Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent program
The star of the show, "Fitz" (Robbie Coltrane) pulls off a very credible psychologist working with the cops. It reminds me a little of the old Law and Order with Vince D'Onofrio except that Fitz works the suspects slower and more methodically.
Published 12 months ago by Randall M. Pierson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fat and Altruistic
One must suspend reality and assume psychology is a valid form of "seeing " the human makeup, and that philosophy is nonexistent. Furthermore, the issue of Volition must be sprinkled loosely but never consistently throughout the plot. And last but not least, you must take "fat men in charge" as a wonderful thing.
Other than these issues, sometimes,...
Published 14 months ago by V R. Clark


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent program, August 29, 2013
The star of the show, "Fitz" (Robbie Coltrane) pulls off a very credible psychologist working with the cops. It reminds me a little of the old Law and Order with Vince D'Onofrio except that Fitz works the suspects slower and more methodically.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing Better, and yet....., April 30, 2013
It's a brilliant show. The writing is as good as it gets. The acting, the direction. Perfect (at least for the first 3 seasons). But this is the thing. Once you start making your way through the episodes you begin to notice a disturbing trend. The homicidal maniacs all seem to be either 1. very poor 2. disabled 3. orphans, etc. etc. I haven't seen every episode, but I find this a shameful flaw in an otherwise great show. Where the f--- are the polished white collar criminals?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intense Series, January 5, 2013
This is a gritty, intense series. The setting is Manchester, England and the protagonist, Dr "Fitz" Fitzgerald, is a flawed psychologist who has issues with drinking, smoking, overeating and gambling. He is a mess, but he is also talented at working with crime psychology. He is also quite funny. In one show he says, " I drink too much, I smoke too much, I gamble too much. I am too much." This is typical of the smart dialogue. The lead actor, Robbie Coltrane, plays him brilliantly. This is not at all cozy. It's a dark British procedural with a crime psychologist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glitz and glamour not needed for this great British detective series, August 31, 2012
By 
Robbie Coltrane, usually known for his comedy, is perfectly cast in this very good spin on the popular haggard detective character. It's not the same old thing and the plots are refreshingly unpredictable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Robbie Coltrane is Awesome, December 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Thought provoking dissection into the human psyche.

He demonstrates how to deconstruct, then reassemble a persons life in such a way as to make them crack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, December 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Really started watching for Christopher Eccelston but then feel in love with the series! Coltrane is amazing as well as the rest of the cast!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The gold standard for flippant and flawed detectives., September 7, 2013
This is my favorite Masterpiece Mystery series. A fat, chain-smoking, gambling addict who is passionate and intelligent. Knows humanity all too well including his own. Steps over the line in criticizing others but rarely gets away with it as he takes his share of "the truth" thrown right back at him. I love that it takes 2 or 3 hours to close one case but it still holds the tension and your attention as he and the detectives all labor to get the job done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hearing was a problem., September 3, 2013
The first shows had too much sound going on and no closed captioning. It was hard to follow. Later they stopped playing music and conversation in the background besides what they were saying. It got easier to understand. Didn't have a rapport yet with the actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cracker Season, August 11, 2013
I liked this series! The acting was great and the theme of each mystery was interesting. Even though the main charcter has terrible personal habits, he carries off the part extremely well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Options, August 4, 2013
I would like to give a rating for stars and that's it. If your wanting more, look for a publication. Your options are to limited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.