Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: On the Incarnation
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars22
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 14, 2012
The writings of the Church Fathers have always been essential to my scholarly research in any topic or subject I have endeavored. Those word in Ecclesiastes 1:9 "there is nothing new under the sun" have been proven true so many times since they were penned that they are crucial for today. It is the same with the book "On the Incarnation" by St. Athanasius, in which we find the great truth of the mystery of the Incarnation of the eternal Word of God. The amazing thing is that Athanasius was a very young person when he wrote this classic work. This saint does a masterful job of bringing down to our level and as C.S. Lewis noted, "St. Athanasius stood contra mundum for the Trinitarian doctrine...when it looked as if all the civilized world was slipping ...into the synthetic religions of Arius". I highly recommend this work for anyone attempting in-depth and intellectual research today. It is believed that during this time of a defense of those most important beliefs that it was not uncommon for deft discussions to take place at such places as the butcher and barber. This is something that cannot be found today, especially among those sitting in the pews because many do not even know what the word "incarnation" means.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2013
The consummate glory of God is seen in God's only begotten Son , as He was manifested in the flesh!
Athanasius sets these biblical truths forth in a clear and cogent fashion.
This book will strengthen your faith and enable you to see how this doctrine of
Jesus Christ is so vital today , when so many cults today deny the Deity of Christ.
The very salvation of the souls of men are dependent on this truth.
More than ever today is this book to be read and passed on to the next generation.
Thanks be to God for Athanasius's stand for the truth of the incarnation of the Son of a God!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2013
This book was very informative of what we should and should not say on defending our faith. St. Athanasius said something's about the Jews (aka believers of anTher religion) and Gentiles (aka atheists) (esp. why they are wrong), that I think we are missing in the world today. If Christian students and adults alike read this, we would probably have more Christian converts over the years. 😉
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2013
Some of the words were spelled wrong and there were some missing spaces.
It gets the point across, but you have to interpret it yourself.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2012
I bought this excellent little treatise by St. Athanasius because of the C.S. Lewis
introduction, a thoughtful argument that our generation should read "old books," because
we always need a corrective to the blind assumptions of our own age.

How true! Lewis does not disappoint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2012
A great book from one of the Fathers of the Church. You rarely find 'stuff' so well written. Certainly the editor(s) have a role in this piece - but really, the clarity is something esle. I should say it's inspired. There, I did. It's inspired.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2014
Quite a challenging read, but highly enlightening regarding the mechanics and purpose of Jesus' birth, life, death, and resurrection. Many in Christianity today rely too heavily on their inner emotions, but this author/ church father used his brain and evidence to make his case.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2016
What does the incarnation of Christ really mean for us as Christians? So much more than I understood before. What a blessing to gain some insight into the depth of what Christ did for us.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2016
This book is a must read for every Christian, from lay member to theologian. It puts into perspective the very meaning of what Christ and Christianity means.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2013
Athanasius hits this one out of the park. Once you start reading you realize why it is so important to read authors outside our century.

By no means is this a quick read but must be read slow and thoughtfully. However the more you read the better you can comprehend and see his deep love for Christ.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.