Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ugliness Explored Through the Imaginative Eyes of Umberto Eco
'One man's trash is another man's treasure' might be a apt conclusion after spending the significant amount of time required to digest Umberto Eco's semiotic approach to 'ugly'. Eco's brilliance as an author is well accepted, yet his informed academic investigation (upon which many of his own novels are based) is only now being appreciated. It is difficult to read ON...
Published on November 28, 2007 by Grady Harp

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the wonderfull book I expected
I'm really disappointed with this book since it is just a compilation of pictures about ugliness and a bare description of them.
Published 16 months ago by Edison Jimenez


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ugliness Explored Through the Imaginative Eyes of Umberto Eco, November 28, 2007
By 
This review is from: On Ugliness (Hardcover)
'One man's trash is another man's treasure' might be a apt conclusion after spending the significant amount of time required to digest Umberto Eco's semiotic approach to 'ugly'. Eco's brilliance as an author is well accepted, yet his informed academic investigation (upon which many of his own novels are based) is only now being appreciated. It is difficult to read ON UGLINESS as a treatise, so lush and provocative is his prose style. Rizzoli International spared no expense on supplying Eco with images and design of this art treasure, and the result is a volume about art history and our manifold perceptions of the signs and symbols that through time have defined 'ugly' versus 'beauty.'

Eco wisely uses the chronological approach to his discourse on the semiotics of ugliness. After a superb Introduction in which he suggests the response of an alien visiting our planet, trying to determine what our civilization labeled beautiful (!), Eco launches into his presentation with gusto. He presents chapters on ugliness in the Classical World, religious use of ugliness (passion, death, martyrdom, apocalypse, hell), monsters, witchcraft, sadism, 'obscene pornography', the appearance of ugliness in architecture and industrial buildings, and finally the transition of the 'ugly' in the popular kitsch and camp.

Coupled with the fascinating written words by the author are copious reproductions of paintings, details of images (some of the details of Bosch's complex canvases are amazingly clear), by both well known painters and unknown painters, displayed with short excerpts from writers who wrote on the subject of the ugly versus the beautiful. Eco brings us to the absolute present (punk art, Cindy Sherman, current film, etc) and as his images emerge from the book's pages, so does his commentary quicken. And so we are left with a book on the subject of Ugliness, which as an art volume is quite the opposite: this is a very beautiful and informed new art book. Highly recommended reading and viewing. Grady Harp, November 07
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Meditation on A Complex Subject..., November 18, 2007
This review is from: On Ugliness (Hardcover)
I've enjoyed Eco's fiction (The Name of the Rose, Baudolino), but was never familiar with his work as a semiotician. This book gives a wonderful taste of his intellect outside of fiction. "On Ugliness" is Eco's companion volume to his excellent History of Beauty, and takes the same style: here you will find descriptions of the Western world's ideas about ugliness, from the classical era through the modern, discussing things such as the devil, monsters, death, age and decay, damnation, camp and kitsch, etc. Eco examines this subject broadly, and provides great insight. This book is essentially a collection of visual art related to the different subjects, juxtaposed with passages from literary works from a number of Western cultures.

What keeps this book from receiving my full 5 stars is the fact that none of the pieces (whether literature or visual art) include any kind of analysis or description. Eco simply writes bookending snippets for each chapter and then basically lets the works speak for themselves, which is largely unsatisfying. However, for anyone interested in conceptions of beauty or ugliness, or who would like a fascinating addition to their library, this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Unique Work, November 11, 2007
By 
This review is from: On Ugliness (Hardcover)
Since I am only a hundred-some pages into this book I hope you'll forgive the premature nature of this review, but thus far Eco's latest work has been so movingly fascinating that I wanted to step up and urge anyone who might be considering buying and reading it to go ahead and do so. Initially I had reservations about beginning it but have no regrets that I did. Although it should become apparent early on that this is honestly less a companion volume to History of Beauty than it has been touted to be, this study of perception, beauty, and above all beauty's often more charismatic twin, ugliness, takes on the entire sweep of history and makes an investigation of the output of some of the biggest names in western art and literature. Why are, say, Goya's more gruesome works his most enjoyable? What makes villains the best characters in fiction (and life)? Why does the repugnant occur so frequently as a theme in art, music, literature and even in everyday fashion? Most of all, why is one object or individual deemed "ugly" and another not? Less (at least thus far) an indictment of the cult of beauty which seems inextricably bound up in human affairs and more an exhaustive investigation that intelligently asks numerous questions from many angles, Eco's challenge here is to compel each of us to contemplate the nature of perception itself. I have loved what I've read so far and can't wait to read the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars easy read, May 8, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: On Ugliness (Hardcover)
I was a little worried this book might be really dry and difficult to read but it has been enjoyable and interesting so far. I decided to buy Umberto Eco's Beauty book too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fine work of scholarship, January 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: On Ugliness (Paperback)
Eco offers an important look into the definitions and constraints our culture places through history on the concept of ugliness. I return to this book often when envisioning characters for my books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT, January 6, 2012
By 
John Seybold (Madera, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: On Ugliness (Hardcover)
If you have Umerto's works on Beauty,YOU NEED THIS! An amazing man of many talents! I found this fun, interesting and well designed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book..., January 3, 2014
By 
Oyamaneko (San Diego, Ca.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: On Ugliness (Hardcover)
Umberto Eco travels trough time on this study on ugliness... great book for anyone interested on art history, graphic design or similar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the most decadent picture book ever, January 1, 2014
This review is from: On Ugliness (Paperback)
This is an amazing collection of weird, bizarre, demented pictures, most of them in vivid color.

There is a little text....some writings by Eco. But he is the editor, and he has picked small paragraphs from throughout the ages and then supplied appropriate pictures to accompany each one. The scholarship that went into this project must have been Herculean.

We get pictures of the grotesque, the ugly, the revolting, from medieval times up to the present. At one point, I stopped reading the text and thumbed through, awaiting the next horrific work of art and congratulating myself on being able to recognize many of the artists. Most of the great masters are represented. Even the most noble and inspirational painting might have a horrific detail in the corner depicting a demon or a plague victim or a madwoman. These are the details Eco is interested in. This is not a comfortable pretty world of kittens and flowers. These pictures celebrate torture and disease and insanity as portrayed by artists through the centuries.

Until I saw these pictures, I had no idea that some cathedrals had shocking and violent statues. The outside gargoyles I knew about, but the humans suffering inhuman(e) torments left me wondering why I had never seen these details in my European cathedral tours. If you are interested in the macabre, the Gothic, and the nightmarish, the many fabulous pictures in this book will leave you reeling in disbelief, shock, and wonder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a magnificent book, January 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: On Ugliness (Paperback)
I loved the book. It speaks not only about the ugliness of the world but also about the beautiful and the harmony -lets say-you can find in all ugly things situations etc.. and criticize and think that even in ugliness you can find something you like but with the good meaning of the word and not with the meaning of ugliness, anomalies or bud reactions of the human being (many of what you can find also in the book).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect condition, April 27, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: On Ugliness (Paperback)
Book was as described: like new. No missing pages, dogeared corners, coffee stained flyleaf, or hand-written notations. Loved it; definitely a keeper for my personal collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

On Ugliness
On Ugliness by Umberto Eco (Hardcover - October 30, 2007)
Used & New from: $15.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.