Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deadly indeed!
A sultry summer tale of revenge, violence, desire, sexuality and deception, this psychological suspense film is gripping throughout. Shown from two different viewpoints and with the aid of flashbacks and with a slowly unfolding plot, it's long (2 1/4 hrs.) and fairly hard-to-follow upon first viewing but features superb momentum-inducing acting by Alain Souchon as the...
Published on June 7, 2006 by Scott Mcgredy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I didn't understand this
I am fan of Isabelle Adjani so I wanted to see this. I watched this with my roomate a few years ago. It is compelling and I can't sit through a long film but this is one those rare long movies, that I can sit threw. I still find it a bit creepy Elle (Isabelle Adjani)sucks her mother's breast in this. I was like WTF. I understand most art films but that was just odd...
Published 1 month ago by Max-Hellmuth Ostermann


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deadly indeed!, June 7, 2006
This review is from: One Deadly Summer [Region 2] (DVD)
A sultry summer tale of revenge, violence, desire, sexuality and deception, this psychological suspense film is gripping throughout. Shown from two different viewpoints and with the aid of flashbacks and with a slowly unfolding plot, it's long (2 1/4 hrs.) and fairly hard-to-follow upon first viewing but features superb momentum-inducing acting by Alain Souchon as the hopeful "boyfriend", Suzanne Flon as the deaf aunt - watch her facial expressions!, and especially Isabelle Adjani in an outrageous but moving part. As the lead character - known only as "She" - you either hate or sympathize with her. Either way, Adjani is at the top of her form - which is saying a lot! I shouldn't write any more without revealing the denouement, except, having won four Cesar Awards, this 1983 film, which finally became available in 2010 as Region 0 disc, needs to be seen by fans of smart thrillers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of Adjani's best, May 17, 1999
By A Customer
"l'eté meurtruer" may not be as well known as "the story of Adele H." or "La Reine Margot" in the U.S. But, fans of Isabelle Adjani should most definitely check it out. Once again, Isabelle takes on a very challenging role - this time a mentally unstable young girl plotting revenge against the men (and their families) who brutally raped her mother 19 years ago. Along the way, she struggles to maintain what sanity she has left while coming to grips with her inner deamons. The movie's plot never gets dull and NOTHING is predictible. A multiple Ceasar winner in France, take a look and you'll see why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A warm, mysterious summer!, January 25, 2010
This review is from: One Deadly Summer [Region 2] (DVD)
French cinema yet once again proved its brilliance through this tiny masterpiece. The film if described in one word 'Unpredictable', yes it is so, you never know what will be the next thing or what will be the next intension of a charecter will be. 'L'ete Meurtrier' is a film about charecters you may or maynot be familiar with in real life but you certainly will believe them. Isabelle Adjani is very precise and shines with excellence in her role. Alain Sounchon delivers a remarkable perferormence, and the chemistry between these two are beyond words. The film oozes with mystery every moment, though having situations very believeble and genuine. A film to look out for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Erotic Psycholigical Thriller, July 13, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Deadly Summer (L'ete Meurtrier) (DVD)
The story concerns Isabelle Adjani, in the role of Eliane or Elle, for short, a gorgeous 19yo, out to revenge the rape of her mother by killing her three rapists, one of whom she suspects of being her father, although the man she calls father has loved her dearly all her life. Her mother is totally reserved and afraid of real life since the rape and cares for her husband, who may or may not be Elle's real father as it seems [and I want to emphasize that point] to have left him partially paralyzed and in a wheelchair as the result of a stoke. The other main character is played by Alain Souchon, a car mechanic who is madly in love with her, although she has had numerous affairs with many locals [both male and female alike] including his best friend Georges and a female teacher at her school, of which he and the whole town seems to be aware.

You realize early on that this is bound to end tragically due to Elle's flights into mental instability and her boyfriend's inability to recognize her madness.

The movie is filled with eroticism throughout including many scenes of Adjani in glorious full frontal nudity. But one of the most disturbing scenes is when she gets mad at her mother for not wanting to tell her more about her rape 19 years ago and whether she enjoyed it or not; Elle then cries and begs forgiveness, ending with Elle, suckling at her mother's breast for comfort, at the age of 19. Yes, that scene is fully depicted also. Much of the movie is depicted through the voice over of a deaf aunt of the mechanic, who becomes friends with Eliane/Elle and is her only real confidant in the household of her husband. The other tragedy is the earliest manifestation of Elle's madness in that she may or may not have been responsible for the stroke of her mother's husband, the man she lovingly calls her father and who loves her dearly. All the intersecting story twists make sense when one considers how a mentally disturbed person may view real life events.

Well worth watching more than once. Disturbing but engrossing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Futility of Revenge, August 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Deadly Summer (L'ete Meurtrier) (DVD)
There's an old saying: When you go looking for revenge, first dig two graves. This 1983 film by Jean Becker, based on the novel by late, great French author Sebastien Japrisot, is a vivid example of that truism. A beautiful, alluring young woman (Isabelle Adjani) vamps various men in a small French town, particularly one young man (Alain Souchon) whom she tricks into marrying her. Why? Well, that's the mystery in this long, complicated story. It has to do with a long-ago crime, and the young woman is clearly seeking retribution. There's just one problem: she's a certifiable nutcase. How this all plays out is fairly interesting, and it's very well acted by all, particularly Adjani.

I'm a fan of Japrisot's novel, and the film is a (mostly) faithful adaptation. But somehow, the fun of reading the book is not here in the movie. Everything in the film seems very serious, whereas the book has a lighter, more ironic tone. But the moral of the story is still very powerful, whether you read the book or see the film. This new, anamorphic widescreen print from Tanelorn Films is a big improvement over the earlier DVD and the VHS tape. If you want to add ONE DEADLY SUMMER to your film library, this is the version to get. Enjoy the movie, but find a copy of Japrisot's book and read it--it's really much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I didn't understand this, November 10, 2014
This review is from: One Deadly Summer (L'ete Meurtrier) (DVD)
I am fan of Isabelle Adjani so I wanted to see this. I watched this with my roomate a few years ago. It is compelling and I can't sit through a long film but this is one those rare long movies, that I can sit threw. I still find it a bit creepy Elle (Isabelle Adjani)sucks her mother's breast in this. I was like WTF. I understand most art films but that was just odd.

One Deadly Summer is 133 min and it dose drag. Elle has some kind of mental illness. Her mother was raped during the 1950's because her mother is German, some French people were still bitter over the war. Thing I don't get is she never gets her revenge on the family that hurt her mother.
If you like French movies, then I am sure this will give you something to think
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deeply uncomfortable viewing., November 16, 2001
'One Deadly Summer' begins in typical film noir style, with a hapless sap narrating an implied fall from idyllic grace, centring around a femme fatale who, far from being mysterious and unattainable, seems trampishly open and available. It's the old misogynistic story - the security of family and community are disrupted by a sexually predatory woman.
Soon, however, this male controlling consciousness is disrupted by the woman herself, and it is her narrative the film is concerned with, a mystery in which she is an avenging detective. Just as her physical body (her diminutive is 'Elle', emphasising her objectified status) wreaks havoc on the summer-clammy small town she inhabits, so her taking over the traditional male noir role destabilises the narrative. Traditionally, the detective story is told from one reliable point of view, be it an omniscient narrator, a witness or the detective himself. Here narrative is splintered into a variety of conflicting, subjective voices, each story they tell only confirming the unlikeliness of anyone ever finding the 'real' truth.
Most detective stories are concerned with a single crime which the detached detecitve tries to solve. The first ever detective story, however, was Sophocles' play 'Oedipus Rex', in which the investigation of the crime was really into the detective's own origins and his relation to his father. Ditto this film, in which the initial crime and the detective's very existence are horribly linked. Criminal and sexual transgression become indistinguishable, and the various plot developments are driven by the grimmest of Greek tragic ironies. This interrogation of family and community, of buried secrets in the past, is given extra force by allusions to the Nazi Occupation, still a sore memory.
'Summer' is a brilliant film, but not one that is easy to like or enjoy. Its pastoral setting provokes fears of the usual middlebrow wish-fulfilment, but this is filmed here with an almost ugly flatness. The presence of Edith Scob in a minor role and a fairground barrel-organ leitmotif might remind us of Franju's surrealist masterpiece 'Eyes without a face', another story about a girl with father problems driven to madness, and the film has references to sleepwalking and nightmares.
The film's success depends less on Isabelle Adjani's showy performance than Sebastian Japrisot's adaptation of his own novel, with its inventive use of those old cliches, the voiceover and flashback. It inspires journeyman director Becker to imaginative heights not reached before or since. Despite its clever reworkings of conventional noir, though, Becker and Japrisot don't entirely escape the accusation of misogyny - the lingering on woman as object of both desire and sexual violence leaves a sour taste in the mouth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent, complex revenge tale, December 27, 2011
This review is from: One Deadly Summer (L'ete Meurtrier) (DVD)
More an Intelligent drama, with some violent overtones more than the
"thriller" it's packaged as. This has more in common with "Rashomon"
than with the latest slick action movie out of Hollywood.

Isabelle Adjani plays a young woman unhinged by the knowledge of her
mother's brutal rape by 3 men years earlier, and she has built her life
around seeking revenge. The film's most striking aspect is the use of
multiple switching narrators, so we see the tale unfold from several
points of view.

Adjani, as always, has a tremendous emotional rawness, but for me the
performance (and the writing) wears its heart a little too much on it's
sleeve. I wish she wasn't so clearly crazy much of the time. Or that
more people seemed to notice just how blatantly manipulative her
behavior is.

The pace is very slow, which worked a lot of the time, but I did find
myself frustrated at moments.

But all that said, this is an interesting experiment in telling a
complex story, with strong performances all around. And if it
occasionally falls into melodrama, it also is full of moments that are
disturbing, moving and shocking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Adjani & Cast Powerful, September 27, 2014
By 
Joe Viamonte (Massachusetts,USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One Deadly Summer (L'ete Meurtrier) (DVD)
Wonderful French classic with a young Adjani in a powerful performance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, September 22, 2014
delivered on time and was as expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

One Deadly Summer (L'ete Meurtrier)
One Deadly Summer (L'ete Meurtrier) by Jean Becker (DVD - 2010)
$27.99 $16.35
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.