Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Books for Kids I've Seen
I picked this book up the other day at the bookstore and knew within a few minutes it was a keeper. It covers an amazing amount of subjects and information given that its one single book chock full of pictures.

The premise of the book is that it touches lightly on a wide variety of facts. Its not an authoritative source by any means. It tells you what something...
Published on August 3, 2009 by Thomas E. Tweedel

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Chock full of images
Not what I expected. I had wanted it for a beginning ESL student. Perhaps it will be useful at a later time.
Published 13 months ago by Jean


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Books for Kids I've Seen, August 3, 2009
By 
Thomas E. Tweedel (Austin, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Million Things: A Visual Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
I picked this book up the other day at the bookstore and knew within a few minutes it was a keeper. It covers an amazing amount of subjects and information given that its one single book chock full of pictures.

The premise of the book is that it touches lightly on a wide variety of facts. Its not an authoritative source by any means. It tells you what something is and gives the highlights in a paragraph or less. Supplementing these brief descriptions are its amazing collection of pictures to illustrate the topic.
The pictures are not stock illustrations or photographs of the subject, they tend to be on the unique side and are referential to the written material. For example when talking about machines they have a picture of some needlessly complex strange multi-stage apple slicing machine like you might find on a cartoon (where one part moves another, then another and another..). Seems odd but the different parts are used to illustrate different mechanical concepts (cogs, pulleys, cables, levers etc). A lot of the photos take that route, kind of non-standard, requiring a little thinking and analysis (and humor) but getting the job done more than a standard picture.

The other thing that the photos do is they keep the attention of the audience. You find yourself not just glancing at the photo but studying the complexity and texture they put into it. With kids this is wonderful. The photo keeps their attention and focus on the subject long enough to get through the description and then move onto the next thing.

The layout and level of content of the book is good for a wide variety of ages. For younger children the photos keep their attention while you read about the item. Their sponge like memory absorbing some of the facts.
For reading age children there is a lot of information in digest sized bits. Kind of along the lines of memorizing trivia. The photos make them wonder "what is that".

For older kids it's a good starting point. You get enough info to have an idea about the subject to start looking elsewhere.

For adults looking to stuff their brain with interesting trivia it works too. Though you may need to dig a bit deeper. Reading this book to my kids has stimulated a lot of related questions from them. Some of which I didn't have answers for.

The book is fairly well organized and presented. It has around a dozen or so major topics (Science, History, The body, Arts etc). Each of these major topics had around a dozen or so entries. Each entry spans two pages with a dozen plus photos and topics.

For example the major top of the Body is broken down into the skeleton, the digestive system, muscles etc. For the skeletal system they have a collage of skeletal X-rays/MRI type shots that make up a full skeleton. They cover each of the major bone types (hip, femur, knee) with a few sentences about how it's constructed and is function. Then they have random facts attached to a few bones.
There is an index in the back for finding things more quickly. The quality of the printing and binding is great.

It has been one of the best "bedtime" books I've gotten. Depending on the questions you can go through one or two topics in a setting and they have high revisit value. I paid list price at the store and the book was well worth it. For the price Amazon charges I might get a few for gifts.

So to summarize

Pros
Great layout, pictures, information, everything..
Maintains interest and focus across several age levels.

Cons
None

Conclusion
Add this to your library and you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book that promotes learning, December 1, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Million Things: A Visual Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
This is a great book that is great for browsing and learning. It is not a comprehensive encyclopedia, but I highly recommend it even if you have other encyclopedia books. The cover has a mirror-like surface that compels children to want to read it and learn. Great illustrations and good content. I like almost everything that I've seen from DK publishing. We use it for homeschooling but adults will also enjoy browsing it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a good choice for circulating collections, June 28, 2010
This review is from: One Million Things: A Visual Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
I really love this book. As with everything DK does, the information is delivered in friendly kid sized nuggets, and the pictures are simply incredible. It's a great resource and kids will want to go to it again and again just to browse. Be warned if you are purchasing for a library or school collection. The binding on this book is of poor quality. It gives out pretty quickly and you are stuck with a great book that looks terrible. This is a great choice for a home purchase, but if you need something that's going to pass through quite a few hands, pass this one by. It will be a waste of money.

If you need to purchase for a school or library, buy the smaller individual ones: Animal Life, Plant Life, Human Body, Space. You get the same great style and visual impact, but they aren't as big and they will hold up much better in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating!, December 30, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Million Things: A Visual Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
I gave this book to my 10 year old nephew for Christmas. After he opened it, he kept looking and looking at it saying "this is really cool." The illustrations are beautiful, and the book has a little of every topic from science to music to art and history. This book will be a reference for him through at least middle school. I highly recommend it to anyone buying for children 8 years and up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Pictures - Awesome Book, July 22, 2011
This review is from: One Million Things: A Visual Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
This is such an amazing book. We originally found it at the local library, but we fell in love with the outstanding photographs illustrating a great variety of subjects, from science, history, art and culture, nature, space, human body, etc. The Editorial Reviews and Product Description say Grade 5 and up, but because it is so visual, it really is accessible to younger kids. Our 5 year old carries this around the house and will just plop down just to study the pictures and read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful photos, great range of topics, December 17, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Million Things: A Visual Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
After my son (5 years old) became fascinated with this book from the library, we decided to purchase our own copy. Although he is still a bit young to understand all of the text, he loves examining the colorful, assorted photos. I'd highly recommend this book to anyone whose child loves to discover new information about the world-- its graphics and easy to read information really supplement their curiosity and help spark conversations about a diverse range of topics: from human body to gems to animal life to flags of the world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Love This Book!!, January 11, 2012
By 
LHS (Missouri City, TX) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Million Things: A Visual Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
I love this book. I purchased if for my daughter for Christmas. She enjoys reading about all the different things that are in the book. It's a hodgepodge of so many different things. I find myself reading it just to see what I can learn. :) If you're looking for a structured encyclopedia, this is not for you. This is more of a picture-with-a-definition-of-each-thing-in-the-picture type of book, which is a great learning tool for young children. I would recommend this to people with young children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wealth Of Information For The Curious Child, June 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Million Things: A Visual Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
Content is sure to invite a curious mind to absorb the knowledge page after page. The combination of graphics and written content energizes the reader's imagination.

My niece now treasures this book under her pillow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Million Things, June 12, 2009
By 
Christine Deangelis (Centerville, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Million Things: A Visual Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
This is a FABULOUS book! I bought a copy for every student in my class. I think every child and adult should own a copy of this book. It is beautiful and interesting. Even children who hate reading won't be able to pull themselves away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hours of enticement, October 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Million Things: A Visual Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
Fourth graders love details and they abound in this amazing resource. It serves as a valuable resource for helping students deepen their understanding of how much a million is. Students study pages, share especially interesting entries with their classmates, and write amazing stories based on what they have learned. Invaluable classroom resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

One Million Things: A Visual Encyclopedia
One Million Things: A Visual Encyclopedia by Peter Chrisp (Hardcover - June 16, 2008)
$24.99 $18.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.