Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE nursing reference on complexity science and complex adaptative systems
There are few, if any, easy straightforward answers/solutions to the issues and problems present in our complex healthcare system and nursing's work within in it. On the Edge: Nursing in the Age of Complexity offers the experienced nurse and the beginning nursing student alike a valuable look inside the concepts of complexity science and complex adaptative system and...
Published on August 30, 2008 by Dale Abendroth

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WHy would anyone pay for this?
I don't understand what this $$$ book says that 1000s of articles don't. Yes we know nursing shortage, we need better health care, need to be safe etc.... Oh my god I'm bored.
Published on February 7, 2011 by Elle


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE nursing reference on complexity science and complex adaptative systems, August 30, 2008
By 
This review is from: On The Edge: Nursing In The Age Of Complexity (Paperback)
There are few, if any, easy straightforward answers/solutions to the issues and problems present in our complex healthcare system and nursing's work within in it. On the Edge: Nursing in the Age of Complexity offers the experienced nurse and the beginning nursing student alike a valuable look inside the concepts of complexity science and complex adaptative system and challenges our traditional logical, linear way of thinking which limits our perspective, as well as, the choices we think we can make in any situation. The authors ground the reader in the concept and language of complex adaptative systems (CAS) with clear, understandable descriptions followed by chapters filled with thought provoking and useful examples about how CAS thinking radically broadens one's perspective and, in turn, influences nursing in the areas of clinical reasoning, theory and practice, complexity-informed research methods, underlying dynamics of human health and illness, promotion of health and healing in families, nursing management and policy making processes, and the ability of nursing leadership to further the profession's contributions in healthcare.
Due to the lack of nursing-based texts about complexity science and CAS in the past, I have turned to non-nursing authors for course reading materials. So, it is with great excitement that I can offer this text to both my undergraduate and graduate nursing students to assist them in developing this new world-view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cutting Edge, August 31, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: On The Edge: Nursing In The Age Of Complexity (Paperback)
This is a great book for anyone interested in the application of complexity science principles to patient care. Chapters range from introductory to advanced topics. The authors are on the cutting edge and present information that will intuitively make sense to nurses and other providers at the bedside and in management positions as they strive to provide quality patient care in the current health care environment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nursing challenges, August 7, 2008
By 
karen stefaniak (Lexington, KY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On The Edge: Nursing In The Age Of Complexity (Paperback)
Nurse leaders and nurse educators will find this book very enlightening and a great resource for approaching many perpetual nursing issues and problems in a new enlightened manner. This is a comprehensive application of complexity to nursing and a great followup to the Zimmerman, Lindberg, Plsek Edgeware: insights from complexity science for health care leaders2001 EDGEWARE book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Single Comprehensive Resource on Complexity Science for Nurse Educators, August 29, 2008
By 
This review is from: On The Edge: Nursing In The Age Of Complexity (Paperback)
I teach graduate student nurses and was unable to locate useful resources on complexity science and nursing for use in my courses. This book provides a comprehensive overview of Complexity Science and it's relationship to nursing practice, research and leadership. The book includes basic information on Complexity Science principles along with many examples that illustrate the utility of this new science for 21st century nurses. Prior to the publication of this book, no single reference on Complexity Science existed that was suitable for use in undergraduate and graduate nursing courses. This book fills a critical need for nurse educators, nurse leaders, and nurse clinicians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Innovative And Thoughtful Complexity Science Resource with Comprehensive Glossary, August 16, 2008
This review is from: On The Edge: Nursing In The Age Of Complexity (Paperback)
This innovative and thoughtful text provides nursing educators, leaders, practicing nurses, and researchers with foundational knowledge and key resources on complexity science. This text is recommended for creating co-learning experiences with nursing students and professional nurses in a variety of roles. This book written by nursing scholars and complexity scientists who have played central roles in introducing complexity science into nursing and healthcare! Chapters, using a complexity perspective, address nursing theory, nursing research and methods, human physiology, health policy, nursing management and accountability, family nursing, and clinical reasoning and decision-making. It ends with a comprehensive glossary, a wonderful resource for anyone interested in complexity science and its implications for healthcare. This text has the potential to be used across a variety of nursing programs as it furthers our understanding of the self-organizing processes that underpin the health of patients, communities, and points to new strategies nurses can employ to foster health, address pressing quality and policy issues, approach research, and bring a greater relational orientation into healthcare.

In adopting On the Edge: Nursing in the Age of Complexity as a core textbook across the curriculum, I anticipate it will stimulate rich dialogue among our RN to BSN faculty and students, who were initially introduced to complexity science in 2004. For nurses, nursing scholars, managers, as well as other healthcare professionals this text has the potential to shift one's thinking about the way in which we respond to each other and approach the work of creating healthy patients, families, organizations, and communities. A recommended read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hopeful perspective on how to lead and think using a complexity lensy, August 8, 2008
This review is from: On The Edge: Nursing In The Age Of Complexity (Paperback)
This is a must book for nurse leaders, edcuators, researchers, and staff nurses who have a great desire to influence our present healthcare system using the lens of complexity science. Reading the stories enlightens the reader that there is a different way to view, understand and embrace unpredictable systems and relationships. The book creates a hopeful context where as nurses who are committed to creating healthy environments can be inspired by the reading. Linda Rusch MS,APNC, NJ NJ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hoping for a Second Edition, June 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: On The Edge: Nursing In The Age Of Complexity (Paperback)
On the Edge is an important contribution to the nursing literature and my thoughts are in sync with the positive comments by other reviewers. It's been on my shelf since 2009 when I first became interested in complexity theory in nursing. Now that I am about to enter a program that will (hopefully) lead to a Doctor of Nursing Practice degree, I'm wishing for a second edition to use in my studies. Any hope for that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Every Nurse Should Own A Copy!, September 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: On The Edge: Nursing In The Age Of Complexity (Paperback)
This book will benefit every organization whether it employs nurses or not. It is a must for those organizations who do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Way to look at nursing process!, April 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: On The Edge: Nursing In The Age Of Complexity (Paperback)
I appreciate this way at looking at nursing as a complex adaptive system. It helps to define what we do and place it in context rather than in isolation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A new perspective, December 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: On The Edge: Nursing In The Age Of Complexity (Paperback)
I bought the book for a graduate class in nursing school. The book offers a new way of thinking toward organizational leadership in nursing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

On The Edge: Nursing In The Age Of Complexity
On The Edge: Nursing In The Age Of Complexity by Claire Lindberg (Paperback - July 14, 2008)
$44.95 $35.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.