main characters, Diskant, can shift into several different types of animals. Our main female, Ava, is a tough lady who is hiding her secret abilities from the general population. She is aware of shifters only because she cannot use her abilities on any paranormal types.

When Ava meets Diskant, they feel an attraction to each other. While Diskant is thrilled at finally finding his true mate, Ava is not willing to accept him or her own attraction to him. She sneaks out of his house leaving him only with the nickname he gave her (Pinkie) and some raging hormones.

Eventually Diskant tracks Ava down and then the sparks begin to fly! Sparks, embers, and then flames! Their passionate encounters started melting the chocolate right off my desk. Holy hot chocolate batman!

This book is for those who like to read about hunky shifters dudes and their mates and the passion that happens between them. There is a lot of sizzling sexual stuff going on everywhere in this book. The book is satisfying and ended at a logical place. Even though all things are not wrapped up, enough is wrapped up that you feel satisfied that you have read a whole story. This was my first book by this author and I am looking forward to reading the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unsatisfying: no wrap up, January 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Omega Mine (Kindle Edition)
This book starts as your standard girl meets shifter. Girl is shifter's mate. Girl and shifter have heavy duty sex, a lot. Girl is mind reader. Girl's family heirloom, a power object is stolen by her brother who flies away and disappears from the plot with the object.

Then the book became really frustrating: Shifter loses human mate whose family called Shepherds, are ruthless cruel shifter hunters. Human mate escapes from the family with a captured, tortured young sifter. Then promptly disappears in the plot never to be heard from again. What the hell is that?

Shepherds attack shifter, shifters ready for war and the book ends. Unfinished, unsatisfactory ending, ticked me off.

The author chooses to disregard basic shifter/paranormal lore. Here an omega is a shifter who can shift to a variety of apex predators. Omegas normally are the peacemakers, not here, this omega is a testosterone soaked male alpha.

This book held lots of potential, none of which was realized. It ended before any of the plot was tied up. Really unsatisfying and obviously a blatant way to sell subsequent books. I can live without knowing what happens, I don't plan to buy any more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, May 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Omega Mine (Kindle Edition)
Wonderfully written, loved how it was more than just a sex book. It has a good story plot behind it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drama, excitement, hot sex, romance..., February 16, 2014
This review is from: Omega Mine (Kindle Edition)
Reviewed by Indera
Book provided by the publisher for review
Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was full of drama, excitement, hot sex, romance… and of course vampires and shifters.

As Omega of all shifters in New York City Diskant Black has his hands full. The Shepherds, (hunters of shifters), are in town causing havoc in the shifter community and it is duty for the Omega to protect and maintain order.

Bartender Ava Brisbane just wants to deal with the problems of her brother Thomas and make it thru the next few days at work so she can take her well deserved vacation.

Sometimes plans get interrupted and that is exactly what happens with Ava and Diskant! I was immediately caught up in this book when super hunk, shifter, and Omega (most powerful of all lycanthropes) Diskant interrupts as Ava is attacked by vampires. He arrives just in time to save her life. The instant Diskant laid his eyes on Ava and inhaled the scent of this woman, he knew he was in trouble. Just the sight, smell, and feel of Ava Brisbane stirred all the beasts within Diskant and he knew instantly that he found his mate and he had to have her. His Ava- Ava Mine!

Ava awakens in a strange bed in the presence of a huge ugly dog. Even among the chaos and confusion (of where she was and how she arrived in this strange place) she still cannot deny how this hot, tall, and dark haired man has taken her breath away and has stirred pure sexual desire inside her.

Ava knows enough about shifters to want to get as far away from this one as possible, but fate has them soon face to face again. Not only is there a war that endangers the shifters in New York City, there is a war happening within Ava between her body and her mind as she tries to deny her connection with hunky shifter Diskant!

Warning- This book is filled with hot, graphic and very sizzling sex scenes. (This book is not for the shy type.) I fell in love with the romance aspect of the story. There is the young delicate Ava and the pure male hunk Diskant. (This is your Beauty and the Beast story; the hot, yummy, hunky Beast!) Ava starts to discover secrets and mysteries from her past as the story moves forward. The story takes off with an array of memorable characters and exciting action filled scenes. I could not stop reading; (I finished the book in two nights).

I am a fan of erotica, but sometimes too much of the abrupt, harsh, and rough language turns me off. Author Aline Hunter did an amazing job with the scenes leaving me wanting to read more even with all the rough language! I will admit again- the scenes are hot hot hot! Not only was I hanging on after each page waiting to read what would happen next in the war between the Shepherds and the Shifters, but I could not wait for the next spicy sex scene! The book teases with the characters and the story line. The story seemed to end too soon- but then again it is the perfect set up for the next books in the series. I am definitely a new Aline Hunter fan and cannot wait to read the next book in the series! This one is Super Yummy on my scale of Yumminess!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great series!!, December 24, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Just finished this book. Loved it!!! I received Enemy Mine today. Can't wait to get started on it. I hope there will be others!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Omega Mine
Omega Mine by Aline Hunter
$3.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.